RilesMacca

Close checking with Kane Cornes
Apr 4, 2021
New Orleans Saints
All she wrote, good to see a stylish win to finish off the year.

Pleased to see Paps have a night out. Form, fitness and body has been a let down most of the year, might've been a dead rubber but to see a performance like this where he's bringing the energy and moving well is a promising sign for next year. Looked good on the ball.

Hope to see us try and make Blakey more flexible next season, potentially as a swingman like a Sicily type. Last few weeks he's been fantastic in the air. Rampe has another year in him I reckon. Corey had some nice kicks inside 50, probably had his best game tonight. Buller taking his opportunities well again, been impressive.

Disappointing year but probably one we needed. Didn't quite have that ticker and hunger in comparison to those top 9 sides. Now time for potentially one of the biggest offseasons needed in years.

426442.jpg 427276.jpg

Erol in the aftermatch interview answered the question as to why his kicking has been a bit off. His ankle isn't quite right and he is " looking forward to getting off the anti-inflammatories.Nice to know we can look forward to a better Erol next year.
Yes we forget these boys are often in pain when they play.
They all need a break.

Glad that season is out of the way. Time to have an off season finding the next JOK, Mummy, McGlynn & Jetta.
That set up 2012.
What I want to find is the next JOK. I think all the others are there. Not Jetta maybe. I don't think Benny was always that good. I think who can be that player who makes a huge difference? We have Amartey but he is always injured. We need a medical Officer and a Fitness Boss who can join together to get him on the park. He is a natural athlete let's gave his best

How about those first quarter melts 🤣

Another winning season.

Strong win to finish the year and it's hard not to wonder what might have been with some better injury luck.

The first half showed we wilt under pressure. The only thing that kept us in the game was the fact that the opposition was WC. A top team would've had us on toast by half time and then finished us in the second half.

Second half showed that if we can get the game on our terms, we can be lethal. That was as close as the 2024 version of us I have seen in 2025. Ignoring that it was only WC we were playing, it was an enjoyable spectacle, once the game was low pressure and bruise free.

My man Buller had his best game in red and white. Still not sure if he will make it but he's done more than enough to warrant another contract. Grundy was immense as seems to be his way in 2025. Good to see Papley finally play with spark. Errol and Lizard good in the second half.

Plenty of work to be done in the off season with the number one goal for every player to be adding some bulk. We need our team of skinny flankers to come back looking like Thilthorpes, down to the bushranger beard.

- Really poor first qtr. A lot of walking and jogging. Better second qtr, really good 2nd half. Never seen Cox spray the team like that....good to see in a way.

- Buller competed well for 4 qtrs. Easily the best of the 4 uncontracted talls and given the need for competitors surely a no brainer re-signing, even if he ends up only depth. Papley's best game for the year, Hayward competed well, Warner, Heeney looked dangerous. Blakey looked good forward, something I'm surprised we didn't look at more after the GC game. That second half was the best the forward line has functioned all year, have to note the opposition 'quality' though.

- McCartin was one of the few who was really good early. Like a few KD's before him though, he needs to understand his limitations by foot...he's not the one to take on some of the kicks he does. Despite that ended up having a pretty good year after that forward line screw around at the start. Would love to either get a KD to free him up and allow him to intercept, or get an intercept defender to allow him to play a bit tighter on his forward. He has to do a bit both at the moment and probably robs us of having that real lynch pin to set defence around.

- Disappointing year, finished reasonably well, bar the seconds halves vs GWS and Geelong....but really shot ourselves in the foot that first half the season, despite the injuries threw away some very winnable games. Having said that confident we'll bounce back next year, with a better injury run - no excuses not too.
I liked we played a higher handballing game later in the year. Need to really build on it though, because some of our handballing skill is very ordinary at times.

Erol in the aftermatch interview answered the question as to why his kicking has been a bit off. His ankle isn't quite right and he is " looking forward to getting off the anti-inflammatories.Nice to know we can look forward to a better Erol next year.

He certainly hasn't been playing at those high Errol standards we're all used to, but even at say 70% levels having him there has pretty much turned the second half of our season around since return.

No practice matches for you in 2026 please Mr Gulden ;)

No finals

With this list is a fail
Well we didn't have some of the biggest names on that list for much of the year so there's that. 7-3 with Gulden tells you something. Papley said he was finally feeling close to 100% and what do you know, was in our bests.

Some will bitch and moan until the day we win another flag, that's fine.

Disappointing year, sure, but I had fun watching them finish it in style tonight.

Best part of the win was listening to Heens, Errol and Paps after the game. There was fierce disappointment with how the season panned out and the game in a way was a microcosm of that.

The synopsis was that even with injuries in first part of the year, the team are not using that as an excuse but they were too inconsistent within games and couldn’t play 4 quarters of the type of footy they expect.

At one stage I thought Errol might tear up he was that flat about missing finals. Really appreciate his raw and honest musings on the year which was a disappointment after playing in Granny last year.

I truly believe some good recruiting, either an elite KPF or KPD And good drafting and we will be rocketing back up the ladder in 2026.

People have been having a crack at Mills and Papley but they forget the impact of injuries this year and all going well they should be cherry ripe for next season. Two All Australian calibre players being added back to the mix. Chad has been had a disappointing year using last year as a reference, Grundy and Heens elite, should be AA and I think Buller has shown something, as the third tall/ruck, starting ahead of Dos. Wicks has been a find defensively and Lizard should be a swing man, he is wasted on last line of defence, he can create havoc as a forward, as seen v Suns and Eagles. His pace and quality disposal is a point of difference.

If we can add another elite player, KPF most preferred, with Logan recovered I think we can make a deep run next season. Unfortunately this season was the price we paid for a shot at the title. We are much better in even years!!

All she wrote, good to see a stylish win to finish off the year.

Pleased to see Paps have a night out. Form, fitness and body has been a let down most of the year, might've a dead rubber but to see a performance like this where he's bringing the energy and moving well is a promising sign for next year. Looked good on the ball.

Hope to see us try and make Blakey more flexible next season, potentially as a swingman like a Sicily type. Last few weeks he's been fantastic in the air. Rampe has another year in him I reckon. Corey had some nice kicks inside 50, probably had his best game tonight. Buller taking his opportunities well again, been impressive.

Disappointing year but probably one we needed. Didn't quite have that ticker and hunger in comparison to those top 9 sides. Now time for potentially one of the biggest offseasons needed in years.

View attachment 2404994View attachment 2404995
Naughty

I want to commend Corey Warner. This was the best game he has played in the Red & White
I have been a critic of his as his disposal and decision making has often been woeful in the past. Last night he hit targets and looked like an AFL player and i saw what the coaches could see.
I wonder if it was a home cooked meal that did the trick?

First half diabolical. Only Grundy, Tom, Wicks, Harry and Papley really fair dinkum. The women would have done much better.
Second half skills were a bit better but we decided to try.
As a coach how do you deal with that?
I think sometimes getting beaten by pressure , energy and attack can make any team look ordinary. Almost the same sought of games we had against cats and giants in reverse. Manic pressure is rarely sustained and run and dare drops away once a better team gets on top.
I don't know what the answer is...but elite pressure players are so important.
Think Geelong players. .O'Conner Atkins Mullens even blitsavs can blanket big mids.
I know alot of people don't think Rowbottom, even jordan can be sustained with low possessions but they can halt momentum.
Like 05, 06 teams we could just pressure and blanket players.
Teams went way more attacking in later years and beat dour teams. I think that's the direction we went from 16 onwards up until now Too attacking types. The balance isn't right yet.. We need more dour types perhaps..or just fight tooth and nail types.
Wardlaw , Durham, Atkins ,Long (GC)Maynard,
As others have said.. whole preseason tackling and breaking tackles could help..a bit of building up bulk perhaps.
A bit old school but the old kick the ball out and one on one until you get it back to the coach was the hardest drill ever... scrap it out.
Sorry..a bit of a ramble

I thought the player who stood up most last night was Rowbottom. His endeavour and pressure once he went into the middle was what we need from him. I hope he’s burning from losing midfield time and has a massive offseason to win his spot back. If he can be our Dunkley type again by winning more ball and being more influential at ground level, we’ll be looking a lot better as a side.

Autopsy 67 pt win vs West Coast - R24