6,000 attend Aussie Footy tournament in Tennesee

Peter P

Sep 30, 2000
One of the main tournaments on the Australian football circuit since the game got going there 4 years ago is the Nashville Grand Final tournament. This year the crowd boosted from last year's record 2,000 to aprox 6,000. So the Olympics has had some benefit to all things Aussie including footy.
The event caught the eye of the local media.
http://www.beareware.com/grandfinalfestival/

So more people went to an Aussie Rules game in USA than would go to a National Soccer
redface.gif
League game in Australia,and people say AFL is in danger from Soccer
redface.gif
-PIGS ARRRRRRSSSSE
redface.gif

As I said on another thread, the concept of a national competition was considered pie in the sky -especially by traditionalists when I was playing footy back in the 70s. Footy can (and needs to) develop an international perspective. Where would the game be if it were still the VFL, SANFL and WAFL and well..probably nobody playing north of Canberra?

In an increasingly global village environment - the game has to keep expanding. It doesn't need to be a number 1 sport in any other country - but if it is just widely played amateur or semi-pro in a dozen other countries - then it is on a footing with field Hockey and not far behind Rugby Union - and well ahead of League. What that'd mean is that footy players in Oz could find heaps of working holidays abroad - even if it is only playing, umpiring or coaching for board and travel. Lots of us would be in that! You can be in it now just for love of the game.

It also means a doubling of the draft pool and a higher standard of the pro game here in Australia. It leads to bigger global TV rights and the financial security of the game itself.

And if the USA is even just mildly semi-pro, numbers of players could mean they compete in the minor State games (with Tassie, the NT, NSW) and after a few years with State of Origin and eventually with the All Australians. Time scale? 20 to 30 years - a bit longer than the time since South Melbourne packed their bags.

But the Footy public and the AFL have to want it - and forget the bloody cultural cringe - surely the Olympics has taught us that.

Traditional Aussie sport is growing in America finally! I'm sure as Peter P(an)? said the Olympics have put Australia in the spotlight - and people will be keen on our identity.

Hopefully the 6,000 who went to the Nashville Grand Final can tell one of their friends, and have a domino effect and pass the word on.

If they can play a cricket match in LA, there is no reason why AFL cant continue to grow in the states
smile.gif

The next big tournament in the USAFL is their "nationals" which will be in LA. Despite being totally amateur which restricts some east coast clubs from playing (previous nationals have been in mid US states) - they'll have 16 teams attending. http://www.usfooty.com/
Its still small beer (despite the Coopers sponsorship) - but the impressive part is the level of organisation, the enthusiasm and the exponential rate of growth.

One has to recall that most Americans haven't ever heard of Footy. I took 2 Americans and 2 Europeans to the MCG (Crows v Collingwood) this year. It was a slightly above average game - they were blown away by it - none of them (all male, sports followers and over 30) had even known of our game's existence. As one said - its one of the world's best kept secrets.

Footy's always had a cult following here as a late-night cable TV staple during the 1980s, but in the beginning it was more of a curiosity; it took a long time before anyone actually PLAYED it. Now, fortunately, people are actually playing it.

I attended a Bombers-Dockers game two years ago while visiting Melbourne for the first time and fell in love with it. I follow it closer than I do most domestic sports now.

I would love it to be widely international. As it is now I visit the usafl site frequently and also support the Inland Empire Eagles in the CAFL. I love it. Roll on the day that the Australian All-Australian team plays the All-American team. I heard there is an all american team selected, you must be totally american.

That's right eagles.. the USA team (nickname American Revolution) beat Team Canada fairly convincingly. All players in both outfits were citizens of their country - no Aussies allowed. The curtain raiser was between Canadian based Aussies and USA based Aussies.

A match between Denmark and the USA would be interesting. Denmark gave Britain a shillacking this year. Again no Aussies in either side - they play the curtain raiser. Question is how good are the curtain raisers in comparison? I gather the Danes (with some Swedes) were quite impressive and moved the ball very well.

6,000 attend Aussie Footy tournament in Tennesee