AFL Player # 9: Dylan Shiel

McGrath, Shiel, Caldwell..all missed massive chunks of footy this year. Big pre-seasons into them & the younger group & there's a massive upside. Shiel has flaws, but I reckon he'll be very good again next year.

I, for one, think we did the right thing by playing some under-done players yesterday, because big-picture, it was the right thing to do. Were we going to win the premiership this year? Of course not.

More finals experience into McGrath/Shiel plus a finals game into Caldwell is worth its weight in gold.

Yeah georgiades would’ve been a chance aswell, no one was taking Robertson that high though.
Pretty sure we tried to trade up to get Robertson

GWS let him go from their midfield and we paid plenty. His ball use by foot has always been poor.
Its only his handballs that make his efficiency stats look better.
His run and carry is gone. Maybe because he's lost confidence in his kicking.
Almost every time he gets it he's looking for the handball. He's like a dear in headlights.

Throw his name in the trade ring. Be smart like GWS. Not sure what currency he would have anymore though.

Pretty much every player going around has a better disposal efficiency compared to their kicking efficiency. I already quoted a number of players kicking efficiencies across a few sides. There are a lot that are around the same mark.
Kicking efficiency %.
Shiel 58.7% - average.
Parish - 59.7% - average.
Merrett 61.9% - average.
McGrath - 61.7% average.
Or we can go.
Pretacca 54.9% below average.
Oliver 58.1% average.
Brayshaw 59.9% average.
Neale 63% - average.
MCCluggage 57.6 %- average
Sam Walsh 57.9% %- below average.
Josh Kelly 58.1% %- Below average.
Tim Tarranto - 49.7 % - below average.
Bont 59.4% - average.
Now the kicking efficiency stat has got its flaws but when it is applied over all the midfielders you can get an idea within a couple of percent . this list shows that over his career Shiel has not actually been worse than a number of other good players. Yes he can kick some ugly looking floaters and no none of his kicks look subline like Zack Merritt but he is not actually bad as people say he is. IMO it is the same story. People see a few ugly looking kicks and that is what sticks in their mind. The stats do give a picture even if there are margins in the stats.

Anyway unless he asks for a trade he will not be going anywhere now. Still two seasons to run on decent money and we are not going to do a Collingwood and trade him out and also pay for him.

He is absolutely best 22. Let’s not throw the baby out with the bathwater.

Is he though?

There's room in the side for 4-5 pure mids, and with Stringer, Parish, Caldwell, Merrett - it starts filling up pretty quickly to a point where I'm not 100% sure he's a walk up start.

When you start adding in Langford, Cox, Perkins, Durham, Guelfi, McGrath, it's at least valid to wonder where exactly he fits in that pecking order.

And my god he's a turnover merchant. Just ******* slaughters us at key moments.

He's on 800k - I honestly don't think we're getting value for money. I'd not be opposed to off-loading him.

Is he though?

There's room in the side for 4-5 pure mids, and with Stringer, Parish, Caldwell, Merrett - it starts filling up pretty quickly to a point where I'm not 100% sure he's a walk up start.

When you start adding in Langford, Cox, Perkins, Durham, Guelfi, McGrath, it's at least valid to wonder where exactly he fits in that pecking order.

He's on 800k - I honestly don't think we're getting value for money. I'd not be opposed to off-loading him.

Stringer isn't a pure mid.

He's an offensive stoppage specialist basically. When games have limited centre bounces - or stoppages on the offensive side of the centre circle - he struggles for impact.

Merrett, Parish, Shiel are the pure midfielders right now, Caldwell if he stays fit is another. McGrath maybe. We're pretty thin for genuine midfielders. Who would you consider capable of running the ~14km a game pure midfielders need to run, that has genuine midfield ability?

Durham, Langford, Cox, Perkins & Guelfi have the tank, but of that group Perkins is the only one I'd say long-term might be a genuine midfielder.

If we’re bringing in Parker and dumping all of Shiels salary I wouldn’t be against letting him go. Capspace and a better player (IMO). Parkers only 5 months older than Shiel too.

Is he though?

You'd forgive him the turnovers if they were balanced off elsewhere but when he dropped that mark in the goal square yesterday, did I lose my s**t? Why yes, yes I did.

Is he though?

Right now on what he has done in his career he is our 3rd best midfielder. Do not give me Caldwell. He has played 14 games and never been close to the level of Shiel at his best and continually injured.. Neither has Langford and Stringer has only ever matched his center clearance work this year. McGrath has not matched his best either. What Shiel did in 2019 was as good as anyone we have. It was an $800k season. Last year he started well but it tailed off after his suspension and when the whole situation went to s**t with infighting and confusion over who was the actual coach. This year he has been injured. Missed 17 weeks. No real surprise he has not been at his best although I rated his first game where he played midfield / forward and kicked a couple of goals and had 4 tackles , 7 score involvements and his disposal was pretty good.
Okay he was poor in his disposal yesterday and overall he is not anything more than an average kick but there is a lot of blinkers on here. He has played some genuine elite footy. There are reasons why his form right now is not great. As for value. Did GWS get value ? Did we miss out on value ? The second one you can not really say with any accuracy as we do not know who Dodoro would have picked. On the first question well no. We got the best value. 2018 pick 11 Jye Caldwell. They do not have him . We do. The other pick went through a few hands and Port ended up with it I think.
From my score card we got value in 2019. No great value last year but that was more a team / coaching issue and no value this year due to injury.
We really do need to look at it based on him having an injury free run next year.

You'd forgive him the turnovers if they were balanced off elsewhere but when he dropped that mark in the goal square yesterday, did I lose my sh*t? Why yes, yes I did.

"OH FOR * SAKE SHIEL!"

Think that was my response.

I think people are underestimating the impact momentum has on games.

In three plays, Dylan went a long way to killing our game.

His misplaced handball shot our ball movement. The deliberate out of bounds was - despite best intentions - dumb, and the missed plum in the goal square was crushing.

I don't trust him, and I don't think he's best 22. If we can get a club to take the entirety of his wage, trade him for a lowball offer.

Not going to argue on momentum. He had a couple of momentum killers. The out of bounds free could have happened to anyone so I am not counting that. However there would have been at least 30 momentum changes . Merrett streaming through the middle and hitting a Dogs player on the chest when we had two players free in space. Countless fumbles by a number of players at crucial times. You could go on and on.

The difference being Merrett seems to fairly consistently make up for any errors. Debits and credits, as it were.

Shiel? I feel there's a deficit there, and for 800k it's a deficit not worth having on the books IMO.

The difference being Merrett seems to fairly consistently make up for any errors. Debits and credits, as it were.

Shiel? I feel there's a deficit there, and for 800k it's a deficit not worth having on the books IMO.

But a lot of you zero in on the negative and refuse to concede the bloke can do some good stuff. Was he so s**t in 2019 that he was not worth $800k ?

But a lot of you zero in on the negative and refuse to concede the bloke can do some good stuff. Was he so sh*t in 2019 that he was not worth $800k ?

Where have I denied he can do some good stuff?

And he didn't sign a 1 year deal for $800k.

He signed a 6 year, $4.8-$5.0m deal.

It's a perfectly valid view to say you believe he can recapture or exceed his 2019 form, and thus he's worth the expense.

But it's equally valid to point to his 2020-2021 output and wonder aloud if we wouldn't be better served spending that money elsewhere.

FWIW I'm not adamant - I'm not saying we SHOULD offload him. I'm saying it's worth thinking about.

Where have I denied he can do some good stuff?

And he didn't sign a 1 year deal for $800k.

He signed a 6 year, $4.8-$5.0m deal.

It's a perfectly valid view to say you believe he can recapture or exceed his 2019 form, and thus he's worth the expense.

But it's equally valid to point to his 2020-2021 output and wonder aloud if we wouldn't be better served spending that money elsewhere.

FWIW I'm not adamant - I'm not saying we SHOULD offload him. I'm saying it's worth thinking about.

I did say we did not get value last year or this year. In saying that it is not his fault he gets a knee injury and misses 17 weeks. Guess you should say 1 all and a no result over 3 years. No way you can really pot the guy because he got injured and came back late.
The difference for me is I am not thinking we should think about it until we have a better picture of who will actually rise to the level of his best.
Next year will be the key.

Is he though?

Stringer's not a pure mid - he's a forward who attends centre bounces.

Caldwell? Look you love everything you hear about him, but the guy has played 3 games for us and a grand total of 14 in a three-year career - after injury issues as a junior. There's just no way he can be relied upon. At this stage he's a career injury case and nothing more - hopefully that changes but it's far from a sure thing.

Shiel might be behind Merrett and Parish but that's it in terms of mids. We'd definitely need to replace him if he left, * knows who we could replace him with.

Stringer's not a pure mid - he's a forward who attends centre bounces.

Caldwell? Look you love everything you hear about him, but the guy has played 3 games for us and a grand total of 14 in a three-year career - after injury issues as a junior. There's just no way he can be relied upon. At this stage he's a career injury case and nothing more - hopefully that changes but it's far from a sure thing.

Shiel might be behind Merrett and Parish but that's it in terms of mids. We'd definitely need to replace him if he left, fu** knows who we could replace him with.

Yesterdays game also highlighted one flaw with Stringer although not his fault. If it is a low scoring game then Stringer does not get a lot of opportunity at center bounces so only 1 clearance while Shiel playing around the ground had 6 stoppage clearances. I am 100% with you. He is our 3rd best midfielder until prove otherwise.

Buying high and selling low by trading Shiel would be one of the dumbest list decisions in the clubs history, and we've done heaps of dumb sh*t.
Sunk cost fallacy

Might be valid if he wasn't best 22 and our 3rd best proper full time mid. Or that we would be extremely unlikely to get anyone as good as Shiel for what we received by trading him.

He's the new Stanton, except he was a trade we paid overs for so he'll cop it even worse.