A Section A Section Amateur Football

In fact, I think most of the people down at Old Xaverians who are still there from 1997 probably have forgotten who St Bedes Mentone Tigers were!!!

jascave... always spot on! think back people!!

anyway.. just reading uniblacks site and it seems they have a couple new recruits..

Anyone heard of these guys? must be pretty solid to make AA..

Uni have done well for themselves regarding recruits it seems..

Yep, I'm hearing plenty guys like this have joined the Blacks

Once again you peanuts take youselves fair to seriously, given your responses to a tongue in check comment - I would suggest that most of you haven't even played an A grade senior game...and we've seen Scribe play and he clearly didn't have the ability...lighten up...

not sure how scribe got dragged into this? he wasn't even paying out your silly "tongue in cheek" comment..

as for the "most of you wouldn't have played an A grade senior game".. I think you'll find you're very wrong there... and seeing as round 1 doesn't start for a few weeks yet, its highly likely you've infact never been in A grade nor played a game there..

and clearly your a fair freshy to these boards if you dont understand where the banter comes from... even the best of us have to cop it on the chin from time to time..

brrrrrrr..... wrong answer.

I've played A agrade, for extra points I would like to add I know of 5 other posters on here that have/currently play A grade....

Right answer!

brrrrrrr..... wrong answer.

I've played A agrade, for extra points I would like to add I know of 5 other posters on here that have/currently play A grade....

Right answer!

.......and 1 who played for St. Kilda. Maybe a step up on A Grade.

......and one who can account for every A Section game played and name every player ever played with stats to boot, along with the coaches of every team listed and then will construct it all into a poll for you

Fair bit of garbage coming out of this thread of late. Rather than making it into a competition of who knows more or less about VAFA football, or who has or hasn't played A Grade football, how about someone who is in the know elaborate on the current investigation being held by those residing down at glenhuntly road into the paying of players.

We only conduct business in poll forms 'round here pal.
Pay 'em all I say. And pay 'em heaps.

...and lets open up the bars during gametime... its time to do it legally!

I agree with that to a degree. The VAFA's philosophy has always been "If you can't handle not having a drink between 2 and 5 on a Saturday afternoon, we don't want you here anyway".
The problem is that wheras say, spectators at a Vermont versus East Burwoodf game get on the piss, getting home isn't a huge problem. Conversely, if a Scotch supporter went to the Snakepit, got on the Merlots all afternoon and then drove home through the city (assuming he hot out of the 'Pit.) it's be a disaster

It's a curly one - I'd love to get on it at games and it would bring fans back to the game but I reckon you'd see less women and children at games. And from watching suburban supporters drinking Jimmie cans all day and acting like they're not far from the barnyard, it's not very desirable from that point of view....

I prefer to keep the games alcohol free. I love taking my kids (who are 7 & 8) to the footy at SBMT. They run around with the other kids while I catch up with my mates.

I get a fix during the pre-game functions as part of the Tiger Club and I can wait for the main game to finish before the next beverage.

The advantage we have over the other local clubs is the alcohol free policy during the game. Families dont feel intimidated and we get a great afternoon of amateur football.

I prefer to keep the games alcohol free. I love taking my kids (who are 7 & 8) to the footy at SBMT. They run around with the other kids while I catch up with my mates.

I get a fix during the pre-game functions as part of the Tiger Club and I can wait for the main game to finish before the next beverage.

The advantage we have over the other local clubs is the alcohol free policy during the game. Families dont feel intimidated and we get a great afternoon of amateur football.

sorry thought this was a footy forum

jascave... always spot on! think back people!!

anyway.. just reading uniblacks site and it seems they have a couple new recruits..

Anyone heard of these guys? must be pretty solid to make AA..

Uni have done well for themselves regarding recruits it seems..

Speaking of transferring, I saw Paul Groves have a meeting at the school of Mentone Grammar. Was he in fact leaving the tigers to play for a team in C section to further his career? Does his team-mates know this?

...and we've seen Scribe play and he clearly didn't have the ability...lighten up...

Agreed - I never had the ability, just a motor mouth and enough incriminating photos of OT coaching staff to cobble together a handful of honest but forgettable senior appearances. It only took me 15 years to work out A/B grade just weren't my scene. :D

Frankly, I'm no Jonothan Grant Horn - clearly one of the biggest wastes of natural talent the VAFA's ever seen.

Move on lads.

PS - Truth Hurts, Old Mentonians are still in D1 this season (not C). Believe, it's where the action's really at!!!

sorry thought this was a footy forum

Eh Torpedo - coming from the Hoppers Crossing Football Club, I doubt you would understand the No Alcohol policy of the ammos.

Any luck getting a new practice match. Doubt their would be too many takers from here wanting to go half way to Geelong.

Have any leagues (not afl) tried a dry / wet area approach with any success? could this work in the ammos? It's a shame a few blokes who can't handle their grog have tarnished those of us who enjoy 1 or 2 after our run in the magoos.

PS - Truth Hurts, Old Mentonians are still in D1 this season (not C). Believe, it's where the action's really at!!!

Wise words Frase

It's a shame a few blokes who can't handle their grog have tarnished those of us who enjoy 1 or 2 after our run in the magoos.

I'm sure the Gunn Island Hotel is grateful that the SMD reserves can't have a beer or two upstairs at the ground during the senior game!!!

I recall many a retreat to the Orrong Hotel for a quick sip and punt during halftime break at Toorak Park. Usually helped to dull the recent nightmares of another thumping at the hands of the claret 'n stouts.

Not many other A section clubs can boast such a convenient watering hole for post-match analysis. Brighton and Collegians have bars very close, but I never thought it appropriate to frequent a faux-UK pub (Elephant & Wheelbarrow) or pokies venue (Milanos) whilst the senior side was contemplating the footy which lay ahead on the second half.

Gillon Oval was impossible to beat though, with the strange rule about the bar there not being part of the VAFA venue itself.

I'm sure the Gunn Island Hotel is grateful that the SMD reserves can't have a beer or two upstairs at the ground during the senior game!!!

I recall many a retreat to the Orrong Hotel for a quick sip and punt during halftime break at Toorak Park. Usually helped to dull the recent nightmares of another thumping at the hands of the claret 'n stouts.

Not many other A section clubs can boast such a convenient watering hole for post-match analysis. Brighton and Collegians have bars very close, but I never thought it appropriate to frequent a faux-UK pub (Elephant & Wheelbarrow) or pokies venue (Milanos) whilst the senior side was contemplating the footy which lay ahead on the second half.

Gillon Oval was impossible to beat though, with the strange rule about the bar there not being part of the VAFA venue itself.

I remember going to the Gillon as a kid to watch my brother and everybody would be legless by half-time! A great set up. The Orrong was always a good option but the TAB is the most cramped in Melbourne, full of cantankerous old booze-hags and ear-chewers.

Proximity of TABS to major grounds is also a massive factor. I will never, ever forget a teammate of mine getting the quaddie at the TAB at St Bernards following a senior match. NOBS always had a few TABS nearby which is handy given that the entire club seems to be on the punt. Xavs always have diehards at the Orrong and De la, another club which seems to run on the punt, has pumped a truckload of cash into the Racecourse TAB. And the opening of that little gem on Camberwell Rd is a blessing during boring Scotch games. Oh and for Uni Blues games, there's that pubTAB in Swanston St where owner David Rhys Jones just stands around in his tight jeans eyeballing blokes!

See, this is where the home of the VAFA goes up a rung in my books.. poor ground etc etc but the 'wick is extremely close with the horses, pokies and if you position yourself correctly and have 20/20 vision (less than 5 pots) you can actually see the scoreboard from the balcony...

what more could you ask for?