Computers & Internet A world without facebook...

A world without facebook would be the best world ever. I think it is extremely over rated and a real negative turning point on society.
I think its just a real joke how the whole Australian public Voted against an (Australian Card ) with all your photo and private details-Tax-Rego-Address Phones and so on.
And now with the way people mostly young just put their whole lives on there plus Email address Mobiles and so on.
Even suburb. All police have to do is access your FB.

I believe Facebook's merits are
- very easy to keep in touch with overseas friends, because as already mentioned, they'll actually check it.
- good to communicate with acquaintances
- good for organising events and groups (i know that some people use it for uni assignments and what not)

Apart from that, it doesn't offer much else. The narcissism of some people is astounding - who needs to know where you "check in", who you're with, what you're doing etc.

Twitter for me

I have a facebook account and 'use it' every day. The people who dont use it tend to have the "why would I want people to know what I'm doing every second" view on it but its incorrect for 90% of users. It is what you make of it. I make probably 1-2 statuses a week and theyre usually about current affairs/sporting events or opinions etc, not "Im going to the shops" like ppl give a shit

Ive hidden a few people, mostly because of the kids thing, they just completely flood the news feed with crap photos and updates whenever a kid farts etc. There are quite a few funny ppl that I get a kick out of reading updates from, and theres also a few life losers from school I secretely love to read their stupid updates etc. For example theres 1 guy who thinks hes the bees nees but is constantly being fired from jobs but only because all the managers are stupid etc

Privacy settings are easy to set and none of my friends would have any major idea of what I do in my life through facebook

My life wouldnt change much if it was deleted tomorrow, but it certainly adds an entertainment value that I wouldnt have otherwise

Deleted my account on Friday night. So far Im enjoying it. Does anyone get that awkward uncomfortable feeling when you meet someone in everyday 'normal life' who has been saying the most pathetic crap on facebook yet comes across completely different to their 'facebook persona'? This I'm not going to miss. But when I see these people now Ill be able to have a conversation about things not knowing what their opinion is before going into it, and hopefully respect them a little more. Again the 'ignorance is bliss' factor.

What I will miss is the people I was 'friends' with that I followed just to see how bad their status updates were. Like this one bish who continually posted about her f***** parrot, her boyfriend, toast, breathing, the most pathetic stuff. And this other d*** who was a real estate agent that thought he was gods gift who kept posting about how awesome he was even though everything thought he was a moron. It was like an epsiode of The Office following these people! - so cringe worthy it was entertaining and I couldnt look away!

For me Twitter is just a platform for celebrities to reach out to their fans and work their brand. It's also useful for the collation of interesting web articles. I started a twitter awhile back just to follow a collection of US sports stars and writers and a bunch of Australian political commentators. But then you have the problem of one person tweeting too much. I was following CM Punk for awhile but he would just tweet constantly, and nothing about the actual WWE, so I had to unfollow him.

Australian sports stars are useless to follow. They just have a private conversation between themselves within the public sphere. WTF is the point of that? Using your room analogy, it's like Celebrity Big Brother: iPhone edition.

I have no idea why Joe Sixpack would actually tweet.

Also, I hate how modern journalism has further degenerated to a point where they now just surf Twitter looking for transgressions from celebrities or, even worse, using Twitter to highlight how offended or outraged someone is. Tweeting doesn't show you're outraged. It takes less than 30 seconds to pump out a tweet. Being offended and outraged means getting up off your fat arse and complaining in person. Or at the very least, writing a letter.

On twitter I follow ABC Grandstand, AFL, Cricinfo, Dr Karl, ABC News and a couple of bands and F1 commentators. Gets me through my morning poo.

Facebook died with me on the 25th of may this year. I realised all my problems were being placed in statuses constantly and it was becoming an addiction. Not to mention how people were perceiving me as this obsessed fb holic. When I had a massive personal issue on that day I was wanting to go on DB and spill everything at this point I realised I had an addiction and just cut it off.

Since then my mornings have been more blissful not urgently looking at notifications and spending more time on bf. In hindsight that particular incident changed me for life.

I believe Facebook's merits are
- very easy to keep in touch with overseas friends, because as already mentioned, they'll actually check it.
- good to communicate with acquaintances
- good for organising events and groups (i know that some people use it for uni assignments and what not)

Apart from that, it doesn't offer much else. The narcissism of some people is astounding - who needs to know where you "check in", who you're with, what you're doing etc.

That's what facebook is for me. Get in touch, keep in touch. My friends list is pretty small compared to the people who sport 500/1000+ friends. It's a novel and unpopular idea, but I only have people on my list who i actually want on there. If we went to high school together and never spoke, don't bother trying to add me. If you post non stop about dumb shit, deleted. If you're a blood relative and post non stop about your stupid baby, updates hidden.

We had a poker night on the weekend that would have been exponentially more difficult to plan without facebook. Group message, each person writes back when they're free and everyone else can see it too. Bang, organised. Like i said before, it is what you make it.

Don't have facebook, actually I had it when a mate went overseas for a year but only used it to contact him.

I was getting ex girlfriends and all sorts of crazy shit happening. Apparently that's normal, but like, is it normal to go up to the door of my ex girlfriend from 5 years ago and knock and say, "hey how u bn!". In my eyes no.

Not only that this other chick I slept with for a while had a CRAZY ex boyfriend and he was always turning up out of nowhere trying to fight me and threatening to kill me and shit. Low and behold he requested we be friends.

So yeah, I got rid of that shit.

Twitter, again, I don't get but I use it for footy news, which is actually only through a footy app anyway. Don't actually use it per se.

I'm 25 and have a pretty healthy social life so you'd think I'd be social media obsessed like 99% of my peers but it's just something I've never understood or required.

I'm an arseh*le and couldn't give two shits what someone I knew ten years is doing so I guess that explains it.

Don't hold it against anyone who chooses to use it though, I'm not one of those, I'm cooler than you because I choose not interact with Facebook types. I've just never personally found a use for it and found it to be more of nuisance than anything.

If it doesn't improve my life or add anything to it, I want nothing to do with it.

Can I bum a smoke off someone? I'm hangin.

Just deleted my account and now have to wait 2 weeks for it to be permanently deleted. I hope I don't regret it, Facebook has become a serious addiction and seeing as I'm in Year 12 this year that isn't a good thing. Also happened to be the reason I had a big fight with a best mate, who I don't talk to as a result of it anymore.

I’ve never had it and haven’t ever felt the need to have it. Everyone I know has it, some people are just shocked “how on eaaaaaarth do you not have it!!!??”... whilst others say well played, they wish they never got it! I guess if you’ve never had it, you can’t miss it.

I’m not anti-FB, there must be something good about it, that many people can’t be wrong. I’ve just never really felt the need to get it. TBH I see it a bit as one of life’s distractions, if I had it I‘d probably waste tons of time of it and convince myself I needed to look at it... when in reality I don’t.

People tell me the major benefits are keeping in touch with people and looking at photos... I find I keep in touch with people anyway and as for looking at photos... I hate it... it’s a bit like when people used to get their holiday photos out... can’t think of anything more boring to be honest. There might be a couple of cool shots but the rest will just be some tool standing in front of the Eiffel Tower. Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz... that’s just me though I guess.

My personal view is it will have the lifespan of a generation... there doesn’t seem to be too many heavy FB users over the age of say 35... once their kids hit about 13yo en masse, they’re not gonna jump all over something that their parents are constantly all over. I think there’ll always be a need for kids and young people to have that barrier between their real lives (after hours etc) and their parents, and someone will surface to cater for that need (and make squillions) with a more discrete form of social networking that gives kids their privacy from the oldies.

A lot of our generation will probably still use it but I think it’ll start to decline amongst younger people and eventually fade out with something else taking its place.

I think one downside of it (just a view) is it seems to have feminised a lot of blokes... you’ll be sitting there talking shit and someone will be poking about on their phone... “wow look at what so-and-so did or said”... it seems to promote a bit of gossiping etc which I think should be left to the ladies... let’s talk about footy or some chick you ploughed instead.

Ultimately as people have said, I guess it’s like anything... it is what you make of it.

I don't have it, or twitter. Until recently, I've never seen the point of either but may get FB just for a casual aquaintances who live OS and I know do have it.

Being a fairly private person I have no desire to share my life with the world. And I reckon if my life was interesting enough for the world to care, I wouldn't have time to update the thing anyway.

Filtering out the inane crap and keeping some modicum of privacy are the main concerns for me.

I never saw anything in twitter, what of any import can really be put into so few characters, but maybe it can useful if used right. Just follow a select few who don't post every meal they eat and every dump they take. If I got twit I would probably never post anything, and just use it as a newsfeed for organisations/people of interest.

i've noticed that i don't use facebook anywhere near as much as i did when i smoked. i might check it a couple of times a week now instead of once an hour when i light up

You ok hun? Inbx me X

I'm sick of it but it is good for keeping up to date on some things regarding music/spoer. I must have been unbearable with some updates for a while too. Anyone that craps on about their daily train trip or is constantly putting things up about campaign to give tropps footballers wages results in them having their updates taken off my feed, I don't want to read that shit. I also only give access to what goes on my wall to a certain amount of people in my 'inner circle', I don't want everyone seeing everything i put up. It seems to work but might take a break soon. I also never put my picture on my profile. If I'm taken prisoner by the Viet Cong or something that's the photo they'll probably use.

Oh and my one most HATED thing is the birthday msgs, I just hate seeing a bunch of bland run of the mill birthday msgs on someone's wall. If friends on facebook are real friends they'll make more of an effort to wish me a happy birthday or not at all.

To quote idiotic facebook users I know who end one of their tiresome rants "That is all!"

Just deleted my account and now have to wait 2 weeks for it to be permanently deleted. I hope I don't regret it, Facebook has become a serious addiction and seeing as I'm in Year 12 this year that isn't a good thing. Also happened to be the reason I had a big fight with a best mate, who I don't talk to as a result of it anymore.
what happened and how was it due to FB?

Tell+me+I+m+pretty_cffb07_3588501.jpg

Saw a stat that 99% of high school students have crackbook...ridiculous.

My own newphew who is in year 11 posts some unbeleivable updates on really ignitable controversial things. Ive had to pull him aside and tell him to ease off a couple of times to save himself.

Had another two 'friends' who are a couple. They relentlessly post on their f****ng health kick. How much weight they have lost what their ideal weight is, they check in each time theyre at the gym and a picture of every f***ing meal they eat...and they are in their 40's! And everyone is quick to 'like' with the whole 'awesome hun!' wank. Anyway, the female of the couple has just gone in to hospital with an eating disorder while the male has completely lost the plot...

Anyway - facebook is evil.

Lol'd at some guy on my Facebook who put his status as something which no one would have any idea what he's talking about. When the inevitable "what's wrong babe? xx" came, he said he needed a job. Then a new person came in and said "I thought you had a job?" to which the original guy says, "I did. The guy called me to say I got it, but then never called me back to tell me when I start".

I have a feeling he is going to struggle a bit if he can't take it upon himself to call the company up and ask when he starts.