Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack

I'm now very confident this kid's gonna make it, because he's still here, and if he was at all frustrated with how this season has gone for him he may well of headed home with Parker, this shows me he wants to make it, I just hope it's at Richmond because I'm a fan.
Yep, same here, and I think he’s now very settled, with all his indigenous brothers at the club seemingly supporting him too.
He’s in the best environment he can possibly be in imo, and I think that’ll bring the best out of him as he improves his professionalism towards playing AFL.

It's all up to Stack, really. In his first year, he had a point to prove and trained his behind off to the point of throwing up each session. It was his determination that enabled him to gain the endurance, consistency, confidence and respect of his peers. Not his natural talent. That, he has always had.

I was so excited when he broke onto the scene that year. I thought we had won the lottery with a ticket every other punter had discarded. Then he relaxed...

...the attitude emerged - disregard for rules, laziness, disrespect, lack of self control. He the sort of youth that needs a clear structure and a firm hand. He's his own worst enemy and the penny is only finally starting to drop this year as his chances start to fade away.

I think he set himself for a big year this year but a poor preseason, form and injuries have stolen that way. I think it's a great lesson for him - it just won't happen. You need to work for it and even then there are plenty of others around you working just as hard to win the same spot. Opportunity is earned and the world owes you nothing.

If he can get his head straight, put the time in and perform consistently, he will never lose his spot in the side. He is an incredible talent of the same ilk as Bolton and as he matures, a bit like Dusty, will embrace his opportunities and become a star of our side.

He just need to work and prove himself and we'll have a multi-positional player that will carve up the competition once again.

If the club is happy with Stack, and he is prepared to sign for an amount the can afford and he is worth, then why not sign him now before someone else comes knocking?

The male brain is known to noticeably mature around 23 years of age, and Stack will turn 23 in April 2023. If both parties are happy and the price is right, sign him up!
23?? I swear it was 36 for me… like yesterday 🤣

It's all up to Stack, really. In his first year, he had a point to prove and trained his behind off to the point of throwing up each session. It was his determination that enabled him to gain the endurance, consistency, confidence and respect of his peers. Not his natural talent. That, he has always had.

I was so excited when he broke onto the scene that year. I thought we had won the lottery with a ticket every other punter had discarded. Then he relaxed...

...the attitude emerged - disregard for rules, laziness, disrespect, lack of self control. He the sort of youth that needs a clear structure and a firm hand. He's his own worst enemy and the penny is only finally starting to drop this year as his chances start to fade away.

I think he set himself for a big year this year but a poor preseason, form and injuries have stolen that way. I think it's a great lesson for him - it just won't happen. You need to work for it and even then there are plenty of others around you working just as hard to win the same spot. Opportunity is earned and the world owes you nothing.

If he can get his head straight, put the time in and perform consistently, he will never lose his spot in the side. He is an incredible talent of the same ilk as Bolton and as he matures, a bit like Dusty, will embrace his opportunities and become a star of our side.

He just need to work and prove himself and we'll have a multi-positional player that will carve up the competition once again.

Completely agree. He can be top end mid with his ability. Just has to work hard.

Actually similar to RCD in some ways - more talent, but it's not talent that is holding them back.

Happy Jimmy Fallon GIF by The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

He seems really good in all areas of the ground

Can play In defence, can play midfield, can play forward

Has the biggest impact off half back,

forwardline line he makes things happen, brings others in to the game

Midfield he’s aggressive, reads the play very well and is awesome user of the ball

He seems really good in all areas of the ground

Can play In defence, can play midfield, can play forward

Has the biggest impact off half back,

forwardline line he makes things happen, brings others in to the game

Midfield he’s aggressive, reads the play very well and is awesome user of the ball

fat bastard.

Until he puts pen to paper then he's still where we were 4 pages back. On maturity he still is a long way from it based on his social media posts and from also how he came into the season. I hope he has, but if he re-signs and unless he comes back looking fit as a rattlesnake then I'm not holding my breath. Bullshit talks with this bloke and I actually want to see him walk the talk as it's been non existent since 2019.

If you're tired of hearing it, give it a rest. I'm tired of you bagging him. Clearly the club at ok with where he's at. That should be enough for you too. Post after post sticking it to him about his professionalism. Even when the club announces that they are happy with his increased professionalism and intend re signing him, you have another go at him. Enough already. You made your point, many times. He's a Richmond player, here's a thought, get behind him, unless you have some other agenda ?
You have got to be kidding?
Pot kettle black.

If you're tired of hearing it, give it a rest. I'm tired of you bagging him. Clearly the club at ok with where he's at. That should be enough for you too. Post after post sticking it to him about his professionalism. Even when the club announces that they are happy with his increased professionalism and intend re signing him, you have another go at him. Enough already. You made your point, many times. He's a Richmond player, here's a thought, get behind him, unless you have some other agenda ?
Seriously mate stop attacking posters for seeing a different aspect of Stack. Some people are tired of hearing the dribble on this bloke that has been nonexistent since 2019. I'm an each way bet on Stack, but atm my bet looks 250-1 bc I don't know what horse is going to turn up as it hasn't produced on race day for three years. He even got quarantined at one stage.

Until he puts pen to paper then he's still where we were 4 pages back. On maturity he still is a long way from it based on his social media posts and from also how he came into the season. I hope he has, but if he re-signs and unless he comes back looking fit as a rattlesnake then I'm not holding my breath. Bullshit talks with this bloke and I actually want to see him walk the talk as it's been non existent since 2019.
Stack has become a better player the longer he has been out of the team

this time next year he should be as good as dusty

Yep, same here, and I think he’s now very settled, with all his indigenous brothers at the club seemingly supporting him too.
He’s in the best environment he can possibly be in imo, and I think that’ll bring the best out of him as he improves his professionalism towards playing AFL.
Hope they pick him this week

Stack has become a better player the longer he has been out of the team

this time next year he should be as good as dusty
Yep 269 pages based on one very good season and three seasons of in the wilderness . Even Woewodin produced one good season to win a Brownlow, but never measured up again. A lot of other players have also done the same and Stack with his misdemeanours has been lucky to not have been sacked. In the real world if it was us we’d have been at Centrelink on the Monday morning.

I don’t think we’ll see the best of him until he’s played off half back. He serviceable in other positions but halfback is his spot. We could easily shuffle some players around to make it happen.

Completely agree. It’s where he played his best footy. I’d give him another year but also let him know he has to come back in ripping fitness.

we all know he's gonna get on the sauce and delicious fast food once he goes back to wa

just stay in melbourne I reckon

if he must visit family in wa just visit them and take them out for a lovely meal and have christmas with them and come back to melb

its when he starts going to parties and stuff with the old crowd that old habits return

Player Watch #44 Sydney Stack