Ablett Compensation?

• Thread starter Thread starter Dxmxgxd

Honestly, that is not even near the level of compensation that we deserve for Gary.

You are talking about they BIGGEST transfer in history. This eclipses Barassi or Judd...you are talking about not just Gary Ablett Jnr and his ability (not to mention the fact that he is the number 1 player in his prime)....but you can't ignore the name and the prestige that go with the Ablett name. The name Gary Ablett is the single biggest name ever in football, its worth goes into the 10's of millions (and that is conservative). Ablett Snr and Jnr are an automatic history for any club and Geelong Football Club has today lost something more valuable than just they top player in the league. I can see Demetriou's smile now knowing that his pet the Gold Coast has been gifted a slice of football history - and what our potential compensation will be no better than a couple of picks, which are probably only as good as between 8 -16...

The whole thing wreaks of BS. We have been r*ped by the AFL for being succesfull. ..... and to think we loose Bomber in the same week.

Absolute ****ing Bullshit

Eh? How is Snr now part of GC history? Is Gary leaving going to take anything away from what he and his dad did at Geelong. Are Snrs Colemans going up there? Are Juniors Premierships or Brownlows going up there? They are a synthetic franchise with no history, Gary up until now and his Dad are part of your clubs history.

I unerstand you're pissed off and I would be too, but you need to take a deep breath mate.

You weren't r*ped by the AFL, Gary didnt have a gun to his head...

Still, quality tantrum. :thumbsu:

No player is worth 3 top 5 picks. Not even Ablett. A fair deal would probably be about what west coast got for Judd. (its not Carlton's fault they royaly screwed up those picks)

Besides don't we already know that the highest a team can get is a mid-first round + the pick after your first round.

Also there is no way the gold coast will win a premiership soon. They are going to have massive salary cap problems in a couple of years. It seems like they're paying Ablett + Rischitelli + Harbrow + Krakouer + Bock + Brown about a third to half the cap between them.

I reckon the judd trade was actually pretty fair. Probably slightly unders but then again judd wanted to go home.
They shouldn't get as much as the judd trade though as judd was a lot younger than abblett is.
1 pick after their first rounder and then a end of first round pick.

this is a blessing in disguise for geelong i reckon.

I still maintain that the biggest issue with the GC concessions (apart from the pure number of high round player selections they get) is that they don't have to give up anything for the uncontracted players, so they don't have to care about the quality of the players they pick up.

I think that instead of having access to 16 uncontracted players, they should have had say a swag of draft picks which they were able to exchange for uncontracted players.

If they had the first 30 picks in this draft, and could trade them as they saw fit, then the AFL could have decided the value of Ablett - ie, picks 1, 5, and 9, and the Gold Coast would have had to decide if he was worth it.

But then GCFC wouldn't win a premiership in the next 5 years and no one would support them. The AFL wouldn't want that to happen.

I'd say Tony Lockett was the biggest news at the time, many clubs wanted a slice of what was one of the best full forwards of all time going around.

other big steals in the last 20 odd years along with ablett would be in no particular order

Judd (god knows how much as an environmental ambassador...)
Lynch (wasn't it 1 million dollars over 10 years? a phenomenal amount of money at the time)
Richard Osborne (broke the remnants of the hearts of the poor roy boys)
Ben Allen (500k to rest and recuperate at Freo)
Hall (600k p/a)
Jeff Farmer (500k p/a)
des Headland (500k p/a)
Fabian francis (500k p/a)
Luke ball (500k p/a)
Aaron Hammil (500k p/a)
Fraser gehrig (500k p/a)
Luke Penny (350k p/a)
Jeff White (500k p/a)
Daniel Chick (500k p/a)
Leigh Colbert (big money to play finals footy)
Nathan Buckley (big money to play finals Footy)
Nathan Brown (500k and an opportunity to play finals footy)

probably others as well that escape me.

generally the compensation doesn't stack up to the loss...

Ummmm... no.

Now...

If Geelong choose to use their first pick in 2010 it would be pick #26. Use it in 2011 and it would be #27. It comes into its own from 2012-2014 when it can be used inside the first round (which isn't compromised by GC/GWS having 9 picks in the first 15).

If Brisbane, Adelaide, Hawthorn and Footscray all use their compensation picks this year, then Geelong's 2nd compensation pick could be as late as #31.

ummmm no.

The second pick is after the non finalists it wont be anywhere near pick 31 from 2012 onwards.

"Under the new system, five "bands" will be created, based on the salary package offered and the age of the player. Band one will include elite players such as Geelong's Gary Ablett. If a club loses a band one player, it will receive two first-round draft picks - the second of which will be a mid-round pick (taken after the teams who missed the finals in that season)."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...on-system-for-star-players-20100623-yx8e.html

Ummmm... no.

Now...

If Geelong choose to use their first pick in 2010 it would be pick #26. Use it in 2011 and it would be #27. It comes into its own from 2012-2014 when it can be used inside the first round (which isn't compromised by GC/GWS having 9 picks in the first 15).

If Brisbane, Adelaide, Hawthorn and Footscray all use their compensation picks this year, then Geelong's 2nd compensation pick could be as late as #31.
Not quite.

Picks used at the end of the first round in 2010 and 2011 are also after the priority picks.

So their first pick would actually be 27 this year.

ummmm no.

The second pick is after the non finalists it wont be anywhere near pick 31 from 2012 onwards.

"Under the new system, five "bands" will be created, based on the salary package offered and the age of the player. Band one will include elite players such as Geelong's Gary Ablett. If a club loses a band one player, it will receive two first-round draft picks - the second of which will be a mid-round pick (taken after the teams who missed the finals in that season)."

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...on-system-for-star-players-20100623-yx8e.html
I think you are confused.

Adelaide's selection can be made at the end of round one immediately after the pick of the premiership team of that season, while Port Adelaide's selection will come after the pick it earns in that year's draft.

In the case of two or more clubs activating their picks in the same draft, the club that is placed lower on the ladder will go first.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101814/default.aspx

So if two or more teams who have been allocated picks, which translate to picks at the end of the first round in 2010-2011 decide to use them, they will be prioritised based on ladder position.

That means Geelongs selections at the end of round 1 will come after the PP and any teams below them on the ladder who also hope to use end of round 1 compensation picks in the same draft:

It had been determined that the Geelong Cats would receive a Round One selection and a mid-Round One selection for Gary Ablett.
In full detail, the compensation package is explained as follows:
Geelong Cats – Round One selection.
The selection for Gary Ablett may be activated by the Geelong Cats after its round one selection in any one of the 2012, 2013 or 2014 NAB AFL Draft Selection Meetings. The selection will be immediately placed behind the Round One selection of the Geelong Cats in that particular season. (Ie, should the Cats earn the right for selection 12, the compensation selection would be number 13, if the Cats earn the right for selection four, the compensation selection would be number five etc.).
Should the Geelong Cats wish to activate the selection in either the 2010 or 2011 NAB AFL Draft, during the two expansion-period Drafts, the selection would be placed at the end of Round One.
For the selection to be activated for the 2010 NAB AFL Draft, the Geelong Cats will be required to notify the AFL of its intention to use the selection by November 5, 2010.
For the selection to be activated for any of the years 2011-2014 in the NAB AFL Draft of that particular year, the Geelong Cats will be required to notify the AFL of its intention to use the selection by the last Tuesday of that particular year, prior to the start of the Toyota AFL Premiership Season.

http://www.aflspace.com/2010/09/29/geelong-get-two-first-round-picks-for-sun-ablett/

AFL could have done the right thing. A clear precedent was set when Judd went to Carlton. And even then Judd went under an injury cloud (clearly suffering from OP).

Best case scenario (in terms of compensation) we finish last in 2012 and end up with picks 2 & 10 which is still well short of what Judd went for. Particularly when you consider we have to wait 2 years to use them.

AFL could have done the right thing. A clear precedent was set when Judd went to Carlton. And even then Judd went under an injury cloud (clearly suffering from OP).

Best case scenario (in terms of compensation) we finish last in 2012 and end up with picks 2 & 10 which is still well short of what Judd went for. Particularly when you consider we have to wait 2 years to use them.

Judd was alot younger than abblett and therfore worth more. 2 and 10 is actually pretty similiar to what judd went for anyway
it was 3, 20 and kennedy

At the time kennedy had lost alot of his value from when he was pick 4 and was no longer really worth a top 10 pick. He just came on well and wce got lucky. Just as we were "unlucky" or stupid with the pick 20 we were given. 2 and 10 is a more than adequate exchange when you look at it.

would love it in 2 or 3 years time if geelong stole back a young gun due to salary cap pressure.
would love to see dimwits press release about destroying a young developing side being attacked and passing rules to protect GCS and GWS from raiding...

dratkcuf

watch for all the conspiracies when geelong nominate they'll use their picks in a few years and lose a game or play a kid...