Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

There is more to it than 'Blowing up'
I respect Caeser and his posts and he is a regular training watcher and there is alt he has not posted on this matter
After 3 years as a professional footballer Stack is last even including the kids that have been drafted this year - Thats says something

maybe time to stop making excuses for his ability to live upto fitness standards it desnt mean he is a bad person or a crappy footballer but just that he is not willing to do the work required

I think your letting this get to you a bit too much. It’s November and your getting all worked up. Relax mate. Let’s judge Stack on his form next year and not doing run throughs in November. Some guys just don’t like running. But stick a footy in front of them they excel. This sounds like Stack. He’s young enough to catch up pretty quick. Sounds like he works as hard as anyone including doing extras when he is there.

Poor preparation will catch up to him eventually.

This is his 3rd pre season in a row where he’s started behind the others and has to play catch up.
You need to turn up day 1 of pre season ready to go.

How often does the fitness coach whack a player in the media for poor preparation?

It shows they’re worried about him becoming a long term player.

There is more to it than 'Blowing up'
I respect Caeser and his posts and he is a regular training watcher and there is alt he has not posted on this matter
After 3 years as a professional footballer Stack is last even including the kids that have been drafted this year - Thats says something

maybe time to stop making excuses for his ability to live upto fitness standards it desnt mean he is a bad person or a crappy footballer but just that he is not willing to do the work required
You realise those kids that got drafted have spent the last 3 months preparing for this, given most of our picks were high draft picks and all very good athletes who knew they would get drafted. They would have all been pumping in the km's. Josh Ward's 2km time trial just recently would have placed him third in Carlton's 2km time trial last week.

Yes he is behind them all. Problem acknowledged but he has ample time to get proper fit. As Caesar noted, he was going fine in the regular training but gassed out over the long distance sprinting. No big deal in November. We all know he doesn't do the home alone training well, that has been obvious for the past year or so. Come March when the first game is on unless he goes home and does nothing he will be the fittest he has ever been by some way.

No doubt Syd isn't quite at the level fitness wise that we or the club would like, but I feel if you go through the full training reports on PRE they leave you with a bit more of a balanced view imo. The running session that was quoted where he was a lap behind everyone, a poster then clarified that they did 6 sets of run throughs, the first 4 he was right there in the pack, the 5th he struggled and fell back a bit and then the 6th he blew up and ended up way behind everyone which has been what everyone has (understandably) jumped on.

He's been by all accounts been doing extra running sets throughout training and has looked good during match sim. Clearly his professionalism still needs a lot of work, but I don't think we are at the point of writing him off just yet.

Well said, one thing he’s done really well from day dot is work his arse off when at the club, his professionalism away from the club needs work no doubt and whilst the club have publicly given him a clip over the ear, I seriously doubt they’re thinking delist right now. They’re just lighting a fire under him and letting him know the kiddie gloves are off now. He’ll be fine come round 1 and while he’s not at the fitness level expected right now, I’m tipping it’s a hell of a lot better than it’s ever been at this time during pre season.
Season 1 came from way back and worked to afl fitness in one preseason.
season 2, disrupted coming back from syndesmosis.
Season 3, doesn’t get worse does it?
Season 4, still a better base I’m tipping than he’s ever had.

Will be a ****en star!

We picked up some good kids with alotve potential this draft, ole stackyboy needs to keep trying get more out of himself.
I’m backing him in, got no doubt this is the most professional he’s ever approached his Footy and I’m hoping he loves what happens in his game because of it.

Stack is going to end up an over-talented plodder if he keeps doing this. Yeah he has talent, but no way near enough to think he can continually pull this shit.

Luka Doncic is a player who also does this, comes back from pre-season out of shape. Fortunately for Luka, he is one of the top 5 talented players in the NBA. Unfortunately for Sydney, despite his obvious talent, he is not even close to being in the top 100 .

Stack is going to end up an over-talented plodder if he keeps doing this. Yeah he has talent, but no way near enough to think he can continually pull this sh*t.

Luka Doncic is a player who also does this, comes back from pre-season out of shape. Fortunately for Luka, he is one of the top 5 talented players in the NBA. Unfortunately for Sydney, despite his obvious talent, he is not even close to being in the top 100 .

dramatic

Poor preparation will catch up to him eventually.

This is his 3rd pre season in a row where he’s started behind the others and has to play catch up.
You need to turn up day 1 of pre season ready to go.

How often does the fitness coach whack a player in the media for poor preparation?

It shows they’re worried about him becoming a long term player.
Ablett Senior, an absolutely elite player (best I’ve seen play the game) was one of the worst trainers. You don’t necessarily have to be a star on the track. Stack ain’t in the same league as Gazza but he’s bloody talented. I don’t have too many issues with him struggling with endurance running, some guys aren’t great runners. If he can get to the level of play he gave us in his first season, I really don’t care how he trains in respect of shuttle runs.

You realise those kids that got drafted have spent the last 3 months preparing for this, given most of our picks were high draft picks and all very good athletes who knew they would get drafted. They would have all been pumping in the km's. Josh Ward's 2km time trial just recently would have placed him third in Carlton's 2km time trial last week.

Yes he is behind them all. Problem acknowledged but he has ample time to get proper fit. As Caesar noted, he was going fine in the regular training but gassed out over the long distance sprinting. No big deal in November. We all know he doesn't do the home alone training well, that has been obvious for the past year or so. Come March when the first game is on unless he goes home and does nothing he will be the fittest he has ever been by some way.

And what has SS been doing for the last 3 months not to mention he was in full training and playing the last season

Maybe time to take the blinkers off and accept SS for what he is nd that is he is a great talent but a bloody lazy kid that just is incapable of doing the work required at the level when left n his own. Its been a character trait since his junior years and is the main reason why a top 10 talent went undrafted

And what has SS been doing for the last 3 months not to mention he was in full training and playing the last season

Maybe time to take the blinkers off and accept SS for what he is nd that is he is a great talent but a bloody lazy kid that just is incapable of doing the work required at the level when left n his own. Its been a character trait since his junior years and is the main reason why a top 10 talent went undrafted
No one who plays AFL is lazy. Not everyone is suited to flogging themselves on the track for months on end.
There's plenty of time to get fit. A 90% fit Stack is still better than half our list imo.

No one who plays AFL is lazy. Not everyone is suited to flogging themselves on the track for months on end.
There's plenty of time to get fit. A 90% fit Stack is still better than half our list imo.
That's not the point. When you are in a team, you do what the team does. You cannot be seen doing 90% of what everyone else does. If that is accepted, other players will then think they can get away with 90%. Then the culture of the team collapses.
FFS have you ever performed in any team? Team mates that don't pull their weight eventually are on the outer. Then the organisation gets rid of them to protect their culture.

That's not the point. When you are in a team, you do what the team does. You cannot be seen doing 90% of what everyone else does. If that is accepted, other players will then think they can get away with 90%. Then the culture of the team collapses.
FFS have you ever performed in any team? Team mates that don't pull their weight eventually are on the outer. Then the organisation gets rid of them to protect their culture.
So what dicipline do you want to give him.

FUN FACT: Heres 10 pages of 772 blokes (for whatever reason) that/s played less games of football for the Richmond FC than Sydney Stack. Not bad for a lazy ill disciplined 21yo kid. Some of the crap he cops is just ridiculous.

STACK.png

One thing that can't be denied is that we might have the largest fanbase. However reading some of the complete and utter garbage in this link makes it hard to argue with the toothless Collingwood fans at work who swear we have more nuffies who know sweet F.A about footy than they do. FFS! Stack had a great year last year when not many teammates did. I can't recall a single game where his opponent beat him, and for all those Cotchin fanboys who swear his curry farts smell like perfume and think him being a forward is a viable option. Stack equalled Cotchins entire season tally of 2 goals in a 5 minute stint up forward. Stack has the equal God given ability and goal awareness of anyone playing and is as hard as a cat's head. I'm confident he'll end up getting himself sorted and by end of his career will go down as an all time great. Last I checked season doesn't start in November and anyone with a few brain cells would realise you could film any given player and get footage of them struggling at some point during a session. To all the flogs potting Stack: you can f@$k right off!!!!

Exactly.As i stated the club will not put up with his continuing to show up in a condition he has so far.
Busts a gut to get upto the level of his team mates only to burn out mid season.
Not good for him or the team.

Stack is not captain of the club.or is he? Maybe I missed the news. Driving its culture? I rate Stack but if he isn't ready to play there's 10 blokes to take his spot. 4 out the current draft. If that don't motivate him he wont be best 22. I think its bizzare. The annual writing of Stacks epitaph. Too fat, too slow Coodabeen a champion
I saw Richmond train up the Goldy one preseason. 2020 I think. Stack was in perfect physical condition. Looks exactly the same to me in the PHOTOs I've seen. There you go....from a veteran track watcher.
If the club thought Stack's poor, and never improving, performance on the training track was a problem would they have resigned him?

Markov was our fastest player, Garth ran the farthest Ellis an unbelievable preseason performer. Not enough to keep them at the club. Thank goodness I think theres a still a football to be kicked and marked.
Let me know when you need the music for the memorial. I've some ideas