6 in a row and yet still.....

• Thread starter Thread starter vanders

Just wondering why it is that Hawthorn have won the first six games, are undefeated on top of the ladder but yet we still dont get all that much recognition....whats the deal with that??

hey Vanders

What recognition were you after ? It is only 6 games in a row - maybe if the Hawks can emulate the Bombers amazing run then yes you might get some recognition - but when did Hawthorn ever get the same media treatment as
the Pies or the Blues for example?
Good on the Hawks - not one of my faves but it is good to see them firing along
Cheers

Bad kicking is bad footy QT. Plus if you have two of your main stars in Jarman and McLeod fire and you still can't beat the Hawks then I think it could be a long season for you.

Originally posted by kittenswan1
hey Vanders

What recognition were you after ? It is only 6 games in a row - maybe if the Hawks can emulate the Bombers amazing run then yes you might get some recognition - but when did Hawthorn ever get the same media treatment as
the Pies or the Blues for example?
Good on the Hawks - not one of my faves but it is good to see them firing along
Cheers

Anything would do....I'm getting a little bit tired of hearing about the likes of Collingwood..Carlton...Essendon etc....no matter when they win or lose you hear more about them than Hawthorn

Hawthorn, in a similar way to Port have done everything asked of them this year, and that is morethan could be said for many clubs.

They have not played any of the other top 4 sides yet, but play them all in the next few weeks.

At this stage of the year the ladder is still pretty meaningless as so few games have been played. 6 in a row is a great effort, but would not attract as much attention if it was between rounds 13 and 19.

If the Hawks are still top after round 15 then start getting excited.

ptw

Originally posted by vanders
Just wondering why it is that Hawthorn have won the first six games, are undefeated on top of the ladder but yet we still dont get all that much recognition....whats the deal with that??

Because Hawthorn is boring.

Maybe the footy world know not to get their hopes up too much with Hawthorn. 6 games is good, but the jury is still out until after the next two weeks (yes Stkilda is a big game for them).

The reason the Hawks haven't got as much recognition as other teams have in the past for being 6-0 is because their not as threatening as other teams.
Even a passionate Hawks fan could not consider this Hawks line-up to be one of the great line-ups ever, therefore they haven't got the recognition other teams have for being 6-0.

In 2000, Essendon were 6-0 - lots was been said because there was expectations that they could go undefeated.

in 1999, you'll remember Geelong and West Coast were 6-0, we didn't a whole lot of recognitioin because in 1999, we weren't expected to do great, and people were waiting for us to fall. Which happened in Round 15 (and still hasn't stopped).

In 2001, Hawthorn are 6-0, but people don't have the expectations they could be one of the great line-ups, and they are basically waiting for Hawthorn to fall back to the pack, which they most likely will.

If Hawthorn get to 10-0, then we'll start seeing talk about an undefeated season happening.

Originally posted by elt
Bad kicking is bad footy QT. Plus if you have two of your main stars in Jarman and McLeod fire and you still can't beat the Hawks then I think it could be a long season for you.

Agree about the kicking elt but Jars and Macca were about the only two on our team to play well. We need every player contributing in some way, not just 2 players doing well. Not bad I'd say for a wooden spoon contender versus a top of the table unbeaten team. I hope it is a long season too elt....so should you...

Top of the table unbeaten we may be but I still think Essendon are the team to beat. After that anyone from 2nd to 15th (sorry Docker's fans) can beat anyone.

My point is if you have two stars firing, the Hawks playing close to the worst they have played so far and you still don't win it's hardly a good sign.

Dodongo's rule 3.45 states that any team that have won their first 6 and have never done it before, will lose their 7th game.

Elt, the misconception here is you played badly and we played well. Jars and Macca played very well, but as a team we were quite awful, similar to the Hawks. To play so badly ourselves and still be competitive and get reasonably close to a team which is top of the ladder (though the Hawks were pretty bad as well) is a GOOD sign.

I think Saturday nights game between Hawthorn and St Kilda could be a beauty.

I've always enjoyed playing Hawthorn. Our games during the 1990's always seemed to attract decent crowds at Waverley.

Beating Hawthorn will be something I will take great pleasure in, after the hawks huge comeback a few years ago that has basically killed us in recent seasons.

;)

Hopefully we can fill Colonial Stadium and celebrate Stewart Loewe's achievement of becoming the clubs games record holder with a saints win.

:D

Originally posted by ant
Elt, the misconception here is you played badly and we played well. Jars and Macca played very well, but as a team we were quite awful, similar to the Hawks. To play so badly ourselves and still be competitive and get reasonably close to a team which is top of the ladder (though the Hawks were pretty bad as well) is a GOOD sign.

An alternative interpretation is that Crows played pretty well in applying pressure to make Hawks perform badly, and at the same time Hawks were pretty good at pressuring Crows into poor play. :D

Alternative interpretation 2: Crows played badly in that they made it so hard for themselves. Bad kicking is bad play. Conversely, Hawks kicked very accurately ... so Hawks played pretty well. Yet even with Crows playing badly, and Hawks playing well, Crows got within 13 points of Hawks, who are the league pacesetters. :D

Alternative 3: Hawks don't get any recognition because even in a home game they can barely beat the lowly Crows. Just to get back to the thread topic.

What's that scraping noise?

Oh it's the Crows supporters hitting the bottom of the barrell.

So now the story is that even though you didn't play well, didn't kick straight and didn't win it's a good thing? :rolleyes:

HAWTHORN SHOULDNT EXPECT MUCH RAPS AT THIS STAGE OF PROCEEDINGS. WE HAVE DONT NOTHING EXCEPT PLAY CONSISTENT FOOTBALL AND CONSTRUCT THE MOST MISERLY DEFENCE IN THE COMP, AND ALSO THE MOST EFFECTIVE FORWARD LINE IN THE LEAGUE. WE HAVE WON 3-4 GAMES WITH 1 LESS MAN DUE TO USELESS MAGGOTTS IN WHITE. THE DEPTH AT GLENFERRIE IS ABOVE EVERY CLUB (IN MY BOOKS) AND HAVE THE MOST MOMENTUM IVE EVER SEEN. IT WILL TAKE A LOT LONGER FOR SOME PEOPLE TO ADMIT IT- BUT HAWTHORN WILL REIGN SUPREME AND STAY WHERE THEY BELONG.

#19 DEIGO BATA CRESPO SIMEONE- 1986

Elt mate, Hawks should have won and they did well to win, no dispute, just arguing the point that you said it's going to be a long season for us because we lost to the Hawks despite Jars and Macca playing well. That's absolute crap. I say niether team played well but the Hawks made less mistakes, thereby winning. But I still say it's good to get within 13 points of the ladder leaders, despite not playing well collectively as a team.

Originally posted by ant
Elt mate, Hawks should have won and they did well to win, no dispute, just arguing the point that you said it's going to be a long season for us because we lost to the Hawks despite Jars and Macca playing well. That's absolute crap.
I guess we'll have to wait and see. I sitll don't see you figuring come the pointy end.

Weve won well thrice, Blues,Dees,Dogs. Won 'just going' against the Dockers, and importantly won 'ugly' twice against the Woods and the Crows.

I say important because i reckon histroy shows that good sides win even when they play to a standard that by rights, they should in effect lose. Both the Woods and Crows game they had the majority of the play. Yet the four points really looked (imho) always the Hawks from midway through the last quarter.

A great side? Not by a long shot, but a competitive one, and one that isnt getting perhaps due regonition for its achievments thus far this season. But to take the 'good' wins against sides that have all been in a lot of recent finals action (two of last years top four, plus the only side to knock off the premiers) and win well against them is pretty decent form.

Potentials a shocker of a word, yet i cant helped but be encouraged by the very same 'potential' that the sides currently performing at.

But right now, im a happy lil Hawk, and a win is a win is a win.

Cheers.