Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

There was an interesting discussion on trade radio about how the modern midfielder has to be an elite runner who can not only run two ways, but can score goals. This is why Oliver is being shown the door at Melbourne, because he's a slow inside mid. He's an elite ball user and tackler, but the game has gone past those players now. This is why I think Marshall could leapfrog Levi, because Marshall is the prototype of a modern midfielder. Athletic, runs both ways, physical, and elite with his hands. If he can improve his decision making and become a goal scorer, he could really become an A grader. Levi has a lot more upside when you're going to attack the ball, but Marshall is more balanced and he's more athletic than Levi. This is why Marshall had arguably a better year than Levi in last years draft year, because his physical traits is what a modern AFL player should be.

This is also why Carlton are going after athletic players in the draft, and why St Kilda have asked Steele to leave and Sympkin is leaving north as well. If you're not an elite runner (or close to it) the game will leave you behind.

There was an interesting discussion on trade radio about how the modern midfielder has to be an elite runner who can not only run two ways, but can score goals. This is why Oliver is being shown the door at Melbourne, because he's a slow inside mid. He's an elite ball user and tackler, but the game has gone past those players now. This is why I think Marshall could leapfrog Levi, because Marshall is the prototype of a modern midfielder. Athletic, runs both ways, physical, and elite with his hands. If he can improve his decision making and become a goal scorer, he could really become an A grader. Levi has a lot more upside when you're going to attack the ball, but Marshall is more balanced and he's more athletic than Levi. This is why Marshall had arguably a better year than Levi in last years draft year, because his physical traits is what a modern AFL player should be.

This is also why Carlton are going after athletic players in the draft, and why St Kilda have asked Steele to leave and Sympkin is leaving north as well. If you're not an elite runner (or close to it) the game will leave you behind.
I think there’s a lot more other reasons to Oliver leaving Melbourne, he’s not an elite ball user either. Think you’re downplaying Levi’s draft year and rookie season that he played almost completely out of position.

I think Levi will surprise you when he gets more midfield time. He's not a natural winger, but managed to play a wing role for the whole season despite it not making the most of his strengths. When he moves into the middle more next year, he'll really start to shine. He's a great prototype midfielder. Wins clearances, tackles hard, runs both ways (like all young players will improve in this but work ethic is there) and is lethal on attack.

The fact we have all of Will, Levi, Jaspa, Sam and Dan is ridiculous. That is a well balanced, lethal midfield.

I think Levi will surprise you when he gets more midfield time. He's not a natural winger, but managed to play a wing role for the whole season despite it not making the most of his strengths. When he moves into the middle more next year, he'll really start to shine. He's a great prototype midfielder. Wins clearances, tackles hard, runs both ways (like all young players will improve in this but work ethic is there) and is lethal on attack.

The fact we have all of Will, Levi, Jaspa, Sam and Dan is ridiculous. That is a well balanced, lethal midfield.
Yeah in his limited minutes in the actual midfield I thought he was great. Lachie with less gametime is probably our best avenue to getting him in there but I think he’ll be elite once he moves in full time

Lachie the burst midfielder for the remainder of his career sounds good to me.

I have massive hopes for Levi and I can't wait to see him given more time in the midfield. His strengths and his upside is absolutely insane, especially on the attacking front. then you have Will, Sam, Dan, and Dunkley and maybe Jasper will come in as well. We have so much to look forward to from a midfielders pov.

Then Andrews, Payne & Doedee/Lester/Gardiner key backs + Allen, Morris and Gallop key forwards - that is an insane spine.

Throw in Hipwood later in the year as someone I foresee becoming a swingman and if fit we'll be a scary proposition.

And that's not even mentioning McCluggage, Dunkley, Neale etc etc either.

Page 40 of 'Academy Rorts' 😁
Glad I stumbled in here this arvo.
Don't want to count chickens or anything, but the future is looking extremely rosy

Page 40 of 'Academy Rorts' 😁
Glad I stumbled in here this arvo.
Don't want to count chickens or anything, but the future is looking extremely rosy
We’re amateurs. From the West Coast board, their list management thread #2..
IMG_4720.jpeg

Lachie the burst midfielder for the remainder of his career sounds good to me.

It's a shame sub is going away.

Would've been a lethal move putting Neale as a sub for few games in 2026. Cleanest ball winning mid showing up at half time when everyone is gassed and pretty much tearing the game apart would be a card Fagan would've played many times next season.

It's a shame sub is going away.

Would've been a lethal move putting Neale as a sub for few games in 2026. Cleanest ball winning mid showing up at half time when everyone is gassed and pretty much tearing the game apart would be a card Fagan would've played many times next season.
I wonder if it could be a tactic of some clubs to keep the 5th man on the bench really fresh and use him as an impact player.

You could bring him on at half-time like Lachie in the GF or in 10 minute bursts each quarter, plenty of room to manoeuvre in that area.

I wonder if it could be a tactic of some clubs to keep the 5th man on the bench really fresh and use him as an impact player.

You could bring him on at half-time like Lachie in the GF or in 10 minute bursts each quarter, plenty of room to manoeuvre in that area.

Was thinking the same - the 5th player on the bench could effectively be used as a sub.

As draft prospects based on me watching very small segments Id say ranking them would go: Will > Levi > Annable > Marshall.

I watched basically no junior footy of Jaspa so have no clue how I would rate them.

I know AFL recruiters who had Levi down as a better prospect than Will.

What a time to be alive.

I’m quite happy to keep on rorting for as long as the AFL will let us.

Jack Nicholson Yes GIF

Guess who has the longest highlights video.

Coming forward to intercept, release kicks out to wing to our players running forward, short kick in traffic on 45 hitting targets, forward handballing looks really good - are we sure he wasn't secretly playing out there for us already? Looks so readymade lol.

His kicking in the last 12 months has gone from being a genuine liability to being very serviceable.

He is a contested beast and finds the footy in traffic at will. Lions are so stacked, he will find it hard to get a run in 2026 - but if he does, I wouldn't be surprised if he goes straight in the middle and is the source to get the ball in the hands of Fletcher, Wilmot, Zorko etc.

He is a smaller version of Dunkley, and has similar character traits (can there be any higher praise?!)

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread