Academy v Father-Sons

No.

It undermines the level playing field which was the primary intention of the draft.

You only have to look at what has/is happening at Sydney. Do you reckon a free hit at Heeney and Mills would benefit essendon? They may as well incorporate an asterisk in to their logo.
We all want a level playing field.

But as long as the AFL maintains a Vic centric focus, clubs outside of Vic, especially those in non traditional afl states, will be at an inherent disadvantage.

The Northern clubs have one small concession, that gives them a minor advantage at draft time, and you (and Eddie) behave like it’s the end of the competition.

You aren’t even aware of all the rules in regards to drafting F/S and academy kids.

But as long as the AFL maintains a Vic centric focus, clubs outside of Vic, especially those in non traditional afl states, will be at an inherent disadvantage.

The Northern clubs have one small concession, that gives them a minor advantage at draft time, and you (and Eddie) behave like it’s the end of the competition.

You aren’t even aware of all the rules in regards to drafting F/S and academy kids.
If they were as Vic centric as you think they are, they would have intervened at Carlton years ago.

How many top 5 picks do you want? Carlton have had a number of top talent, is it the AFL's fault the development has been poor? Or how about that you trade your only decent KPF in Kennedy?

All the academy does is bridge the u18 developmental gap in the States, that is it. We still have to pay market price, and we will have to cough it up for Nick Blakely if he chooses us. I'd also have zero issue if he chooses North via the F/S. It is HIS decision.

Rubbish.

The Northern clubs have one small concession,

If you think that Isaac Heeney, Callum Mills, Harris Andrews, Jeremy Finlayson, Jacob Hopper, Matthew Kennedy, Eric Hipwood, Harrison Himmelberg, Ben Keays, Will Setterfield, Jack Bowes, Harry Perryman and Connor Ballendan are a "small concession, then you fair dinkum need your head read mate.

Nick Blakey, Bailey Scott, Matthew Walker, Tom Matthews, Caleb Graham, Cooper Portelli, Ben Kelly and James Peatling can all be added this year.

This is only going to grow year by year. Enjoy it while it lasts.

How many top 5 picks do you want? Carlton have had a number of top talent, is it the AFL's fault the development has been poor? Or how about that you trade your only decent KPF in Kennedy?

All the academy does is bridge the u18 developmental gap in the States, that is it. We still have to pay market price, and we will have to cough it up for Nick Blakey if he chooses us. I'd also have zero issue if he chooses North via the F/S. It is HIS decision.

Pfft, this is rich coming from you.

Are you referring to ACTUAL top 5 picks (i.e. Heeney & Mills), or only the top 5 picks that Carlton are allowed to choose?

Rubbish.

If you think that Isaac Heeney, Callum Mills, Harris Andrews, Jeremy Finlayson, Jacob Hopper, Matthew Kennedy, Eric Hipwood, Harrison Himmelberg, Ben Keays, Will Setterfield, Jack Bowes, Harry Perryman and Connor Ballendan are a "small concession, then you fair dinkum need your head read mate.

Nick Blakey, Bailey Scott, Matthew Walker, Tom Matthews, Caleb Graham, Cooper Portelli, Ben Kelly and James Peatling can all be added this year.

lol where were the bids from other clubs for Andrews?

I bet you didn’t even know that if you finish in the top 4 of the ladder, you’re not allowed to draft both Tarryn Thomas and Nick Blakey.

It’s up to other clubs to bid on academy kids, and then for academy clubs to match the bids.

We don’t get a free hit at them. We still have to bring them in through the draft.

We have to trade for enough draft picks to make sure we have the points to match other clubs bids.

In both 2015 & 2016 Melbourne bid on academy kids of ours, and we didn’t have the picks/points to match, so “lost” kids we spent 5+ years developing.

What about the other Himmelberg kid now at Adelaide? He spent time in both GWS’s & Brisbane’s Academies (because his parents moved states) but wasn’t eligible to either club. Free development for another team.

Swings & round abouts.

There’s a very good chance that Tom Matthews from Brisbane doesn’t get picked up in the national draft. He’s more like a rookie chance. At best.

Ballenden is genuinely a project. Looked good at juniors cause he was physically developed, but has the turning circle and lateral movement of the queen mary. There’s a reason he fell in the draft.

Still we had to match a bid with a draft pick. He didn’t just walk in to the club.

Rubbish.

We listed Finlayson at pick 85, unopposed. After investing in a scholarship for two years and giving academy assistance. We've invested 6 years in him while he overcame hip problems and developed 8nt9 an AFL player.

What the hell drives the sense of self entitlement that can lead you to think this isn't fair?

We listed Finlayson at pick 85, unopposed. After investing in a scholarship for two years and giving academy assistance. We've invested 6 years in him while he overcame hip problems and developed 8nt9 an AFL player.

Please cut the crap about the "we" in your "academy assistance".

It's all funded by the AFL.

What the hell drives the sense of self entitlement that can lead you to think this isn't fair?

Should Victorian clubs have priority on Victorian players because they were developed in the Victorian "academy's"? Of course not.

The entire concept of academy's undermines the integrity of the draft, and it is being utilised as an artificial prop for the Qld and NSW clubs.

Should Victorian clubs have priority on Victorian players because they were developed in the Victorian "academy's"? Of course not.

The entire concept of academy's undermines the integrity of the draft, and it is being utilised as an artificial prop for the Qld and NSW clubs.
Snake Vs AFL ?

The academy is not primarily funded by the AFL, except in your delusion.

You just want your club to sit on it's butt, do nothing, and have priority access to players developed by the Northern academies.

Incorrect. Its mostly done by our sponsors. As are all the Academies.

And yet youre all for the "traditional" advantages and benefits. Hmmmm

Its annoying how some traditionalists believe that clubs should have no invokvement in development but just come along and pick the best when it suits.

For a (Snakes words) true footy culture some of you traditionalists have no concept of grassroots.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Also will he fight the good fight in pointing out the leg up Victorian clubs get over WA/SA clubs in the academy rules? The clubs over there have n finally have made a submission to the AFL a few weeks ago in regards to this “leg up”

Im waiting for him to say that the West has no footy culture like he did for us.

Supposedly thats all the excuse needed.

Im waiting for him to say that the West has no footy culture like he did for us.

Supposedly thats all the excuse needed.

Bet he has no idea what I’m asking about?

BTW SB if your scrambling through google looking for it you will not find it. It has disappeared from the sight it was on. So relax n have a pie n Fanta.

Just had a gander at the North drafts and trading thread.

Theyve even turned that into an Academy whinge.

So they’ve finally started to complain about the advantage they have over the WA/SA clubs. Bravo!! Well done!! Now they only need to take the fight to the AFL.