A Proposal for Bryce Gibbs

• Thread starter Thread starter Mad Dog

Stiffy_18 said:
Sounds like he won't be given another contract :eek:

Must be due to medical reasons.

Yes, that last comment a minute ago from KG "poor old Benny Hart" didn't sound like a contract renewal.

Apparently they are expecting an official announcement around 6 pm if the Channel 7 news promo is to be believed.

Stiffy_18 said:
Sounds like he won't be given another contract :eek:

Must be due to medical reasons.

6:20 pm tonight something should be released by the AFC..

While it might sound tough, if the decision of the club is to get Benny to face retirement by not offering a contract, I applaud them.

List management is a very diffficult thing, and the easy way out would be to give Ben a 1 year renewal at age 32 with a dubious body.

Maybe this will be a harsh reality.....but always horrible when it happens..............:( - I just hope whatever happens - the decision has come from Ben....or at least it's one he is convinced is the right one

macca23 said:
While it might sound tough, if the decision of the club is to get Benny to face retirement by not offering a contract, I applaud them.

List management is a very diffficult thing, and the easy way out would be to give Ben a 1 year renewal at age 32 with a dubious body.
As I've said over the last couple of weeks - the Ben Hart decision is partly not about him - but also about the club's necessity to manage the list

Smokey_22 said:

Well there ya go! i said elsewhere we should just get over it! however, nowhere in the article is there a direct quote saying he will stay forever at one club, he just said he WILL be happy to play wherever! meh, there are other good young kids in the draft, and we've got Porps, VB, Douglas etc anyway, we dont need Gibbs!!

Gibbs in for the long haul
2:18:21 PM Wed 4 October, 2006
Matt Burgan in Canberra
Exclusive to afl.com.au
Glenelg young gun and potential No.1 draft pick Bryce Gibbs has said that no matter where he lands in the November NAB AFL Draft, he "definitely" wants to remain at the club for the long-term.

Gibbs, who was initially linked with Adelaide as a father/son selection until his eligibility made him open to all clubs upon closer inspection of the rules, suggested he wanted to forge a prosperous career with just one AFL club.

His comments come after the Crows recently said they would be willing to pounce on the midfielder after his minimum two years at a rival AFL club ends - possibly with either Carlton or Essendon.

"They're saying I might come home in two years or whatever, but I'm a pretty loyal person, so I'm just rapt to put on a guernsey wherever and have a good crack at it," Gibbs said at the NAB AFL Draft Camp in Canberra on Wednesday.

"Every now and then something comes out in the paper and my sister goes, 'Bryce, Bryce you're in the paper'. I say, 'Oh, don't worry, chuck it in the bin.' You don't know whether to believe it or not.

"It's been pretty crazy ever since the decision was made about the draft (eligibility), but I'm happy just to put on a guernsey with whoever it may be, so I've just got to work hard and hopefully it'll work out for the best."

Gibbs said he is not perturbed about moving interstate either.

"Mum's stressing out, but I'm no worries I don't reckon," Gibbs said.

"I will miss family and friends, but that's part of it. To get there and do it I suppose you have to sacrifice some things and if it's moving a couple of hundred kilometres away, I'm up for it.

"Once that day comes in November and you know what you're doing, you can just really focus and have a real big crack at it."

The 2006 under-18 All-Australian has had an outstanding year and believes that having two years' experience at senior level with The Bays in the SANFL has been pivotal to his game.

"Definitely … just even learning where to run and what to do and I've had so many roles over the last year and a half - whether it was playing down back or up forward or in the midfield - I've learnt so much running around with those bigger bodies," Gibbs said.

Gibbs said the build-up to the draft had been a valuable learning experience.

"Early on it was a bit like - what do I do? But it just comes now and I just have to do it and deal with it and I cop it a bit from my mates, but that's alright," Gibbs said.

"You can only control what you can and all this stuff (about going at) draft number one or number two - it's out of my control and I only focus on the things I can control, which is getting a kick on the footy field, so I try not to worry about it too much.

"If I'm working hard and doing all of the things right, hopefully it can just take care of itself."

Gibbs is close mates with two other Draft Camp attendees which he said had been a bonus in his football journey thus far.

"I'm real good mates with James Sellar and Mark Austin. We're at school together as well and in the same group of friends, so I'm with them all day, every day at school and we eat and live out of each other's pockets," Gibbs said.

"So growing up through school and playing footy together at Glenelg as well, we made a real special bond and it's just amazing that we're all going through it together and if one's down, we can pick one of them up and we get behind each other and it's been great.

"(I like) just hanging with the boys, going to have a bit of a hit of golf or go surfing or just sit around and watch a movie - but just sitting around with the boys just gets me away from it all and I have a bit of a laugh and giggle, so it's good."

Of the 'Bryce Gibbs Cup', a fictitious trophy contested between Carlton and Essendon earlier this season supposedly for the right to choose Gibbs with the No.1 draft pick, Gibbs said: "I reckon it is rubbish and I think that got a bit out of hand."

"The Bryce Gibbs Cup. I don't know about that," exclaimed Gibbs, before suggesting that the Gumbleton Cup or the Sellar Cup" would have been more appropriate.

Mmmmmm?

Who cares like the preliminary final loss, it’s time to move on and worry about who we do have on the list rather than who we don’t have.

Good luck to the kid and hope he has a successful career with whom ever he plays for.

PerthCrow said:
Damage control
Wouldn't think so ....AFL article from draft camp

Would have been an obvious question to ask of the lad

just maybe said:
Ben Hart and Brent Reilly to Carlton for No 1

:D

Bryce.jpg

;)

Gibbs is close mates with two other Draft Camp attendees which he said had been a bonus in his football journey thus far.

"I'm real good mates with James Sellar and Mark Austin. We're at school together as well and in the same group of friends, so I'm with them all day, every day at school and we eat and live out of each other's pockets," Gibbs said.

"So growing up through school and playing footy together at Glenelg as well, we made a real special bond and it's just amazing that we're all going through it together and if one's down, we can pick one of them up and we get behind each other and it's been great.

"(I like) just hanging with the boys, going to have a bit of a hit of golf or go surfing or just sit around and watch a movie - but just sitting around with the boys just gets me away from it all and I have a bit of a laugh and giggle, so it's good."

I wonder if Fanta is giving Mark Austin any extra scrutiny? If this kid is going to be any good, it could be very helpful to have him on our list in a couple of years time ;)

cypher said:
I don't think they let whipper into any schools. ;) :p

Look what crawled out of his hibernating hole, have you enjoyed your 8 week (or should that be 4 years) hiatus from the football world.

I hope you enjoy your 3 or 4 weeks next year when you are still in contention before the bottom drops out again.