Past #8: Daniel Wells - joins Collingwood as a FA - North get pick #32 as compensation

Sat with a non-Bigfooty mate at the game on Saturday. He told me that he was at the casino for a function last Saturday night and saw DW there, clearly hammered, around midnight. Had played VFL earlier that day and was out on the p1ss instead of doing recovery.

Was one of my favourite players and I never bought into the argument that he was not professional enough, but the evidence supporting that view is piling up.

thats a bit sad if true. seems way out of character.

he must of started drinking pretty recently. i didnt think he drank at all during his time at north.

I also heard the channel 7 report where they said that he had fluid on the lungs. However, Tiffany Cherry just reported on Foxtel that Daniel Wells' teeth problems have led to a throat infection. I wonder which station is correct.

Foxtel,more realiable

Interesting moment during the third quarter of Mondays queens birthday clash, the telly shows him running from the boundary and as he runs past a team mate it looked to me like he shaped to bump him, (you know that sort of i'm your opponent bump as your running past) would love to see the slowed down footage ... might see if I can find it tonight, I did sort of say to myself " that's our wellsy hahaha".

So, what's the legal situation in this scenario? He gets injured, comes off and is ordered back on in full knowledge that he is injured, and then aggravates the injury to the extent that it might now be career ending.

There's a bit of litigation happening in footy at the moment. Duty of care, etc. I'd be nervous if I was on the Collingwood board (of directors) at the moment.

So, what's the legal situation in this scenario? He gets injured, comes off and is ordered back on in full knowledge that he is injured, and then aggravates the injury to the extent that it might now be career ending.

There's a bit of litigation happening in footy at the moment. Duty of care, etc. I'd be nervous if I was on the Collingwood board (of directors) at the moment.
If he wants to sue Collingwood, let him. He has a contract for 600k next year regardless which he is guaranteed

NATHAN Buckley admits he's not a fan of players who are just 'cream on the top' types, but for injury-plagued midfielder Daniel Wells he's prepared to make an exception.
Wells, 34, is set to miss the start of the 2019 campaign as he continues to work through the foot injury that kept him to just four games last year.
Entering the last season of a three-year contract that has netted only 14 matches, Wells remains one of a host of Pies stars training predominantly away from the main group.

While Buckley stopped short of putting a timeline on Wells' return, he suggested a fit Wells would be a handy addition to a star-studded midfield that has added Dayne Beams since its Grand Final defeat.
"The situation is a little bit different to what it was 24 months ago when he (Wells) came in

NATHAN Buckley admits he's not a fan of players who are just 'cream on the top' types, but for injury-plagued midfielder Daniel Wells he's prepared to make an exception.
Wells, 34, is set to miss the start of the 2019 campaign as he continues to work through the foot injury that kept him to just four games last year.
Entering the last season of a three-year contract that has netted only 14 matches, Wells remains one of a host of Pies stars training predominantly away from the main group.

While Buckley stopped short of putting a timeline on Wells' return, he suggested a fit Wells would be a handy addition to a star-studded midfield that has added Dayne Beams since its Grand Final defeat.
"The situation is a little bit different to what it was 24 months ago when he (Wells) came in
Loved watching him play footy but geez we dodged a bullet there.

Will always love Wellsy as a Roo but geez he is past his use by date. Spends 40% of the season preparing to play as many games as you can count on 1 hand then missing the rest

I don't say this often...... But this is truly an inspired post

Played 45 out of a possible 120 games in the past 5 years across two clubs. The midfield he contributed just 4 games to last year missed him so much they got to within a kick of the premiership. Now at 34, he's no longer in his team's best 22.

Loved Wellsy, he had a pretty good 2016, but his two years before and since 2016 have been a big ball of injured plagued putridness. Even though the bloke we got as compo was delisted after 2 games, we made a good call not offering the guy 2019.

No idea how they are still under their cap. Mark this down, there will be some controversy on this at some point down the track.

Agree with sentence #1. As for sentence #2, probably not, they have plenty of friends in the right places to smother the story.

Still disappointed with Wells. Yeh it's a business etc etc, but always thought he was a North person. Wasn't entirely correct.

Reckon he would have been feeling the pressure internally. Sucking the club dry of cash for no return

Voila.............is automatically employed as a "skills coach" at the end of 2019. Pay rate? $500K.

The salary cap doesn't apply to Collingwood.

Reckon he would have been feeling the pressure internally. Sucking the club dry of cash for no return

100% no one and I mean NO ONE takes a pay cut for the good of the club
Tom Browne is a gimp