Player Watch #7: Daniel Butler

I don't care I love him. Always a Tiger to me after 2017. His goal in the GF was the one that really drove home the fact that we did it!! . I hope he doesn't end up at Carlton or LOL Norf. It will be the end of his career.

Shouldn't have knocked back the 2 year deal we put on the table for him.

Instead he's going to end up at St Kilda or Carlton, he won't be playing finals again in his career but at the end of the day, at least he won a premiership while he was with us.

I don't care I love him. Always a Tiger to me after 2017. His goal in the GF was the one that really drove home the fact that we did it!! . I hope he doesn't end up at Carlton or LOL Norf. It will be the end of his career.

here it is

Getting sick of opposition fans potting our players like Butler and KMac about how they 'aren't best 22' and therefore we should be accepting 4th round picks for them etc.

I want a 3rd rounder for Butler minimum. Proven goal kicker, young, great VFL form and keeps the 22 honest, depth player for us etc. I really only think Rioli (just) and George (miles) are above him as a forward. Bolton plays a role more up field, Higgins it out with a sore noodle, Baker has gone to the backline etc. Stack plays anywhere. In a way Butler has ended up being the victim of the Lynch recruitment.

Happy to keep him at the Tigers. Maybe not best 22 but he's easily in that half dozen or so players just outside of it. Very important depth etc.

Getting sick of opposition fans potting our players like Butler and KMac about how they 'aren't best 22' and therefore we should be accepting 4th round picks for them etc.

I want a 3rd rounder for Butler minimum. Proven goal kicker, young, great VFL form and keeps the 22 honest, depth player for us etc. I really only think Rioli (just) and George (miles) are above him as a forward. Bolton plays a role more up field, Higgins it out with a sore noodle, Baker has gone to the backline etc. Stack plays anywhere. In a way Butler has ended up being the victim of the Lynch recruitment.

Happy to keep him at the Tigers. Maybe not best 22 but he's easily in that half dozen or so players just outside of it. Very important depth etc.
Got to face facts. Butler is rubbish. Judt because his one good year yeilded a premeirship so be it. The outlier. Easily replaced. Life member of the Footy Club but got to move on

The thing is we probably need to get another 4 players off our list if we want to take 4 picks in the draft
Miller,Moore,Butler,Menadue are the likely 4 imo
Ellis is gone and Weller has retired. Two down. Butler is likely gone. One more...

Seriously - if Blues and Saints want to shaft us on a decent deal for Butler, we should just keep him, but make sure he plays against them next year.
Rev him up to show them they wanted to go unders for him - get him to pot through 3 or 4 goals and 8 tackles in each outing.

Ellis is gone and Weller has retired. Two down. Butler is likely gone. One more...
Not sure how it works this yr. Is there a rookie list or are the rookies now part of one big list.

We have 1 very good pick and 3 decent ones. With trades we may well have more decent picks.
Imo we will use about 5 but we have 4 rookies who should come onto the list proper Stack, DES, Baker, and Pickett. If we want to keep Chol does he now have to be put on the list proper as well? im not sure.

If we wish to promote those rookies and use 5 nd picks then we are looking at 9 trades/retirement/delistings

If the magic number is 9 and like i said im up in the air about how it works this yr then the 9 most likely to go are.

Grigg retired
Weller retired.
Ellis trade.
Aarts delist
Townsend delist
Menadue trade
Butler trade

the above 7 seems to be the most likely. Then there's

McIntosh trade a possibility
Moore delist
Miller delist
Markov delist/trade.

Thats 11. It seems they are the most likely ones to be traded/delisted.

Will be Menadue I have a feeling, will be delisted and Freo will pick him up for nothing.
Menadue reminds me so much of Greg Tivendale a star VFL player but just not quite up to AFL standard. I hope we keep him though.

I think others will go before him unless another club wants him.

Grigg retired
Weller retired.
Ellis trade.
Aarts delist
Townsend delist
Menadue trade
Butler trade

the above 7 seems to be the most likely. Then there's

McIntosh trade a possibility
Moore delist
Miller delist
Markov delist/trade.
Of these, I think Townsend, Butler, Moore, Miller and Marcov are the most likely, along with Ellis and Weller already gone. That's 7. Sorry, Townsend's a rookie isn't he...so that's 6 (Pickett already taken Grigg's spot of course).

Now I'm not sure what sort of jiggery pokery they need to do with making players rookies, apart from elevating the ones you mentioned, so they'd need to clear another one or two spots I would have thought.

Tough choices.

Got to face facts. Butler is rubbish. Judt because his one good year yeilded a premeirship so be it. The outlier. Easily replaced. Life member of the Footy Club but got to move on

Butler isn't rubbish, but his football has been mediocre since his injury, and for a bloke who had a work ethic problem to begin with, it's bloody hard to get back to the level he once managed. The single hardest thing about AFL footy is repeating the same determination year after year to scale the mountain. You simply don't get to stay at the top without repeat efforts. He needs a new Club as much as the next outlier atm.

me too mate. pissed off he fell so out of form at his best he was brilliant

Would Butler and their future second for our future second be a chance? Saints might back themselves to be decent next year with the players they are bringing in.

Glad he’s going to the Saints. Reckon he will bite us on the arse if he ended up at a rival. Still a lot to work with. Just needs to cut the rubbish out of his game.

Just quietly, how f***ing dumb are Carlton picking Betts over Butler? Butler has ten years of football ahead of him, will cost similar in draft picks, is on smaller wages, is a premiership player and is entering his prime. Betts is absolutely cooked and Carlton will play him every week purely for sentimental reasons.