Absolutly gutted

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

Thats about as good as i can describe how i feel right now. Maybe its the effects of drinking for two days straight, but i think it has to do with the football result.

For a start if we had of won that game, we would not of deserved it. We played bloody pathetic for three quarters. Some of our players need a big reality check at where they are in their football careers at the moment. I hope Chad Cornes goes back to the SANFL for a few bloody weeks just to teach him a bloody lesson about playing with pride and putting in 100% all the time. He is the most gutless Show Pony ive seen play in a Port Adelaide Guernsey.

As for the game. If you look at teh final result...we did all we could do in the end...we kicked over 100 points again, but the final score didnt show near how much collingwood dominated.

This will be a big reality check for our guys.

A few problems about what happened tonight:

1) Why was bloody Paxman left on Tarrant for most of the night. The guy flogged him and Paxman was led to the ball 100% of the time

2) Chad Cornes is the worst kick in our side. He has had a shocker of a year and does not deserve to put on a Port Adelaide guernsey. He needs to look at himself very hard over the next week

3) Why didnt our playres man up at all in the first half?

4) Montgomery is lucky not to be crucified. 2 mistakes within 1 minute at the most crucial time in the game. first of all he got the ball ran forwrad and kicked it straight into the arms of nathan buckley, who was on his own and didnt have to move to take the mark. Second mistake - what the bloody hell was he trying to do handballing over the biggest player on the park? He had noone in front of him and could of run on, but no...lets handball it straight into the hands of Josh Fraser. ********wit.

5) Why was Lyle left on the field for so long in the last quarter with Dew - a potential match winner left on the bench.

6) Why wasnt Cornes dragged for making basic error after basic error, while Ackland was left on the bench for about 115 minutes of the game.

Port only had 3 winners for the night. Wanganeen played very very well up forward, kicking 5 goals and keeping us in teh game at times. He still is an inspirational on field leader. Nick Stevens had plenty of the ball. And Matty Primus won the ruck before going down.

I dont imnd losing, but id rather of lost by 6 goals than by 8 points like that. Its really annoying when you work yourself back into the game with a major chance of winning it and when 2 errors stuff it all up. Why bother at all. Only good thing is it saved our percentage.

It will be interesting to see how we lift with Primus out for a while. It will show if we are pretenders or the real deal.

The umpires bloody screwed us all night. Joffa...next time dont bring your own umpires :D

There was not one holding the ball paid all night i dont think. I cant remember one. Cornes took a grab and it was paid to the man behind him. Last time i checked the rule book the man in front gets paid the mark if both grab onto the ball. There was a deliberate against Paxman...while 3 times in the last 15 minutes collingwood players did the same thing but it wasnt paid. Primus gets taken out of a contest by 4 players, and primus gets the free kick against him.
In fact i almost feel as if they cost us the game. Ive only ever felt that once before against west coast in 98, and this was very very similar. Altho it really didnt cost us the game, the umpires were overly one sided all night.

Bloody Cornes...im sick of his crap. Pathetic. 1.5, how bloody weak. Not just that...he will chase, but will only go half pace...he does not put any pressure on his opponents...he doesnt tackle, he has the ********test kick in the side, id rather Lyle have a shot for goal.

The turning point i reckon was Darryl Wakelin going off the ground. When that happened collingwood piled on 6 straight goals i think. He was killing them down back in the first 20 minutes..was taking anything that came his way. As soon as he went off we were left without a spare tall man down back to manouvere around.

Anyway...well done collingwood, they were too fast, and too good and deserved the victory.

Collingwood /Port

Macca writes with such passion and clarity, His ball by ball recall is remarkable and it is refreshing to see such a a good critique of a football game by someone so young.

How difficult is it to sit in a crowd where some of the people are wearing old Port scarves(Magpies ) and realize they are going for another team..its such a wierd sensation.

The glamour boys were brought back to reality last night, it flattered them to get within 9 points at the final siren...

Macca summed it up....absolutely Gutted.....

PA1870

Originally posted by Macca19
There was not one holding the ball paid all night i dont think. I cant remember one

Agreed Macca...
I remember one been payed to Port but that was it. Its very annoying when umpires don't pay holding the ball. There were at least ten that both sides should of received.

The umpires bloody screwed us all night. Joffa...next time dont bring your own umpires :D

There was not one holding the ball paid all night i dont think. I cant remember one. Cornes took a grab and it was paid to the man behind him. Last time i checked the rule book the man in front gets paid the mark if both grab onto the ball. There was a deliberate against Paxman...while 3 times in the last 15 minutes collingwood players did the same thing but it wasnt paid.

If the Paxman one was when he stepped over the boundary it was absolutely the right decision. I can't recall seeing one so blatant in quite a while.

Re: Collingwood /Port

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870

How difficult is it to sit in a crowd where some of the people are wearing old Port scarves(Magpies ) and realize they are going for another team..its such a wierd sensation.

PA1870

Yes I imagine it would be. The real magpies won on the night. Perhaps the magpies in the SANFL will win or may already have to keep you happy.

I've just posted on another thread that I listened to the game on readio & enjoyed it. I then read Macca 19's appraisal of the game & wonder if I wasn't listening to something else. Did I miss something Or were the radio commentators wrong in their game description. The only real criticism I heard was the handball by Montgomerey to Josh Fraser in the last minutes of the game. I must pay more attention in future.

Montgomery had the right idea, there was a guy running that he tried to handpass too, and unfortunately for him/Port it didnt come off. He had the right idea, but ovbviously didnt go about it properly.

a bit harsh I think Macca (although you have the advantage of actually seeing the game....I could only listen on the radio).

If you look qtr by qtr:

We won the 1st half of the 1st qtr they won the 2nd - overall about even or just in our favour.

They killed us in the second qtr.

We won the first half of the 3rd....they won the 2nd - overall even

We won the last qtr.

Teams are going to play really well against us this year...none of them really have (except Ess) but they will. THe test is what we do when that happens. IMHO the lads did well to increase their intensity and get back into the game.

I also disagree on your comments on Cornes and Monty. We did not lose the game in the last 5 minutes. In my view we lost it in the last half of the 3rd quarter. Half way through the 3rd we were 14 points down, and Collingwood kicked the next 2. We needed to hold there and if possible kick those 2 goals ourselves. If we had gone into the last 1-2 goals down instead of 5 then I would have bet my house. As it stood, going in 5 down Collingwood really only needed to kick a couple in the last to win the game, and we needed to kick plenty which meant we had to really attack and therefore leave opportunities open on the rebound. Monty stuffed up but putting more emphasis on this as opposed to plenty of other errors made throughout the match is unfair.

I was pleased with Cornes's effort. As a fwd it is most important that you are getting the ball. If he had kicked 2 straight or even 3 no-one would complain...Instead he had 5 or 6 shots on goals and sometimes this will be 5-0 others 0-5 more often 2-3 or 3-2. I would prefer him to be inaccurate than not get the ball in the first place. I think he also hit the post on a couple of occasions. If they had been goals you would be calling him a matchwinner.

anyway.......

Collingwood deserved to win and they did. The result was right given the way the teams played on the night. But I was still pleased the Port's resolve.

ptw

Originally posted by CJ

It wasn't quite that close! You lost by 9! :D

So are the Bombers Dan :D [/B]

oh...Roger James booted the ball at the siren and it rolled in for a point...the umpire signalled it but it mustnt of been counted

Re: Re: Absolutly gutted

Originally posted by Dave

If the Paxman one was when he stepped over the boundary it was absolutely the right decision. I can't recall seeing one so blatant in quite a while.

Yup thats the one. With about 5 minutes to go Freeborn i think did exactly the same thing right in front of me and it wasnt paid. If they are gonna pay one that is obvious, pay the other 3 that our equally obvious as well

Originally posted by Mouldy Oldie
I've just posted on another thread that I listened to the game on readio & enjoyed it. I then read Macca 19's appraisal of the game & wonder if I wasn't listening to something else. Did I miss something Or were the radio commentators wrong in their game description. The only real criticism I heard was the handball by Montgomerey to Josh Fraser in the last minutes of the game. I must pay more attention in future.

Collingwood played bloody good footy all night, unbias commentators could see that. But from my point of view, Port played like crap and were behind the eight ball for most of the night, and only got in the game in the last quarter. Even tho Collingwood only won 1 quarter of football, the game was pretty one sided all night. Port had to work extremly hard to ge tthe ball forward clearly, whereas Collingwood did it time and time again with ease

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Please delist Chad Cornes - the other fifteen teams would be most grateful.

You're joking about slagging him, surely?

How many games have you seen him play?? Obviously not enough. People give Tredrea a lot of crap but praise Cornes to the moon and i think its ridiculous. Tredrea is twice the player Cornes would ever imagine to be. He is one of the most overrated players in the league. He doesnt run, he doesnt put in, he has NEVER been able to kick...even at glenelg his kicking was shocking. Its his style...he just doesnt have the power to kick the ball long, and he cant kick it straight.
Thats why in the first half of last year he was only ever playing half a game each game..its cos he wasnt putting any effort in and wasnt being accountable.
I can only remember him playing 2 very good games of football...that was bulldogs in 2000 when he kicked 5 goals, and bulldogs this year when he kicked 3 and was our main forward. All you need to do is look at his stats...they arent convincing for someone held so highly. For a tall forward, he only averages 3.7 marks per game in his career!!! Thats shocking for a tall forward. He only kicked goals in 10 games last year. He tends to look lost on the football field. If he doesnt get into it early, he will drop his head and is a blight on the team. He doesnt even average a goal a game.
For someone with a fair bit of potential, he hasnt shown much at this stage to prove how he can be in the team yet Lockwood is consistently left out.

There was not one holding the ball paid all night i dont think. I cant remember one. Cornes took a grab and it was paid to the man behind him. Last time i checked the rule book the man in front gets paid the mark if both grab onto the ball. There was a deliberate against Paxman...while 3 times in the last 15 minutes collingwood players did the same thing but it wasnt paid. Primus gets taken out of a contest by 4 players, and primus gets the free kick against him.
In fact i almost feel as if they cost us the game. Ive only ever felt that once before against west coast in 98, and this was very very similar. Altho it really didnt cost us the game, the umpires were overly one sided all night.

Just on the umpiring, i really don't agree with you consider these points :

-Paxman was holding onto and illegaly interfering with Tarrant all night and not once did Tarrant get a free when he clearly should have been.
-In that marking contest you mentioned, Jimmy Clement had more of the ball and clearly controlled it plus it was more of a side on contest.
-Primus was holding Frasers guersey in the ruck duels an awful lot, this was hard to pick up until it was shown in slow motion on the TV replays.
-Also Primus was lucky not to be called for holding the ball since on a number of occassions he tried to take on opponents and was tackled, yet not penalised.
-Another thing which pissed me off ate in the game was the amount times Port threw theball and the umpire didn't do a damm thing

I'm just over the moon we were able to dig deep and pull out a great victory against an in form side on their home ground. Once again Fraser, Tarrant and Lonie show us how good they are and give us a small sample of what they're going to be, they really are the future of the Collingwood FC. While Buckley and O'Bree were at their brilliant best, they received solid back up from the likes of Freeborn, Clement, Neon Davis, Prestigiacomo and Nick Davis.

Also anyone who was at the game can they tell us if the crowd was actually as quiet as they sounded on TV?

Someone should tell those Port fans they were at a football game and not a funeral.

Originally posted by Dan25
Bit annoyed are we? You're all playing for second spot anyway, so who cares:p :D

Yeah Hawthorn will be hard to beat this year :D
finger.gif

Re: Re: Absolutly gutted

Originally posted by Magpie-Fletch

Just on the umpiring, i really don't agree with you consider these points :

-Paxman was holding onto and illegaly interfering with Tarrant all night and not once did Tarrant get a free when he clearly should have been.
-In that marking contest you mentioned, Jimmy Clement had more of the ball and clearly controlled it plus it was more of a side on contest.
-Primus was holding Frasers guersey in the ruck duels an awful lot, this was hard to pick up until it was shown in slow motion on the TV replays.
-Also Primus was lucky not to be called for holding the ball since on a number of occassions he tried to take on opponents and was tackled, yet not penalised.
-Another thing which pissed me off ate in the game was the amount times Port threw theball and the umpire didn't do a damm thing

I'm just over the moon we were able to dig deep and pull out a great victory against an in form side on their home ground. Once again Fraser, Tarrant and Lonie show us how good they are and give us a small sample of what they're going to be, they really are the future of the Collingwood FC. While Buckley and O'Bree were at their brilliant best, they received solid back up from the likes of Freeborn, Clement, Neon Davis, Prestigiacomo and Nick Davis.

Also anyone who was at the game can they tell us if the crowd was actually as quiet as they sounded on TV?

Someone should tell those Port fans they were at a football game and not a funeral.

Buckley and Obree threw the ball right in front of me and it wasnt called. I found the umpiring to be very inept and one sided all night. When you pull the ball in and sit on it and dont try to get it out its called holding the ball, yet Collingwood seemed to be able to do that all night and get away with it.

Tarrant was fantastic, and im glad he decided to stick with football and not bloody surfing. Lonie kicked two great goals. I actually thought Fraser was thorughly beaten all night by primus. Primus had 42 hitouts compared to Frasers 13. Only really good thing Fraser did was the intercept and goal..but i guess thats good enough really

I was at the game and port lost because during the 1st half they put no pressure on and when they did have the ball they lairised and tried to beat too many collingwood players individually (Burgoyne probably the worst offender).

That said if Primus hadn't gone down we might have gotten up, as immediately after he went down his man (Rocca) took an uncontested mark in the pies forward line which resulted in an easy goal. Wakelin going down was another bad blow as he had been superb early on. This may augur for Bassett's reinclusion, because we never got our defensive balance back being one big man short down there.

The game was won simply because Collingwood consistently put on more pressure than Port did, and Port did not come to terms with it until the last quarter.

Hopefully it will act as a wakeup call but I am bitterly disappointed that we needed one, the best teams should play the same game week in/out, not relax and take it too easy when they kick the first couple.

Collingwood will need to look at their now consistent last quarter fadeouts, and Port needs some real pressure games to come to terms with this, Collingwood consistently had more players at the ball.

Umpiring was pretty bad, most notably Harvey, the rest were pretty un-noticed. The worst being paying a mark to the man behind on the outer side.

Cornes pressure on the opposition during the Ansett cup was good, but I think he is one of the ones that is leaving too much to other people. If it wasn't for the experience of Che and Wangas taking the hard consistent marks we would have lost by a lot more.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Has Stuart Dew gone AWOL ?
He's done nothing for 2 weeks.Maybe a lot people over rated him.:rolleyes:

Agreed JUBJUB, the new superstar, football sensation, has been really quiet recently, he has done the odd good thing but definitely not enough. Obviously not handling the tagger very well.

Originally posted by Port01

Umpiring was pretty bad, most notably Harvey, the rest were pretty un-noticed. The worst being paying a mark to the man behind on the outer side.

IMO the worst umpire in the AFL by a long shot.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Has Stuart Dew gone AWOL ?
He's done nothing for 2 weeks.Maybe a lot people over rated him.:rolleyes:

He hasn't quite gone AWOL. He managed to kick a goal straight out of his probverbial anal cavity late in the match to put the Teal Blues within a couple of points. As it went through he made one of those "stick-that-right-up-your-arse" type gestures to the Collingwood Cheer Squad, which was well-appreciated by Joffa, in particular.

I can tell you, it friggen hurt at the time. I thought we were gone. When you've got CCC grabbing everything that comes his way, Donuts Dewie kicking them out of his nether regions, and the 35,000 strong Teal Blue Army coming right out of the closet at the business end of proceedings, well ... put it this way ... I'm glad I packed a spare pair of undies.