• Thread starter Thread starter Kaan

Yeah that'd pretty much seal the deal for ya, but I'm sure you'd still get the job anyway because you're 15. Businesses like that are fairly stingy and salivate at the idea of cheap labour:thumbsu:

Changed my mind again, decided to go with shirt/trousers but... must I tuck my shirt in? :o
Btw, it doesn't have to be a business shirt. Just a nice collared shirt and trousers. Also wear your school shoes. Do you not want to do this because you think you'll look like the biggest nerd for an hour? If so, then that's a terrible attitude as that's what you'll be wearing for most of your life (That's if you work in the office).

Sounds like ya need a paper round so you can wear your footy shorts, bluey n thongs mate :)

If you want the job aim to be better dressed than the bogans (about 20% of interview), talk in propa Inglish-no slang (rules another 15% out), show some interest in working- attittude (rules out another 10%) and show why you are suited to the position- skills & qualities.

If you show a bit of interest, initiative and are well presented you shouldn't have a problem. Remember, their first impression of you will be lasting...what you wear when you walk in the door and what you say & handshake (no need to break hand but don't give an insincere one either)....

And if you go with the mankini option...don't forget the fake tan!

I just returned from the same style of group interview and you have at Woolworths/Safeway, and let me tell you the things they get you to do is so piss-easy you'd have to have the IQ of a cardboard box to fail. Just dress neatly, and don't fall asleep. You should be fine.

Lol, scooterb fails again.
Again?
When I was under 18 and worked at Coles I wasn't allowed to sell tobacco.
There's still a poster in the tea room saying that you can't sell tobacco whilst under the age of 18. And if you are 18, you can't sell tobacco to someone under 18, and if they look under the age of 23(?) you have to ask for I.D.

In WA, you have to be 18+ to sell tobacco. Have to ask for ID if they look under 25.

Anyway, I used to work at Coles. I'd probably wear shirt/trousers and tuck the shirt in.

They will like the fact your 15. That is probably one of your biggest selling points. They dont want 20 yr olds because they have to be paid ALOT more. I was earning $22 p/hr at Coles when I was 21. My line manager kept bitching about how much I was getting paid to do not much. Admittedly I had been there a while I kinda 'earnt' that situation.

Don't feel stupid about wearing 'business atire'. It's not as complicated as it sounds - black slacks, black shoes, belt and collared shirt.

When I was 15 I would've felt stupid wearing stuff like that. But you have to man up. Everyone does it, it's normal.

You'll feel far more out of place if you show up in a hoody. I've had people come into interviews before, and if they arent dressed properly, they don't even get a look in.

Got an group interview at Myer on wednesday. Went and purchased a nice business shirt and belt today. I doubt I will get it because I haven't had that much experience in retail - my last job was a conservation job that ended in June and my last retail job was when I was 16 - I'm now 21:o.

However saying that I don't see many 15 yos in Myer like you do in coles and safeway etc - it seems they like people a little older?

Going to piss my pants come wednesday.

Again?
When I was under 18 and worked at Coles I wasn't allowed to sell tobacco.
There's still a poster in the tea room saying that you can't sell tobacco whilst under the age of 18. And if you are 18, you can't sell tobacco to someone under 18, and if they look under the age of 23(?) you have to ask for I.D.

Legislation > Tea Room Poster

That may be part of Coles' individual constitution, I wouldn't know, but it is not part of Victorian legislation as is being discussed here.

And yes again for the lulz you gave me about all P2P sharing being illegal and have been completely blocked by some ISPs, as told on the Olympics Board by you.

You give me amusement, that's for sure.

Legislation > Tea Room Poster

That may be part of Coles' individual constitution, I wouldn't know, but it is not part of Victorian legislation as is being discussed here.

And yes again for the lulz you gave me about all P2P sharing being illegal and have been completely blocked by some ISPs, as told on the Olympics Board by you.

You give me amusement, that's for sure.
Haven't you used google before?
I type in something along the lines of 'ISP P2P block' and up comes this:
Link
And that was over a year ago. Search next time instead of acting like a fool.
BTW, I never said that P2P was illegal, in fact it is 100% legal.

Just to clear up the tobaco issue, I believe it is legal for a person of any age to sell tobacco, however as shown in the quoted box a few pages ago their manager has to ensure they are properly trained. Safeway thus don't mind the age and train all their employees to be able to sell cigerettes.

However, Coles (where I work) is a bit more strict and doesn't like the idea of having underage employees selling a 18+ product, I imagine they view it as being similiar to a 16 year old selling beer in liqourland. Therefore they have a store policy that to sell ciggarettes the employee must be over 18 and have been employed by Coles for a minimum of 3 months. We are instructed to ask for ID should anyone look under the age of 25. The fine for selling it to an underage person is pretty substantial ($6,000 or something like that) and the tobacco authorities often send underage kids in to see if we screw up so I guess they just try and play it as safe as possible.

did my group interview - it was piss easy.
They called me a few days later and I had a secondary interview...they said they'd call me later this arvo if I got the job or not.

No need to stress mate, its not like your running for Prime Minister or anything

Back guys, went well. I wore a white shirt, black pants and some black leather shoes. I was the youngest(15) and there were about 5-7 more people in the 16-21 bracket. There were about 20 people all up, some old farts too. First we had to interview the person next to you, then talk to the group about it. Then fill out an availability form then a piss easy test followed by a group task which was a scenario test. All up, piss easy. They said I'd be emailed if I get a secondary interview.

Thanks guys for the help and support.

Haven't you used google before?
I type in something along the lines of 'ISP P2P block' and up comes this:
Link
And that was over a year ago. Search next time instead of acting like a fool.
BTW, I never said that P2P was illegal, in fact it is 100% legal.

I was unaware we lived in Belgium or the demand applied directly applied to us. I asked you to show me an Australian ISP that blocks P2P sharing as you claimed.

But massive fail as usual from scooterb resulted. :thumbsu:

Phoenix Rise - not allowing fact to get in the way of a good story.

I would I say I was actually on the money with what Soupaman said I'd say. :thumbsu:

Although you could probably argue my use of the word constitution in hindsight as not quite right, although it may still come under the Coles National Regulations they place on their stores, which might as well be regarded as a constitutional rules.