Past #5: Ben Jacobs - delisted after 64 NM games/10 NM goals - thanks Benny

Still a lack of detail re what the problem is (and fair enough if he wants privacy) but it doesn't look like we will see BJ again. Sad for him and the team.

Why he is not on the LTI list is really perplexing. We would have someone (potential Zurhaar) filling his spot. Often LTI players of his ilk are seen in the coaches box helping out or taking the game in from another perspective. It's a mystery.

Still a lack of detail re what the problem is (and fair enough if he wants privacy) but it doesn't look like we will see BJ again. Sad for him and the team.
There's a lack of detail, because the specialists can't work it out would be my thinking still.

Despite the advances in ent & neurological related issues, there's still a hell of a lot medicine doesn't know and unfortunately people aren't machines.

Having said that, given the recent history, I've got no idea why we haven't put him on the LTI.

There's a lack of detail, because the specialists can't work it out would be my thinking still.

Despite the advances in ent & neurological related issues, there's still a hell of a lot medicine doesn't know and unfortunately people aren't machines.

Having said that, given the recent history, I've got no idea why we haven't put him on the LTI.

I'm wondering if there's more to this, with regards to future damages liabilities, payouts etc etc.....

I'm wondering if there's more to this, with regards to future liabilities etc.....
Can of worms that one Pykie and any speculation on that front is probably pointless at this stage.

From a prudent list management perspective, I thought having BJ on the LTI was a bit of a Captain obvious though, regardless of any possible future liabilities.

The fact he isn’t on the LTI is a good sign.

Don’t over think this. They just don’t have a clear prognosis.
Good sign? After how long - 2 years plus? Most important thing is his health, for sure, but if they cannot determine whats wrong after two years its time to retire him and find a different pathway in footy.

Can of worms that one Pykie and any speculation on that front is probably pointless at this stage.

From a prudent list management perspective, I thought having BJ on the LTI was a bit of a Captain obvious though, regardless of any possible future liabilities.

Nah, no speculation and insinuation on the club, player or management.

Was a simple thought.

The club is like any business, risk management is one of the key pillars of it's operation, especially one that is technically NFP and whose turnover is in and around $40m.

IF you don't future proof yourself from unforseen risks, it can sink any buisness/club at this level pretty quickly.

Nah, no speculation and insinuation on the club, player or management.

Was a simple thought.

All good mate. It was a poorly worded statement from me & I wasn't meaning to attatch any negative connotations.

Good sign? After how long - 2 years plus? Most important thing is his health, for sure, but if they cannot determine whats wrong after two years its time to retire him and find a different pathway in footy.

Yes a good sign.

Sometimes chronic sinusitus ends up being connected to/ leads to rheumatoid arthritis. If they thought he was getting into this territory they would have pulled the trigger already.

Lmac has shut down plenty of small forwards

Would be awesome to see him learn from the best
He can also win his own ball like BJ too.

Wasn’t Lmac considered an ‘elite’ mid for his age in his draft year?

I reckon a key tagging responsibility could take his career to another level.

Attacking half back.

Brad knocked the "attacking" out of him.

He can also win his own ball like BJ too.

I’ve been saying this for years. Would love to see Lmac take the tagging role as his own.

Shutdown defenders don’t get much recognition and I feel like Lukey would thrive in the limelight.

Plus he has mentioned his preferable role is in the midfield

I hope we trial it in the pre-season

Salvage his career is how I'd put it.

This notion has a few things in its favour:

The focus is on stopping the other, versus using the ball well yourself.
His best game, imho, was the Hobart game shutting down Sloane, which demonstrates capability.
Most taggers have annoying personalities; Luke has the capacity to own this role.

Patch Adams has to be the model for Ben here.

I remember when Patch was facing the same situation re quality of life and he's recovered and built a new career.
i agree but its a terrible outcome for the club nonetheless. Having said that I only wanted the best for Patch and I feel the same for Ben.

I’ve been saying this for years. Would love to see Lmac take the tagging role as his own.

Shutdown defenders don’t get much recognition and I feel like Lukey would thrive in the limelight.

Plus he has mentioned his preferable role is in the midfield

I hope we trial it in the pre-season

Done some jobs in that regard before too - Sloane notably.