A win that'd have Pies fans clogging the boards

Blues2001

Feb 23, 2001
Melbourne, Victoria.
Good win by the Blueboys today - completely shut out the doggies from the beginning in the so called match of the round.

As the topic title says......if the pies were involved in a win like this there'd be that many "Collingwood 2001 premiers" threads we'd get that "server is too busy at the moment" message.

In fact, remember when they beat the doggies by a similar margin earlier in the year? I don't think any other team got a mention for the next week!

So this is a Carlton supporter's attempt in basking in our glory....GO BLUES!!

Well c'mon....if Pies fans can do it, can't Blues fans (if there are actually any on this board!!) have their turn?

Originally posted by Blues2001
... Well c'mon....if Pies fans can do it, can't Blues fans (if there are actually any on this board!!) have their turn?

Be my guest, Blues2001. Have a good old fashioned brag. You deserve it for sure.

There's nothing wrong with enjoying a win. You don't have to apologise for feeling good.

I feel absolutely fantastic tonight. And I ain't apologisin' to no bastard.

Tonight was an anti-climax for me.

We beat Freo...whoopdie doo...but at least we came away with the 4 points. Guess the boys will be good for the run (Misiti, Mercuri and Caracella).

We were dreadful in the 1st qtr, but managed to turn it around. We'll need all hands on deck next Fri night against the Doggies. We know what they are like just after a loss. Just being their old inconsistent selves!

:confused:

Originally posted by topdon
... Tonight was an anti-climax for me.

We beat Freo...whoopdie doo...

Now that's no way to celebrate a win. You should start up a thread telling everybody how wonderful your team is ... how invincible they are ... how THUCKIN' SENSATIONAL they are. Maybe even spend a few paragraphs berating Fremantle for being so crap.

For God's sake, Don. Lighten up. Your team WON. Give us a few bars of:

SEE THE BOMBERS FLY UP ... UP ...
TO WIN THE PREEEEEEEEEMIERSHIP FLAG
OUR BOYS WHO PLAY THIS GRAND OLD GAME
ARE ALWAYS STRIVING FOR GLORY AND FAME

Gawd strewth, Donnie. What's the world coming to. You've gotta get a Collingwood supporter to sing your club song for you!!!!

Whatever next.

WE'RE BLACK
WE'RE RED
WE'LL KICK YOU IN THE HEAD
ESSENDON (clap clap clap)

God, it must be sad to barrack for Essendon. To be so used to winning that it doesn't mean anything to you any more. To win a game and just think, "Whoopdie doo".

I think you need a change, Donnie. Obviously barracking for Essendon has burned you out. Why don't you forget about barracking for this tired worn out team that just leaves you in an anti-climax.

It's time you had a black and white ORGASM. Hop aboard, Donnie. The Mighty Magpies will give you something to BRAG about again.

Learn how good football can REALLY be ... by barracking for The Club that is better than sex. Better than drugs. Better than Mom's apple pie.

HAIL HAIL
THE PIES ARE HERE
COLLINGWOOD FOREVER
HAIL HAIL
THE PIES ARE HERE
COLLINGWOOD FOR PREMIERS

GOD BLESS OUR COLLINGWOOD
LONG LIVE OUR COLLINGWOOD
LONG MAY THEY REIGN

(this announcement was written and authorised by AlfAndrews on behalf of the Collingwood Forever Party and is presented as a community service in the interests of good mental health)

Originally posted by Blues2001
Good win by the Blueboys today - completely shut out the doggies from the beginning in the so called match of the round.

As the topic title says......if the pies were involved in a win like this there'd be that many "Collingwood 2001 premiers" threads we'd get that "server is too busy at the moment" message.

In fact, remember when they beat the doggies by a similar margin earlier in the year? I don't think any other team got a mention for the next week!

So this is a Carlton supporter's attempt in basking in our glory....GO BLUES!!

Well c'mon....if Pies fans can do it, can't Blues fans (if there are actually any on this board!!) have their turn?

That is what footy is all about. Basking in the glory, go for your life I say. I know I do of course being a Pies supporter.

Wll Alf...i'm not going to talk flags after we managed to beat Fremantle. We've learnt our lessons about getting too far ahead of ourselves...maybe you need something to happen to your team to make you realise.

I wouldn't be taking things for granted if i were you. Yes...enjoy your win...but don't count your chickens before they are hatched.

Yep, congrats to Carlton -- totally destroyed us. [*]devastated emoticon[/*]

In the last quarter, when we got within 29 points.... i was thinking ... "nah, not even we could snatch it after being over a record 13 goals down, could we? " .... and sure enough .... we didn't. I reckon a lot of teams other than Carlton would have crumbled in that same position though... so full credit to 'em. Celebrate all you want, Blues2001 .... we certainly would have.

Topdon,

In regards to being inconsistent, have a look at our results: -

We've lost (fairly badly) to Carlton, Collingwood, Port and Hawthorn, and most probably will be well beaten by you guys next week. All teams above us.

We've beaten West Coast, Geelong, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, and probably beat Freo in a couple of weeks. All teams below us.

The result (win) against Brisbane at Colonial was to be expected since they don't travel well, and the loss against North was against a team who are in that "pack", all vying for the last remaining spots in the 8.

Arguably, our only matches that haven't gone true to form/ability, have been beating Richmond (with THAT Libba incident possibly having an affect) and losing to St Kilda (where round one isn't always a good form guide).

Last year, when we defeated every team in the top 4 but regularly lost to 'inferior' opposition, I would have totally agreed with you, Topdon. But although our form may seem inconsistent this season, I reckon the doggies results show that our position on the ladder is exactly where we are at this season.

A win that'd have Pies fans clogging the boards