A Very Early Phantom Draft!

• Thread starter Thread starter jonathon.e

Eaves dropping on one club's recruiter recently, he said it was Cooney definite number one and extremely highly likely Tenace at two. After that he was very open and said it was definitely a case of what clubs were looking for.

Personally I like looking at players and seeing where they'll be in four plus years, on that front I really like Ray from WA and Waters from SA.

Originally posted by lamby29
You went to the match?

How did that big Xavier full forward go (Rush?) ? He would have to weigh 105kg that kid.

Yeah, stayed for the first 3 quarters - it was bloody freezing and the standard of footy wasn't that high.

Rush is a man mountain! They were all calling him Plugger from memory.

Tom Roach and Luke Jackson impressed me too. Most of the others I had already seen a few times at TAC or Carnival level, and the conditions didn't really make for good footy.

Plus Elsternwick Park is quite possibly the widest ground in the world.

Yeah I got two mates who coach in the TAC Cup with murray and the jets and they both say Tenace is the best kid in the competition. Strongly doubt he's going to last past 2. Come to Carlton Kane.

Originally posted by Deej
Come to Carlton Kane.

Kicking and screaming.

Will be in a straight jacket within 12 months.

Originally posted by NorthBhoy
Kicking and screaming.

Will be in a straight jacket within 12 months.
I actually think the future at Carlton is looking ok. Off field we're fast consolidating our finances back to a competative level with the likes of Collingwood and Essendon. Our board and coaching staff are united. The dead wood is being cleared out. We have a few exciting kids in Angwin, Thornton, Waite & Fisher, and some others that show abit in Norman, Wiggins & Sporn, and if we can jag 1 or 2 decent out of contract players who can play in the guts then we'll provide them some much needed support so they can all develop without getting pounded by bigger stronger opponents every week. Next year we'll probably get the spoon again, picks 1 and 2 plus the first pick in the preseason draft when BJ and co come out of contract and suddenly we're not looking so bad...

Next year we'll probably get the spoon again, picks 1 and 2 plus the first pick in the preseason draft when BJ and co come out of contract and suddenly we're not looking so bad...

Still dreaming of Goddard are you? That is very sad to hang your hat on him going to Carlton mate. He is as happy as a pig in sh 1t
down at Linton St, all of his mates have signed up and he is looking at a flag (hopefully) in the next couple of years.
I would be very suprised if he isn't re-signed by midway next season.

Look forward Deej not at what could have been, hes gone forever.

I actually think the future at Carlton is looking ok. Off field we're fast consolidating our finances back to a competative level with the likes of Collingwood and Essendon. Our board and coaching staff are united. The dead wood is being cleared out. We have a few exciting kids in Angwin, Thornton, Waite & Fisher, and some others that show abit in Norman, Wiggins & Sporn, and if we can jag 1 or 2 decent out of contract players who can play in the guts then we'll provide them some much needed support so they can all develop without getting pounded by bigger stronger opponents every week. Next year we'll probably get the spoon again, picks 1 and 2 plus the first pick in the preseason draft when BJ and co come out of contract and suddenly we're not looking so bad...

Waite moves well, but makes mistakes. Thornton is a good player. Angwin is a rampant klepto, but looks like there is something there, and Fisher goes ok.

Haven't seen enough of Norman, and Sporn and Wiggins are average. Not much to work with at all IMO. You will have a young side, but will it be a good young side?

Still dreaming of Goddard are you? That is very sad to hang your hat on him going to Carlton mate. He is as happy as a pig in sh 1t

Joffaboy, I'm sure Goddard is with you for the long haul.
We'll go for the "and co" that Deej referred to, then :D

Originally posted by Outoftheblue
Joffaboy, I'm sure Goddard is with you for the long haul.
We'll go for the "and co" that Deej referred to, then :D

No worries, but be aware none of the Saint goodies are up for offer end of next season.

What about Heath Black. He is being hawked about by just about every Saints fan who discusses a trade;)

What about Heath Black. He is being hawked about by just about every Saints fan who discusses a trade

Hmm ... Supposedly has attitude problems ... Seems to be out of favour at St Kilda ... is he better than Simon Fletcher? OK, done. In return we most generously offer: one slightly used, All-Australian ruckman. :cool:

Personally I think Black is about the same level as Hulme, at best, and isn't worth a lot in terms of trading.

If we let everyone know we're after Goddard, it might divert a bit of attention from other players we might be after. Trust me dude, I think Collo and Pagan know they can't live in hope for BJ to come home. Sadly, we're probably only a 2% chance of ever getting Goddard to Carlton. Have I ever said that I hate the draft system?

Personally I think Black is about the same level as Hulme, at best, and isn't worth a lot in terms of trading.

If we let everyone know we're after Goddard, it might divert a bit of attention from other players we might be after. Trust me dude, I think Collo and Pagan know they can't live in hope for BJ to come home. Sadly, we're probably only a 2% chance of ever getting Goddard to Carlton. Have I ever said that I hate the draft system?

under the zone system he'd be at Hawthorn, with Luke Ball :(

Off field we're fast consolidating our finances back to a competative level with the likes of Collingwood and Essendon.

Angwin doing bank jobs now?;)

Cooney at 1 for sure. Tennance and Mclean I reckon for and 3 with Watts coming in 4th.

Waters is a real tough nut, has played a few senior SANFL games this year, I liken him to Welsh from the bombers.

Cooney is a frickin carbon copy of Goddard, looks like his clone nearly.

Not exactly sure on his height but i think he is roughly around the 186cm 80kg mark same as Cooney.

In terms of trading, if crows want a good young key posie prospect I suggest they make a real agressive go at Ian Prendergast from Carlton, that guy is very good IMO, deserves better hehehe.

Cant see Carlton going anywhere next year but down to 16th.

Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Ian Prendergast from Carlton, that guy is very good IMO, deserves better

Rampant gumby.

Stands out having poor skills, even at Calton.

Wouldn't get a game for Adelaide's 4ths.

Originally posted by bozza
Essendon will want Dyson at #11. Sylvia will go to Punt Road. For those ****ers that think Tenace will stay past #2 then dream on.

Tenace is going to be a very very good player, and any club will do well to pick him up.

He is quick, can carry the ball, and kicks goals. He is also very consistent.

BUT...

Recruiting in about projecting

Andrew Walker is taller, just as fast over the first five metres, a much better leap and mark and has better endurance. He is also a year younger and dominated at both Wing, CHB and across the HBF at the under 18 championships, which makes him very versatile (he won Vic Country's best player award).

He will go Number 2.

Also on Farren Ray, I can understand Bulldogs supporters not wanting another sleight player, but Ray is a standout and clearly top 6. He is brilliant overhead and very brave (Ken Hunter, Mark Harvey class). He can carry the ball, and he finds heaps of it. He can also win the ball in a contest and is very clean handling it. He is top 5 talent no doubt and clearly better than (good) plodders like McLean.

And while I am on the subject,

1. Watts is a good player, but he is very slow and has the turning circle of a bus. Worthy first round, but no higher than 10.

2. Sylvia will go earlier than pick 11. He is a star.

Originally posted by jonathon.e
And while I am on the subject,

1. Watts is a good player, but he is very slow and has the turning circle of a bus. Worthy first round, but no higher than 10.

2. Sylvia will go earlier than pick 11. He is a star.
I've seen a lot of posts about how early Watts will go, someone even had him at 2 or 3, but I agree with your assessment of him.

I'm also a fan of Colin Sylvia but am concerned that his lack of height will work against him.

OldSchool

Sorry if you have already answered this, but who do you think Melbourne will pick up at #3? Assuming Cooney goes at #1 and Tennace goes at #2.

I will be VERY happy if we end up with Brock McLean.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Yeah, stayed for the first 3 quarters - it was bloody freezing and the standard of footy wasn't that high.

Rush is a man mountain! They were all calling him Plugger from memory.

Tom Roach and Luke Jackson impressed me too. Most of the others I had already seen a few times at TAC or Carnival level, and the conditions didn't really make for good footy.

Plus Elsternwick Park is quite possibly the widest ground in the world.
Do you see Rush as an outside chance for a Rookie spot? We could sure do with a player of his size playing at CHF. He hasn't been included in any Phantom Drafts, and I don't think he played for Vic Metro in the Championships, so I don't think he has a chance of going in the National Draft.

Originally posted by lamby29
OldSchool

Sorry if you have already answered this, but who do you think Melbourne will pick up at #3? Assuming Cooney goes at #1 and Tennace goes at #2.

I will be VERY happy if we end up with Brock McLean.
Melbourne were very interested in him early this year but it's hard to say if he is worth the 3rd selection. I would think that hard working midfielders would be your main focus so he must be in with a chance. On athletic ability then Walker and Clarke must have some appeal.

this is how it will go, mark my words;) :D
1. WB - Cooney
2. Carlton - Tenace
3. Melbourne - Bradley
4. WB - Chaplin
5. Melbourne - McLean
6. Geelong - Watts
7. Richmond - Sylvia
8. St Kilda - Clarke
9. Kangaroos - Dunn
10. Hawthorn - Ray