Reg Hickey

All this gumph about living next to Henry Playfair or being on Couchy's garbo run or whatever isn't answering the real Henry question.

What are we going to do with him?

He wouldn't seem to have a future in the forward line with Hawkins being drafted and NA coming on well last year. Grima showed a few things in the VFL this year to suggest that he could fill a key forward role in the future (much more a natural forward than defender in my opinion).

I see three options:

(1) We could still use another ruckman, especially if King goes down again, and if he stands up straight H is probably just about tall enough at 198cm. Would be quite useful around the ground too with his mobility and marking ability.

(2) Key defender. There must still be some question marks over whether Harley can make it back fully from injury, and I reckon Lonergan is still a long shot to play again. Spencer is lucky to be on the list and may not be this time next year. That really leaves Scarlett, Egan and Sam Hunt, which is not a very deep pool, and Egan is the only CHB out of that group. Retraining H as a back up CHB I think is a realistic option.

(3) VFL. Play out most of 2007 in the magoos before being delisted.

Thoughts?

Option 3333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333

All this gumph about living next to Henry Playfair or being on Couchy's garbo run or whatever isn't answering the real Henry question.

What are we going to do with him?

He wouldn't seem to have a future in the forward line with Hawkins being drafted and NA coming on well last year. Grima showed a few things in the VFL this year to suggest that he could fill a key forward role in the future (much more a natural forward than defender in my opinion).

I see three options:

(1) We could still use another ruckman, especially if King goes down again, and if he stands up straight H is probably just about tall enough at 198cm. Would be quite useful around the ground too with his mobility and marking ability.

(2) Key defender. There must still be some question marks over whether Harley can make it back fully from injury, and I reckon Lonergan is still a long shot to play again. Spencer is lucky to be on the list and may not be this time next year. That really leaves Scarlett, Egan and Sam Hunt, which is not a very deep pool, and Egan is the only CHB out of that group. Retraining H as a back up CHB I think is a realistic option.

(3) VFL. Play out most of 2007 in the magoos before being delisted.

Thoughts?

Other people live in my street is for playschool sites.
Henry's not our worst!!! Train him for the ruck/backline - King will not see out the entire season regardless of the PR machine (which has always been transparently second rate at KP) - Blake is much the same height as Henry but lacks his agility. God, I wish Henry could kick!

He is no good, he is on our list purely as backup (and coz he is contracted). He has no future as an AFL player as he is simply not good enough.

Enjoy your last year Henry you hack.

Option 3333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333333

Gees what a suprise. I thought you had gotten over the H issue.

The fact is - He has shown more at CHF in the AFL at this stage than any other on our list bar Mooney. He IS NOT the second worst player on our list , that would be a player or players that have been on our list for a while and has yet to demand regular selection.Anyway , thats not question what to do with him now that Nathan looks to be ready to be played at CHF.

Im not sure he is mobile or clever enough for backline play and he certainly would be able to kick the way a Hunt could as a third tall. His main weapon of advantage is overhead , he can take a mark and he has reasonable stamina. Id like to see him played in the ruck in the V's but he would need more coaching in this skill , he has probably been more focused on forwardline play.
Could he be worse than Chambers and he was handy at times.

The one thing I totally agree on is he is not a natural footballer and when better options had shown themselves , it was always going to make life tough for him.

H has a year to prove he can cut it as a defender, if he can't he will be delisted next year in the club clean up our new coach will bring. Given our forward stocks are pretty good he is not likely to be called to play forward in the future. Wheras we will require KP defenders in the future and he has an opportunity to claim a spot if he is good enough. I doubt he is good enough but time will tell.

Henry if fully fit will be a handy spare parts big man. Just because he may not fit logically into peoples best 22 does not mean he will be forced out.

Picking best 22, it is an absolute fantasy exercise, a team is not made up of 3 tall forwards and 3 tall defenders every week nor is a team EVER at full strength. Fact is Henry has shown far more than most of the talls on our list. He lost his way past 18 months but I would think he would start in the 22 and injury permitting will hold his place. I agree he must take his chance this this year.

If he does he is a useful tall, who can play back and forward and will slot in were the team needs him.

Henry fan.

H has a year to prove he can cut it as a defender, if he can't he will be delisted next year in the club clean up our new coach will bring. Given our forward stocks are pretty good he is not likely to be called to play forward in the future. Wheras we will require KP defenders in the future and he has an opportunity to claim a spot if he is good enough. I doubt he is good enough but time will tell.

People seem to have forgotten that he played quite a few games in 2004 as a spare tall defender. The reserves finals series last year turned for us when they moved Playfair to CHB and Nathan Ablett to CHF. Granted it's a big step down but he certainly looked far better in defence than attack. If he has any future at all it should be as a CHB. Nowhere else.

Good stuff - agree about VFL finals.
He is better suited to defence - he is a strong bloke and a good mark - sadly, an ordinary kick. Remember, folks, he has been injured - smashed jaw is no fun!
Another Henry fan.:thumbsu:

Good stuff - agree about VFL finals.
He is better suited to defence - he is a strong bloke and a good mark - sadly, an ordinary kick. Remember, folks, he has been injured - smashed jaw is no fun!
Another Henry fan.:thumbsu:

I wouldn't necessarily claim to be a "fan" as such. But he's on the list, and if they must persevere with him it's got to be in defence. He's not going to nudge out Mooney or Nathan Ablett from centre half forward anytime soon (unless there's an astonishing improvement). So for me, if there are injuries, key defence (CHB) or maybe backup ruckman.

Henry has the right attitude, he'll give it everything so that's a start. If Nathan and Mooney are injured, he would probably get the nod at CHF but he is third in line and very soon to become a distant fourth with Tom now on the list ... but you do need some depth.

I think like some others have mentioned, his role looks best in defence and I agree. There are plenty of sides who push ruckman forward these days and Henry is mobile enough to pick up some linking possessions running off them. Talk of him being a back up ruckman would to me seem most relevant handling ruck contests deep in defence when Ottens and King cant make it....which given the nature of modern footy will be a regular occurence.

Henry has the right attitude, he'll give it everything so that's a start. If Nathan and Mooney are injured, he would probably get the nod at CHF but he is third in line and very soon to become a distant fourth with Tom now on the list ... but you do need some depth.

I think like some others have mentioned, his role looks best in defence and I agree. There are plenty of sides who push ruckman forward these days and Henry is mobile enough to pick up some linking possessions running off them. Talk of him being a back up ruckman would to me seem most relevant handling ruck contests deep in defence when Ottens and King cant make it....which given the nature of modern footy will be a regular occurence.

Yeah, the defence/defensive-ruck option certainly seems the best to me.

Thats right.

He is our second worst.

That worst honour goes to Charlie Gardiner.
bzzt. Wrong. 3rd after Charlie and Spencer :p

Anyway I think he has this year to prove he can cut it as a ruckman or tall defender. We simply don't need him in our forward line anymore.

His biggest problem is the ball takes too long to go from hand to foot. Thats why his kicking is terrible.
We cant have such a liability in the backline. We already have Ling and Woj who turn it over around half back, we cant afford anymore.
Imagine H getting fancy one day and trying to spot up a target which is risky. It would end in tears.

His biggest problem is the ball takes too long to go from hand to foot. Thats why his kicking is terrible.
We cant have such a liability in the backline. We already have Ling and Woj who turn it over around half back, we cant afford anymore.
Imagine H getting fancy one day and trying to spot up a target which is risky. It would end in tears.

Yet another player our allegedly "great" recruiters have found with a monstrous flaw in his game. It never ceases to astonish me how many players are drafted who cannot kick. You would have thought at AFL level it was a basic requirement.