Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

2022 is make or break for him
Would break it down even further
The 2021 pre season is make or break

Has never been any questions about his on field abilities just needs to continue to work on the off field and keep making strides

I don't think you get it, he's damaged from growing up on the streets and has mental issues.
He's come back from oblivion and dominated an AFL game last week which shows his dedication to the club and great fortitude.
You just have to back him in with no strings attached and hope he stays at Richmond because he's going to be a superstar and an inspiration to other Indigenous youth.
Mate, to be honest, I don't think you get it....

I know his background and I understand where he's come from, and I've been very close to very similar scenarios.

If you think leaving someone on their own to continue making mistakes (which you yourself said he would), then unfortunately, it's people like you who are the problem (and I don't mean footy, I mean the bigger problem around helping someone change their life for good)...

Your basically saying, "I don't care if he f*cks up again, he will always have a sh*tty life because of his upbringing, and as long as he plays good footy, I have no interest in helping him change his life"...

Do you see the problem in not helping him change his lifestyle now?

This is it... if he was smart, he would look to move in with an older player from the club for 3-4 months....

Funnily enough, I reckon living with the Grimes household would be good for him...

Grimes will keep him in shape etc, look after him, still be able to have a beer, but not get into any trouble...

And I would love to see Stack work on the winery at the same time, another job to keep him busy/occupied but also show him a commitment outside of footy.
Haha Grimes would bore the sh*t out of him.

Mate, to be honest, I don't think you get it....

I know his background and I understand where he's come from, and I've been very close to very similar scenarios.

If you think leaving someone on their own to continue making mistakes (which you yourself said he would), then unfortunately, it's people like you who are the problem (and I don't mean footy, I mean the bigger problem around helping someone change their life for good)...

Your basically saying, "I don't care if he f*cks up again, he will always have a sh*tty life because of his upbringing, and as long as he plays good footy, I have no interest in helping him change his life"...

Do you see the problem in not helping him change his lifestyle now?
I think he has turned his life around, it's all positive at the moment so I don’t see the need for excessive stipulations or contract clauses .
He's not an arshole or anything he's just a bit loose and he has got fit to AFL level this year which is a great achievement from where he was coming from last year.

I think he has turned his life around, it's all positive at the moment so I don’t see the need for excessive stipulations or contract clauses .
He's not an arshole or anything he's just a bit loose but he has got fit to AFL level this year which is a great achievement from where he was.
He is able to make the right choices when the right structures are in place around him... you would say he had turned his life around in 2019 as well, but look what happened.

Off season, without structures, is when he makes poor choices, thats the reason for it...

if left to his own devices, he is likely to slip into old/bad routines...

He is able to make the right choices when the right structures are in place around him... you would say he had turned his life around in 2019 as well, but look what happened.

Off season, without structures, is when he makes poor choices, thats the reason for it...

if left to his own devices, he is likely to slip into old/bad routines...
Yes I agree he's better off in Melbourne but you can't stop him visiting family in the off-season .
I've got faith in the young man , he's maturing as a man now.

He will walk if we offer that imo. WCE and Freo will offer well north of $250k
After the comments made by simpson earlier in the year about not liking to draft from disadvantaged backgrounds I can’t see him going to west coast

That was such an elitist, private school load of wank from Simpson.
What a w***er he is.
I assume he would bypass Doug Hawkins or Dane Swan in the draft if that's his philosophy

Hmm, I think they’d jump at the chance to add Stacky to their list myself but 🤷‍♂️
I still think they would have a crack but I think those kinds of comments would make potential players think twice about wanting to join them

Would break it down even further
The 2021 pre season is make or break

Has never been any questions about his on field abilities just needs to continue to work on the off field and keep making strides
I’ll give ss some simple advice for the off season in three words , STAY in MELBOURNE

Hmm, I think they’d jump at the chance to add Stacky to their list myself but 🤷‍♂️
I reckon the WA clubs that were basically warned off him in draft year wouldn’t have exactly turned their thinking around after he spent a month incarcerated last off season . He’d be considered VERY high risk in his home environment

Give him
Give him a 1 year deal with an option for a 2nd providing he meets expectations in the off season.
I would offer him a 7 year contract with low base and very significant bonuses for individual and team achievements. And by significant I am talking Dustin Martin levels. This kid is the best I have ever seen.

I don't think those two would get along , they are exact opposites.
He should have stayed with Monique Conti.
Maybe he can live with RCD who has two mothers then they can have one mum each.
I think his new gf might be a footy player. Get her to live and play in Melbourne might help with stability of home life. There's a big group of Noongar boys at the club, I hope that helps Stack.
I'm stoked that he's playing good football. Kebabs cost him a 10 week holiday which ruined most of this year. CCJ copped an injury so his 2021 has been difficult too.
Syd's COVID breach in WA was avoidable and I hope we and his manager are double checking his flights to avoid stopovers. I assume a 2 year contract would be on offer. I think Stack & (Mansell) are best 22 players. I don't really think Eagles would be throwing a contract at him. Maybe Dockers?
Vlas returns this week. So selection of the backline 8 will be interesting. Garth out for Broad. ?? for Vlas

Last edited by a moderator:
'He's had two off seasons and let himself and the club down massively both times.'

You don't seem to trust him. Yes he has had two seasons in a row where he missed pre-season somewhat, let himself down, but there are reasons for that, Covid reasons, not normal reasons. And there are many reasons for that which ran in a thread a couple of hundred pages long.

This does not necessarily mean that under normal circumstances he will mess up, possibly the opposite. We don't know the lad, but he is highly regarded my people like his coach, so there is more to him that what we see.

'He's had two off seasons and let himself and the club down massively both times.'

You don't seem to trust him. Yes he has had two seasons in a row where he missed pre-season somewhat, let himself down, but there are reasons for that, Covid reasons, not normal reasons. And there are many reasons for that which ran in a thread a couple of hundred pages long.

This does not necessarily mean that under normal circumstances he will mess up, possibly the opposite. We don't know the lad, but he is highly regarded my people like his coach, so there is more to him that what we see.
Of course I don't trust him. Why would anyone? His first pre season he came back unfit and unprofessional. That had nothing to do with Covid. Normal circumstances.

Yes there was Covid restrictions last year but that doesn't excuse breaching quarantine orders, lying to police about his whereabouts and then getting picked up in a fight where he wasn't supposed to be.

Ha! That's crap. Walsh is already a ******* star. Then there's the King brothers, Butters, Baily Smith, Rozee....

I rate Stack but let's not go overboard.
I rate Stack's footy ability higher than those you mentioned, he just hasn't shown it yet for reasons we all know. In their first year many including me had Stack above Walsh and Smith who were the ones in the conversation. He tailed off due to lack of pre-season and the other two were work horses way back then.
Time will tell if he goes above Walsh, who has a great all round game, but Stack has the class that only the top few have in football.

This is it... if he was smart, he would look to move in with an older player from the club for 3-4 months....

Funnily enough, I reckon living with the Grimes household would be good for him...

Grimes will keep him in shape etc, look after him, still be able to have a beer, but not get into any trouble...

And I would love to see Stack work on the winery at the same time, another job to keep him busy/occupied but also show him a commitment outside of footy.
You are aware that since Stack has come back he has been living with a host family and seems to have not put a foot wrong. A stable family environment is what he needs not someone like Grimes who while a great bloke is generation older and from a whole different lifestyle.

You have to back young people to be themselves and make their own decisions not get 'looked after'. More likely to react to that. You want him to join the brotherhood thing that the club has, and with Bolton signing, Rioli now not going anywhere, Mansell coming on board, there is a brotherhood of success growing amongst those young kids at the club. Hopefully Ross, RCD, CCCJ, Dow etc. and all the others are in that group as well.