A TISM question

tism=jism...there is a big Croydon High connection with both a few teachers and a few of their students donning the balaclava's over the years for various clips/gigs...an extremely underated band in the history of oz rock...any of you remember the Palace gig when 2 Tism's played at the same time?

I'm 22, and while I wasn't old enough to appreciate them in their prime, I'm certainly a TISM fan now. Perusing the song titles of their discography on my computer (I've got pretty much everything they recorded) never fails to make me laugh. The steely-eyed determination shown by Ted Whitten Snr on the cover of 1991's Gentlemen, Start Your Egos EP always raises a smile for some reason too. Some personal favourite song titles include:
  • "If You're Creative, Get Stuffed"
  • "The Foster's Car Park Boogie"
  • "The Penis Is Mightier Than the Sword"
  • "I Shit Me"
  • "Doug Parkinson Sings Christie Allen"
  • "And the Ass Said to the Angel, "Wanna Play Kick to Kick?""
  • "The Mordialloc Road Duplicator"
  • "Kevin Borich Expressionism Part 1, Part 2 and Part 4"
  • "I Don't Want TISM, I Want a Girlfriend"
  • "We Are the Champignons"
  • "It's Novel. It's Unique. It's Shithouse."
  • "Kill Yourself Now and Avoid the Rush"
  • "The Back Upon Which Jezza Jumped"
  • "Lillee Caught Dilley Bowled Milli Vanilli"
  • "If You're Ugly, Forget It"
  • "Jesus Pots the White Ball"
  • "Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the House of Representatives"
  • "What Nationality Is Les Murray?"
  • "Play Mistral for Me"
  • "Jung Talent Time"
  • "My Brilliant Huntington's Chorea"
  • "The Apology of the Thai Drug Runner"
  • "Julius Seizure (Act III Scene ii Verses 73-118)"
  • "Rebel Without a Paunch"
  • "The Only Thing Stopping Me from Being Happy Is That I'm Not More Depressed"
  • "The Parable of Glenn McGrath's Haircut"
  • "I Might Be a ****, But I'm Not a ****ing ****"
  • "A Hard-Earned Thirst Needs a Big Cold Beer, But I Drink to Get Pissed"
  • "Ten Points for a Razor Scooter"
  • "Would the Last Person to Leave Please Turn Out the Enlightenment"
  • "I'm Gonna Treat Ya to a Nietzsche Double Feature"
  • "The Phillip Ruddock Blues"
  • "Everyone Else Has Had More Sex Than Me"
  • "Message From a Big Day Out Port-a-Loo"
  • "I Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted a Guy Who Rooted a Girl Who Rooted Shane Crawford"
  • "The Song of the Quarter-Time Siren (Car Battery)"
  • "Tonight Harry's Practice Visits the Home of Charlie 'Bird' Parker"

I'm in the same boat. And the tragic thing is they don't tour anymore and the band's entire back catalogue is OOP.

the whole back catalogue is available on itunes, along with some extra goodies.

i know, i know - itunes is balls. i hate it as much as the next person. but its great for rarities like the tism back catalogue

I'm in the same boat. And the tragic thing is they don't tour anymore and the band's entire back catalogue is OOP.

Saw them at Heaven in Adelaide when they were touring for the White Album, think it was late 2004. Beyond awesome the gig was.

Only TISM would re-release special editions of their entire back catalog with fewer tracks on them than the original :)

I have every album TISM released on CD, including the four disk box set (Truckin' Songs, Hot Dogma, Gentlemen Start your Egos, Beasts of Suburban), the Machiavelli double CD, the www.tism.w***er.com double CD and the De RiguerMortis double CD. I also got my copy of the White Albun signed by Ron and Humphrey when they presented the DVD content at ACMI.

I hunted down the CDs of Hot Dogma (original 25trk) CD, Machiavelli w/Gold!! CD, Beasts (original version and then extended ALC version) and w***er.com2CD several months ago, before I had a working computer, and listened to them on a home CD player.

I had the opportunity to buy the 4CD box set and Jock's Platter for dirt cheap at a secondhand shop but I turned them down not knowing how effing hard they were to come by.

After recently downloading music from the net, I have to say Gentlemen (extended version from the box set) is what I've missed! Amongst some of the finest work.

im getting the tism catalogue from the "ahar mateys" and will be "giving some back" every night from midnight for a while if anyone wants a free scab

Got 'great truckin songs of the renaissance' a few yrs back. The workmates wanted to what the **** i had on the ute stereo!! Must say i didnt know either :p

oh
EVERY SINGLE ****ING YANK DESERVES TO ****ING DIE!!!!:D

remember hearing a 'live' version of that at a 21st(on one of there 4cd box set albums a mate had), the guys Dad yanked the microphone cable out and Humphrey blurts out a "You Fascist!!"

A couple of friends of mine had a band that played one of the Glenworth Valley festivals north of Sydney back in the late 90's, and as such they had backstage passes. TISM were one of the headliners that weekend, and I made my mates promise they'd get a photo of the band sans-balaclava. Didn't happen, they donned the head gear even before approaching the stage.

Thing is, the balaclavas were the only thing they wore all night. Completely starkers. Awesome show, despite not being able to look at the stage.

I had the opportunity to buy the 4CD box set and Jock's Platter for dirt cheap at a secondhand shop but I turned them down not knowing how effing hard they were to come by.
Ouch. I used to hvae Jock's Platter but lost it along the way. I've also got the CD single for Shut up, the footy's on the radio but I really don't like that song.

After recently downloading music from the net, I have to say Gentlemen (extended version from the box set) is what I've missed! Amongst some of the finest work.
My favourite would be Trucking Songs then Machiavelli (how I first got into TISM).

A couple of friends of mine had a band that played one of the Glenworth Valley festivals north of Sydney back in the late 90's, and as such they had backstage passes. TISM were one of the headliners that weekend, and I made my mates promise they'd get a photo of the band sans-balaclava. Didn't happen, they donned the head gear even before approaching the stage.

Thing is, the balaclavas were the only thing they wore all night. Completely starkers. Awesome show, despite not being able to look at the stage.
They played a gig at Monash in the early 90's (93?). Ron and the four backing dancers all ended up naked by the third song. They were all wearing white lycra bodysuits and dived into the crowd. Of course their clothes got ripped off, so once they replaced their masks they just carried on.

I was at that Monash show and it was not uncommon for TISM to go completely raw for many of their shows.

I saw them at The Metro in Sydney circa 1998, it was one of the best TISM shows I ever saw and I saw a lot of them in the 90s.

At the end of the gig, RHB in the foyer, mask only, shaking hands and mingling with the punters, thanking them for coming.

I saw them at The Metro in Sydney circa 1998, it was one of the best TISM shows I ever saw and I saw a lot of them in the 90s.

At the end of the gig, RHB in the foyer, mask only, shaking hands and mingling with the punters, thanking them for coming.
Was that the Caveat Emptour with Regurgitator? I saw them on that tour in Brisbane. Crazy fun.

C'mon TISM, just reform, everyone clearly wants to see you again (or for a first time).

When they played Homebake in 2001 I couldve seen them, but being 12 hadnt heard much of their stuff/didnt get it as well and watched someone else with a mate. Had a piece of paper with John St Penis's signature on it tho after thier appearence at the signing tent.

I think there's a quiet confidence amongst fans that they will pop up again sooner or later, with a replacement for Blackman, of course.

A couple of cover bands have been attempted since around 2006. Neither has taken off, probably because the band has never actually said they have ceased as an active group, rather saying they are on "indefinite hiatus". That fact alone tells me they'll back.

Or maybe I'm delusional.

On the subject of cover bands, I don't think TISM is the kind of band that should be covered because it just wouldn't seem right.

I saw TISM live nearly thirty times. I was at at least three of the gigs shown on various live tracks of the White Albun DVD. Awesome band in concert.

.....and I was at the majority of those gigs with you, Moistie :thumbsu: I am also being interviewed on the White Albun DVD (not telling which individual I may be) :)

Favorite gigs for TISM;

- naked Monash gig in '93
- Collingwood Town Hall (captured on 'He'll Never Be an Old Man River" video)
- Fat Suits at the BDO the year Ministry headlined the show
- Driving to Canberra to see them play at the ANU Bar and having my name read out during their performance of 'Jung Talent Time'. I guess that was my '15 minutes' right there!

.....and I was at the majority of those gigs with you, Moistie :thumbsu: I am also being interviewed on the White Albun DVD (not telling which individual I may be) :)

Favorite gigs for TISM;

- naked Monash gig in '93
- Collingwood Town Hall (captured on 'He'll Never Be an Old Man River" video)
- Fat Suits at the BDO the year Ministry headlined the show
- Driving to Canberra to see them play at the ANU Bar and having my name read out during their performance of 'Jung Talent Time'. I guess that was my '15 minutes' right there!
Indeed. The Save Our TISM gig where you got interviewed was my favourite.

A TISM question