Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

Only disagree as I think Dimma rates him and his talent very highly and will back in the coaches to get the best out of him. He’s stuck in a logjam at this point imo. Will open up for him as players retire
He could easily come in as our 7th defender now that Baker and Short are left the half back line. Or he could be in great form in the VFL and enjoying his footy.

Yep definitely could. Want to see him in the side. FFS we kept him for an extra year, are we going to play him or not?

Bring him back through the ones. Hopefully back this week, if not the following. Back him in and play him remainder of season. Edwards bullsh!t getting carried to 300 games is almost over. There's his spot in the team right there. I'm sick of Hardwicks bullshit team selections destroying our year. Play the kids with talent and watch the cream rise.

I'm tired of sounding like a broken record, he should've been brought back to form through the ones and ive been campaigning this all year.
He is too skillful to be playing VFL level football, we dropped the ball with stack more than he dropped his own ball.

I'm tired of sounding like a broken record, he should've been brought back to form through the ones and ive been campaigning this all year.
He is too skillful to be playing VFL level football, we dropped the ball with stack more than he dropped his own ball.
He'll leave anyway.

Like Caddy and some others, Mr Hardwick has put a line through him as he would rather pump games into George and Aarts.

Sydney Stack is no where near the player he was in his 1st year and people will be jumping on his head in just 2 games if he was played
The bloke only has himself to blame and nobody else .

If and thats a BIG if he is given another year at AFL level he needs to pull his finger out of his backside and have a preseason like he has never had before and decide if he actually wants to be a AFL player because the shit he has served up on and off the ground the last 3 years is unacceptable and Richmond has invested enough time and money into this bloke.

Either gets serious and busts his ass this off season or piss him off

Nah mate The club have done nothing wrong by him
He has played 3-4 games at anywhere near AFL level all season and the rest have been barely VFL level games

for a Player like stack he should be tearing that league apart

Stack was dropped for the first game due to discipline reason (training from memory) but played the other two as a midfielder. Not a bad effort to make the AA side playing just 2 of 3.
Exceptional effort from there but during his time at the tigers apart from his first season has lacked that discipline or effort. No doubt he has the skill to improve our side but unless he can find the hunger and the discipline to reach the required fitness level he will not make it

He could have been played far earlier in the season. Yes Covid in particular tested him, but was gifted nothing this season. Seemed to be enjoying himself in the VFL. Must have been hard seeing everyone else getting a gig when you were performing in our best few. I would be very surprised if he stays this year, hope I'm wrong.

Stack is his own worst enemy and Tigers have looked after him after his boozy, fighting and slack ways..... strippers, kebabs and scuffles in Qld instead of tucked away in his hub bed, Mainstreet late night brawling in main street of Perth when supposed to be in lockdown 40 km away and turning up unfit with extra puddin and running long lasts in preseason time trials at Punt rd. 50/50 to be on the list in 2023 unless he pulls his finger out and shows something with 2 months left in 2022.

I think we are all up to date with his history, ad nauseam. For the last 9 months he has been training and playing without incident, what is the relevance of the earlier stuff. He has played some very good football, seemed to be enjoying it and should have been selected to play but for the need to bring back George after 3 weeks (for some reason). And for some reason he wasn't played in his natural position. If he leaves, yes he has played a part in it, but so have Richmond by being so bloody minded about making him into a small forward when he is obviously not one, and not playing him when in form.

You are spot on with stack Mr TT , but when you say tucked away in his HUB bed, doing the right thing? How do you ''overlook'' our fearless 'leader' that asked all the playing group to 'sacfifice' during this time in the hub, and guess who was in his HUB bed with honors ??? Girlfriiend ''BUBBLES'' Aaawww and we wonder why HE is losing credence wth the players? Where is the famous catch cry ''Ask Mrs Hardwick'' when the media gets tough. Laughable is it not.

I think we are all up to date with his history, ad nauseam. For the last 9 months he has been training and playing without incident, what is the relevance of the earlier stuff. He has played some very good football, seemed to be enjoying it and should have been selected to play but for the need to bring back George after 3 weeks (for some reason). And for some reason he wasn't played in his natural position. If he leaves, yes he has played a part in it, but so have Richmond by being so bloody minded about making him into a small forward when he is obviously not one, and not playing him when in form.
This post is full on contradictions
You say he shouldn’t be played forward because he isn’t suited to it, yet saying he should of been played as a forward due to having good form

Also coming into the pre season unfit would also count as him stuffing up in the past 9 months

Hardwick also mentioned in a press conference earlier in the year he wasn’t training to the standers required and needed to improve

A little later in the season he was due to be selected but was held back due to being a covid close contact and wasn’t allowed to play

You seem to gloss over a lot of this in your posts

not seeing enough great stuff at VFL level except for a few glimpses. my opinion from afar is he A-aint fit enough, B-he aint great at following a gameplan, C- his best or preferred position is taken by others see A&B and D- he goes to ground to easily.

This post is full on contradictions
You say he shouldn’t be played forward because he isn’t suited to it, yet saying he should of been played as a forward due to having good form

Also coming into the pre season unfit would also count as him stuffing up in the past 9 months

Hardwick also mentioned in a press conference earlier in the year he wasn’t training to the standers required and needed to improve

A little later in the season he was due to be selected but was held back due to being a covid close contact and wasn’t allowed to play

You seem to gloss over a lot of this in your posts
They played him forward for 15 weeks. It took him about 13 of those before he had a very good game, which came after they put him back to half back for the last half of a game. All of a sudden he looked like a new player. Next week back to forward half again. Mansell was asked to play forward for 2 weeks before they put him back to half back. Stack who is a natural half back and potentially a great one, was not afforded the luxury.

Agree with your comment about coming a bit unfit, I guess that is a bit of a stuff up, but he couldn't have been that underdone by January because the week before the season was to start, Stack and Pickett played on the wings in a practice match and were considered our best two players. Playing small forward at Richmond is a hiding to nothing. None of them have been any good, going way back to 2017. Look at the way Rioli is playing after many on here were wanting him banished forever.

Cumberland should also have been played earlier, but for reasons of learning more 'defensive stuff'. The George and Aarts vs Cumberland debate is pretty much sealed. He had the tools to make the position a different style, and thank god for that.

Why were they so bloody minded with Stack playing forward, a similar mindset from the coaches for me. Sure experiment for a bit, but after 6-8 weeks they could have given him a few games at least to try and run into form but for some reason they didn't.

not seeing enough great stuff at VFL level except for a few glimpses. my opinion from afar is he A-aint fit enough, B-he aint great at following a gameplan, C- his best or preferred position is taken by others see A&B and D- he goes to ground to easily.
Need someone like Betts in our coaching group - look what he did with Stengle.

They played him forward for 15 weeks. It took him about 13 of those before he had a very good game, which came after they put him back to half back for the last half of a game. All of a sudden he looked like a new player. Next week back to forward half again. Mansell was asked to play forward for 2 weeks before they put him back to half back. Stack who is a natural half back and potentially a great one, was not afforded the luxury.

Agree with your comment about coming a bit unfit, I guess that is a bit of a stuff up, but he couldn't have been that underdone by January because the week before the season was to start, Stack and Pickett played on the wings in a practice match and were considered our best two players. Playing small forward at Richmond is a hiding to nothing. None of them have been any good, going way back to 2017. Look at the way Rioli is playing after many on here were wanting him banished forever.

Cumberland should also have been played earlier, but for reasons of learning more 'defensive stuff'. The George and Aarts vs Cumberland debate is pretty much sealed. He had the tools to make the position a different style, and thank god for that.

Why were they so bloody minded with Stack playing forward, a similar mindset from the coaches for me. Sure experiment for a bit, but after 6-8 weeks they could have given him a few games at least to try and run into form but for some reason they didn't.
And all those points go back to the brains trust, why play a haof back flanker in his natural position when you can turn the rest of the list into half back flankers

Sydney Stack is no where near the player he was in his 1st year and people will be jumping on his head in just 2 games if he was played
The bloke only has himself to blame and nobody else .

If and thats a BIG if he is given another year at AFL level he needs to pull his finger out of his backside and have a preseason like he has never had before and decide if he actually wants to be a AFL player because the s**t he has served up on and off the ground the last 3 years is unacceptable and Richmond has invested enough time and money into this bloke.

Either gets serious and busts his ass this off season or piss him off
It's a harsh call but the right one. I reckon he needs some tough love until he's mature enough to have the self-discipline an elite athlete needs to succeed. Should be written into his contract he comes back to training NY ticking some serious KPIs fitness wise or his contract is void and we can find a replacement through the mid season draft. Most fans want him to succeed, he could be Bolton tier if he pulled his head out of his arse when away from the club. He puts himself behind the 8 ball every year.

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack