$$$$$$$

2010-tally.jpg

There's our membership tally already as of 13/10.

The 2008 Financial Reports were posted to the website. The books close at the end of October, I assume for all clubs, so they should be posted again before next season.

An almost extra 100K per home game at the G doesn't hurt this year after the new stadium deal. Should boost the coffers especially with the top picks hopefully drawing in the large majority of our piss weak fans that don't turn up.

great stuff if we dont come last again i think we can be a force again

just need them fickle members to sign up

An almost extra 100K per home game at the G doesn't hurt this year after the new stadium deal. Should boost the coffers especially with the top picks hopefully drawing in the large majority of our piss weak fans that don't turn up.

what is it with some who continually have the need to slag of their own supporters???????????

Totally agree. There were 13,004 fans at the Fremantle game, where were the other 18,000?

Nothing wrong in what he says. He speaks the truth .
It doesn't make us piss weak. Unlike the Collingwood fanbase, our supporters might possibly have to work. And seeing as how most of our games are on sunday some supporters might choose to take the family church or something. Others, like myself, have been engulfed in vce all year. Expect to see me at all of our homes games next season.

Almost all Victorian clubs experience lower attendances when they are struggling on the field. Some people will claim that's not the case, but I can guarantee that it is. We're no different.

Collingwood Home Attendance Averages:

2002: 50,608 (Grand Finalists)
2003: 50,124 (Grand Finalists)
2004: 42,852 (Bottom four)
2005: 41,759 (Bottom four)
2006: 52,883 (Finalists)

Melbourne Home Attendance Averages:

2004: 34,320 (Finalists)
2005: 39,869 (Finalists)
2006: 34,520 (Finalists)
2007: 29,537 (Bottom four)
2008: 30,777 (Bottom four)
2009: 27,534 (Bottom four)

Exactly. And there are a fair number of clubs who would find themselves getting lower crowds than us (and have, previously) if they were in the bottom 4, I think.

Yeah, or Port, Sydney, Brisbane, the Bulldogs, St Kilda, Geelong...

The only ones that would possibly be in trouble financially out of those teams if they had successive years in the bottom four would be the Bulldogs and Port.

A lot of people seem to forget that Geelong had that giant sell off, of a lot of their assets not long ago. 5 years max, yes they may be stronger now, but you give them a couple of years down the bottom and they could go to struggle street again.

Obviously Sydney and Brisbane won't be in trouble no matter how big their losses are, because they'll be propped up regardless.

But I wonder how low their crowds would get after 2 or 3 seasons towards the foot of the ladder. A lot lower than us, I'd say. And I'd reckon the Saints' crowds would be a fair bit lower than ours too in the same circumstances...

The only ones that would possibly be in trouble financially out of those teams if they had successive years in the bottom four would be the Bulldogs and Port.

North and saints would. Didn't we have more members than St.Kilda this year? Add the bandwagoners who'll jump back on in the next 3-5 years and we'll be pushing 40k easily

This might be economically stupid and a case of cutting of the nose to spite the face but I'd rather the bandwagon members stayed away. I went to every game I could in the 70's and 80's watching us get flogged week after week, and then at the first final against Nth in 1987 I sat with what seemed like 60,000 Dees fans who claimed the win as their own. But it wasn't their win: It was mine and my dad's and every other decent fan who sat in the rain at Windy Hill getting spat on while we lost by 10 goals.

I have no time for those people who are only there for the good times. I'll take their money but that is it. I'd rather sit next to a Carlton supporter than them.

These are the same people that didn't take out a membership when we needed them but would cry in a couple of years if they don't get GF tickets. If you are not part of the club now then you have no right to be part of it when we hold up the cup.

I'd rather 32,000 real fans then 32,000 real fans and 10,000 bandwagon fans.

Edit: How good was that game against Nth? Too bloody good for the fair weather supporters, that's what!

We may have had more members than the Saints but it means little when more of those Saints members show up every week and a majority of the Melbourne members don't.

Just wait 3 years and we will see.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

didn't Jim Stynes say he wanted Melbourne to do a 'North'? Jimmy himself seemed very impressed with all the wonderful things North have achieved off-field in the last couple of years.It does and has to start somewhere i suppose and if picking on North makes you feel better or you think Melbourne is in a much better position..... if you've got dog shit on one shoe and ya mate has it on both... ya still got dog shit on ya. Melbourne and North have some work ahead for sure, but things are looking up in both camps .

And as for Norths list , its a hell of a lot better than 99% of AFL fans care/realise. Good luck in 2010 Dees , but please North have proven yr after yr we don't bottom out as we're too proud. Gees i could also ask" could you imagine how good North would be if we had all the early draft picks the Dees have had over the yrs?" i think we've had 2 pick 3's (one of which was in 1989-still waiting on him to come good lol)and have traded for a pick 2 (for Carey)

This might be economically stupid and a case of cutting of the nose to spite the face but I'd rather the bandwagon members stayed away. I went to every game I could in the 70's and 80's watching us get flogged week after week, and then at the first final against Nth in 1987 I sat with what seemed like 60,000 Dees fans who claimed the win as their own. But it wasn't their win: It was mine and my dad's and every other decent fan who sat in the rain at Windy Hill getting spat on while we lost by 10 goals.

I have no time for those people who are only there for the good times. I'll take their money but that is it. I'd rather sit next to a Carlton supporter than them.

These are the same people that didn't take out a membership when we needed them but would cry in a couple of years if they don't get GF tickets. If you are not part of the club now then you have no right to be part of it when we hold up the cup.

I'd rather 32,000 real fans then 32,000 real fans and 10,000 bandwagon fans.

Edit: How good was that game against Nth? Too bloody good for the fair weather supporters, that's what!

now i understand what your saying ,and i hear this a bit on bigfooty, i have a membership so im happy to say this.. but i dont agree with you at all , like a lot of people that love football i work on the weekend!!!! so i dont get to go to the matches very often, ill tape them though and i watch everyone of them win or loose. i get so sick and tired about this "there not true suporters" bull&$@..... another reason why you get a boost in memberships when a club is doing well is because it attracts new support to your team,,, and yes, you get those who jump on the bandwagan, so what! why do you care so much ???? let them.... its great watching a good team play good football ,i love watching geelong play at the moment (one of the best teams ive seen in my lifetime) look if it makes you feel better when where winning grand finals you can come on here and tell us all what a good little supporter you are and how the team is playing for you more then other members and stick it up all those people who just joined...................get over yourself, at the end of the day you love footy ,,you love watching melbourne play i bet you look foward to the weekend to go to the footy, others have other things they must do, but still enjoy watching their team play... what the hell is wrong with that!!!!!!!!

Whilst I understand your sentiment, it is not only the $$$ the club needs through membership (which is increasing) and game day attendance but also the extra voices and support in the stands that the players deserve. Sometimes the crowd can be the difference and we need to catch up with the rest of the competition (or at least close the gap) to creating an atmosphere that can support the players - who cares if some of the noise is fairweather it's all noise at the end of the day.

Very true Rand... it's a bugger that I'm so far away too, because, if I say so myself, there aren't many better than me when it comes to getting a SERIOUS atmosphere happening at a match. I've had almost a decade of experience in that caper at various club & international matches... been known to scare low-flying aircraft away... ;)

now i understand what your saying ,and i hear this a bit on bigfooty, i have a membership so im happy to say this.. but i dont agree with you at all , like a lot of people that love football i work on the weekend!!!! so i dont get to go to the matches very often, ill tape them though and i watch everyone of them win or loose. i get so sick and tired about this "there not true suporters" bull&$@..... another reason why you get a boost in memberships when a club is doing well is because it attracts new support to your team,,, and yes, you get those who jump on the bandwagan, so what! why do you care so much ???? let them.... its great watching a good team play good football ,i love watching geelong play at the moment (one of the best teams ive seen in my lifetime) look if it makes you feel better when where winning grand finals you can come on here and tell us all what a good little supporter you are and how the team is playing for you more then other members and stick it up all those people who just joined...................get over yourself, at the end of the day you love footy ,,you love watching melbourne play i bet you look foward to the weekend to go to the footy, others have other things they must do, but still enjoy watching their team play... what the hell is wrong with that!!!!!!!!

You missed the point of my post. I'm not talking about those who can't make games or have other things to do or even won't go because it is a Sunday arvo game, it's cold and the anti-smoking laws piss them off. I'm talking about people who would struggle to name 10 of our players and would have little idea who we play next week but who will suddenly become our #1 supporters when we are a finals team. They piss me off and always will, and I make no apologies about that and never will. I rate those people as bottom feeders and I'd rather they 'supported' another team.

And no, I don't get some wanky feelgood buzz as to where I stand on my support of the team - there are plenty of fans that do more than I do for the MFC - but those that go missing in the hard times but turn up to enjoy the good can @#$% right off and go swim at the bottom of the ocean IMO.

I'm sorry you thought that I was having a go at you or people like you because I wasn't and it wasn't my intention.