Food, Drink & Dining Out Absinthe

Has anyone here tried Poteen? When I lived in England I had a mate, Belfast Pete, who would bring me some when he came to visit, claimed it was official RUC "approved" bootleg Poteen, but Belfast Pete, good bloke that he was, did talk a lot of shit. Whether true or not, this stuff was real falling down water, it packed an almighty punch.

Poitin?

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Poitín

Sounds nasty to be sure.

Especially if it's home made.

My sister warned me about hitting the homemade ouzo once, someone gave me a bottle, of with I drank 90%. Took me over a week to recover, and I smelled like aniseed for days lol

I love aniseed a lot. I love the tingling in the mouth no homo.

Though anything home made is going to be good night haha.

My Uncle worked in Eritrea (spl?) and brought back this dodgy local spirit in a plain glass bottle that was like poison. He loved it. It made me psychopathic.

I live within 2kms of a genuine Absinthe bar which has around 70 different varieties with varying degrees of alcohol content. I love the drink, but it is not meant to be taken as a shot. This bar treats it as a ritual and is a fun cool little bar. I never have more than 2 though.

This is how I envisage my first experience with the green went down. Spoiler: The bottle wasn't ready.

I love aniseed a lot. I love the tingling in the mouth no homo.

Though anything home made is going to be good night haha.

My Uncle worked in Eritrea (spl?) and brought back this dodgy local spirit in a plain glass bottle that was like poison. He loved it. It made me psychopathic.

We used to have this Chinese maths teacher in high school called Mr Yang. He was supervising teacher at the school social one year and he just happened to live around the corner from the hall the event was held at. He invited a few of the lads back to his place for a nightcap and produced a bottle of this.....

images

The fellas said not only did it taste like shit, they only has a shot worth and it blew their ****ing heads off.

We used to have this Chinese maths teacher in high school called Mr Yang. He was supervising teacher at the school social one year and he just happened to live around the corner from the hall the event was held at. He invited a few of the lads back to his place for a nightcap and produced a....

A lot of stories have gone bad about this point.

Probably not designed to be done as a shot.

The first and only time I drank absinthe I lost 4 hours of my life and woke up with my head in a bucket of my own spew.

Has anyone else glugged any of this green abomination? Is it better when it's served with mint leaves and ice and sugar and all that fancy shit?

Can you buy this at Woolies?

Saw it on Heston last year. He tried it and he was whacked.

It's not bad, do want to smack some people around the head who say "i tripped balls on it", Very sweet for something thats over 60% as well, this is what gets a lot of people

It does have Thujone in it, However you would have to smash down at least two bottles of absinthe in quick succession for it to even have an effect on you. It all comes from the stuff being banned in the late 1800's and only really comming back 20 years ago. Not a whole lot of knowledge but a lot of old bullshit stories

We used to have this Chinese maths teacher in high school called Mr Yang. He was supervising teacher at the school social one year and he just happened to live around the corner from the hall the event was held at. He invited a few of the lads back to his place for a nightcap and produced a bottle of this.....

images

The fellas said not only did it taste like shit, they only has a shot worth and it blew their ******* heads off.
I had a sub maths teacher called mr yang too! Didn't seem like the type to do that stuff though

images

The fellas said not only did it taste like shit, they only has a shot worth and it blew their ******* heads off.

It's probably a chaser for this stuff -

baby-mice-wine.jpeg

I reckon Absinthe is a bit over-hyped, personally. I don't enjoy it enough to have had enough in one sitting to have suffered from its effects, though.

My worst hangover was after a friend's birthday when we got stuck into the Bacardi 151 shots. At 75.5%, you have to have a liver of titanium to be able to handle more than a couple of them- I had five, from memory. Not pretty the next day.

A good single malt does me just fine, though.

images

I came back from Vietnam only six weeks ago, and it's honestly not an exaggeration to say that snake and scorpion wine was sold in virtually every supermarket or market we came across.

Funny though about it blowing their heads off, perhaps the stuff your mates had is different to the stuff I had, because it wasn't that strong.

I live within 2kms of a genuine Absinthe bar which has around 70 different varieties with varying degrees of alcohol content. I love the drink, but it is not meant to be taken as a shot. This bar treats it as a ritual and is a fun cool little bar. I never have more than 2 though.

Where is this?