A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

The 2022 NAB U18 female squad to represent NSW/ACT in the national Championship series has just been selected. It shows that elite female talent is widely dispersed throughout nearly all of NSW.

NAMESTATE/ACADEMY/REGIONLOCAL CLUB/SCHOOL
Cynthia HamiltonGiants AcademyQueanbeyan
Dakota MasonSwans AcademyKiama Power
Zara HamiltonMurrayBelconnen
Hannah WoolfSwans AcademyManly
Zarlie GoldsworthyMurrayLavington
Ellie BishopGiants AcademyAinslie
Tess CattleGiants AcademyAinslie
Olivia CicoliniMurrayShepparton United
Georgie JacquesGiants AcademyAinslie
India LehmanMurrayQueanbeyan
Jaimee KitchenerGiants AcademyCamden JFC
Kiahana Davis WhiteGiants AcademySouthern Power
Grace ReadGiants AcademyBelconnen
Savali TapugaoGiants AcademyParramatta
Mindy QuadeMurrayQueanbeyan
Asha Turner FunkSwans AcademyNewcastle City
London AshcroftSwans AcademyNewcastle City
Jamie SaggersSwans AcademyManly
Olivia CameronSwans AcademyManly
Ella HeadsSwans AcademyInner West Magpies
Freya TaylorSwans AcademyInner West Magpies
Rachel SimpsonGiants AcademyInner West Magpies
Grace PaintingGiants AcademyBaulkhum Hills, Pennant Hills Demons
April DevineSwans AcademyCoffs Harbour Breakers

It shows the strength, somewhat surprisingly, of WS- 6 are from the GWS area, not including 1 from SS (Southern Power FC is part of the Giants Academy). The very strong jnr Pennant Hills FC, Baulkhum Hills FC, & Inner West Magpies FC all play, however, in the Swans' Zone comp., not the WS comp.
Although sthn. NSW is an AFL heartland, GWS recruits, since 2017, very few players from there into the AFLW. Only 1 female was selected for the 2022 U18 comp. (from Lavington) .

ACT (inc. 3 reps. from Queanbeyan NSW, who play in the ACT comp.) is also well represented, with 8 players.

In 2011, there were c. 12 GR female adult teams in all of Sydney- jnr female nos. were also very poor. WS had a very small % of these 2011 female player nos.
The Giants' Academies, with 10/24 selections, in WS & ACT, are obviously performing very well.
I love reading these things as you can see how skewed the informations is. Savali (parramatta) and Rachell Simpson (inner west) were both from South West Sydney not the clubs listed. The girls were directed to those clubs by the academy this season as SW doesnt have a Div 1 for PD womens team. note SW have applied to play Div 1 the past few years in order to keep the talent that had but were knocked back. Pretty sure that Kiahana at Southern Power was in the same boat only 12 months earlier.

What ground do you play at ?

Again, grounds are an issue especially in some areas. Women's football has exasperated that situation but that is nation-wide.
When people discuss something they should take a balanced view.

Weather is another important factor but that is across the board. Do you expect the hierarchy to weather-proof all grounds ?

If you mean taking up the game, then in some areas yes, but the procedure is to get your sport up and running
to demonstrate a need. Again, grounds are a problem because the way Sydney has swallowed up available land.
it is one area that sports compete against each other.
1. at uni.

2. the lack of grounds was an issue long before the rise of women's footy.

3. No my point is with the weather, the slight hint of rain often means the games get called off. In Perth, the rain can be bucketing down all morning and you still go out and play.

4. This I agree and clubs are always at the mercy of the councils, rugby, cricket, etc. The only part where-by I see AFL footy doing as they please is out in Blacktown and even the giants who represent the broader area don't even want to go there.

You said there were only six football grounds in Sydney. I'm am just debating that statement and that only a.t.m.
No mate, I said there are only six odd footy grounds in Sydney that are 'DECENT' or of any quality comparable to those back in Perth.

Again, there's a lot of interest in the sport here. There's also a lot of hurdles for those that want to give it a go each weekend.

FWIW, UNSW are based at one of those that I have listed.

Yeah, WTF Uni ?

the lack of grounds was an issue long before the rise of women's footy

How many times do i have to state that is was a big issue , just not the only issue.

slight hint of rain often means the games get called off. In Perth, the rain can be bucketing down all morning and you still go out and play.

Obviously at Uni you didn't learn that Sydney is on mud and Perth is on sand.
What are the governments supposed to do - spend $ millions on specialised drainage and importing sand from the West. ?
I agree and clubs are always at the mercy of the councils

That's the case everywhere.

I said there are only six odd footy grounds in Sydney that are 'DECENT' or of any quality comparable to those back in Perth.

The grounds that are 'decent" in Perth are historically linked to decent clubs.
Again, the northern suburbs that are home to a huge percentage of Perth's population has a severe lack of adult grounds
because of a planning loophole.
Your idea of six only grounds in Sydney removes any credibility to your other statements.

Yeah, WTF Uni ?
Well you asked what ground I play at and I answered.

In case you didn't get it, I'm associated with one of the uni teams and our ground is at uni.

How many times do i have to state that is was a big issue , just not the only issue.
Did I ever say this was the only issue?

Obviously at Uni you didn't learn that Sydney is on mud and Perth is on sand.
What are the governments supposed to do - spend $ millions on specialised drainage and importing sand from the West. ?
Well if you want to be specific our ground is built over the top of an old creek but again I don't see what you are getting at since all I'm pointing out is that grounds in Sydney are of woeful quality.

I don't even know why you are bringing the government up but yes one of those better grounds in Sydney did get a re-turf over the Summer last year.
The grounds that are 'decent" in Perth are historically linked to decent clubs.
Again, the northern suburbs that are home to a huge percentage of Perth's population has a severe lack of adult grounds
because of a planning loophole.
Your idea of six only grounds in Sydney removes any credibility to your other statements.
Huh? So the grounds that are substandard here are linked to substandard clubs?
We can have the best club here, have priority access to an oval yet still have to deal with issues that you don't have to face back in Perth.

What you on about with credibility? Round 1 just got rescheduled last week for 90% of the league so you saying there is more than six grounds of quality in Sydney?

Anyways I'll leave it at that.

I'm associated with one of the uni teams and our ground is at uni.

So you cannot even say what uni your at.

Did I ever say this was the only issue?

Yes. That's why I replied.

Well if you want to be specific our ground is built over the top of an old creek but again I don't see what you are getting at since all I'm pointing out is that grounds in Sydney are of woeful quality.

Yes, mud from an old river bed flood plain gets muddy when it gets wet.
Most of Perth is built on sand doesn't get the volume of rain that Sydney does
so obviously Sydney is affected more by natural circumstances.

I don't even know why you are bringing the government

Councils are a level of government and you mentioned councils didn't you.
You went to uni you say - did you pass anything ?

So the grounds that are substandard here are linked to substandard clubs?

I don't know why you said that.
I said that clubs in Perth with good grounds (i.e. facilities) have acquired them over historical periods.
Newer clubs in Perth face problems too like a severe lack of adult-sized grounds due to greedy planners.

Round 1 just got rescheduled last week for 90% of the league

Why are you so surprised. That's the situation in Sydney.
You cannot expect to have the dry sandy conditions of Perth.

so you saying there is more than six grounds of quality in Sydney?

So you're using "quality" now, not "decent".
I'll say it once again. There is a severe shortage of AFC grounds in Sydney especially for juniors. There is a lot of room for improvement for established grounds but to say there is only six decent AFC grounds in Sydney is ludicrous.

The NRL & many MSM RL experts, for many years, have been worried that poor NRL player off-field behaviour (albeit, it is only a very small minority) is severely damaging the reputation of RL.
Also, very recently, the NSW Police have expressed their concerns at organised criminal gangs' association with some GR RL teams.

SMH R. Masters 16.11.21

Masters said

[Re the relatively high % of AFL Drafted players from private schools] "If that is the AFL’s biggest problem, then it is one the NRL would like to have, given the perception that rugby league’s major [?] challenge is the bad behaviour of its players...

Sydney’s private schools have long been the bastion of rugby union, but AFL posts are sprouting up on their campuses like triffids, suggesting they may become a future source of elite players... (Words in brackets, & emphases, mine)".

WWOS.nine.com 9.2.22

"The NRL is facing a new and very present danger - organised gang violence.

The early rounds of the junior representative season in Sydney have been marred by scuffles on and off the field.

But it's fighting with a difference, with several of the participants allegedly members of rival Sydney gangs.

Only this week, the NSWRL issued Code of Conduct breach notices to five players, officials and spectators after a second straight weekend of mayhem.

And police fear things will get worse".

Over the long term, if poor RL player off-field behavior remains relatively high (ie on a pro rata basis of pro & GR male contact RL nos.), then AF, with a much better reputation (on a pro rata player nos.' basis) is likley to have much better growth rates in NSW, ACT, & Qld.

1. at uni.

2. the lack of grounds was an issue long before the rise of women's footy.

3. No my point is with the weather, the slight hint of rain often means the games get called off. In Perth, the rain can be bucketing down all morning and you still go out and play.

4. This I agree and clubs are always at the mercy of the councils, rugby, cricket, etc. The only part where-by I see AFL footy doing as they please is out in Blacktown and even the giants who represent the broader area don't even want to go there.
You wouldn't want to be walking around Blacktown after dark.
The whole place is a dump and not safe

The NRL & many MSM RL experts, for many years, have been worried that poor NRL player off-field behaviour (albeit, it is only a very small minority) is severely damaging the reputation of RL.
Also, very recently, the NSW Police have expressed their concerns at organised criminal gangs' association with some GR RL teams.

SMH R. Masters 16.11.21

Masters said

[Re the relatively high % of AFL Drafted players from private schools] "If that is the AFL’s biggest problem, then it is one the NRL would like to have, given the perception that rugby league’s major [?] challenge is the bad behaviour of its players...

Sydney’s private schools have long been the bastion of rugby union, but AFL posts are sprouting up on their campuses like triffids, suggesting they may become a future source of elite players... (Words in brackets, & emphases, mine)".

WWOS.nine.com 9.2.22

"The NRL is facing a new and very present danger - organised gang violence.

The early rounds of the junior representative season in Sydney have been marred by scuffles on and off the field.

But it's fighting with a difference, with several of the participants allegedly members of rival Sydney gangs.

Only this week, the NSWRL issued Code of Conduct breach notices to five players, officials and spectators after a second straight weekend of mayhem.

And police fear things will get worse".

Over the long term, if poor RL player off-field behavior remains relatively high (ie on a pro rata basis of pro & GR male contact RL nos.), then AF, with a much better reputation (on a pro rata player nos.' basis) is likley to have much better growth rates in NSW, ACT, & Qld.

What a disjointed irrelevant and rather meaningless post.

So you cannot even say what uni your at.

Yes. That's why I replied.

Yes, mud from an old river bed flood plain gets muddy when it gets wet.
Most of Perth is built on sand doesn't get the volume of rain that Sydney does
so obviously Sydney is affected more by natural circumstances.

Councils are a level of government and you mentioned councils didn't you.
You went to uni you say - did you pass anything ?

I don't know why you said that.
I said that clubs in Perth with good grounds (i.e. facilities) have acquired them over historical periods.
Newer clubs in Perth face problems too like a severe lack of adult-sized grounds due to greedy planners.

Why are you so surprised. That's the situation in Sydney.
You cannot expect to have the dry sandy conditions of Perth.

So you're using "quality" now, not "decent".
I'll say it once again. There is a severe shortage of AFC grounds in Sydney especially for juniors. There is a lot of room for improvement for established grounds but to say there is only six decent AFC grounds in Sydney is ludicrous.
What a meaningless post.

The "Play On" Podcast series, hosted by R. O'Keefe, has a major focus on the progress of GR AF in NSW & ACT.

On 9.2.22, R. O'Keefe, referring to Sydney school AF comps., said

"There's been a massive increase in schools' participation & teams. It's great to see the game growing & expanding...In Independent girls' schools (this IGS comp. also includes Catholic schools)... they want to develop it into an elite program (Tadgh Kennelly also coaches AF at a girls' school), not just to tick boxes, & produce some [elite] talent...it's great to have the numbers growing, but... the huge growth huge expansion in players & teams, but the facilities & grounds, we need to keep up with that...hopefully, with this expansion, the facilities & grounds can keep up with it.

It [problem of sufficient AF grounds] extends into the community (AF GR jnr & snr Club comps.) as well, with the winter comps. The game is growing rapidly, but the infrastructure needs to keep up".

(The IGS starts in Term 1, & O'Keefe said many community ovals are still playing cricket then, & won't allow AF to be played on them in Feb. & March, or they only allow runners, not boots. O'Keefe suggested tthat, in Feb. & March, there should be 3 dedicated grounds where the AF can be played, & have multiple IGS comp. games on 1 day, so they are used all day).

C. Beck said

"It is an issue getting grounds, we need to invest in that.

(Re the Independent Girls' School AF comp., which started in 2019) "In 2019, there were 32 teams, in 6 schools. In 2022, there are 72 teams, in 12 schools (My words & emphases in brackets) ".

(Scroll to 9.2.22- then listen from 2 minutes 1 second - 6 minutes 13 secs.)

The still-continuing growth of female comp. AF in private girls' schools, particularly in NS, ES, & Inner WS, is very pleasing; & to go from nil girls' teams in the IGS in 2018, to 72 in 2022 is almost a phenomenon. This bodes very well, over the long term, for the future of AF in Sydney.

afl.com.au D. Barrett 23.3.22

Barrett said

"Private ownership is no longer a dirty concept in AFL industry conversations. It is being discussed, widely, by many people within and attached to the game. Big business operators, particularly some in football's growth states NSW and Queensland, are seriously talking of making official pitches for stakes in clubs.

Private ownership models need to be encouraged, particularly for the expansion franchises​

- Jeff Browne
Post the shock of COVID-19, all attached to the game have been forced to review all aspects of financial operations and distributions, and to explore future sources of revenue.

New Collingwood president Jeff Browne believes private ownership, done the right way, could be a way to open revenue streams that are currently bypassing the game".

'Private ownership is worth very serious consideration, and I think the (AFL) Commission should work very seriously towards building potential models that tap into it,' Browne said. 'It could bring enormous benefit, if correctly structured and implemented. Enormous benefit' ".

It is possible the AFL may consider more positively private ownership of an AFL club- particularly for expansion Clubs; & if a 3rd Club in Sydney will be established some time in the future (after GWS is self-sufficient), the AFL might introduce it with private ownership. Sydney is Australia's wealthiest city, & has more top ASX200 listed companies than any other city.

"Private ownership is no longer a dirty concept in AFL industry conversations. It is being discussed, widely, by many people within and attached to the game. Big business operators, particularly some in football's growth states NSW and Queensland, are seriously talking of making official pitches for stakes in clubs.

Yes, this has already been posted but with the addition of Gill's announcement a new CEO might see a new direction.

What's interesting is gold coast wouldn't be a big cost on the competition if they let Southport in under the 'gold coast sharks' name. They could have run off their hotels, resturaunts, pokies etc revenue like nrl clubs do. Plus they have a winning culture, I think last year they were going to win the vfl.

afl.com.au D. Barrett 23.3.22

Barrett said

Post the shock of COVID-19, all attached to the game have been forced to review all aspects of financial operations and distributions, and to explore future sources of revenue.

New Collingwood president Jeff Browne believes private ownership, done the right way, could be a way to open revenue streams that are currently bypassing the game".

'Private ownership is worth very serious consideration, and I think the (AFL) Commission should work very seriously towards building potential models that tap into it,' Browne said. 'It could bring enormous benefit, if correctly structured and implemented. Enormous benefit' ".

It is possible the AFL may consider more positively private ownership of an AFL club- particularly for expansion Clubs; & if a 3rd Club in Sydney will be established some time in the future (after GWS is self-sufficient), the AFL might introduce it with private ownership. Sydney is Australia's wealthiest city, & has more top ASX200 listed companies than any other city.
This line below in the article above sums it all up and also the line that says-"Open revenue streams that are bypassing the game". Is the current funding as bad as he says.
"We will get more from TV (rights), but not enough to fund expansion. Private ownership models need to be encouraged, particularly for the expansion franchises.""

1. Despite not having an AFLW team yet, the Swans have the highest no. of AFLW members (4388), cf. the other 17 clubs.

Good quantitative information. Do you know the seven campus locations ?
Refer to this Wikipedia link.

The UNSW is also adding a 2nd campus in the ACT ie in addition to ADFA.

It must be obvious (even to a mod) that this would be an advantageous arrangement - but how advantageous ?
What in your opinion would now change w.r.t. the number/location of campus AFCs ?
Re the UNSW (which had 62,232 full time & part time undergraduate & post graduate students in 2020) deciding to formally sponsor the Swans from 2022, my above comments related to major benefits for GR male & female AF in NSW & ACT ie not simply UNSW AF clubs.

Over the medium to long term, the UNSW well promoted, formal sponsorship of the Swans is likely to raise the profile of AF, & the "prestige" of AF, amongst the 62K+ UNSW students.
Ditto, the merger with Eastern Suburbs FC & UNSW AF teams, to become the UNSW Easts Bulldogs, playing in Premier Division of the SFL. (GR AF is strong in ES).

It can be assumed more would then be more inclined to play GR AF- with either one of the many UNSW Easts Bulldogs' teams, or other GR snr AF clubs (in Sydney, or the ACT). GR AF would be the beneficiary.

It should be noted that the UNSW has introduced important strategies to promote particpation in GR sport; &, also, female particpation in GR sport.

The UNSW provides a list of eleven specific sports it is promoting, not in alphabetical order. Perhaps a coincidence, but I note "AFL" is the first sport listed.

my above comments related to major benefits for GR male & female AF in NSW & ACT ie not simply UNSW AF clubs.

Don't bother to reply if you are not going to answer my questions and only repeat your overall fluff.
My question was see if you had any knowledge of of the "meat on the bones".
My question was that the benefits are obvious but how obvious.
It is important to put any gains/losses in perspective and how about a little respect and not some shitty link to wiki that proves absolutely nothing. Don't be afraid to say you don't know because obviously you don't..

Progress is being made in Sthn. NSW female GR AF: in 2022, 4 new women's teams were added, for a 12 team adult comp. (2 Pools).
The 2022 season started in mid Feb., is played Fridays starting at 6.30pm- but runs for only c. 7 weeks. The Grand Final (won by GGGM, vs Nth Wagga) was on 1.4, "with a massive crowd in attendance" (Photos- inc. crowd shots- by A.McLean worth checking. Click on "+76" below, in red).

The SNSW Youth Girls' comps. (Wagga-based; & also SW League comp.) start in July, & only run for 7 weeks - & are played on Wednesday, starting at 4.30pm.

In SNSW, there is also girls' only Auskick; & primary & secondary school female AF comps. are also strong.

AFL Riverina

"Last Friday AFL Riverina held their 2022 SNSW Womens Grand Final at Apex Park.
Congratulations to both teams on a well played season. We had the talented Andrew McLean Photography there on the night to capture these incredible shots from the game.

May be an image of 13 people, people standing and outdoors
May be an image of 12 people, people standing and outdoors
May be an image of 9 people, people standing and outdoors
May be an image of 7 people, people playing sport, people standing and outdoors
+76
Andrew McLean Photography
4 April at 03:20
The AFL Riverina 2022 SNSW Womens Grand Final was played on Friday night at Apex Park in Wagga Wagga. A massive crowd in attendance cheered on both sides with the Ganmain Grong Grong Matong Lions FN Club defeating North Wagga AFNC
Here are some of the photos, to view them all click on the following link. https://www.andrewmclean.photography/…/Final-North-Wagga-v…/
".

It is a shame that, when one clicks on the aflriverina.com.au website, then goes to "Competitions", that NO content, not even a fixture etc. was listed in the designated "Southern-NSW- Womens" comp. for season 2022!

Progress is being made in Sthn. NSW female GR AF: in 2022, 4 new women's teams were added, for a 12 team adult comp. (2 Pools).
The 2022 season started in mid Feb., is played Fridays starting at 6.30pm- but runs for only c. 7 weeks. The Grand Final (won by GGGM, vs Nth Wagga) was on 1.4, "with a massive crowd in attendance" (Photos- inc. crowd shots- by A.McLean worth checking. Click on "+76" below, in red).

The SNSW Youth Girls' comps. (Wagga-based; & also SW League comp.) start in July, & only run for 7 weeks - & are played on Wednesday, starting at 4.30pm.

In SNSW, there is also girls' only Auskick; & primary & secondary school female AF comps. are also strong.

AFL Riverina

Congratulations to both teams on a well played season. We had the talented Andrew McLean Photography there on the night to capture these incredible shots from the game.
Thanks to Andrew for supporting us on the night.

+76
The AFL Riverina 2022 SNSW Womens Grand Final was played on Friday night at Apex Park in Wagga Wagga. A massive crowd in attendance cheered on both sides with the Ganmain Grong Grong Matong Lions FN Club defeating North Wagga AFNC."
Here are some of the photos, to view them all click on the following link. https://www.andrewmclean.photography/…/Final-North-Wagga-v…/
".

It is a shame that, when one clicks on the AFLRiverina.com website, then goes to "Competitions", that no content etc. was listed in the "Southern-NSW- Womens" comp. listing for season 2022!
AFL NSW website is hopeless. Much if the info is outdated.

AFL Riverina

+76
The AFL Riverina 2022 SNSW Womens Grand Final was played on Friday night at Apex Park in Wagga Wagga. A massive crowd in attendance cheered on both sides with the Ganmain Grong Grong Matong Lions FN Club defeating North Wagga AFNC
".

It is a shame that, when one clicks on the aflriverina.com.au website, then goes to "Competitions", that NO content, not even a fixture etc. was listed in the designated "Southern-NSW- Womens" comp. for season 2022!

Very interesting indeed all the above developments BBT. It maybe that the Netball influence is waning and of course where do all the new players come from. Would it be that even with 7 wk seasons players are choosing our game as well as Netball, or do they play both.

The comments about the web sites not being maintained is common to all sports across the board and do not expect much from the Affilated AFL/Netball Clubs down there - Its called protecting their interests and agenda.

In the "Play On" podcast series (which has a focus on GR AF in NSW & ACT), R. O'Keefe has commented there is much schoolgirl AF played in Term 1 & Term 4.

R. O'Keefe (Coaching Development & Education Lead, AFLNSW/ACT) also said

"...one of the challenges we do find in Sydney metropolitan is facilities & grounds, we would like to get our hands on multiple grounds that are purpose-built for AFL...we would love to have more autonomy over more grounds..."

S. Smyth (AFLNSW/ACT Participation & Programs Manager For ACT & Regional NSW) said

"...we're in a desperate need for more grounds... for AFLW & community football pre-season training, so many clubs can't train on their grounds pre-season because of cricket...we would love the AFLW in time to go to Newcastle & Wollongong...Certainly to get rid of several cricket pitches 12 months of the year...even for participation programs".

R. O'Keefe then said

"Play AFLW...[in] Wollongong & Newcastle, are really good development growth markets".

(Click on 27.1.22 podcast- then go to 51 minutes 55 secs.- 55 mins. 25 secs.).

It is good to see that AFLNSW/ACT are considering, & publicly mentioning, the expansion opportunities & promotional benefits for more AF exposure in Newcastle & Wollongong.