Chewy

Shannon Hurn took a chest mark and was called to play on just 6.4 seconds later. He got tackled from behind by Marc Murphy, who then kicked a crucial goal.

Hurn never stepped off his mark. The umpire decided that 6.4 seconds was enough time for him to get on with it.

Since when did this become a part of the game? I've always thought that if you took a mark, you were permitted to back to go back to take your kick and weigh up your options.

It wasn't a one-off decision. It seems to be a disturbing new trend to hurry players up after they've marked and give them less time than ever before. Hawthorn players seem to get less time than others when they play their short chipping game.

What's the obsession with calling play on? Surely a team earns the right to have 10-15 seconds after a mark?

Is this another one of Jeff Gieschen's brilliant innovations or was the Hurn decision another instance of incompetence from one of the most experienced umpires?

Absolute disgrace.

Umpiring is getting worse from the top down which is filtering into every local league around the country.

No pride in the job anymore.

Shannon Hurn took a chest mark and was called to play on just 6.4 seconds later. He got tackled from behind by Marc Murphy, who then kicked a crucial goal.

Hurn never stepped off his mark. The umpire decided that 6.4 seconds was enough time for him to get on with it.

Since when did this become a part of the game? I've always thought that if you took a mark, you were permitted to back to take your kick and weigh up your options.

Is this another one of Jeff Gieschen's brilliant innovations or is this another instance of incompetence from the most experienced umpires?
------------------------
I thought he didnt have much time , they usually allow about 10 seconds but 6.4 seconds is crazy to do that to Hurn or any player.

It was clear last night Carlton had the better deal from the umps last night .

yeh, that was bizarre, as was the 5 minute countdown - rubbertime? also the amount of 'iffy' frees in the 1st qtr/half compared to blatantly throwing the whistle away later on..its so uneven and patchy, really impacts on the game..wasnt that ump just allowed back on the turf? (should be turfed himself!)...as should that biased flog of a commentator..

Simple case of umps caught up in the chaos of the moment. re the last 5 minutes, clock was spot on as I started the timer at the 5 min warning. was just heaps of stoppages

Since when did this become a part of the game? I've always thought that if you took a mark, you were permitted to back to go back to take your kick and weigh up your options.

It wasn't a one-off decision. It seems to be a disturbing new trend to hurry players up after they've marked and give them less time than ever before. Hawthorn players seem to get less time than others when they play their short chipping game.

What's the obsession with calling play on? Surely a team earns the right to have 10-15 seconds after a mark?

Is this another one of Jeff Gieschen's brilliant innovations or was the Hurn decision another instance of incompetence from one of the most experienced umpires?
I noticed this too and was wondering what the deal was.
The trademark home side umpiring was absent last night.

Cant say I noticed it.
Hmmmm. It was only the crucial moment in the match with minutes to play and Carlton reducing West Coast's lead from 15 to 9 points.

West Coast had control of the ball with a mark at CHB, but due to umpire error, Carlton forced the turnover and strode into an open goal.

Were you watching the game at the pub and buying beers at the time?

Unlike some other anal retentives I dont have my stopwatch with me when watching the footy.
Did anyone ask you for a second opinion on how long Shannon Hurn was given? The point of the thread is that Hurn clearly wasn't given enough time and was caught off guard. Also that umpires seem to be giving players less and less time after they've marked.

It's the AFL's obsession with speeding up the flow of games

(BTW, You should look at getting a smart phone. Technology is an amazing thing)

The umpire always gives a warning when he's about to call playon so a player always knows when he has about 2 seconds to kick the ball.
and Hurn obviously didn't hear this warning over the crowd's din and he probably would not have expectedto hear it after taking a mark just seconds earlier.

It was shit umpiring and it could've ended West Coast's season

You should've seen the look on Worsfold's face just after it happened

Another thing that occurred was in the last 5 mins at every stoppage instead of waiting a good 10 or 15 seconds to see if the players could get the ball out like every other contest previously, the umps blew the whistle almost immediately. Obviously they got caught up in the moment and didn't want to waste time but this is a complete flip on the what the rule has been for the entire season.

The thing that annoys me most is that the umpire will tell the player to move it along, but in the same breath call play on. What the hell is that all about?

Think about it. How many times do you hear an ump say "move it on" and then call play on one second later?

Hmmmm. It was only the crucial moment in the match with minutes to play and Carlton reducing West Coast's lead from 15 to 9 points.

West Coast had control of the ball with a mark at CHB, but due to umpire error, Carlton forced the turnover and strode into an open goal.

Play on is when the umpire says play on.....just after he blows a whistle to give the player notice to hurry up.

That was totally Hurns fault, irrespective of how many seconds he was given.

Plenty of time IMO, we want to keep the game moving, 10 seconds + is too long, 6 seconds is more than enough time to weigh up your options IMO, Hurn lacked awareness, simple as that.

The system is incredibly inconsistent. The AFL needs to come out and say "you get 10 seconds for a mark around the ground and 30 for a set shot" or whatever numbers they come up with. Then for a set shot, actually enforce it.

Anyone else notice Luke Darcy blatantly celebrating the Carlton goal?

This guy is a joke.

Commentators, and most neutral supporters, almost always barrack for the team behind.