A. Browne

• Thread starter Thread starter Roby

So you are basing this over a career of 5 senior games where he has taken a massive 7 career total marks, 29 disposals and 38 hitouts, or are you basing it on what you have heard he has bone playing for Coburg?

lol again having a go at a 20 yrold 5 game player. im sure spluff was talking about what hes done at coburg sheesh browne has performed okay at coburg something graham has rarely done im sure.

With all due respect, i really cant understand all the hoohaa with Browne's game.

He is a trier, toiled hard, but in the end is way off the standard required at this level, when it comes to the basic skills of the game. I am really shaking my head at some the ridiculous post on how good he supposedly went. I lost count at the number of times he just ****ed up the next fumbled disposal. Back the 2s at a 100mph and hope Dx has something we can look to the future with.;)
and graham isnt. i think people are happy because we found someone who will have a go they may be on the same level skill wise but one has a go and gives his all the other well hes been near the same level for 5 seasons.

Two Senior rucks (25+ 100kgs) with at least two other developing rucks. We have Gus, Browne, Derickx and Tyrone (who is currently playing as a key forward).

It's a lot better group than many of our supporters appreciate Goog, just gotta hope they'll stay sound because there's a lot of obvious natural improvement left to come from the three I've seen enough of to rate.

How can you say Gus is clearly a better player? Browne may not have the same natural ability but he has 2nd,3rd and 4th efoorts which is all you can ask with such a young inexpierenced player.

A never ending stream of this kind of post is why Baz and I have made a lot of comments on this issue. A guy who's been the leading tackling ruck in the comp doesn't even make 2nd efforts.

I mean, really. :o

The thing that made Browne's game so good in my eyes, was that he provided a physical presence, especially at the centre bounces and that is something that Graham simply has not been offering.
If we could somehow manage to cobmbine Gus' skills with Browne's heart, we would have a player.

and what skills are those doofus offers tugga. oh i see your putting a good spin on graham.
is he a better kick than browne or mark or better with his hands or perhaps hes quicker na i dont think so.
fact of the matter is they are both skillwise pretty ordinary.

No, im just perplexed the hatred for Gus when he is clearly a better player, and im even more perplexed at how everyone here has rated Brownes game as exceptional, when in fact it was just passable.

lol gus a better player just goes to show how easy it was to find a player at least on par with gus a babt at that. at 20 competetive and passable id take anyday of the week atm especially when we see what doofus has offered up for 5 seasons. but thats right doofus is a gun lol.

Just loving the people who reckon Gus is soft. Lol.

Just had 7 solid weeks using his body as a battering ram, and one very strange week briefly taking his eyes of the ball, still a puzzle that hasnt been explained. People who reckon he is soft have nfi.

lol 7 ordinary weeks in the main and hes tired.poor poor angus.are there any more excuses for him.
hes just been shown up by a 20 yr old unco slow dinosaur who has some heart.

Looks like some Graham fans in here are barracking for young Browne to fail. Poor form.
Could say the same thing about Browne fans prior to Graham being dropped. Nearly every week the same posters were in here calling for his head regardless of how he had performed.

For the record, hoping Browne gets a good crack it now that he is in the side.

It comes down to how much you even rate rucks. Lots dont, and if you look at team hitouts we are ranked 12th, yet the two best teams the Pies and Cats are ranked below us on 14 and 15.

28 to 50 clearances against the Bombers with Browne hitouts 24 @ 13% was our worst for the entire year. Pathetic effort.

Our next worst clearance rate was 37 to the Pies 48 and Gus had 36 hitouts @19%

Gus`s so called shocker against the Dogs had us at 37 to the Dogs 45 with Gus 29 hitouts @ 21%

Center clearance work hansnt anything to do with Gus or Browne, its the mids who have been terrible reading both rucks and not getting first possession and clearances. Give Browne another 3 or 7 games and then select the one to go forward. Im in the minority, but my money is on Gus.

it gets even better when all else fails throw up the meaningless stats excuse.
sheesh more twists and turns than a maze.

Just saw the replay and paid particular notice on Browne. This guy's heart and desire cannot be questioned. Yes uncoordinated, yes gave away some free kicks but lets put this in perspective. Was up against Hille, Ryder, and bellchambers and for mine, he was the best of the lot. When he had the ball his first intinct was to keep it moving by handball and whilst he came unstuck a couple of times, he helped create. Got many tapouts and took a couple of nice marks across the ground. Something graham simply fails to do. Needs to be left in the side to gain some confidence.

Just got a huge wrap on Footy Classified, opened the Richmond segment with his highlights and Gary was particularly impressed.

Interestingly, Caro said that we have lost confidence and patience in Gus, and I think mentioned something about work rate/intensity.

Theres no way Browne is going to be able to keep up his so far one game intensity for the rest of the season. I'd be surprised if was able to keep it up for 4 games, and i'm not having a go at him at all. With Ty going well, it does make it a bit easier to play Browne, as there is one less "headache" / tall issue to take focus.
Gus surprised most (including Dimma) last year when he stood up. Theres no real reason why he can't do the same again.
I'd also like to see Tom get a run (as would most), when he's ready. Hopefully that'll be later this year, but it wouldn't surprise me if he's not able to get ready this year at all. Yes he's mature age, but he hadn't actually being playing that much footy in WA, up until recently.

The bottom line is this when talking Browne...if he cant develop into a ruckman that can hold marks and kick a goal or two then he is toast...anyone that thinks otherwise is deluded and has NFI. At this stage he hasnt got a clue..lets hope he starts developing a clue. ;)

He can hold marks, and his disposal is pretty neat. Every ruckman does goofy shit. It's just about cutting it down.

I don't think anyone thinks a ruck that can't kick, mark or snag one is going to hang around on any teams list.

I think people will find Browne's kicking is quite fine. He either went in to the match low on confidence or under instruction to handball - most likely the latter I think.

His skills are actually pretty good, he's just a little slow getting the messages from the brain to the hands/feet.

No, im just perplexed the hatred for Gus when he is clearly a better player, and im even more perplexed at how everyone here has rated Brownes game as exceptional, when in fact it was just passable.

Graham is a liability around the ground and has NFI about positioning and Browne absolutely schooled Graham in that area.

The bottom line is this when talking Browne...if he cant develop into a ruckman that can hold marks and kick a goal or two then he is toast...anyone that thinks otherwise is deluded and has NFI. At this stage he hasnt got a clue..lets hope he starts developing a clue. ;)

WTF are you on about?
He has very good game smarts and doesn't try and do things that are beyond his limits.
Good lad from a great part of Victoria.

Just got a huge wrap on Footy Classified, opened the Richmond segment with his highlights and Gary was particularly impressed.

Interestingly, Caro said that we have lost confidence and patience in Gus, and I think mentioned something about work rate/intensity.

spot on there. watched the game again. wokred his butt off. but will need soem help up in darwin as I doubt he could run outh the game, if only big X was ready too. Post will stay in.

Cogs, you forget he's still only very young and has played what, 5 games? What he showed on Sat night suggests to me at the moment he is our best option in the ruck. Tell us honestly you didn't expect him to get smashed by hille, ryder and bellchambers? He was better than all three of them put together. Yes made some goofy mistakes but watch him closely. He had eyes only for the ball, jumped at the right time, took a few nice grabs and busted his nuts just to make a contest and give our onballers first use. Has a tank 10 times bigger than gus to boot. Rucked 90% of the game from memory and tired badly towards the end.

I couldn't ask for more from him. Well done ranga. You've got a heart like pharlap :thumbsu:

Watched Gus closely vs Bulldogs and thought he was terrible. Browne had to come in and while he may have looked unco, he impressed me for a few reasons:
1. Won contested ball at ground level often off his own ruck work
2. Positioned himself well around the ground to be involved in a lot of positive attacking play
3. Contested basically all night against 3 more experienced, more fancied opponents
4. Worked his butt off

He was obviously knackered at the final siren and even if he did turn it over a few times, I reckon better to have a ruckman in who contests and works hard and makes a few mistakes rather than one who does nothing.

Browne's best game by far and he has to stay in, leaving Graham where?

Watched the first half replay just focusing on Browne.

Three of his hitouts went direct to a Richmond player with one a goal though a score involvement. Tick.

Four went direct to an Essendon player with two of those resulting in direct Essendon goals. One a free that was a goal, and one was an indirect score involvement.

Ess 1st goal, deep into Bombers forward line, Brown tap to ground in front of Jetta - Hille - Stanton -Zakarahis, Goal

Ess 2nd goal - Center bounce, Brown straight down Lovett Murrys throat - Cameri, Goal

Ess 4th goal - Center bounce, Brown to Foley/McVeigh - McVeigh taps - Cotch dispossessed - Heppell -McVeigh - Zakarahis, goal. Not a direct Browne assist, but not the best ruck placement and it ultimately cost us.

Ess 5th goal - Boundary throw in, Browne holds Bellchambers arm gives away a free, advantage paid - Howlett, goal

The remaining three hitouts just went to ground and a non contest.

Also was extremely lucky when he totally stuffed it in the goal square and comically couldn’t take possession and a Bomber kicked it of the ground and he redeemed himself by touching it for a point.

A Bomber kick to the edge of the square, Foley took possession and a quick one-two to Browne and back. very, very slick hands Browne has, the only trouble Foley was running direct to the wing with no clear option and it ended up being forced out of bounds. But as slick as it was Browne he had no vision, and ignored team plan, Conca was 15 meters directly in front of him in space calling for it “in the corridor” as we have been playing all year, and Conc was 20 meters from any Bomber, could have set up an almost certain goal.

Yes Browne was excellent putting pressure around the ground, but people are getting way to carried away with the quality of his game. The one terrific highlight in the 3rd was his 20 meter run to a contest and smashing the pack, punching the ball over the boundary and bursting the ball. Loved it. It’s the one thing Gus need to do more, impose himself, and Browne also took a contested mark and Gus has managed just 2 in 8 games. Another bad aspect of his game.

As other posters who like Gus, im also with them wanting Browne to get at least 8 games in, then a fair dinkum comparison can be made, until then the over the top Browne man love is a but silly.

Watched the first half replay just focusing on Browne.

Three of his hitouts went direct to a Richmond player with one a goal though a score involvement. Tick.

Four went direct to an Essendon player with two of those resulting in direct Essendon goals. One a free that was a goal, and one was an indirect score involvement.

Ess 1st goal, deep into Bombers forward line, Brown tap to ground in front of Jetta - Hille - Stanton -Zakarahis, Goal

Ess 2nd goal - Center bounce, Brown straight down Lovett Murrys throat - Cameri, Goal

Ess 4th goal - Center bounce, Brown to Foley/McVeigh - McVeigh taps - Cotch dispossessed - Heppell -McVeigh - Zakarahis, goal. Not a direct Browne assist, but not the best ruck placement and it ultimately cost us.

Ess 5th goal - Boundary throw in, Browne holds Bellchambers arm gives away a free, advantage paid - Howlett, goal

The remaining three hitouts just went to ground and a non contest.

Also was extremely lucky when he totally stuffed it in the goal square and comically couldn’t take possession and a Bomber kicked it of the ground and he redeemed himself by touching it for a point.

A Bomber kick to the edge of the square, Foley took possession and a quick one-two to Browne and back. very, very slick hands Browne has, the only trouble Foley was running direct to the wing with no clear option and it ended up being forced out of bounds. But as slick as it was Browne he had no vision, and ignored team plan, Conca was 15 meters directly in front of him in space calling for it “in the corridor” as we have been playing all year, and Conc was 20 meters from any Bomber, could have set up an almost certain goal.

Yes Browne was excellent putting pressure around the ground, but people are getting way to carried away with the quality of his game. The one terrific highlight in the 3rd was his 20 meter run to a contest and smashing the pack, punching the ball over the boundary and bursting the ball. Loved it. It’s the one thing Gus need to do more, impose himself, and Browne also took a contested mark and Gus has managed just 2 in 8 games. Another bad aspect of his game.

As other posters who like Gus, im also with them wanting Browne to get at least 8 games in, then a fair dinkum comparison can be made, until then the over the top Browne man love is a but silly.

Agree 100%. The majority of you are seeing things through Browne coloured glasses :cool:

Very astute post above by Bazzar. All should read it... Give him a go for a few weeks but like it or not Graham will be back (all will need rests throughout the season).

One thing I did like was that I actually noticed him around the ground. He had a presence down in defense and on the wing.
He did all the rights things, just didn't execute them all correctly. Still young with a lot of improvement left.