Senior 9. Patrick Cripps

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Can someone get out the measuring tape the next time they stalk Cripps at training? :)

Cos from the vision on Foxtel in Ballarat he looked nothing like the 194cm colossus at which he's been exaggerated.

(CFC website lists him at 190, same height as Walker and White and marginally taller than Judd)

I stood next to him on Saturday. I'm 187 and he is was clearly 2-3 inches taller than me. Every bit of 193, 194 wouldn't surprise.

Pretty sure he was independantly measured at draft camp at 192cm.

Pardon the intrusion - I'll leave my Cats bias to one side for a moment and speak from an East Fremantle view
Paddy and Jansen were both listed at 188ish but have grown to be into the early 190's - both monsters !
Saw his last quarter - looks ready made and did some good things - will watch with interest , reckon you guys have done well ( ripper kid as well)

http://instagram.com/patrickcripps#

8a1b44789b9011e3b2f812327576b0a2_8.jpg

Shorter than Jansen. :(

While watching some of his work in close the other night, I couldn't help but feel excited for this kids future with us. He's got a bit to learn and a few kinks to work out but he's got great instincts and has all the raw tools to be exactly the type of midfielder we've been lacking.

Nope. Photographer is shorter than the boys and is taking the photo upwards. Crippa is standing behind and thus it appears that he is smaller but that is an illusion.
Good advice for Dal Santo the next time he wants to take a photo.

Renton used this strategy in Irvine Welsh's Trainspotting to look bigger than Sick Boy.

pretty exciting at this stage.

looks to be more a true inside mid. he has a lot of complimentary inside mid characteristics. Big, strong, great vision on the release handball.

isn't rated high on endurance or speed so to have an impact in the forward line it will either be but reading the front and centres or with his ability to mark overhead. He's unlikely to get a lot of separation from his defender but might get an opponent who he can outmark (re Jobe watson)

Has anybody made any observations on his overhead marking ability, reading the ball in the air and marking body work?

If he can do what he's been doing for more than 2 quarters then he's probably a near certainty for rd1 given no Judd or Carrots.

Don't know if we can risk playing him as sub if he can't play more than a half just incase we lose someone early.

That's very possible...

Think I may have made a bad call suggesting he'll be lucky to get games this year given his fitness base.

Good luck to the kid. :thumbsu:

Whilst he hasn't got a heap of the footy in the two NAB games so far, with injuries to Judd & Carrazzo you'd have to think he'd be a pretty big chance to debut against Port. Will be keeping a close eye on him on Friday afternoon (whilst stuffing a couple of hotdogs down my throat also)

For the limited game time he has got he has racked up the disposals. It's his fitness that will probably stop him from playing rd 1.

Sub?

I know that if someone gets injured early that could be a problem,but... would it be worth the risk?

That's always an opting. But looking at Cripps %TOG he hasn't really played more than a half, so if he were sub, what happens if we lose someone in the first? It'd be a big risk/ask for him to play most of the game I think. Hopefully he gets more time on Friday.