Retired Aaron Davey

Re: Aaron Davey

He seems to get a hard tag at half back as well though MB. He's so effective wherever he plays - if he could deal with a tag he would be Judd!

D16 I think you might be looking through rose colored glasses. When was the last time he was effective? To compare him to Judd is just wishful thinking. While he may be our highest paid player, I don't think he's anywhere near our best player... I would have Jamar, Sylvia, Trengove, Frawley, Jurrah, Scully, Grimes, Tapscott and Moloney all well in front of Davey.

I'll give you Moloney, Frawley and possibly Jamar but the rest are not better than Aaron Davey.

He's inconsistent but what doesn't help is that he gets no protection whatsoever when he gets the hard tag, people praise Judd's ability to break hard tags but don't credit the help he gets from teammates that allow him to beat the tag.

Our players need to give Flash that physical protection and allow him to get a few meters off his opponent into free space.

Time to eat humble pie, but it tastes good! Flash was fantastic today. He ran hard, he put his body on the line time after time and he set up a lot of our attacking moves. It is great to see him being so damaging.

Yeh the Judd comparison was tongue in cheek, but if he wasnt tagged out of games every 3rd week, he would be one of the best players in the comp.

Not sure what you mean about his effectiveness? He is possibly our best disposer of the ball - and I would have him above all except maybe 2 or 3 of the players you listed.

Good to see him come out swinging this week anyway :thumbsu:

****ing spud.

It's criminal that Davey is still getting a game. He looks more like a border collie than a footballer, should take up fetching frisbees and give football away.

I can't stand watching him play football anymore, he is the softest player in the AFL. Needs to go back to Casey to 'find form' and then stay there. It's shameful that he is the highest player at the Melbourne Football Club. Career is as dead and buried as Brock McLean's.

****ing spud.

It's criminal that Davey is still getting a game. He looks more like a border collie than a footballer, should take up fetching frisbees and give football away.

I can't stand watching him play football anymore, he is the softest player in the AFL. Needs to go back to Casey to 'find form' and then stay there. It's shameful that he is the highest player at the Melbourne Football Club. Career is as dead and buried as Brock McLean's.

He's been beyond terrible this season- and today was surely the final straw? Statements must be made and he must be dropped.

Move him back to the forward pocket, please. Sick of seeing his lazy efforts costing us goals, and his complete inability to shake a forward tag.

I did ask a mate at the game today "When was the last time that Davey got a tackle in like he used to?"

Can't remember - and he seems to be disinterested or he just cannot break a tag. Definitely a shadow of his former self.

A first gamer in Evans showed more heart than Davey today! And surely Bailey must make a statement with him now. Davey simply doesn't work hard enough. Go back to Casey for a month with Cale Morton and learn how to do the basics again.

We have 2 Friday night games coming up and the club will be under the spotlight! I say a perfect opportunity to drop Davey and make an example of him when our club is on the big stage. He's a liability right now. And to be honest, he's not alone when it comes to being shut down by a tagger! No one at our club can break a tag. No one! The team does not work hard enough for each other to help whoever it is being tagged! It's not just Davey! And Im not sure Bailey knows what to do with a player when they are being tagged? More questions than answers are coming out of our club this season. I really hate to think of where we will be at after the next 3 weeks of football with Carlton/Essendon/Collingwood! Bailey could seriously be gone in a month!!!

he had a shocker today it was plain to see. but i still feel bailey and his game plan is not getting the most out of this list. Even with depleted stocks, we should've trampled st.kilda.

leave troll, just leave

Pathetic Bigsexc. I've been posting here for years under Balennon

Iirc, you were the master troll round here until you pulled your ****ing finger out and grew up?

Pathetic Bigsexc. I've been posting here for years under Balennon

Iirc, you were the master troll round here until you pulled your ****ing finger out and grew up?

i remember Balennon, he was a good poster and seemed like a great bloke! why did he give you his account? and how did you change the name?

yeah, used to like a bit of trolling, but even since Demon_Revival threatened to take civil action against me i decided to tone it down. i save my best work for that flog Deefolt

Back to Casey!

The 35,000+ members of the Melbourne Footy Club did not part with their hard earned to watch a "leader" of the club serve up the sh*t Davey has served most of, and to some, all of the season.

I think he's done. He would be a good player in a strong team where he could be a link-up player and use his beautiful kicking skills to effect. In a struggling team where he has to win his own ball he is no good. We should put him in the draft and hope that a team in the premiership window decides that he is what they need, but I don't think we'd get anything for him.

Don't necessarily agree with this statement. While I think that our uses for him MAY have been expired by the end of the season, other club's (probably the Bulldogs at this point in time) would give an arm and a leg for him. Trade bait if I've ever seen any.

Deserves to be dropped. When you're a senior player and a "leader", you must show effort. He showed none yesterday and has only shown it in 1 or 2 games this year. How he is in our leadership group and Moloney isn't is a joke.

Pathetic Supporters or pathetic forum know-it-alls.

He is NOT going to be dropped.

When is he hot, easily one of our best players, also the best kick in our team possibly in the afl.

He is one of the hearts of our team, vice captain and also a great leader for our indigenous talents.

Yes, Yesterday he had a bad game, but that one game does not vouch for what he has proven to the club in the past and for whats to come, give the guy a break, rival teams are putting their best tagger on him, that shows how dangerous coaches think he can be, yes hes had a slow start but guaranteed he will bounce back, will be in the TOP 3 next week. What we need is for some of our guys to protect Davey at times.

Could you imagine how Davey would be feeling right about now, 30k+ members questioning his integrity, we all know what he is really capable of, show some support, and im sure he will deliver.

Go Dees

Davey is a long way from the best kick in the AFL, trust me.

Davey will bounce back, don't worry. He would be made the sub before being dropped anyway.

i remember Balennon, he was a good poster and seemed like a great bloke! why did he give you his account? and how did you change the name?

yeah, used to like a bit of trolling, but even since Demon_Revival threatened to take civil action against me i decided to tone it down. i save my best work for that flog Deefolt
Changed my name last week, this seems more appropriate for a footy forum

Pathetic Supporters or pathetic forum know-it-alls.

He is NOT going to be dropped.

When is he hot, easily one of our best players, also the best kick in our team possibly in the afl.

He is one of the hearts of our team, vice captain and also a great leader for our indigenous talents.

Yes, Yesterday he had a bad game, but that one game does not vouch for what he has proven to the club in the past and for whats to come, give the guy a break, rival teams are putting their best tagger on him, that shows how dangerous coaches think he can be, yes hes had a slow start but guaranteed he will bounce back, will be in the TOP 3 next week. What we need is for some of our guys to protect Davey at times.

Could you imagine how Davey would be feeling right about now, 30k+ members questioning his integrity, we all know what he is really capable of, show some support, and im sure he will deliver.

Go Dees

I think everyone could forgive him for having a bad game....again. Or pulling out of that contest. But what he did after that was the worst thing I've seen in my 31 years of following the Dees. The fact that he is a leader of this club absolutely disgusts me atm. Our leadership is pathetic with Green, (who can only play a half decent game is when the heat is on him)and pretty much sums up where we are as a club. As far as i'm concerned Moloney and Frawley should have been given the captaincy/vice captain, and the sooner Green and Davey are'nt the better.

Davey is a long way from the best kick in the AFL, trust me.

Davey will bounce back, don't worry. He would be made the sub before being dropped anyway.

Davey is definitely one of, if not the best kick in the league, accurate and penetrating. Had a shocker today and the pull out was horrendous, but he needs to be given the chance to make up for it next week, and if he doesn't then cut him loose

Retired Aaron Davey