Roast A reflection of where Pie fans think their club is really at. It's not positive.

Are you happy with we're the club is at?

• Yes

Votes: 17 13.1%
  • No

Votes: 104 80.0%
  • Undecided

Votes: 9 6.9%

TKiL

Jul 22, 2017
Eastern Suburbs, Melb
More evidence from another forum that the fans are not happy.

led by the deluded we gnash our teeth

Seen Tigers win 8 flags and lose 2 GFs

Seen Cwood win 3 flags and lose 12 GFs

Will this ever change?

Note:

In this time period Tigers win 80% of GFs they contest

Cwood win 20% of GFs they contest (ignoring draws)

Merlington

Sep 6, 2015

Will this ever change?

Note:

Look, I am just an old duffer popping in for a post season gander at the vibe. But can I just comment on the above. Yes the Tiges had a glorious era in the late 60s and early 70s and are having another now. But they had circa 35 years between 1982 and 2017 when they werent going within a bulls roar of winning a final (let alone a flag). If Collingwood were to try that stunt there would be revolution, wholesale scalpings of innocent women and children.

As someone mid 50s who actually went to some of those 1977-1981 Grand final appearances can I just make the additional observation (mainly for those people positing we should have one 1 or 2 then). Tom Hafey was an absolute legend for getting those sides to the Grand final. There were some complete hacks (also known as Collingwood honest battlers) running around in those sides. In none of those years were Collingwood identifiably the best side in the league (and they would have been closest in 1977), and in the 79-81 seasons they had some half baked hacks from other clubs running around in their midst get exposed on the big day (as well as our own half baked hacks). In 1981 I was there for what was (from memory) the second largest Grand Final crowd of all time. 25 minutes of manic Mark Williams inspiration should have won it for them (in the 3rd quarter) but that last quarter wiped them out - but even there Carlton were measurably the better side over the season.

From here the Pies will probably do what they have done since time immemorial. They will stuff up recruitment, and amongst the hacks they bring in will be some nuggets. Amongst the nuggets will be one or two who drive them to overachieve, and we will have more seasons with the odd spectacular win (like that game against the WC Eagles) where we dont get a fondle on the big day. Such is life.

But, gee a decent big forward would help - to allow Mihocek to play his natural role and Cox to play his, and give a still reasonable midfield the chance of a hit up gorilla to kick in hope at.

domus

Mar 31, 2008
Mooroolbark
Mooroolbark footy club
That article nailed what I've been saying for weeks and getting branded a sook and traitor for doing so. When is someone going to confront Buckley and McGuire with these irrefutable facts in a public forum? I want to hear them attempt to spin their way out of some tough questions but they seem to be untouchable. The two of them could spin a twenty goal defeat into a positive and I have had a gutful.

swiftdog

Sep 26, 2005
melbourne
That article nailed what I've been saying for weeks and getting branded a sook and traitor for doing so. When is someone going to confront Buckley and McGuire with these irrefutable facts in a public forum? I want to hear them attempt to spin their way out of some tough questions but they seem to be untouchable. The two of them could spin a twenty goal defeat into a positive and I have had a gutful.

AGM will be in February I imagine. From memory they let members ask questions. Why don’t you ask the question at the AGM?

AgroMagro

Playing through the pain
Aug 28, 2016
McGuire’s anachronistic presidency sees this club run like a vaudeville show with a supporting cast of mates, neutered corporate types and hangers-on.

The club just delivered its worst finals performance in 40 years but hey, we lost a GF in 2018 and played well against WC the week before so there’s that I guess...

jackcass

10k Posts Magpie Service Medal Collingwood - Josh Daicos Player Sponsor 2021 Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies AFLW - Sarah Rowe Player Sponsor 2019
Oct 8, 2007
Bendigo
Firstly no I am not assuming every other club hasn't had similar issues. But not on multiple occasions. What other club has had two Presidents make incredibly racist statements.

And Eddie doesn't need me to conflate his media and club roles. He joyfully does it himself.

I’m not as aware of the circumstances at other clubs but do you know they haven’t just because they didn’t go to air? Eddy the media jock talking on radio and making a racist gaff about Goodes is not the Collingwood president doing so in his role as president. Just because the media conflate the 2 because it makes good press doesn’t make it so. Just because some supporters can’t distinguish between the 2 doesn’t make it so.

jackcass

10k Posts Magpie Service Medal Collingwood - Josh Daicos Player Sponsor 2021 Collingwood - Tyler Brown Player Sponsor 2020 Collingwood Magpies AFLW - Sarah Rowe Player Sponsor 2019
Oct 8, 2007
Bendigo

Will this ever change?

Note:

It’s etched in history and into the souls of every supporter who has lived through it so it can’t change. What matters is the history we write moving forward.

Duck River Pie

The Hulk
Jan 31, 2010
Dongara WA
Yes the Treloar episode is leaving a bad taste in my mouth! He is a champion who gives his heart and soul to the club! How could we possibly let him down.

Get Smart 86

Oct 5, 2004
St George area Sydney.
Glenelg
Been a Collingwood supporter for 50 years now. First memory for me was our GF loss to Carlton in 1970.
I am just so disappointed with our club.
How did we get to this point, when one of our favourite players is being pushed out by the club?
Why are we at a point where we are finding it difficult to improve our playing list?
Why have we got to a point where our salary cap is a mess?
Why don't we have the same level of good kids coming through as other clubs?
Why can't we entice players to our club?
Why can't we be the same as Geelong in list management.

I think we are all going to be so pissed off with our club in 2 weeks time, when instead of being stronger, we will become weaker.

Andrew Yoa

Sep 29, 2014
You are totally right mate , many of our fans that see things in rainbow coloured glasses honestly believe by trading for a Ben Brown were right back in the premiership race which is further from the truth. A trade like that will only prolong our stay in the 8 as a team just making up the numbers for the next 5 years.
Buckley has been a champion at the club, however he has been our coach since 2012 how much longer can we give him? he has failed as a coach.

Even looking at our football department they have given away 4 first round draft picks for Treloar and Beams trading our future away.
Not only that as a hole we probably have the worse group of key positional players in the AFL , take away Moore Grundy and young Will Kelly there realistically is nothing there? The rest of our key positional players are from other sports or journey men on the decline like Roughead and dunn.
Realistically we need a new coach a fresh approach with sweeping changes in the football department also.

We need to take 2 or 3 steps backwards to go 10 steps forward , which could mean trading a Degoey Sidebottom players that can land us first round draft picks and in Degoeys case depending on supply and demand possibly multiple first rounders. and firstly address our problems with talls via the draft.

If we need to pick up experience players it has to be done through free agency were you dont give away draft picks, also players like varcoe greenwood dunn roughead mayne just to name a few need to be shown the door, players like Josh Thomas you can find a 21 or 22 year old with upside to play his role?
If we can trade or get rid of players like will hoskin elliot it would also be a bonus.

We all know this wont happen the club will sale us hope people most of us will fall for it, Maguire desperation for Buckley to taste success will lead us in to trading early draft picks our future for players like Ben Brown and some forward pocket 27 or 28 year old that a opposition club wants to get rid off , most of us will then be content until the sh*t hits the fan again this time next year.
Tend to agree with you. Apart from trading Degoey or Sidebottom. I have been backing the club the last couple weeks, but enough is enough. The Silence on the Treloar issue is really starting to aggravate me. Treloar deserves better, and the fans deserve better. No response is now making me believe the club is up to no good. What will this do to the Morale of the playing ground? Howe, Adams, Crispy and Grundy are all best mates with Treloar. What are they going to think of the club, and its treatment of him. The current situation at Collingwood is alarming, and if not handled right (which it isn't) could cause a huge backlash from the players. If this happens, Eddie, Bucks and whoever else is responsible need to go.
The only way the club will know our dispair, is by protresting outside the club. And thats not a joke.

Arsenal fans wanted Arsene Wenger out, and the best way was voicing their opinions during games and at the club by protest.

Anyone could have seen that there were issues with the salary cap in recent times, but you always have your non believers that either are blinded or refuse to accept that the club is being poorly run (basically it’s fake news to them).

Finally it looks like things are coming to a head. To reduce the pressure on the salary cap, the club will be letting some players who are highly paid go (some that are skilful and some that aren’t). Problem is that the same idiots will probably stay in charge meaning no real change with the worst management in the league.

It also says 2021 will be a year where we fall from grace on the field and wont be threatening for the top 8 let alone any premiership. Which then leads to the shuddering thought if they are doing all this during Buckley’s last year of contract knowing he has slim hopes of doing anything worthwhile, then they must be thinking of extending his contract to give him a rebuild. Just the final nail in the coffin when we should instead be conducting interviews with possible targets with Sam Mitchell top of the list.

Yes, agreed. ^

Guys like Treloar, Cox, Stephenson, etc, who can't really be blamed for getting the contracts they got, may be moved on to help this salary situation that the Pies' admin. brought upon themselves. Yet will they "pay" for their roles in making it so? From the board down? Very unlikely. It's the players who will cop the brunt of being 'ruthless' this trade period.

Ant85

Jun 27, 2008
Yes, agreed. ^

Guys like Treloar, Cox, Stephenson, etc, who can't really be blamed for getting the contracts they got, may be moved on to help this salary situation that the Pies' admin. brought upon themselves. Yet will they "pay" for their roles in making it so? From the board down? Very unlikely. It's the players who will cop the brunt of being 'ruthless' this trade period.

It looks like an absolute shithow.

I have zero confidence in the on-field management of our club.

Jafo

Oct 12, 2016
Looks like Collingwood have a new slogan for 2021. Instead of #sidebyside we’re going with #castaside

28942C89-242E-40ED-A848-9E8B3EB7EF3C.jpeg

domin8tors

Jun 23, 2014
We had a shot at an era - 2010-2012.

We decided to sack our premiership coach and inspire a player revolt (one of them is now suing us).

The ultimate self-sabotage - all done by Eddie McGuire. I still can't believe he survived that.
Eddie got mick the chance to win the flag I. The first place, convincing the board to give him a new contract. How's Eddie to know mick would sook after it .

The hyphon

Feb 15, 2019
Wake up everyone. The rot has set in .Side by side we stick together or do we ?

The club is falling apart at the seams.

As armchair footy specialists we love to blame don't we ?????? Ok so we pay memberships we are entitled to success. Gee its tough following this club so many grand final apperances and so many losses. Disgraceful !!!

The Buck has to stop somewhere. LOL

Time for a clean out from the top administration group right through the Coaching staff Sorry Bucks you tried, great player but as senior coach well not your forte.

The only real success, Buckley had was in 2018 .What happenned ! He took the foot off the pedal dis associated with the group took much needed time out with family and our current administrative group woke up for 5 minutes and we decided to surround Buckley with experienced assistant coaching staff. As well as Sanderson . Harvey we recruited Buddah Hocking Brad Gotch and J Longmuir from freo. What happenned we were one kick off pulling the biggest upset in footy history......Winning the 2018 Flag....What would have made it sweeter was we were playing with half a side ......remember all the injuries we had ...we nearly pulled off a win for the ages BUT wasn't to be ! we were one star player off imagine a fit Wells in that Granny but alas wasn't to be.

2019 Signalled A FAILED PRELIM ! No excuse.

2020 COVID 19 sets in hub life wasn't condusive. to quite a few players, now we have an in experienced list management team pressured to push out our top line talent in order to relieve salary cap pressure. If you cannot replace quality with quality we are going back wards fast and these numb nuts in these positions have put us back 10 years.

Sorry Ed but really seems like your passion has gone to win flags we have become a mediocre club which has become a laughing stock of the AFL, The mediai are loving this i as a strong supporter hate it and i can speak for many many others.

Floreta Pica.......Wake the sleeping giant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Come on on Pies !

Time for BIG change the jungle drums are beating.......We need a switched on proffesional group to help make us a PREMIERSHIP Dynasty Club . Usually that happens when we recruit people who are not associated to Collingwood. Time to bring in Clarkson in 2022 and his coaching group give him a 5 year deal

We are COLLINGWOOD THE BIGGEST CLUB IN THE LAND, not the whimps that we have become.

I am angry !!!!!!!!

Wake up everyone. The rot has set in .Side by side we stick together or do we ?

The club is falling apart at the seams.

As armchair footy specialists we love to blame don't we ?????? Ok so we pay memberships we are entitled to success. Gee its tough following this club so many grand final apperances and so many losses. Disgraceful !!!

The Buck has to stop somewhere. LOL

Time for a clean out from the top administration group right through the Coaching staff Sorry Bucks you tried, great player but as senior coach well not your forte.

The only real success, Buckley had was in 2018 .What happenned ! He took the foot off the pedal dis associated with the group took much needed time out with family and our current administrative group woke up for 5 minutes and we decided to surround Buckley with experienced assistant coaching staff. As well as Sanderson . Harvey we recruited Buddah Hocking Brad Gotch and J Longmuir from freo. What happenned we were one kick off pulling the biggest upset in footy history......Winning the 2018 Flag....What would have made it sweeter was we were playing with half a side ......remember all the injuries we had ...we nearly pulled off a win for the ages BUT wasn't to be ! we were one star player off imagine a fit Wells in that Granny but alas wasn't to be.

2019 Signalled A FAILED PRELIM ! No excuse.

2020 COVID 19 sets in hub life wasn't condusive. to quite a few players, now we have an in experienced list management team pressured to push out our top line talent in order to relieve salary cap pressure. If you cannot replace quality with quality we are going back wards fast and these numb nuts in these positions have put us back 10 years.

Sorry Ed but really seems like your passion has gone to win flags we have become a mediocre club which has become a laughing stock of the AFL, The mediai are loving this i as a strong supporter hate it and i can speak for many many others.

Floreta Pica.......Wake the sleeping giant !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Come on on Pies !

Time for BIG change the jungle drums are beating.......We need a switched on proffesional group to help make us a PREMIERSHIP Dynasty Club . Usually that happens when we recruit people who are not associated to Collingwood. Time to bring in Clarkson in 2022 and his coaching group give him a 5 year deal

We are COLLINGWOOD THE BIGGEST CLUB IN THE LAND, not the whimps that we have become.

I am angry !!!!!!!!
You're angry? I'm hungry!

Gunna cook up some black pudd with my chookies eggs.

Good luck with whatever.

Rage man rage!!!!!!