Player Watch #7: Daniel Butler

Yeah, yeah, at least he didn't turn up in a Jeep though. Had his non-de script tradies van to fix the pipes, who would have guessed it was him other than some blood sucking journo?!

Houili visited Arden Street two weeks ago.

I totally understand he’s got his own career to look after, plenty of blokes tour club facilities and have meeting with clubs. Doesn’t mean they’re doing anything wrong or even that they’ll sign for that club.

However to be touring another clubs facilities the week before finals is rather odd, especially with him banging on the door.

He’s only a Rioli, Bolton or Castagna injury, suspension or howler out of the team.

Obviously doesent want to be at Richmond so let him go .

Thanks for the flag, but his efforts in 2018 and this year were horrible add to that his arrogance. See you later

2018 was just as good as 2017 until he injured his ankle

We've had other players out of form for just as many games who dont cop half the shit this guy does

Houili visited Arden Street two weeks ago.

Could have just stopped for directions to the Australian Muslims Social Services Agency? It's just around the corner.............. :think:

Name them

Premiership players if we want to compare on those terms

Rioli
Kmac
Caddy

Other senior listed players who haven't done anything near what he has;

Miller
Menadue
Markov
Garthwaite

I wouldnt be putting Butler at the bottom of that list

If Richmond didn't do its due diligence I'm ok with it. Richmond knew there were issues but still went there.
It matters not, but Richmond were not up front and honest when dealing a severely damaged Jeff Hogg to Fitzroy back when. Ask Hoggy, he'll tell you exactly as he told me. It happens all the time .. no club is immune. You just can't bring yourself to fathom that we rolled the dice on Yarran and lost. Ancient history but well documented. There are posters on here who know how troubled he was ... Fact!

Yes Carlton were completely honourable, and even if they weren't we should forgive and forget. Hell, we should even supply SOS the vaseline if he wants to do us over again. Don't care about Hogg and what was that club again from prehistory that doesn't exist anymore? Yeah that's right Fitzroy! No we don't owe them any favours and no some crap pick in the sixties for a 23 year old premiership player in a weak draft shouldn't be enough (And for record I thought the Yarran deal was stupid at the time, I was against it, but remember we didn't just screw ourselves, they helped us big time). But now apparently they want something from us, and personally I think there is nothing wrong in remembering the Yarran deal and demanding that prick SOS present us with fair compensation. Frankly I'm surprised you find any of this controversial.

Will be #67 imo Lloyd went for #64

Chances are we have probably low balled him and he will get a reasonable deal at carlton and at least have a chance to resurrect his career
He is a premiership player that i thought would get to better level but wasnt meant to be at tigerland so good luck to him and all the best.

#5 & #7 will be free for RCD & Ross

Marlion Pickett would play before him if a small went down. We could add him to the BL and put Baker up forward. IMO Dan knows he’s done. Lloyd and Miles went for peanuts, so l reckon he’ll go for peanuts.

Really? Pickett has played as a small forward in an AFL premiership winning team? Wow, missed that.

Marlion Pickett would play before him if a small went down. We could add him to the BL and put Baker up forward. IMO Dan knows he’s done. Lloyd and Miles went for peanuts, so l reckon he’ll go for peanuts.
Really? Pickett has played as a small forward in an AFL premiership winning team? Wow, missed that.
Did he say Pickett has? Sheeet, I missed it too. I didn't know you had to be a premiership player to be picked. We should drop Lunch then.

Pickett would play before Butler comfortably. He showed with one act on the weekend that he can be trusted when the shit hits the fan.

Premiership players if we want to compare on those terms

Rioli
Kmac
Caddy

Other senior listed players who haven't done anything near what he has;

Miller
Menadue
Markov
Garthwaite

I wouldnt be putting Butler at the bottom of that list
Yeah wouldn’t be writing him off he had some real assets that appeared to give him the highest scope of those small forwards early on. Notorious for slowing players down those injuries and that’s an unknown as some are never the same again particularly a player like him, some eventually get it back and he is showing signs but he clearly lost confidence and dexterity for a period and his game suffered as a result overall.
It’s a slight risk for Carlton but one well worth taking.

Did he say Pickett has? Sheeet, I missed it too. I didn't know you had to be a premiership player to be picked. We should drop Lunch then.

Pickett would play before Butler comfortably. He showed with one act on the weekend that he can be trusted when the s**t hits the fan.

His comment was thus;

"Marlion Pickett would play before him if a small went down". I didn't say he had to be a premiership winning player, I said a premiership winning team which Butler played in 2017 and again the bulk of which played in 2018. The point being its a pretty bloody good team and isn't easy to win a spot.

Also Lynch has played and performed to AA standard before as a key position player in the AFL, making any comparison to him is just silly IMO

His comment was thus;

"Marlion Pickett would play before him if a small went down". I didn't say he had to be a premiership winning player, I said a premiership winning team which Butler played in 2017 and again the bulk of which played in 2018. The point being its a pretty bloody good team and isn't easy to win a spot.

Also Lynch has played and performed to AA standard before as a key position player in the AFL, making any comparison to him is just silly IMO
You inferred it mate, a strawman. So I strawmanned right back with Lunch.

There was no strawman. The direct quote was Pickett would be the replacement over Butler if a small went down. Your Lynch comment was just weird.

Based on what? Butler has stronger bona fides over a "small" position than Pickett. Who is more suited to midfield/HBF/Wing. Pickett looks to be a good a player but he aint a small forward in the same sense as Butler, Castagna or Rioli.

There was no strawman. The direct quote was Pickett would be the replacement over Butler if a small went down. Your Lynch comment was just weird.

Based on what? Butler has stronger bona fides over a "small" position than Pickett. Who is more suited to midfield/HBF/Wing. Pickett looks to be a good a player but he aint a small forward in the same sense as Butler, Castagna or Rioli.
TI did say that Baker, Baker, Baker (how did I put Butler here) would go fwd. You are selectively chopping quotes here.

Anyway, in my eyes, yes, Pickett would come in before Butler, on HB, and Baker would revert to SF. Whhich is what TI said.

His comment was thus;

Read what I said.

TI did say that Butler would go fwd. You are selectively chopping quotes here.

Anyway, in my eyes, yes, Pickett would come in before Butler, on HB, and Butler would revert to SF. Whhich is what TI said.

Sorry everybody got my point confused
Baker to FL
Pickett to BL.
Butler to Carlton 😯