A bit of an impasse on some SRP topics?

Remove this Banner Ad

Status
Not open for further replies.
Are we reaching a point where people are butting heads over and over on the same point, neither side willing to just agree to disagree?

Each refutation of the same point gets more and more strident until one side or both blow up spectacularly?

As an Admin, I've done that and it isn't a good look. Even worse as I have the power to banish or harshly punish people unfairly. Apologies to those who have borne the brunt of a temporarily short fuse.

Are new members walking in, seeing wall-to-wall grudge-matches and leaving, depriving us of new connections and thoughts on issues?

Are we just aiming to bludgeon each other with our point rather than explore issues as a community?

If we can't agree, do we just accept that we might end up with different threads on the same topic, and agree to behave ourselves on threads started by "the other side"?

Its definately more about cheerleading than about reasoned debate on topics.

Pretty much 90 percent of it seems to be feature two camps; one camp screaming 'leftist' and the other screaming 'fascist' with nothing of substance being hashed out in the middle. People are so welded onto their own views that rebuttals are simply handwaved away with more flagwaving of the same position, rather than a critical examination of ones own views.

So perhaps reflective of a Reclaim rally rather than an actual informed, reasoned and modertate debate on the issues.

Its definately on the increase. I dont know if thats just a reflection of whats happening in broader society or what.

i peruse most threads on the SRP board, although politics meh.