5aa

• Thread starter Thread starter Slammer

You leave my no. 1 case study alone. I went to many a Port game, as to my great shame a couple of my best friends played for the bastards.

And fine people they must have been too. :thumbsu:

I never saw him hit anyone front on, many times from the side and a few from the back.Sorry but Salisbury ( and I hated his guts ) did more front on fighting than Dave ever did.

Well then we agree to disagree.

Back on topic for a sec - despite having one of the deepest midfield groups in the comp, we should've recruited a 31 year old drug addict with a bad hamstring to get our crowds up. :thumbsu:

I was driving to gym this arvo and decided to turn it on. Did anyone else hear that raving lunatic Rebecca Wilson. That woman needs to be black listed from media full stop. The thing is I've been impressed with Rowey from what I've heard thus far, but siding with Wilson was a let down for me :thumbsd:

LOL at the faux tough guys the Stringers. I don't think they ever looked anyone in the eye and hit them. Say what you like about Dave, but he'd deck a guy from any angle.

90 and 180 degrees being his favourite of course :)

As for Salisbury you're right about Greg's pace, but Salisbury would have to run past Greg sometime ... it's when they get you coming the other way that hurts. ;)

ah they had Michael Murphy, who was as tough as anyone (prob more) and enjoyed a ruck far more than a game of footy. he was a real hard bastard, and a seriously good footballer too. shame he had a screw loose.

reminded me a lot of the South Adelaide CHF Peter McIntyre of the same year. genuine country brawlers, who had a lot more talent than they seemed to realise. mcIntyre would get bored, and roam around about the time on period of each quarter looking for someone to thump.

I was driving to gym this arvo and decided to turn it on. Did anyone else hear that raving lunatic Rebecca Wilson. That woman needs to be black listed from media full stop. The thing is I've been impressed with Rowey from what I've heard thus far, but siding with Wilson was a let down for me :thumbsd:

I left work and switch it on, I got 500m down the road and she came on so the radio went straight to CD and I did not even hear her say hello.

So for the usual drive home they lost one listener for the night.

No idea if she was good or not but after the crap she wrote in the advertiser. I dont read her articles any more so I am surely not going to listen to her in person.

I haven't read all this thread, But I spend time on and off in SA. I was always a fan of KG. Even though he was a true Croweater and loved to give it to the Vics, he would always give credit where it was due.

KG was always well respected in VIC and was great friends with the late great Teddy Whitten.

Recently I was watching the Cats game with the female commentator. That really started to grate so I turned the radio on to hear Rowe. This guy really takes in to another level IMO, just a bit scary.

Anyways, was kind of dissapointed to hear of KGs demise, thought he always did a good job.

Why was he sacked BTW?

He wasn't really sacked. He wanted to go on to his 70th birthday which is in August I think.He asked the station to let him stay until then. 5AA knew they had to replace him at some time, so they said they wanted him to finish up at Christmas so that his replacement, which ended up being Rowe, could start at the beginning of the year a week or two before the ratings survey started and build up to the footy season where they get their best ratings both as a % of radio audience and total listeners.

But I reckon KG would have been like Howard. Come his 70th Birthday he would have gone on. So somebody hat to sack him rather than him quit.

He will still be calling games at Footy Park, and if not on every Saturday he will be a regular on the Saturday morning sports show.

First ratings survey of the year is out and the sports show is down 2.4. Hard to draw any conclusion from that, Nielsen are using a new methodology, there'd have been an increase last year with KG's farewell tour, some novelty factor for Rowe to start this year, start of the year figures can be volatile.

http://www.nielsenmedia.com.au/files/adelaide109.pdf

5 double crow back to their usual tricks

Port v St Kilda game will not be commentated ball by ball, they have chosen to stay with regular programming and just have the occasional score update

then of course the Crows v Sydney will get a kick by kick full commentary

awesome... so we are stuck with a game time that the majority of us cant attend due to working committment, and we also wont get to hear it on the radio, and the crows get a favourable game time on friday night and full commentary

also Rowe thought it would be a good idea to call Port supporters inbred toothless, tanktop wearing, mullet haired bogans who bash their wives... anyone who thought he'd give us a fair go is kidding themselves

some things never change

5 double crow back to their usual tricks

Port v St Kilda game will not be commentated ball by ball, they have chosen to stay with regular programming and just have the occasional score update

then of course the Crows v Sydney will get a kick by kick full commentary

awesome... so we are stuck with a game time that the majority of us cant attend due to working committment, and we also wont get to hear it on the radio, and the crows get a favourable game time on friday night and full commentary

also Rowe thought it would be a good idea to call Port supporters inbred toothless, tanktop wearing, mullet haired bogans who bash their wives... anyone who thought he'd give us a fair go is kidding themselves

some things never change

I believe he also added that we kick the dog when we get home.:rolleyes:

I recommend all PAFC supporters call the radio station between 4-7pm on Friday 13th and just flood the 5AA station to talk about all things Port Adelaide and pump up the club we all love. This has also been brought up at TPFP site as well.

This is the only way to get back at Rowie and Cornesy for their negative, bias and cheap shot comments about the PAFC supporters yesterday...get on board everyone.

I just can't be bothered with them anymore Pete. I've listened to the AA sports show twice since Rowe came aboard. When they had Mark Williams on the first day (fortunately they announced when he'd be on, so I could time my run) and when they spoke to Dom Cassisi (I think someone here posted that he was on, so again I missed their usual dross). I can't even be stuffed with the Saturday morning show any more. Same tired old formula, same old crap.

The trouble with ringing them is that it means they have listeners, which is what advertisers want to hear. I'd rather give them the sound of crickets chirping. I know me not listening doesn't affect their ratings seeing as I'm not surveyed, but it sure saves me unnecessary angst.

And in the end, if there's anything meaningful on the show it either gets reported on the website, in the tiser (usually presented as if Rucci or Capel did the interview), someone here recounts it, or REH tracks down the podcast for us. Win win win. :thumbsu:

If a tree falls in the forest and no one hears it, does it make a sound?

I believe he also added that we kick the dog when we get home.:rolleyes:

At around 5:30 Graham said he was exagerating and Rowie did admit all teams have those supporters, everyone has been saying that about Collingwood supporters for how long now?

Maybe we should smile, take it on the chin and ignore it. It's like the old chokers tag, the more we react the more it gets said!

I just can't be bothered with them anymore Pete. I've listened to the AA sports show twice since Rowe came aboard.
It doesn't bother me either way Ford as i'll be at the game watching our boys against the Saints...time of game is the killer. The radio station is covering the Cows game and not the NAB GF (it's what i've heard), which just shows they are only there for the Cows and not for the AFL public in general, which is what they should be doing as they are an affiliated AFL station and the Cows game is only a trial. For those who don't know - 5AACows Sports Show will broadcast the whole game between the Cow and Swans.

You would think 5AACows being at the ground from 4pm onwards on the day shouldn't be a problem covering the Power v Saints game for 3 quarters....it's a joke.

It doesn't bother me either way Ford as i'll be at the game watching our boys against the Saints...time of game is the killer. The radio station is covering the Cows game and not the NAB GF (it's what i've heard), which just shows they are only there for the Cows and not for the AFL public in general, which is what they should be doing as they are an affiliated AFL station and the Cows game is only a trial. For those who don't know - 5AACows Sports Show will broadcast the whole game between the Cow and Swans.

You would think 5AACows being at the ground from 4pm onwards on the day shouldn't be a problem covering the Power v Saints game for 3 quarters....it's a joke.

But when 70% of their Audience support the Crows and 50% + would switch off the radio instead of lsitening to a Port game the $$$$$ talk. Hence the reason Collingwood, Essendon get a good rub of the green with TV and fixturing.

The mighty $$ rules all. The only way it could be braodcast is if the Port club thought outside the square and perhaps braodcasted the game themselve, perhaps via their website or via a community radio station perhaps?

Melbourne clubs don't have the luxury of braodcast trial games, I was reading on the North forum how they had to listen to the biased 5aa broadcast to get any info.

We can't complain too much as 5AA has broadcast 2 of our games and we are just a victim to commercial reality. We need the Port club to look at options to promote the club eg like maybe club run broadcasts, club tv etc etc to entice new supporters and support exisiting IMO.

I'm not directing this at any specific person on the forum but collectively from alot of the posts I am reading we are coming across very sooky and precious, we need to toughen up. U know with a bit of forsight and brains a few of us supporters could have broadcast the game from footy park, via the internet. Unfortuantely I will be in the gold coast so don't count on me :)

Supposedly this will the 3rd trial game/NAB cup that 5AA hasn't covered in our AFL jiurney. That's not too shabby an effort. Out of curosity did they send a team to Dubai to call the crows and pies game a couple of years ago?

IIRC KG went because there was a big thing made about his fear of flying.

I will be going to the game. Have cancelled a couple of appointments, and will leave at 3. Hope there isn't a line to get in. I like the idea of BF members calling games that won't be covered. If there was anybody who is media saavy and has a bit of equipment, I wonder if the club would give any help. A BF commentary team. Hmmmmmm.

Go and get stuffed 5aa. Seriously, i've never really listened in.

But for those looking for an alternative, one could be coming your way. I recently did a couple of guest appearances on a mate of mines community radio show, basically to promote my blog and to try something new. Anyway, i'm currently thinking about doing my own show there. This is WowFM btw, which can be picked up in the Seamphore, but can also be streamed from the website very easily. So anyone with suggestions, or if you wanna help out let me know, though it won't be up and running for a bit as there's training to do.