A good win but...

Back to the original topic. We won the hitouts 37 to 31 but got belted in the clearances. The problem we have is we are not clean with our hands in the middle. There are a lot of fumbles or poor handballs in the middle that result in the oposition gaining possession. If Watson has a decent tag put on him (Hadley was on him all of last night) we simply have not got another genuine clearance winner. McVeigh wins some clearances but he does fumble a good number of balls at ground level at the center bounces. Stanton and Houli are the ball recivers when they are in the middle and last night Pev was simply trying to negate Judd (which he couldn't anyway).
At the end of the day currently our midfield is a C+ at best.

I didn't notice Monfries getting BIG time in the middle at all, after the intra-club game I thought he would become or be used as Watson's friend in the middle re: clearances. I can't quite figure out why last night was his first game this year. He has more talent than most players on the list... and that's no indictment on the other players, I rate Monfries. I just hope he becomes the consistent footballer I think he will sooner rather than later! :thumbsu:

His attack on the ball is tremendous, fearless and has star qualities! :thumbsu:

Your thoughts on why Monfries is being used so sparingly?

I didn't notice Monfries getting BIG time in the middle at all, after the intra-club game I thought he would become or be used as Watson's friend in the middle re: clearances. I can't quite figure out why last night was his first game this year. He has more talent than most players on the list... and that's no indictment on the other players, I rate Monfries. I just hope he becomes the consistent footballer I think he will sooner rather than later! :thumbsu:

His attack on the ball is tremendous, fearless and has star qualities! :thumbsu:

I can't quite figure out why last night was his first game this year

I would have thought his performance last night would answer that question.

He has more talent than most players on the list

Nowhere near it and he is going backwards.

Not as fearless as he once was but what are these star qualities he is supposed to possess?

Finally an supporter who shares my thoughts on guss.

Don't get me wrong I loved the kid when he first came onto the scene but has not delivered much ever since. He is definitely one of the more talented players we have on our list, but sadly hasn't improved on his promising start.

Honestly I reckon the kid lacks the mentality and heart to be a truly great player. And with him being unable make the step up into the engine room his spot in the team and future at the club is under great threat.

Should get a couple of weeks in the team though with leroys hammy, hopefully he can prove me and other doubters wrong.

For what its worth I think he is greatly overrated by our supporters...

Thought is NAB Cup form was a bit patchy so he payed the price early on. Apart from a few games towards the end of last season his midfield form has been nothing special. I have to admit i have some doubts about him. I thought he went backwards a bit last year.
Im not sure why he wasnt used so much in the middle last night. Seemed strange to have him in the side and not give him a crack at the center bounces at some stage.

Don i think our problems in defence relate to getting smashed in the middle and not enough players being smart enough to block the holes. We take a poung from fast leading forwards becasue there is always too much space for them to lead into and we have a few blokes who do not put their bodies on the line at various stages and get in front of the leading forwards.

Point taken and I mae the same observation by suggesting we were smashed at the stoppages.

I still think we aren't quite structured up right down back and in endeavouring to create run from defense, are playing a looser defensive game. Ryder has been superb 2 weeks running now which is a positive. I have real concerns over Michael and where he's at with his footy.

Well, Dyson is given a bigger role and he has done quite well considering he shouldn't be on the list. Monfries has been given sweet FA and is virtually playing the role Dyson had played for his first 50 games, FA time on the ground and limited opportunities.

He has a fantastic sense of where the goals are, he can play in and under (we only have Watson that can do that), good mark for his size and has confidence about his ability.

He's gone backwards? Basing this on one game where he got bugger all time? If you're referring to when he got dropped last season... I'd reckon he had plenty of mates that should've been playing next to him with the Bendigo Bombers!

He had a huge preseason and he looked particularly focused. Its ony a matter of time before he bulks up and proves his knockers wrong.

It seems most people blow smoke up Hlle's ass on this forum yet he's a dud ruck but yet when it comes to young talent that don't get meaty roles everyone's all over them!

Point taken and I mae the same observation by suggesting we were smashed at the stoppages.

I still think we aren't quite structured up right down back and in endeavouring to create run from defense, are playing a looser defensive game. Ryder has been superb 2 weeks running now which is a positive. I have real concerns over Michael and where he's at with his footy.

I don't think Mal can be blamed for a number of the marks Fevola took.

He was fine in a contest, the problem was the acres of space left for Fevola to lead into. Any decent Full Forward with some solid delivery would've lapped that up.

Our midfielders and defensive structure let him down last night.

What game were you watching? We've got the worst ruck division in the competition IMO. Kruezer was a first gamer and Cloke is a hack and I thought they dominated hence the amount of centre clearances to Carlton. If the midfielders of Essendon can't get first crack at the pill at the stoppages it's tough to get a clearance.

We played the football we NEED to play for about a quarter. 10 minutes in the first quarter and the first 10 minutes in the last, that won't cut it against quality opposition.

Great win or lucky escape?!?

Congratulations Essendon, you just beat a team that hasn't finished higher than 11th in over 6 seasons and who hasn't won in the past 14 games. Hate to sound negative after a victory but IMO there aren't many positives...

Most promising aspect of tonight's game was Essendon's goalscorers... all 14 of them!

Surely you're taking the piss??

What did Cloke do all night? Nothing
Kruezer was very good at times, nothing more.

Hille and Laycock both won the majority of the taps and around the ground is where they made the difference, which is what the modern day ruckman is judged on these days. Our midfield is at fault for being smashed in the stoppages, not our ruckman. Perhaps you just ask how our unaccountable midfield lets a fatty like Nick Stevens get anywhere near the ball.

Ridiculous post from one of the more pessimistic supporters out there.

This is the problem. Footy isn't about FB v FF now. There's circumstances and contexts. No FB in the league would've stopped Fev with the ball coming to him like that.

Michael didn't put a foot wrong all game, in fact I'd love for anyone to point out what exactly he did wrong last night. The fact is our midfielders need to tighten up when we don't have the ball, pure and simple.

Does anyone else think we would've thrashed Carlton if Lucas had've been in the side? Carlton has their best defender on Lloyd who still managed to kick 4 goals. Surely they wouldn't have been able to handle Scotty and he wouldv'e run riot and kicked more than fev.

A good win but...

Mcfee is a liability across half forward
Stanton is far from the elite midfielder that Knights has proclaimed him to be.
Our midfield was smashed at stopages for the second week in a row
Our defence was a shambles
Mal Michael may be close to playing his last game
We only just beat a side who has lost 14 straight.

Care to explain these plainly incorrect comments?

Mal may have let Fev get 8 goals but he spoiled plenty more away from Fev when the ball came to the Fev/Michael contest. I'm sure if we were to kick it to Lloydy that much against the Carlton defence Lloydy would have 8 goals as well.

Fev could've kicked 20 goals if someone like Zac Dawson was playing on him.

Well, Dyson is given a bigger role and he has done quite well considering he shouldn't be on the list. Monfries has been given sweet FA and is virtually playing the role Dyson had played for his first 50 games, FA time on the ground and limited opportunities.

He has a fantastic sense of where the goals are, he can play in and under (we only have Watson that can do that), good mark for his size and has confidence about his ability.

He's gone backwards? Basing this on one game where he got bugger all time? If you're referring to when he got dropped last season... I'd reckon he had plenty of mates that should've been playing next to him with the Bendigo Bombers!

He had a huge preseason and he looked particularly focused. Its ony a matter of time before he bulks up and proves his knockers wrong.

It seems most people blow smoke up Hlle's ass on this forum yet he's a dud ruck but yet when it comes to young talent that don't get meaty roles everyone's all over them!

I'm not a fan of Dyson either but he had at least earned a spot in the team as his pre season had been good as was his game vs Geelong.

So these are what you call the qualities of a star?

From what i have seen of him he can't play in and under in a mid role as most times he has played that role he has done SFA.
Marking ability is average and this past year he has nothing to be confident about.

Yes he has gone backwards and no i am not basing that on one game but his continual slide from his first year.

He isn't a dud ruck, yet he also isn't good ruckman either.
But he at least contests around the ground, provides a link going forward and plays a leading forward kicking goals.

Far from a dud.

Mal may have let Fev get 8 goals but he spoiled plenty more away from Fev when the ball came to the Fev/Michael contest. I'm sure if we were to kick it to Lloydy that much against the Carlton defence Lloydy would have 8 goals as well.

Fev could've kicked 20 goals if someone like Zac Dawson was playing on him.

He was simply too slow for Fev, the move of Paddy onto him should of been made a lot earlier

It wasn't completely Mal's fault that Fev got away in the third term, it was our midfield's as well. If you look at the game, he had Fev beaten in the air but when the carlton midfielders had no pressure and were able to deliver the lace out pass on the lead, it was impossible to stop. Even Ryder wouldn't have stopped him on the lead the way Stevens and co. were delivering the ball. When our midfield started to pressure carltons, they weren't able to find space and deliver under no pressure

No it wasn't completely Mal's fault, but Paddy is still quicker, has a long reach and still may have stopped one or two extra, he is quickly becoming our best defender and the move should have been tried earlier

Ont the issue of the ruckmen, I think they won last night. Yeah Carlson had more clearences, but when they have guys like Judd and Murphy in there, its hard to stop them. I noticed around stoppages that were near me, Judd has tackled as soon as he had the ball, but he was still good enough to get the ball out. You just cant stop stuff like that. Hille had 19 hit outs, Laycock had 17. Thats pretty damn good. They had 29 possessions, 10 marks and 2.2 goals between them. You cant really complain, they both played well.

Surely you're taking the piss??

What did Cloke do all night? Nothing
Kruezer was very good at times, nothing more.

Hille and Laycock both won the majority of the taps and around the ground is where they made the difference, which is what the modern day ruckman is judged on these days. Our midfield is at fault for being smashed in the stoppages, not our ruckman. Perhaps you just ask how our unaccountable midfield lets a fatty like Nick Stevens get anywhere near the ball.

Ridiculous post from one of the more pessimistic supporters out there.

Seems like you're towing the company line there mate. Essendon's problem is it doesn't respect the role of ruckman. I couldn't care less if Hille and Laycock won around the ground, I'm not sure how you came to that conclusion when Kruezer kicked a couple of goals but hey that's just my opinion.

Would you prefer Hille around the ground or McVeigh? You're basically saying we don't need a ruckman.

Did you watch the first 3 quarters, I don't think Hille got first hands on the ball in the ruck once. It seems most people only remember the 10 minutes of brilliance in the final quarter.

I'm not pessimistic, I like to think I'm realistic. Against quality opposition Hille looks like a fool.

Ont the issue of the ruckmen, I think they won last night. Yeah Carlson had more clearences, but when they have guys like Judd and Murphy in there, its hard to stop them. I noticed around stoppages that were near me, Judd has tackled as soon as he had the ball, but he was still good enough to get the ball out. You just cant stop stuff like that. Hille had 19 hit outs, Laycock had 17. Thats pretty damn good. They had 29 possessions, 10 marks and 2.2 goals between them. You cant really complain, they both played well.

Who in God's name counts the hitouts... they are clearly stealing a living!

Am I the only one that thinks Hille can't jump and can't tap ruck??? Oh my lord you people are dellusional!!!

Seems like you're towing the company line there mate. Essendon's problem is it doesn't respect the role of ruckman. I couldn't care less if Hille and Laycock won around the ground, I'm not sure how you came to that conclusion when Kruezer kicked a couple of goals but hey that's just my opinion.

Would you prefer Hille around the ground or McVeigh? You're basically saying we don't need a ruckman.

Did you watch the first 3 quarters, I don't think Hille got first hands on the ball in the ruck once. It seems most people only remember the 10 minutes of brilliance in the final quarter.

I'm not pessimistic, I like to think I'm realistic. Against quality opposition Hille looks like a fool.
Yeah, just like against Hamish McIntosh, who was stiff not to be AA last year. OH wait a minute, Hille killed McIntosh :rolleyes:

Well I have news for you, fool;)

We all know Hille only pulls his finger out against McIntosh and Cox while he can't be stuffed with average ruckmen:(

Yeah, just like against Hamish McIntosh, who was stiff not to be AA last year. OH wait a minute, Hille killed McIntosh :rolleyes:

Wow his second good game in the ruck in his career... the other being 3 quarters against West Coast last year. We want a ruckman not a guy who's ok around the ground, I'd prefer to see Mcphee around the ground than Hille wouldn't you?

Put Hille in the forward line, don't ever put him in the ruck!

You really have no clue, yet you call everyone else delusional.:cool:

He's a crap ruckman. It's as simple as that. You're telling me he played well in the ruck last night... I don't give a shite about around the ground, tell me what you really think about his ruck work. Was he supplying our midfielders with first opportunity by tapping it to their advantage? Was he negating his opponents influence? Everyone seems to be blaming the midfielders for lack of clearances, I say look at the ruckman! That's where my opinion differs it seems to everyone else but I'm happy with that, the win/loss ratio since he's been in the ruck backs up my argument.

For God's sake when Paul Salmon was brought back at the age of 38 he was better than Hille! :D:D:D

A good win but...