Aaron Joseph

could we possibly give a last crack at being a forward pocket, or defensive forward? seems to tackle and chase well. brain fades and skills wont hurt as much. similar to what richmond did with jake king

He gets pushed off way too easily. (actually a lot of our players have this problem too)
Some eagles player gave him a bit of shove and both of Joseph's feet are off the ground as though he got hit by a truck.

Should've been wearing an Eagles jumper, then.

Seem to shout the word 'potato' inordinately when Joseph is around the footy.

He's cost us on numerous occasions this season. Let's stop going to back to the well time and again. Give Bootsma and Watson a real crack at it while our better options are out. Any games into these boys now will be rewarded in spades down the track.

Except when he chases down and beats guys like Nic Nat and Chapman in 50/50 situations, which people tend to forget when they are on a defeat rage.

He is pretty ordinary though, and that is coming from a biased Tassie supporter. The only thing he really messed up tonight was that kick that cost a goal, was a poor option, but he definitely lacks composure in general and his skills are lacking. That free against in the goal square was crap umpiring. He clearly got it out, but Darling (from memory) just took the ball and locked it back in there.

He definitely isn't a back pocket. If you have to play him, I'd use him as a run with tagger. But he looks down on confidence at the moment and I wouldn't give him another game until he shows something at VFL level.

All fairly spot on, especially the not being a back pocket. He is not a backline player, he's a midfielder but doesn't seem to be good enough to get a game in any role in there. Should be playing VFL and should be playing on the ball and not getting a game until he gets a heap of it there.

Thought he was reasonably ok tonight until THAT awful decision. Says a lot that tonight was one of his better performances for the season...

He's not up to it. He offers bugger all offensively and defensively he tries to baulk and fend off every player, even those clearly superior to him. He gets caught with it a ton and never tries to kill the ball. He think he's Gary Ablett...

Does he actually blow Ratten every week or something? I have no other reason to suggest why he keeps getting so many games.

Maybe he buys Ratten snakes every week?

CJ - AJ, there all the same to me.

Do we actually pay these guys or is this like community service?

Would have at least had a marking option. Would have been better to bring in Bootsma instead of Joseph though.
This utterly amazed me that Bootsma didnt play in Perth,Ratten wants a rocket up his ass for this oversight! Bootsma at least looks composed against a poor player in AJ.

Clearly was a free kick to Jamison and Judd should not have dropped the mark prior to that but the skill execution is an example of our poor kicking to advantage which has been evident for the past 3 seasons or more, that kick should of been 5 metres in front of Jamison to run onto so the defender cant impact the contest.

Instead it is too high and directed straight at Jamison with too much hang time which allowed the Eagles player to impact the contest and kick the most important goal of the night.

I heard Ratten talk about critical moments the other week, well he should speak to Judd, Joseph and Geischen for that moment and in that order!!!

has been a massive fall from grace by joseph. tore gary ablett a new one a few years back, and had been named as the top 2-3 hardest players ablett has played on. his last month of footy has been woeful. i was shocked that he was called in to replace hampson, surely lucas or bootsma would have been the better option.

yes his kick to jammo was terrible and went a long way to costing us the game, but its his decision making that is the issue. he should have gone long to a contest in that situation. ha also gives his opponent way too much room, he is rarely shoulder to shoulder with his direct opponent and too often lets his opponent make an impact on a marking contest while he sits 5m off it.

he has shown he can play at the required level, just needs to find the form again.

Very average yet again tonight, and that awful decision in the 4th to go to Jamison was fatal.

Clearly the correct decision in that situation is to go long down the line.

Granted, that's a free kick to Jamo anywhere else other than Perth, but the ball should never have been kicked to him.

Can't fault AJ's effort yet again because he clearly tries hard, but he's a really dumb footballer. Makes far too many mistakes, and unfortunately usually those mistakes prove to be really costly which just makes it worse.

Shouldn't be in the side...but unfortunately at the moment we may just not have any better options to replace him with.

Very very happy that others agree with me, I thought Joseph was a disgrace tonight and the even more frustrating thing is that it wasn't just tonight he put up a terrible, pea hearted performance, he has been dishing up these games every single week and he continues to get selected? What do the staff at Carlton see in him that we don't? That play in the half back where he picked up the ball, was about 10 meters between him and his opponent ran around in a circle, waited for his opponent to get within a couple of meters of him and puts this little crappy floater infront of Jamison who has a man RIGHT ON HIM, cost us the game. Now the umpiring was terrible and we were murdered by the umpires last night but that play right there is what cost us the game because after that there was a huge momentum shift. Thanks again for your effort Joseph, he had one good game tagging Gary Ablett and has lived off that game for the last 2 years.

I agree that AJ got shaky..but

1/
when in fight for the ball,he wins it,without diving on it[but get knocked to the ground] & 3 WC gorillas jump on u,they trapped it in
>>>HOW DOES THE GUY WITH THE COURAGE TO WIN THE BALL get a free-kick paid a/g him!!![he was facing upwards trying to clear it..not diving on it at all!! if anything WC kept in in]
GOAL RESULTS!!
Yet the same thing happened to a WC player a minute later when we tackle[ump says ''ball-up''] and u hear AJ say to the ump..''what about mine!!!..my free...same thing !!''

@Laids_15
Are you not meant to try and b 1st in at the footy anymore. If u do u will b pinned for holding the ball. SHOCKING!!!!

2/
jUDDY gets hit/elbowed to the torso, like that, at practically every single contest.. yet had a crucial 50mtr penalty awarded against him ANOTHER GOAL RESULTS!! piss-weak umpiring with crowd influencing them inordinately

3/
THE HEAD HIGH'S FREES THAT WC GOT [dropping their knees & parrying our tacklers arm over the shoulder]...and the similar frees THAT WEREN'T PAID TO ELLARD ,SIMPSON,ROBBO etc

4/
the crowd influence on the ump at Subi is too much to be fair..for umpires that respond to the crowd..even if it is subconscious..IT'S JUST PATENTLY UNFAIR

5/ they scrag Walker[Glass is the master of this illegal sheppard/holding off the ball as in the Elim2011 ]..yet each time Jameson touched Cox a free was immediately paid

@marcmurphy3
Ruined a good game those blokes

Boots should take his spot. Seems more poised.

yikes, i must be a fan boy of Aj :oops: the turn over to jamo was a free so can't hate on him that much,he chased nic nat down, he has a crack.... problem is armfield does the same as AJ but this year army has done it better... anyway i'm to drunk to make sense haha
Mate he only chased Nic Nat down cuz he shit him self and did not pick the ball up himself. nic nat should never of had that ball.

yikes, i must be a fan boy of Aj :oops: the turn over to jamo was a free so can't hate on him that much,he chased nic nat down, he has a crack.... problem is armfield does the same as AJ but this year army has done it better... anyway i'm to drunk to make sense haha
Look, I've always been a supporter if AJ but after last nights effort I'm pretty sure I'm over him. That slow decision to get rid of the ball and give it to Jamison did it for me. Simply not good enough and killed momentum.

Very very happy that others agree with me, I thought Joseph was a disgrace tonight and the even more frustrating thing is that it wasn't just tonight he put up a terrible, pea hearted performance, he has been dishing up these games every single week and he continues to get selected? What do the staff at Carlton see in him that we don't? That play in the half back where he picked up the ball, was about 10 meters between him and his opponent ran around in a circle, waited for his opponent to get within a couple of meters of him and puts this little crappy floater infront of Jamison who has a man RIGHT ON HIM, cost us the game. Now the umpiring was terrible and we were murdered by the umpires last night but that play right there is what cost us the game because after that there was a huge momentum shift. Thanks again for your effort Joseph, he had one good game tagging Gary Ablett and has lived off that game for the last 2 years.

I agree he is not playing well at themoment, but he is not pea hearted. Gives 100% every time he plays.

Aaron Joseph will not play another game once Jeremy Laidler returns after the bye. That will mean our backline will like the following:

Tuohy Jamison Duigan

Yarren Watson Laidler

Henderson needs to be played up forward to give us a option as Waite does not look likely @ getting back on the track anytime soon, has not been able to run which indicated he could be a while away. Would not be against giving Mitchell a crack after the Pies game, would have @ least over a months match fitness & he also did a pre-season