A silly chance for Gibbs?

The Crows Truth said:
Cmon how can you say we didnt lose out on Angwin?

Your previous post mentioned players that the club had 'invested a lot of time and effort in for minimal return'. Angwin is undoubtedly in that category along with Watts (and Meeson if he walks)
Re-read my comments. I didn't say the club didn't lose out on Angwin. I said the club didn't lose out on Angwin simply because he was a Victorian. He was a bad selection. Full stop. The fact he was Victorian was irrelevant.

Question:

If Meeson walks and we don't get at least pick 8 for him does the club need to change it's line of thinking when drafting non-SA kids?

After being screwed over by the Watts deal I was amazed the club then turned around and used its 1st round draft pick on a Victorian.

Thoughts?

We have Salopek too and its so far so good for us.He has stated that he wanna his play his career out at Port.I hope he is a man of his word and doesnt do a Watts on us.We have our fair share of Vic players (youngsters, like crows) as well. I hope they dont screw us like Stevens or Watts anyway :mad:

Total Power said:
We have Salopek too and its so far so good for us.He has stated that he wanna his play his career out at Port.I hope he is a man of his word and doesnt do a Watts on us.We have our fair share of Vic players (youngsters, like crows) as well. I hope they dont screw us like Stevens or Watts anyway :mad:

You guys are more exposed to the go home factor than us. Let's hope the AFC, PAFC and Perth clubs have been lobbying the AFL to get the Pre-Season draft scrapped. Get rid of the PS draft and we no longer have a problem.

SpringChoke said:
You guys are more exposed to the go home factor than us..

I will be reluctant to draft an interstate prospect for the upcoming draft if i was Choco.We'll finish 14th, the way the season is unfolding and we will be left with no chance but to draft the best player available if Gibbs is taken. I will cream my pants if we end up with Gumbleton but the go home factor will always haunt me :(

SpringChoke said:
Question:

If Meeson walks and we don't get at least pick 8 for him does the club need to change it's line of thinking when drafting non-SA kids?

After being screwed over by the Watts deal I was amazed the club then turned around and used its 1st round draft pick on a Victorian.

Thoughts?

Two things:
Who is Meeson? Adelaide have a young ruckman by the name of John Meesen on their list, but I haven't heard of a Meeson playing for the Crows.

Meesen was drafted at the end of 2004. Watts left at the end of 2005. Hence there was no lesson to have been learned at that time, unless someone has invented a time machine?

FWIW, they did use their first draft pick in 2005 on a Victorian too - Richard Douglas.

Vader said:
Two things:
Who is Meeson? Adelaide have a young ruckman by the name of John Meesen on their list, but I haven't heard of a Meeson playing for the Crows.
Meesen was drafted at the end of 2004. Watts left at the end of 2005. Hence there was no lesson to have been learned at that time, unless someone has invented a time machine?

FWIW, they did use their first draft pick in 2005 on a Victorian too - Richard Douglas.

I wonder if people who go out of their way to highlight spelling mistakes are kn*bs in real life as well.

As for the rest of your post, didn't we use the pick we got for Watts, pick 16, on a Victorian???

Monday morning blues hey mate?

Vader said:
Two things:
I'd be wary of correcting people's spelling and/or grammatical errors. Something about setting yourself up .......

I agree - to a degree - with your Meesen sentiments, though.

RogerRabbit69 said:
I'd be wary of correcting people's spelling and/or grammatical errors. Something about setting yourself up .......

I agree - to a degree - with your Meesen sentiments, though.

What point did he make with regard to MeesEn. I was originally talking about Douglas.:confused:

RogerRabbit69 said:
About suggestions the Crows should have learnt by their mistakes when they drafted Meesen. I wasn't referring to your posts in particular.

With reference to my original question Rog, so does that mean we shouldn't use high draft picks on Victorians?

Sorry, I've only picked up on the tail of this. I would reckon if there wasn't a significant difference between a South Aussie or interstate draftee, you'd take the SA kid every single time.

I didn't have a problem with them taking Richard Douglas, though. They obviously rated him very highly and I remember reading that the Crows considered him among the very best players in the draft.

I reckon they need to be assessed on a player-by-player basis. It seems Douglas is really switched on and was mature enough to handle the move away from Victoria.

SpringChoke said:
What point did he make with regard to MeesEn. I was originally talking about Douglas.:confused:

Sorry for being picky. On this board Meesen's name is spelled incorrectly more often than not (ditto "Thorney" Torney) and it's usually not a typo as the same people get it wrong every time. Wasn't deliberately trying to pick on you SpringChoke, though I can easily see why it came across that way.

Given that the rest of the discussion had been about Meesen, it was my mistake in not realising that you were referring to Douglas' selection as the lesson (not) learned from the Watts experience. My bad.

Vader said:
Sorry for being picky. On this board Meesen's name is spelled incorrectly more often than not (ditto "Thorney" Torney) and it's usually not a typo as the same people get it wrong every time. Wasn't deliberately trying to pick on you SpringChoke, though I can easily see why it came across that way.

Given that the rest of the discussion had been about Meesen, it was my mistake in not realising that you were referring to Douglas' selection as the lesson (not) learned from the Watts experience. My bad.

No worries mate. My response was probably abit over the top.

Maybe it's me having the horror Monday. :eek:

Sheeds may feel the risk of him running back to Adelaide for being homesick is too strong. At that, in such a huge draft, it would be such a waste.

This could be weighing the great man down.

Its pointing out the obvious, but I think thats what its all about.... nothing to do with anything else.

Gumbleton in that fact may be the bette choice.

How would this grab people as a trade option?
Meesen + pick 16 to Essendon
Pick #1 (Gibbs) to Adelaide

Meesen would probably have some appeal at Bomberland, given their dearth of quality ruckmen. However, he wouldn't justify handing over the top pick on his own.

Vader said:
How would this grab people as a trade option?
Meesen + pick 16 to Essendon
Pick #1 (Gibbs) to Adelaide

Meesen would probably have some appeal at Bomberland, given their dearth of quality ruckmen. However, he wouldn't justify handing over the top pick on his own.

Vader

Think about this from the Dons perspective. They have stated they will be aggressive in the PSD. Now why would they trade pick 1 for a player that they can coax into nominating for the PSD and therefore they get him for absolutely nothing? And they still have the prized No 1 pick. Wouldnt happen

From the Crows perspective lets do it :thumbsu:

I'm not surprised by this move by Sheeds. Gibbs has been pretty vocal about wanting to play in SA.

If this was one or two years later, when our first tier players have gone, I'd more than willing to trade Reilly & #16 for #1, but such a move right now would really mess with our 2007 flag chances. The depth of this draft will ensure that whilst we might not get a sure bet like Gibbs, who has clearly proven himself a star at SANFL level already, we will still get a solid KPP that we need.

Gets! said:
I'd do that trade.

I'd do it too, but the Bombers wouldn't. Meesen is an unknown quantity (specifically east of the border) and the number 1 pick is deemed to be more precious than all the gold in fort knox this year. They'd also tell you that they have a number of quality developing ruckmen even though none of them seem to have done anything significant at AFL level. Gibbs is a lost cause, he wont be a crow next year.

GoSarge said:
I'd do it too, but the Bombers wouldn't. Meesen is an unknown quantity (specifically east of the border) and the number 1 pick is deemed to be more precious than all the gold in fort knox this year. They'd also tell you that they have a number of quality developing ruckmen even though none of them seem to have done anything significant at AFL level. Gibbs is a lost cause, he wont be a crow next year.
You meen like Meesen?;)

The Crows Truth said:
Vader

Think about this from the Dons perspective. They have stated they will be aggressive in the PSD. Now why would they trade pick 1 for a player that they can coax into nominating for the PSD and therefore they get him for absolutely nothing? And they still have the prized No 1 pick. Wouldnt happen

From the Crows perspective lets do it :thumbsu:

Bingo.

If a club traded away pick 1 in the super draft their supporters would just about string them up. If Essendon do finish bottom and they don't draft Gibbs, Sheedy and co. will have alot to answer for given how much he has been touted as a guaranteed champion of the future.

Gets! said:
I'd do that trade.
So would I, but only if Meesen wanted to go home. He would have to be honest with the AFC and if he wanted to go we should try all we can to use him in a trade for Gibbs.

However if he doesnt want to go I wouldnt want to use him as I feel he will be a very valuable player in years to come.

KUNG FU said:
I'm not surprised by this move by Sheeds. Gibbs has been pretty vocal about wanting to play in SA.

If this was one or two years later, when our first tier players have gone, I'd more than willing to trade Reilly & #16 for #1, but such a move right now would really mess with our 2007 flag chances. The depth of this draft will ensure that whilst we might not get a sure bet like Gibbs, who has clearly proven himself a star at SANFL level already, we will still get a solid KPP that we need.
Where has Gibbs been vocal about staying in SA? I have only read that he is willing to go anywhere.

Maybe his Dad is more keen on him staying in SA but Bryce appears to be keen to go anywhere.