A current affair????

Jul 20, 2000
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
What do you guys think of these type of programs. I HATE THEM. The most boring shows on telivision. I mean I really don't want to know about two families arguments about their fence.

And the fact that we have to watch them while the cricket is being played.

WHY BOTHER??

Com'on TV stations wake up and give the public what they want!

Anyone know what the crowd figure is at the G tonight. They were expecting 80,000. If so, why aren't the Melbourne viewers getting a direct telecast, every other state does when their grounds aren't even to capacity !!!

Originally posted by Aussie_Roo:
Anyone know what the crowd figure is at the G tonight. They were expecting 80,000. If so, why aren't the Melbourne viewers getting a direct telecast, every other state does when their grounds aren't even to capacity !!!

I know. Sucks majorly, especially for those of us who work till late and would only get to see like an hour of the game if we tried to go after work. GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR. I would prefer to just come home and flake out in front of the telly and watch it.

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

Perhaps when the capacity of the G is lowered to 70,000 while the new stand is under construction, perhaps they will view it as 'full' then????
rolleyes.gif

------------------

T.V. current affairs shows are the pits. Especially on commercial stations. Real lowest common denominator stuff.

Yes, there's always the feuding neighbour story. Either that or its the tenant from hell story. Or the dole bludger story. Or the irate local residents story. Or an exposee of some snake-oil salesman. Or a shonky builder story.

And then you always get these ridiculous scenes where the interviewer and camera crew pursue someone through the streets.

I used to love watching Front Line because it completely took the piss out of the whole current affairs phenomenon. And it was SPOT ON.

As for the "cricket". Who cares? That pyjama game is a frigging joke. Give me boring old Test cricket anyday!!!

I was watching the packaged highlights on the news tonight and all I saw was all these batsmen moving away towards the leg side to give themselves enough room to slog the ball into the outfield, leaving their stumps exposed. Very ugly stuff.

Give me Geoffrey Boycott making a century in 500 minutes any day. He had the most magnificent defensive technique of any batsman I have ever seen. These modern day pyjama boys wouldn't have a clue.

------------------
**floreat pica**

Speaking of A Current Affair, did anyone see that rugby league fanatic who was destroying his family with his obsession. I thought it was a bit harsh, he was just supporting his team. It hit pretty close to home actually, except I don't have a wife and kids.

------------------
It's true hard work never killed anybody, but I figure, why take the chance??

Ant
I agree, my 2 marriages ended cause I was sick of my husbands complaining about every room in the house being decorated in red & black & during footy season I wasn't home a lot, like from thursday to sunday, go figure.
biggrin.gif

------------------
mantis

Those Current Affairs shows are utter rubbish

Just so predictable and stupid, its always the feuding neighbours, or a low grade celebrity plugging their latest B-grad movie, oh and don't forget the good old hdden camera technique - sure to ruin some hapless small businessman anyday.

Your are so dead right ALF - Frontline was an absolute killer, would not have been as good or as funny as it was if was not so close to the truth.

7.30 Report on the ABC is better, but I think it goes too far in the opposite direction, its boring, esoteric and so terribly terribly dry all the time.

cheers - oh and BTW LOI Cricket is a bit of a stinker too !

SOMETIMES (but very rarely) those Current Affair shows have an item I am actually interested in watching. But when it interrupts sport, it's just a national tragedy!!!!!!!!!! Yeah I also saw that story about the Rugby fanatic, I think it was kinda awful, but then again, wouldn't the guy have already been like that when the wife first met him??? Ya can't change people.
smile.gif
I LOVE my footy, but I just don't have the capacity to be that obsessed. Not quite to that extent anyway. And my man would always come first. ALWAYS. At least he has decided to follow my team, makes things a little more convenient.
biggrin.gif
hehehe

------------------

Spot on all counts Alf and BSA.

I once saw an interview with that stunning redhead who played the producer in Frontline, can't remember her name. She said that she used to hate current affairs shows before she did Frontline, but that now she loves them - funniest shows on television.

I know what you mean about cricket going down-hill Alf. Gone are the days when you could take your esky, a pair binoculars and a good book to the cricket and have an enjoyable day in the sun while the boys had a hit in the middle. The game has become so aggressive that you actually have to watch now unless you miss something - it's spoiled a great, relaxing Australian pasttime. We spend the winter months at the footy watching every second of the action and we need the cricket to recover from that - just can't do it anymore.

yeah I think Alf really hit the nail on the head when he was talking about all those, er, 'batsmen' backing away to leg and leaving their stumps exposed so they can club the ball Baseball-style outta the Stadium.

in a word - arrrrggghhh !

Can we have more Cricket and less 'Hit-it' in future please ?

If you all lived in Canberra you wouldnt have a problem. We dont get A Current Affair when the cricket is on so we dont have to put up with that crap to miss what is against this opposition, often the most exciting part of the game!

Hmmmmm

Is this the sort of "commitment" that we are to expect if Channel 9 secure the rights to football??

I can picture it now:

"as we tick over into time on of the 2002 grand final, its a 3 point ballgame, the ball gets kicked deep into the forward line, smack bang onto the chest of the full forward, the crowd goes wild, these teams have been going hammer and tongs for the last 120 minutes, the full forward stands on the 50 metre arc, starts his approach..................................................."Hello I'm Jo Hall, welcome to National Nine News, highlights of the 2002 AFL Grand Final later in the bulletin"!!!!!!

AAAAAAGGGHHHHHHHH!!!!!!

Cheers

Gonzo

(PS you'll notice that the Full Forward didn't stop to throw grass in the air!!
tongue.gif
)

Originally posted by joshhem:
What do you guys think of these type of programs. I HATE THEM. The most boring shows on telivision. I mean I really don't want to know about two families arguments about their fence.

And the fact that we have to watch them while the cricket is being played.

WHY BOTHER??

Com'on TV stations wake up and give the public what they want!

Dodongo agrees. And while Dodongo is putting in his post he is almost at 200.

------------------
DODONGO HAS SPOKEN

I'm with you Joshy Boy, can't stand those sorts of shows. And I get really annoyed when we miss some of the cricket action because they have to air that dumb show.
WAKE UP 9 GET WITH THE PROGRAMME.
cheers...

Originally posted by Aussie_Roo:

We got a delayed telecast regardless of the fact that we're on the other side of the country!! Exciting stuff these delayed telecasts we've been having to put up with.

A current affair????