Computers & Internet A world without facebook...

I'd live. I spend more time on Bigfooty then I do Facebook. The only thing I do on FB is message people every so often and say happy birthday to people who I get along with but don't see all the time.

I use facebook quite often, and love it. Anyone that's annoying, deleted. Anyone with a newborn, updates hidden for atleast 2 years. Anyone that posts good or funny shit stays. It's what you make it really. A lot of my mates are hard to catch up with in person so it provides the perfect platform to still have a laugh with them. It's a bit of fun, not meant to be taken seriously.

Yeah, I won't delete it. I use it for keeping up with things like musicians (ie, releasing new albums or whatever), TV shows (premiere dates), and the Freo and Arsenal feeds give me a laugh when I read through the comments. It's good for talking to mates and you can always have a chuckle at some of the idiots you have as friends.

Anyway, is anyone else slightly nostalgic about Myspace? I was thinking about this last night. I deleted my account last year after two years of it being abandoned. Now, I'm curious to see those old messages and 'comments.' I feel like seeing old photos on the extremely clunky image viewer and seeing the lame 'pc4pc' updates. I just regret deleting it. It was a real period.

Never had Facebook , can't be bothered with it . One mate is addicted , he even checks while at the movies . Twitter is my news feed .

In a lot of cases celebrity twitter accounts are just for publicity and are probably operated by the celebrity's publicist rather than the celebrity themselves so they probably don't even see the majority of the tweets that their moron followers send them.

Very true. A friend of ours is now an "International Star Actress", and when she got her first major film role I made the mistake of messaging her. Although I did get a response, it didn't sound anything like her normal responses.

When I saw her about 3 months later I asked, and was told that she'd never seen it, her management company handles all of her media (along with about 500 other clients) without and involvement from her and that all of her family had to delete theirs as well, so they could control her fans.

If there was no Facebook then we would never of caught kony

He got caught right? And it was because of Facebook yeah? .............

I have no interest in using Facebook.

In fact, the only reason I have an account at all is because it was made for me.

If it were possible to actually delete, rather than merely deactivate the account, I probably would've.
You can delete the account. It's just somewhat of a 'hidden' option.

OP, cast your mind 10-15 years back and there you go. Nothing would alter drastically if Facebook were to disappear tomorrow for whatever reason.
I certainly wouldn't be losing any sleep if it did. Don't particularly care for Facebook, or any social media site for that matter. Would much rather a genuine face-to-face conversation.

I hate Facebook, but I just can't get away. As a teenager, of you don't have Facebook you feel like your missing out on something, when in fact you're not. Also like Soccer memes etc.

Twitter is tonnes better than Facebook. Only bad thing is you can't have a full conversation with mates.

I don't mind it.

Don't use it heaps though. I spend way more time on BF than on Facebook. It's pretty handy if you've moved around a bit and have mates in a few places. Currently having a chat over fb with a couple of mates about TDF. It's not the same as watching it with them, but its not a bad alternative.

I don't post anything personal on my facebook. Just use it for organising and keeping in touch with mates. I really dislike those who post vague passive-aggressive status updates obviously fishing for replies and when pressed they'll say, "they know who they are."

The only people who feel the need to hate or delete facebook are the ones that take it too seriously or let it control their lives. For everyone else its a handy tool to keep in touch with mates for free. Especially if you have overseas friends or family. You can customise the hell out of your privacy settings so you don't have to put up with annoying posts or friend requests from strangers.

Facebook is good for two things - keeping in touch with overseas people and that occasional thing with people you don't see very often.

I don't think I'll quit, but I sure as hell don't use it much anymore.

There is 3 Football Clubs i follow on their official FB sites..Having said that i also follow them on Twitter.
I have about a dozen or so Family on there, And Footy friends i see now and again at Games.
Not really interested in Logging in there as much as the old days when it started.

Once my mum created a facebook account and added me, I knew my days on facebook were numbered.

It started out alright, but quickly became a waste of time. Had to keep the messaging thing off because too many otherwise-intelligent people would use it to make utterly useless 'conversation' or worse, use it for important conversation which is better conducted over the phone/in person (re family, sporting clubs we were on the committees of, etc). Status updates went from often funny/interesting tidbits to boring, monotonous, nobody-but-the-idiot-posting-the-status-gives-a-flying-**** type comments. The photo galleries were a good way to see where people had been, what they had been up to etc, but I got the impression that most people really only cared about their own photo galleries and couldn't really give a stuff about other peoples galleries unless they were in the photos themselves.

It's been almost a year since I got rid of it. Do not miss it one iota. I dare all of you out there who still use facebook to keep a record of how many times you log in to facebook each day/week. I dare you.

tumblr_lo8p7dr0lU1qf5zj9o1_500.jpg

Is there a way to create chat lists. Fair to say that there are a few people who seem to appear on my most chatted list who I really don't want to see anymore. Unfortunately, considering the closeness of our proximity, its a waste of time to unfriend.

I just appear offline and then if I want to talk to someone, I start the conversation.

Yep I've Never been on line. Never list any photos with other people or myself. Never really list ANYTHING ie Work, Where I'm From etc etc. The few family and people i know know its me because i have Real life contact with them anyway.