Adam's 2016 Phantom Draft

University
I'm relatively new to the world of youth so I'll try my best at keeping up with the youngsters. This is my first of what I hope will be many draft boards on BF. I enjoy reading all of your draft threads also and take great interest and learn off of them and they all will influence my board here. I tend to keep up well with the TAC Cup but my knowledge of players from interstate leagues is pretty limited. I'll try my best.

Phantom Draft

---------------------------------------------------
Round 1

Pick 1: Essendon
Andrew McGrath | Inside Midfielder/Half-Back Flanker 179cm/75kg
Sandringham Dragons | VIC Metro
Comparison: Luke Hodge
Also consider: Hugh McCluggage

Rationale: Defensively, McGrath has the ability to lock down an opponent, while still offering intercept marking. His characteristic run and carry out of defence also allows for a quick transition from defense into attack. When in full flight, his pace and agility make him nearly impossible to catch, and his elite vision and excellent kicking make him extremely dangerous. Essendon's recruitng manager is reportedly very keen, and I think the Bombers may pull the trigger.

Pick 2: GWS Giants
Ben Ainsworth | Small Forward/Midfielder 179cm/74kg
Gippsland Power | VIC Country
Comparison: Luke Shuey
Also consider: Hugh McCluggage, Tim Taranto, Andrew McGrath

Rationale: Ainsworth is pure class in the forward half, with heaps of x-factor – one of the few types of player that GWS actually don’t have many of. He's publicly stated he's keen to be a Lion, which says he's happy to move interstate and I see him in the future as a full-time midfielder rather than the mid--sied forward which he may start out as at his new club. If McGrath is off the table, the Giants I believe will take Ainsworth.

Pick 3: Brisbane Lions
Hugh McCluggage | Balanced Midfielder 185cm/75kg
North Ballarat Rebels | VIC Country
Comparison: Gary Ablett Jr
Also consider: Ben Ainsworth

Rationale: McCluggage is the standout player in the draft to me after a brilliant season as a goal kicking midfielder. The Lions lack forward fire power in the middle, and such an amazing midfielder with such a large impact on the scoreboard is far too good to turn down.

Pick 4: Gold Coast
Tim Taranto | Balanced Midfielder 186cm/82kg
Comparison: Luke Parker
Also consider: Sam Petrevski-Seton, Will Brodie

Rationale: Without doubt one of the biggest bolters of the draft after a fantastic finals series for the Dragons. Taranto has a very exciting blend of inside midfield talent and scoreboard impact, and his overhead marking makes him a genuine forward 50 target. The Suns midfield needs an overhaul, and Taranto would fit in perfectly.

Pick 5: Carlton
Sam Petrevski-Seton | Outside Midfielder/Utility 180cm/73kg
Claremont | Western Australia
Comparison: Daniel Kerr
Also consider: Will Brodie, Ben Ainsworth

Rationale: SPS is an extremely classy winger with extreme acceleration and agility. The Blues could very well use his versatility, as he is very capable of swinging forward in a Cyril Rioli type mould and being a game-changing small forward with great accuracy, and also going down back in a Shaun Burgoyne type role. He's not exactly an accumulator but he is a high-impact per possession player similar to Cyril and when you throw in his evasiveness, tackling ability and the fact that he's capable on both feet; and he's a dead set gun. Carlton have been linked and he has revealed his desire to play for a Melbourne based club, and I don't think that's a coincidence. Another Western Australian should be headed to Carlton.

Pick 6: GWS Giants [Gold Coast bid]
Will Setterfield | Inside Midfielder 190cm/79kg
Sandringham Dragons/GWS Academy | New South Wales
Comparison: Marcus Bontempelli

Rationale: Another elite midfielder to come through the GWS academy. The Suns will have a crack, but the Giants will have no hesitation in matching. Setterfield is a classy, smooth moving ‘prototype’ midfielder that will slot seamlessly into AFL football. He might be the best player this year.

Pick 7: Gold Coast
William Brodie | Inside Midfielder 189cm/82kg
Murray Bushrangers | VIC Country
Comparison: David Mundy
Also consider: Sam Petrevski-Seton, Jack Scrimshaw

Rationale: Brodie is a big bodied, contested beast that ticks almost all of the boxes in terms of what Gold Coast need. He's a tall, ready-made gun, who can step into the team in round 1. There is a rumour saying he doesn't want to leave Victoria, but he'll certainly have some Vic company up there, and I think the Suns will take a punt.

Pick 8: Gold Coast [Fremantle bid matched]
Jack Bowes | Balanced Midfielder 187cm/76kg
Cairns/GC Academy | Queensland
Comparison: Scott Pendlebury

Rationale: The Suns won't be letting thus bad boy fall through. Bowes is a very clean and classy midfielder with the ability to evade opposition players and do something constructive with ball in hand. Amazing ground work could see him as a very reliable rover in the future. In my opinion, he's still a top 5 talent but being an academy boy, the Suns might be able to snaffle him a bit later.

Pick 9: Fremantle
Tim English | Ruckman 203cm/86kg
South Fremantle | Western Australia
Comparison: Dean Cox
Also consider: Will Brodie, Griffin Logue, Sam Petrevski-Seton, Jarrod Berry

Rationale: It’s not common to see a ruckman fall in the top ten these days, but English certainly deserves to be here. The former midfielder is one of the new breed of mobile ruckmen, matching quality ruck skills with the ability to impact around the ground. Good below his knees for his height, and has one of the best kicks in the draft. Freo need a successor to Sandilands, and in English they are set. I think the Dockers will have a shortlist of midfielders ahead of English, including Taranto, Brodie and SPS but I believe they'll all be gone so they'll then take the homegrown ruck talent.

Pick 10: Sydney Swans
Jy Simpkin | General Forward/Outside Midfielder 182cm/72kg
Comparison: Paul Chapman
Also consider: Griffin Logue, Jarrod Berry

Rationale: It's one of the shames of this year's draft that Simpkin was cut down by a broken leg. He was slated to play more midfield time this year before the injury, but at the moment is best seen as a small forward with spark, speed and great goal-sense. He brings some energy to a forward line. He's a bit of a light frame which is a weakness but it's nothing an AFL pre-season can't fix. I think the Swans will pounce as he's not only a forward but he's also capable on the outside, another of their needs.

Pick 11: Gold Coast
Will Hayward | General Forward 186cm/76kg
North Adelaide | South Australia
Comparison: James Sicily
Also consider: Oliver Florent, Jarrod Berry, Griffin Logue, Josh Battle

Rationale: Will Hayward is a late bolter and is expected to go in the first round, but I think we're in for a surprise and the Suns may pull the trigger early. He's a mid-sized marking forward with a great leap on him. The Suns need a stronger forward line and a medium marking forward such as Hayward would slot in very nicely with Wright and Lynch in the future.

Pick 12: North Melbourne
Oliver Florent | Outside Midfielder 182cm/70kg
Sandringham Dragons | VIC Country
Comparison: Andrew Gaff
Also consider: Griffen Logue, Tim English, Daniel Venables

Rationale: A really smooth, quick prospect who uses his running to propel himself through the midfield and across half-forward. He would be the perfect outside replacement for Brent Harvey and if available, I think the Roos must take him. He doesn't get too much of the ball like his comparisons, but his impact per possession is splendid.

Pick 13: GWS Giants [West Coast bid]
Harry Perryman | Balanced Midfielder 184cm/75kg
Collingullie/GWS Academy | New South Wales
Comparison: Taylor Adams

Rationale: A midfielder with incredible footy smarts that make his lack of footspeed irrelevant. GWS would have no hesitation in matching a bid.

Pick 14: West Coast
Sam Powell-Pepper | Balanced Midfielder/Utility 188cm/83kg
East Perth | Western Australia
Comparison: Dustin Martin
Also consider: Todd Marshall, Jack Scrimshaw

Rationale: An absolute bull of a player, Powell-Pepper has the body to play AFL footy immediately – and he's exactly what the Eagles need. West Coast will no doubt have been watching closely, and whilst some may see 14 as a reach, I have no doubt he'll be gone by their next selection and he basically ticks every single box on their needs list. They need ready to impact players to try and win a premiership, and SPP would be a ripping selection.

Pick 15: Adelaide
Daniel Venables | Balanced Midfielder/Forward 186cm/81kg
Western Jets | VIC Metro
Comparison: Jordan De Goey
Also consider: Jarrod Berry, Jy Simpkin, Sam Powell-Pepper, Jordan Gallucci

Rationale: It's very obvious the Crows need a mid here but which one is the question. Venables is a very hard working player who hits the scoreboard. He'll probably sit on the forward-flank early but soon enough, he'll be lining up in the centre. The Crows need pace and versatility, and Venables offers that and I reckon they'll take the Western Jet here.

Pick 16: Port Adelaide
Jack Scrimshaw | General Defender 193cm/80kg
Comparison: Jasper Pittard
Also consider: Josh Battle, Will Hayward, Jarrod Berry

Rationale: Injuries have limited Scrimshaw's footy so far, but he excelled this year when used as a rebounding half-back and also in the forward line. Personally, I'm not that big on him because his kicking isn't amazing for his hype but tall defenders who can drive the ball from the back line are very crucial to a good team and I understand the want. The Power could go best available here, as there are a number of players who could bolster their side.

Pick 17: Brisbane Lions
Jarrod Berry | Utility 191cm/80kg
Comparison: Zach Merrett
Also consider: Alex Witherden, Josh Battle, Jordan Gallucci

Rationale: Jarrod Berry is well known for his leadership traits but what I like about him most is his contested ball winning ability, which terrific for a guy of his height and position. He's incredibly versatile and played off the forward flank late in the year and looked decent there also. He puts his body on the line week in, week out and he is an ideal pick-up for a club with poor leaders. He could be a future captain at Brisbane. The Lions are building a nice cult of Vic Country boys and even hired a former development coach, so if available I reckon Berry will be straight into the team.

Pick 18: Port Adelaide
Josh Battle | Tall Forward 194cm/90kg
Dandenong Stingrays | VIC Country
Comparison: Jack Gunston
Also consider: Todd Marshall, Jarrod Berry, Alex Witherden

Rationale: Battle was one of the selected few to attend draft night which means even 18 could be a bit of a slide. He's a ripping forward who still has some growth left, and could be a star 2nd forward alongside Charlie Dixon for the Power.

Pick 19: Western Bulldogs
Todd Marshall | Key Forward 198cm/87kg
Murray Bushrangers | New South Wales
Comparison: Josh J. Kennedy
Also consider: Josh Rotham, Alex Witherden, Jordan Ridley

Rationale: Personally, I’m not as big on Todd Marshall as others although I still see why clubs and recruiters are liking him. He has fantastic endurance and agility for his size which allows him to also follow up with second efforts and ground ball gets very efficiently. He is a project player and sin't ready for senior footy yet so that must be noted. The general consensus is that the Bulldogs will select him if still on the board, which to me is a likely scenario. He can come in as a full-timer when Cloke leaves in two years time.

End Of 1st Round Priority Pick

Pick 20: Sydney Swans
Griffin Logue | Key Defender 193cm/92kg
Swan Districts | Western Australia
Comparison: Phil Davis
Also consider: Oliver Florent, Jack Scrimshaw

Rationale: Sydney traded their way up the draft for a reason, and while many have speculated that it could have been for Jack Scrimshaw, they won’t be disappointed with Logue. He's an elite athlete. Seen as a modern day mobile key defender, Logue is a strong contested mark and has a penetrating left boot. With Sydney low on stocks at the back, he’d fit in perfectly. He might even be seen as a tall midfielder, how he played with the Swans this year.

Round 2

Pick 21: Essendon
Jordan Gallucci | Balanced Midfielder/Small Forward 183cm/75kg
Eastern Ranges | VIC Metro
Comparison: Toby Greene
Also consider: Daniel Venables, Sam Powell-Pepper

Rationale: Best available. They reckon he's one of the players shortlisted to attend draft night, so there's a chance even Gold Coast, North or Adelaide take a punt. He's classy and a hard worker. He'll fit nicely on the Bombers' forward flank if he gets through to them. He's very skillful with ball in hand, and he'll excite fans wherever he goes.

Pick 22: Gold Coast [Brisbane Lions bid]
Brad Scheer | Inside Midfielder 184cm/83kg
Palm Beach/GC Adacemy | Queensland
Comparison: Dom Tyson,

Rationale: The Suns won't let this bull of an inside mid slip through, as long as a bid comes after the first round. They'll be happy to go into deficit in 2017. Brisbane's bid comes for the reasoning of a homegrown QLD boy, and this is a possibility.

Pick 23: Brisbane Lions
Alex Witherden | General Defender 186cm/80kg
Geelong Falcons | VIC Country
Comparison: Zach Tuohy, Sam Docherty (sorry Lions fans)
Also consider: Shai Bolton, Jy Simpkin, Jordan Gallucci

Rationale: They reckon if he hadn't been injured for most of the year, he would have played as a balanced midfielder type. He's a beautiful kick of the pill when rebounding off the back flank, and he's one of several Vic Country boys I expect the Lions will invest in. Will slot in nicely.

Pick 24: Brisbane Lions
Dylan Clarke | Inside Midfielder 187cm/85kg
Eastern Ranges | VIC Country
Comparison: Jack Ziebell
Also consider: Shai Bolton, Jy Simpkin, Jordan Gallucci

Rationale: Best available. I think after taking an array of different talents, the Lions just need a pure inside midfielder, especially if Rocky and Brisbane will part ways in 2017. He's the younger brother of North's Ryan, but quite a different player. He's a bit one-dimensional and incapable elsewhere, but his positioning in the middle is magnficent and his stoppage and contested work is immense also.

Pick 25: St Kilda
Cedric Cox | Small Defender/Outside Midfielder 184cm/70kg
North Ballarat Rebels
Comparison: Adam Saad, Chris Yarran

Rationale: He's come out of nowhere late in the year, but he could still even go in the first round. He will be a fan favourite, you can guarantee that. He is a real class player and would fit nicely on the wing or back flank for the Saints.

Pick 26: Geelong
Brennan Cox | Key Defender 194cm/90kg
Woodville West-Torrents | South Australia
Comparison: Jack Hombsch
Also consider: Josh Battle, Patrick Kerr, Jordan Ridley

Rationale: It's simple: The Cats must take a key-position player. Cox's defensive work is top notch, he loves a spoil or a smother and he has a nice kick from the back line. Tom Lonergan doesn't have forever, and the Cats need to act.

Pick 27: Carlton
Patrick Kerr | Key Forward 194cm/93kg
Oakleigh Chargers | VIC Metro
Comparison: Tom Hawkins, Patrick McCartin
Also consider: Josh Battle, Shai Bolton, Jordan Gallucci, Dylan Clarke

Rationale: Can clunk a mark and he's a decent set shot at goal. I though orginally that the Blues might hold off until 2017 to draft another key forward but the public romance with the Kerr family and Carlton leads me to believe they'll draft him. I think Charlie Curnow is a tall mid rather than a forward, and Kerr and McKay they'll hope can lead the forward line.

Pick 28: Brisbane Lions [Western Bulldogs bid]
Jacob Allison | Utility 194cm/79kg
Aspley/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland
Comparison: Aaron Francis

Rationale: A bit of a forgotten man, Allison came into top 5 calculations early this year. Presuming no bid falls in the first round, the Lions should match. I'll quote Chris25 here because it's spot on:
A 194cm midfielder with elite speed and a long kick won't last too long.

Pick 29: Western Bulldogs
Josh Rotham | Tall Defender/Half-Back Flanker 192cm/75kg
West Perth | Western Australia
Comparison: Matthew Broadbent
Also consider: Cedric Cox, Luke Ryan

Rationale: Even though he has played most of the past couple of years as a third tall defender, Rotham might end up more of a wingman/midfield option given his extreme pace and line-breaking ability. I think that the Dogs will aim at their ageing back line here, as fellas like Bob Murphy and Dale Morris are visibly getting on. Rotham is one I rate very highly and he would slot in well in the young culture they have at the kennel.

Pick 30: Richmond
Sam Walker | General Defender 187cm/80kg
Glenelg | South Australia'
Comparison: Zach Williams
Also consider: Josh Begley, Jack Maibaum, Brennan Cox

Rationale: A nice intercept marker to better the Tigers' back line. He is strong in the contest, and is great at transitioning the ball from the back 50 forward. He was also one of the best kickers at the NAB combine back in October.

Pick 31: GWS Giants [Collingwood bid]
Harrison Macreadie | Key Defender 196cm/89kg
Henty/GWS Academy | New South Wales
Comparison: Ben Reid

Rationale: Due to the thin inconsistent stocks at GWS, and the retirement of Joel Patfull; I can't see the club passing on the 196cm beast who was rated as one of the best going into 2016.

Pick 32: Collingwood
Jordan Ridley | Tall Defender 192cm/79kg
Comparison: Kade Kolodjashnij
Also consider: Brennan Cox, Josh Rotham, Willem Drew

Rationale: The Magpies have a good record of going left-wing and taking an outsider and they are known to have a good relationship with the Oakleigh Chargers. He's not quite a key defender, but he has a solid kick from defense and he's very versatile and could be very capable as a forward or tall mid.

Pick 33: Essendon
Shai Bolton | Small Forward/Outside Midfielder
Comparison: Steven Motlop

Rationale: Whispers read that Bolton wants to play only in WA, and that could scare possible suitors off. But the draft is all about risks, and Essendon will have faith in themselves as a big club to lock down all interstate talents. Best available selection here sees the WA boy get picked up as a ball-winning goal sneak. His potential is sky high, really.

Pick 34: Port Adelaide
Brandan Parfitt | Balanced Midfielder 179cm/78kg
North Adelaide | Northern Territory
Comparison: James Aish

Rationale: A smooth, classy mover in the middle who gets the ball could really contribute to a redeveloping Port Adelaide midfield. I think he is a very good chance to go here.

Pick 35: Port Adelaide
Willem Drew | Inside Midfielder 188cm/78kg
Comparison: Patrick Cripps

Rationale: I think the Power could use a strong ball winner in their midfield, and William is that. He wins the hard ball and is quick to distribute it if needed. His kicking isn't amazing but that's one of his very few flaws. His clearance work is splendid.

Pick 36: Collingwood [North Melbourne bid]
Callum Brown | Balanced Midfielder 177cm/69kg
Comparison: Lewis Taylor

Rationale: Son of Collingwood legend Gavin Brown. The Magpies won't pass him up, especially if his pick falls after their first selection.

Pick 37: GWS Giants [North Melbourne bid]
Isaac Cumming | General Defender 184cm/74kg
North Broken Hill/GWS Academy | New South Wales
Comparison: Brayden Maynard

Rationale: Very composed, smooth moving defender who I believe will be picked up by the Giants if they miss out on Andy McGrath earlier.

Pick 38: North Melbourne [Giants don't match bid]
Kobe Mutch | Balanced Midfielder 187cm/84kg
Bendigo Pioneers/GWS Academy | New South Wales
Comparison: Steele Sidebottom

Rationale: Well balanced midfielder who is capable both inside and out. He wins a lot of contested ball for a guy who played mostly outside this year, and this guy might be one for the Giants to forget.

Pick 39: North Melbourne
Jack Maibaum | Key Defender 192cm/91kg
Eastern Ranges | VIC Country
Comparison: Jonathan Marsh

Rationale: Strong marking key defender to fix up North's defensive woes following the movingpon of Michael Firrito.

Pick 40: West Coast
Luke Ryan | General Defender 185cm/87kg
Coburg
Comparison: Michael Hibberd

Rationale: Ryan is the best mature-ager this draft by a long way. He'll slide into the Eagles' back flank very nicely I reckon with his class and accurate kicking. Best available selection here.

Pick 41: Fremantle
Joseph Atley | Inside Midfielder 186cm/84kg
Bendigo Pioneers | VIC Country
Comparison: Mitch Robinson

Rationale: A mid-sized inside midfielder would be very helpful for Fremantle here. David Mundy doesn't have forever, and whilst Jo might be a bit undersized for that comparison; I can see him building the rig necessary to become a gun midfielder.

Pick 42: St Kilda
Joshua Begley | Outside Midfielder/Medium Forward 187cm/94kg
Comparison: Alex Fasolo

Rationale: Outside midfielder with a lot of forward scope. I think he'd make out as a solid mid-sized forward supporting the likes of McCartin, Bruce and Membrey.

Pick 43: GWS Giants [Geelong bid]
Zachary Sproule | Key Forward/Key Defender 197cm/87kg
Murray Bushrangers/GWS Giants | New South Wales
Comparison: Harry Taylor

Rationale: Very capable swingman who can pinch it at both ends. I think the Giants will likely continue to use him as a key defender in the event of a matched pick, which I think is likely.

Pick 44: Geelong
Jack Graham | Inside Midfielder 180cm/81kg
Comparison: Luke Dunstan

Rationale: Ready to go inside midfielder who can play in round one and complement the likes of Selwood, Danger and Menegola. His ball use is his only flaw in my opinion, which I believe the Cats will be happy to help with.

Pick 45: Fremantle
Quinton Narkle | Small Forward/Balanced Midfielder 181cm/82kg
Perth | Western Australia
Comparison: Jarman Impey

Rationale: The Dockers will be very happy to take this exciting young boy after falling short on SPS. Can be a solid replacement for the likely departing Ballantyne.

Round 3

Pick 46: Essendon
Jonty Scharenberg | Inside Midfielder 186cm/80kg
Glenelg | South Australia
Comparison: Levi Greenwood

Rationale: I'm not that big on Jonty because his kicking is below average, but his clearance and inside work is splendid and would add to the Bombers' weak list of inside mids very nicely. Can kick a goal or two also.

Pick 47: Geelong
Bailey Morrish | Outside Midfielder/General Defender 186cm/76kg
Comparison: Alan Toovey

Rationale: A defender who does the dirty work. He has a very good boot on him and his size is also very good for his type. I think he could go as early as around 25.

Pick 48: Adelaide
Myles Poholke | Medium Forward/Inside Midfielder 184cm/84kg
Dandenong Stringrays | VIC Country
Comparison: Darcy Parish

Rationale: A very classy ball user on the inside with contested winning traits and some very quick legs on him. From what I've seen, I'm a fan but I haven't hard much of him all year, so he could possibly go later.

Pick 49: Sydney Swans
Zac Fisher | Inside Midfielder 175cm/61kg
Comparison: Caleb Daniel

Rationale: Best available selection. He is undersized for senior football at the moment, but can fix that in an AFL system. Following the loss of Tom Mitchell, I think Sydney will look for the next best inside midfielder and Fisher is that at this point.

Pick 50: West Coast [Melbourne bid]
Jake Waterman | General Forward 191cm/82kg
Comparison: Kyle Langford

Rationale: The son of former Eagle Chris Waterman, Jake is set to be join West Coast, and they will use their 3rd round selection. Jake is a mid-sized marking forward who will add a heap of depth to the Eagles' forward line.

Pick 51: Melbourne
Oscar Junker | Utility 191cm/84kg
Western Jets | VIC Metro
Comparison: Aaron Francis

Rationale: Loves a contest. Oscar is very versatile and can pinch it both back and forward. His height also enables him to win a lot of air balls in the midfield, with his good set of hands. I'm a big fan of him and I think he could be a big success in the seniors.

Pick 52: Collingwood [Carlton bid]
Joshua Daicos | Small Forward/Outside Midfielder 178cm/69kg
Comparison: Josh Hill

Rationale: The son of the Macedonian Marvel, Peter, will be a Magpie next year without doubt. Josh is a clever small forward with outside midfield traits also. If he can become half as good as his father was, the Pies should be stoked.

Pick 53: Carlton
Corey Lyons | Inside Midfielder 182cm/78kg
Comparison: Jarryd Lyons

Rationale: A quality inside midfielder with a mix of grunt and class, to add to a Blues midfield on the rise. Expect a best available midfield selection here.

Pick 54: Sydney Swans
Harry Morrison | General Defender 182cm/73kg
Comparison: Michael Hibberd

Rationale: A real solid defensive unit with good ball use. Can pinch it in the midfield also on the wing. The Swans might look towards the best available here, and Morrison is quality.

Pick 55: Western Bulldogs
Ben Long | Utility 184cm/71kg
Footscray | NT Thunder
Comparison: Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti

Rationale: Played for Footscray VFL this year so will be very familiar with his surroundings immediately. I expect he;ll be a Bulldog in 2017 as long as someone doesn't pinch him before them.

Pick 56: Adelaide
Ben Ronke | Outside Midfielder 181cm/76kg
Calder Cannons
Comparison: Robbie Gray

Rationale: Very quick outside midfielder to add quality on the wing for the Crows. Could have been drafted this year but had a solid season with the Cannons.

Pick 57: Richmond
Mitch McCarthy | Key Utility 196cm/93kg
Dandeong Stingrays | VIC Country
Comparison: Darcy Moore

Rationale: Great ground work for such a tall unit. He's capable at both ends and could probably get a few taps in the ruck also. He's a project player and probably not ready for senior football, but the risk is small and the possible reward is huge. Might be a bolter on draft night.

great job adam, love your proposed selections for the lions SPS and parfitt before the academy boys, very much agree with you that we need outside class and x factor type players. wouldn't mind the player you put straight after our pick 20 ie j.simpkin either.

love reading views on players from our BF PT experts, have really been impressed by the write ups zac fisher has been getting, your thoughts on him?

great job adam, love your proposed selections for the lions SPS and parfitt before the academy boys, very much agree with you that we need outside class and x factor type players. wouldn't mind the player you put straight after our pick 20 ie j.simpkin either.

love reading views on players from our BF PT experts, have really been impressed by the write ups zac fisher has been getting, your thoughts on him?
Can't say I know too much of Zac Fisher tbh just know he's a talented inside midfielder.

Thanks for the feedback though.

With McCluggage available I would rather him than SPS he has everything the Lions need outside class and inside hardness goalkicking midfielder pace
Fair enough. McCluggage is more of a ready made player also and there is a great chance he goes to Brisbane. Reminds me of Voss in the way he dominates games and he looks like a good leader :thumbsu:

Pick 4: Fremantle

I do believe the Dockers will coup up a ready-made key forward this off-season with the likes of Kersten, McCarthy and Casboult all available, so I think they'll go tall and try and confirm their spot with the top ruckman for the next 10 years, as they have in the last (WCE fans don't hurt me). English looks like the prefect long-term replacement for Sandilands but also is a guy who will get more involved in general play. He has absolutely rocketed up draft nuts' rankings in the last couple of months and I believe Freo will very closely watch this homegrown gun as the year progresses.

images.jpeg
JKS

From the few games i have seen, english's tap work needs a lot of work. He could play second fiddle to griffen for a while. For some reason i rekon he might end up as a KPP that can chop out in the ruck.

Pick 14: West Coast [GWS don't match bid)

Another GWS academy boy whom I reckon will go early, and this time despite all of the picks built up, I believe they'll pass on this one should he go this early. Eagles need to keep building their midfield and I believe Mutch is a brilliant player. Knightmare has likened him to Steele Sidebottom; not too bad of a comparison.

What we need is more contested ball winners. Sidebottom is an outside mid. We already have enough off them. The issue at hand is the lack of quality inside mids we have.

I do believe the Dockers will coup up a ready-made key forward this off-season with the likes of Kersten, McCarthy and Casboult all available, so I think they'll go tall and try and confirm their spot with the top ruckman for the next 10 years, as they have in the last (WCE fans don't hurt me). English looks like the prefect long-term replacement for Sandilands but also is a guy who will get more involved in general play. He has absolutely rocketed up draft nuts' rankings in the last couple of months and I believe Freo will very closely watch this homegrown gun as the year progresses.

View attachment 271706
JKS

From the few games i have seen, english's tap work needs a lot of work. He could play second fiddle to griffen for a while. For some reason i rekon he might end up as a KPP that can chop out in the ruck.

Another GWS academy boy whom I reckon will go early, and this time despite all of the picks built up, I believe they'll pass on this one should he go this early. Eagles need to keep building their midfield and I believe Mutch is a brilliant player. Knightmare has likened him to Steele Sidebottom; not too bad of a comparison.

What we need is more contested ball winners. Sidebottom is an outside mid. We already have enough off them. The issue at hand is the lack of quality inside mids we have.
In terms of Inside Mids we'd be looking at Scharenberg, Drew, Atley and Graham who all seem more than capable of bolstering our midfield in a year or two. Are we too late to pick up prime midfield talent but too early so we're reaching? We could end up picking best available. I reckon we'd be hoping to gain as much ground in the second round as possible due to the flatness of the draft up top. ROYAL EAGLE thoughts?

Yeah getting waterman is also an issue. We need to build our kpp stocks as well for the next few years. Maybe we can get a third rounder for lamb(if he leaves) and use that and our third rounder for a second rounder.

Yeah Waterman looks like 2nd/3rd round territory now. In terms of KPP we'd be looking at Guelfi and Luke Strnadica (both possible 2nd/3rd rounders), but like Allen and McInness we'd have to give them time and opportunity. The problem we seem to be having at WAFL level is not being able to play our guys in the right positions because of WAFL players filling them and an inexperienced coach. I think this is stunting their development. Partington was playing SANFL seniors but isnt having much of an impact at the Royals this year.

Dont rate mcinnis tbh. I admit to overhyping him before but he is built like an ox and should be dominanating wafl.

Great effort. The 2 that I noticed in the phantom draft were McCluggage and McGrath. Dont think theres a hope in hell McCluggage doesn't go 1/2 and McGrath sliding out of top ten also. Wouldnt be surprised if he goes top 5

Dont rate mcinnis tbh. I admit to overhyping him before but he is built like an ox and should be dominanating wafl.
Agree, neither do I, he looks like Tarzan but plays like Jane. He should be dominating but isnt - id be interested to know if hes playing out of position. He might be good for a club looking for a cheap KPP to play and develop.

I'm relatively new to the world of youth so I'll try my best at keeping up with the youngsters. This is my first of what I hope will be many draft boards on BF. I enjoy reading all of your draft threads also and take great interest and learn off of them and they all will influence my board here. I tend to keep up well with the TAC CUP but my knowledge of players from interstate leagues is pretty limited. I'll try my best.

(I already made a phantom draft this year but I'll leave that behind, and start this as it's more developed and I'll try to come up with my own reasoning and such)

Phantom Draft

Round 1

Pick 1: Gold Coast [Essendon bid matched]

The saviour for the Suns, and it's not only Suns fans who can't wait for him to get on the field. Didn't have the best Division 1 carnival but that shouldn't impact his selection too much, he has been marvelous at NEAFL level, and is a guaranteed star in my books.

Pick 2: Essendon

Quite commonly referred to as the "safest" selection available this year, and I think the Bombers will go straight up and take the best available. Bombers to redevelop their ageing midfield with the inside beast that is Will Brodie who is ready to step into the side almost immediately. Very good contested player and is a shoe-in for a top 5 selection.

Some have compared him to Daniel Kerr, some to Cyril Rioli. Who cares which one he's more like? Either one would be perfect. The Lions are desperate for some outside class and should look past the flight risk that has hurt them in the past and bid on the fact that he grew up a Lions fan. Mostly plays as a midfielder, but certainly capable of a being a little goal-sneak and has even played periods on the back-flank in a Shaun Burgoyne type role. Was hard to split McCluggage and SPS here, went for the classier one.

Whilst the Blues need to bolster their inside midfield numbers, I feel the numbers of those were too much to pass down selecting one further on. Not too many small forwards look as good to go as Ainsworth does already and he gives the Blues that extra touch of class in the forward line should they draft him, I could definitely see him eventually be worked back into the midfield as his career progresses, in a Patrick Dangerfield type swing (No pressure, Ben). Is a good marker for his height and I think he'll go pretty early.

Pick 6: GWS Giants [Richmond bid]

Ugh one pick before an open selection. I highly doubt the Giants would pass on him. I like him, he looks like the kind of fella who can swing off HBF and work the midfield. I haven't seen too much of him but from what I've read, he's a big deal.

Pick 7: Richmond
Hugh McCluggage | Outside Midfielder 185cm/75kg

I think they could select Todd Marshall if he's still lying around, otherwise they'll go with the best available midfielder. Very capable of going forward and scoring, but overall he's just a sensational midfielder. If his name is still lying around here I'd strongly expect Richmond to pounce. I think they'll be keen for ready-made footballers rather than projects like Marshall, and a great young mid will be top of the list,

Pick 8: GWS Giants [St Kilda bid]

I do believe he was injured during the carnival, however from what I've read he is still very highly regarded. Great height and could be a big midfield force. Giants won't miss out on including him in their super team.

Pick 9: St Kilda
Daniel Venables | General Midfielder/Forward 186cm/81kg
Western Jets/VIC Metro

Very hard working player that impacts the scoreboard. As some say, he's not yet a full-time midfielder but wit ha bit of work he'll be a very good player. Could be a suitable replacement for Montagna in the long run.

Pick 10: Port Adelaide

A key forward is a must at Port as I don't think they have the faith to insert Butcher in the long-term seat to replace Schulz. Several clubs will look at him, but I expect the Power to pick him up presuming he lands in front of them. Still learning the game but will more likely than not play games in his first season, and is visibly the most talented key forward of the pool. 198cm is much taller than a lot of key defenders, and he should slot in very well next to Charlie Dixon.

Pick 11: Gold Coast (pick pushed back due to Bowes - approximate downgrade, too lazy to certify)
Jack Scrimshaw | Medium Defender 193cm/80kg

It's hard to pinpoint where the Suns will go here but with the two academy guns on their way, I expect them to fix up their defensive issues. Scrimshaw has been a recent bolter and looks like a potential top 10 candidate and is playing very well with Vic Metro. Beautiful kick of the footy and I don't think the Suns could go very wrong with selecting him here.

Jordan Gallucci | Inside Midfielder 83cm/75kg
Eastern Ranges/VIC Metro

I rate him pretty highly and think he will go relatively early. He's been playing very well for Eastern Ranges and that should push him up the ladder.

Pick 13: Western Bulldogs
Josh Rotham | Key Defender/Half-Back Flanker 192cm/75kg

I think that the Dogs will aim at their ageing midfield, as fellas like Bob Murphy and Dale Morris are visibly getting on. Rotham is one I rate very highly and he would slot in well with the young culture they have at the kennel. He's pretty light to be a KPD a the moment IMO and his best work for the moment is as a rebounding defender.

Good ball winning midfielder with pinpoint accuracy, and North would be smart to take him if available. I can't say I watch him as much as I should, but I'm definitely going to fix that. Some would say he'll go top 10 but I've found it hard to slot him in there, unless GC or Port Adelaide take a punt. Richmond also likely to loom.

Pick 16: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]

Whilst his year has been underwhelming, he's still the best key defender out there in my eyes. The Giants key defensive stocks are probably the weakest in their team, and I reckon he'll be the #1 priority to match, presuming Caleb Marchbank does indeed move back to Victoria. He is a good kick of the footy and has terrific marking ability, and his height is terrific.

Pick 17: Sydney Swans

The other standout key defender is Logue and I see the Swans jumping on him if still available due to their ageing key defensive stocks. Fantastic height and weight and a bright talent. Good lock-down defender as stated on other phantom drafts and I don't think the Swans would regret selecting him.

Pick 18: Hawthorn
Jonty Scharenberg | Inside Midfielder 185cm/77kg

Brother of Matthew with hopefully more stable knees. Contested ball winning machine and personally, my favourite player in the draft. Looks like a very suitable replacement for Sam Mitchell, as the Hawks look to keep developing their ageing midfield.

------------------------------------------------------------
Round 2

Pick 19: Essendon
Tim Taranto | Balanced Midfielder/Medium Forward 186cm/82kg

Played across the forward flank in the carnivals and impressed. Very capable inside or outside and hits the scoreboard regularly. I think the Bombers should definitely hit him up if available or a player of his mould.

Pick 20: Brisbane Lions
Brandan Parfitt | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 179cm/78kg
Nightcliff | Northern Territory

Another classy outfit who could sit nicely on the Lions forward pocket or push up the ground and be a nice winger. I haven't seen too much of him but I've read quite a bit and believe he'll go pretty well on draft night.

Pick 21: Gold Coast
Jy Simpkin | General Forward 182cm/72kg

He's a bit of a light frame but I think he'll still go early-ish despite the breaking of his leg earlier in the year. The Suns are a great attacking team already but he could bolster it even more as the Suns move into the next era. Great talent when fit.

Pick 22: Gold Coast
Alex Villis | Outside Midfielder 182cm/70kg
Norwood | South Australia

The Suns could use a bit more on the outside and I think Villis could go around here, judging by what other people think. He's one prospect I know close to nothing about admittedly.

Pick 23: Gold Coast [Carlton bid]
Palm Beach/GC Academy | Queensland

A bit strangely, I think he's a chance at being naturally drafted with no bid, as the Suns won't have too many points on their side from here on. The Suns' midfield will be on a whole new level next season, as Bowes and Scheer are basically ready to step straight into the side. He's featured numerous times in the bests in the NEAFL for the reserves, and is a fine prospect.

Pick 24: Carlton
William Drew | Inside Midfielder 188cm/78kg
North Ballarat Rebels/VIC Country

Blues need some toughness inside and Drew provides that immediately. Would be a great pick-up for the Blues if still available.

Pick 25: Collingwood
Josh Battle | Key Forward 192cm/90kg

Josh Battle is one of the best key forwards in this years draft lot and due to the inconsistency of Travis Cloke, I can see Collingwood going tall and Battle could play as a support forward to Darcy Moore in the future. Nice clean pair of hands and looks like a good shot at goal.

Pick 26: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]

Started the year as a top 5 talent but hasn't had a starring year but I don't think the Lions will mind that as he should still be a very good talent on the back-flank as a rebounding player for the club.

Pick 27: Melbourne
Jack Maibaum | Key Defender 193cm/90kg

The Dees' key defensive stocks look a bit shallow and I think they'll go tall here. I don't know too much about him but he went pretty well for the Metro in nationals and could end up being a first round prospect. Dunn is getting on and I don't believe Frost is particularly up to the challenge as a defender.

Pick 28: North Melbourne

Bendigo Pioneers | Vic Country

The Roos to rebuild their team with youth and will start with a touch of goodwill by drafting Shaun's younger brother.

Great young key forward, the Dogs will be planning the future of their forward line very soon I reckon due to the stalling of Tom Boyd's development. Pat Kerr is coming along very well.

Pick 30: Gold Coast (approximate downgrade due to Scheer match)
Jack Graham | Inside Midfielder/General Defender 183cm/83kg

Highly rated defensive midfielder who could go as early at the first round. The Suns will continue to build their young midfield I suspect.

Pick 31: GWS [West Coast bid]
Connor Byrne | Inside Midfielder 182cm/76kg
Wagga Tigers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Pick 32: West Coast
Sam Powell-Pepper | Inside Midfielder/Utility 186cm/83kg

Pick 33: Geelong

Very efficient user off half-back and despite his broken leg earlier this year, I expect Geelong to dip into their backyard yet again and select the talented back flankler.

Pick 34: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]
Zachary Sproule | Key Forward 197cm/87kg

Pick 35: Sydney Swans
Shai Bolton | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/67kg

Pick 36: Collingwood [Hawthorn bid]
Callum Brown | Inside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/69kg

Pick 37: Hawthorn [GWS bid not matched]
Ryan Garthwaite | Key Defender 192cm/84kg
Murray Bushrangers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

A bit of a surprise here and I think the Hawks will go for the athletic GWS academy boy. He could be a long term project but the Hawks have proved they are absolute experts at them and I have their full faith in succeeding him.

-------------------------------------------------------
Round 3

Pick 38: Essendon
Steven Slimming | Medium Defender/Outside Midfielder 182cm/73kg
Sturt | South Australia

Pick 39: Geelong
Peter Ladhams | Ruckman 202cm/95kg

Pick 40: Fremantle
Luke Strnadica | Key Forward 199cm/93kg
East Fremantle | Western Australia

Pick 41: Gold Coast
Darcy Cameron | Ruckman 204cm/104kg
Claremont

Pick 42: Carlton

Pick 43: Richmond

Pick 44: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]

Jack Rolls | Inside Midfielder 183cm/74kg
Redlands/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland

Pick 45: Collingwood [approximate downgrade due to Brown selection)

Oliver Florent | Outside Midfielder

Pick 46: St Kilda

Jamie Hamtpon | Inside Midfielder
186cm/78kg
Pioneer | Northern Territory

Pick 47: Port Adelaide

Sam Walker | Medium Defender 187cm/80kg

Pick 48: Carlton
Luke Ryan | Medium Defender 185cm/82kg
Coburg

Pick 49: Brisbane Lions [Approximate downgrade due to Rolls selection)
Jeremy Goddard | Ruckman 202cm/101kg

Pick 50: West Coast

Pick 51: Collingwood [Adelaide bid]
Josh Daicos | Small Forward 178cm/69kg

Pick 52: Adelaide
Liam Ryan | General Forward/Balanced Midfielder
Subiaco

Pick 53: Brisbane Lions [Geelong bid]
Declan Watson | Key Defender 194cm/80kg

Pick 54: Geelong
Tom Stewart | Key Defender 190cm/90kg

Pick 55: Sydney Swans
Reece Piper | Small Defender 177cm/75kg

Pick 56: Hawthorn
Jordan Sweet | Ruckman 202cm/98kg

Great effort mate :)

New update includes a few switch-ups in the first round, including McCluggage and SPS to new homes. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me as I do take in and research every reply that comes in, and you'll find that most of the changes have come from posters' ideas.

I'm relatively new to the world of youth so I'll try my best at keeping up with the youngsters. This is my first of what I hope will be many draft boards on BF. I enjoy reading all of your draft threads also and take great interest and learn off of them and they all will influence my board here. I tend to keep up well with the TAC CUP but my knowledge of players from interstate leagues is pretty limited. I'll try my best.

(I already made a phantom draft this year but I'll leave that behind, and start this as it's more developed and I'll try to come up with my own reasoning and such)

Phantom Draft

Round 1

Pick 1: Essendon

Quite commonly referred to as the "safest" selection available this year, and I think the Bombers will go straight up and take the best available. Bombers to redevelop their ageing midfield with the inside beast that is Will Brodie who is ready to step into the side almost immediately. Very good contested player and is a shoe-in for a top 5 selection. The attempt the Bombers made to have Brodie play for their VFL team earlier in the year is the reason why I think they're keen and they will select him.

Pick 2: Gold Coast [Brisbane Lions bid matched]

The saviour for the Suns, and it's not only Suns fans who can't wait for him to get on the field. Didn't have the best Division 1 carnival but that shouldn't impact his selection too much, he has been marvelous at NEAFL level, and is a guaranteed star in my books.

Hugh McCluggage | Outside Midfielder 185cm/75kg

There are several players I considered for Brisbane including McGrath and SPS, but I think they'll go with the best available midfielder. Very capable of going forward and scoring, but overall he's just a sensational midfielder. Fantastic young prodigy who is ready to step into the team right away and deliver that x-factor that Brisbane oh so need. Plays prominently outside but is very capable inside and he reminds me of Michael Voss in the way he just dominates games at his current level and he looks like a future leader. Playing very well in nationals and if he's not the first open selection in the draft, he'll likely be the 2nd.

Some have compared him to Daniel Kerr, some to Cyril Rioli. Who cares which one he's more like? Either one would be incredible. The Dockers I believe will go for him if available, being Western Australian and being a classy winger that they could certainly use. He'll bring supporters through the gates. Mostly plays as a midfielder, but certainly capable of a being a little goal-sneak and has even played periods on the back-flank in a Shaun Burgoyne type role.

Whilst the Blues need to bolster their inside midfield numbers, I feel the numbers of those were too much to pass down selecting one further on. Not too many small forwards look as good to go as Ainsworth does already and he gives the Blues that extra touch of class in the forward line should they draft him, I could definitely see him eventually be worked back into the midfield as his career progresses, in a Patrick Dangerfield type swing (No pressure, Ben). Is a good marker for his height and I think he'll go pretty early.

Pick 6: GWS Giants [Richmond bid]

Ugh one pick before an open selection. I highly doubt the Giants would pass on him. I like him, he looks like the kind of fella who can swing off HBF and work the midfield. I haven't seen too much of him but from what I've read, he's a big deal.

Pick 7: Richmond

Good ball winning midfielder with pinpoint accuracy, and Richmond would be smart to take him. Terrific line breaking back-flanker with pinpoint accuracy and able to split open opponents' midfields and drive the ball forward. Perfect player for the Tigers to draft as they will look to rebuild their side.

Pick 8: GWS Giants [St Kilda bid]

I do believe he was injured during the carnival, however from what I've read he is still very highly regarded. Great height and could be a big midfield force. Giants won't miss out on including him in their super team.

Pick 9: St Kilda
Daniel Venables | Balanced Midfielder/Forward 186cm/81kg
Western Jets | VIC Metro

Very hard working player that impacts the scoreboard. As some say, he's not yet a full-time midfielder but wit ha bit of work he'll be a very good player. Could be a suitable replacement for Montagna in the long run.

Pick 10: Port Adelaide

A key forward is a must at Port as I don't think they have the faith to insert Butcher in the long-term seat to replace Schulz. Several clubs will look at him, but I expect the Power to pick him up presuming he lands in front of them. Still learning the game but will more likely than not play games in his first season, and is visibly the most talented key forward of the pool. 198cm is much taller than a lot of key defenders, and he should slot in very well next to Charlie Dixon.

Pick 11: Gold Coast (pick pushed back due to Bowes - approximate downgrade, too lazy to certify)
Jack Scrimshaw | Medium Defender 193cm/80kg

It's hard to pinpoint where the Suns will go here but with the two academy guns on their way, I expect them to fix up their defensive issues. Scrimshaw has been a recent bolter and looks like a potential top 10 candidate and is playing very well with Vic Metro. Beautiful kick of the footy and I don't think the Suns could go very wrong with selecting him here.

Jordan Gallucci | Inside Midfielder 83cm/75kg
Eastern Ranges/VIC Metro

I rate him pretty highly and think he will go relatively early. He's been playing very well for Eastern Ranges and that should push him up the ladder.

Pick 13: Western Bulldogs
Josh Rotham | Key Defender/Half-Back Flanker 192cm/75kg

I think that the Dogs will aim at their ageing midfield, as fellas like Bob Murphy and Dale Morris are visibly getting on. Rotham is one I rate very highly and he would slot in well with the young culture they have at the kennel. He's pretty light to be a KPD a the moment IMO and his best work for the moment is as a rebounding defender.

Pick 14: West Coast
Jonty Scharenberg | Inside Midfielder 185cm/77kg

Brother of Matthew with hopefully more stable knees. Contested ball winning machine and personally, my favourite player in the draft. Looks like a very suitable replacement for Matt Priddis in the long run as the Eagles' look to end a several-year long run of average drafts and steady their ship.

Sam Jacobs is getting on and has been affected by injury recently, and they don't have sufficient replacements. I can certainly see them going tall with the West Australian talent and setting up their ruck division for the best of 10+ years. He has absolutely rocketed up draft nuts' rankings in the last couple of months and I believe the Crows will very closely watch this gun. Some believe he could be a top 5 selection but rucks usually don't go that early.

Pick 16: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]

Whilst his year has been underwhelming, he's still the best key defender out there in my eyes. The Giants key defensive stocks are probably the weakest in their team, and I reckon he'll be the #1 priority to match, presuming Caleb Marchbank does indeed move back to Victoria. He is a good kick of the footy and has terrific marking ability, and his height is terrific.

Pick 17: Sydney Swans

The other standout key defender is Logue and I see the Swans jumping on him if still available due to their ageing key defensive stocks. Fantastic height and weight and a bright talent. Good lock-down defender as stated on other phantom drafts and I don't think the Swans would regret selecting him.

Pick 18: Hawthorn
Alex Villis | Outside Midfielder 182cm/70kg

I think the Hawks will be preparing for life without Brad Hill and will go for a nice outside midfielder in Alex Villis. He's one prospect I know close to nothing about admittedly, but he is playing regularly for Norwood and his write-ups have been very positive.

Round 2

Pick 19: Essendon
Tim Taranto | Balanced Midfielder/Medium Forward 186cm/82kg

Played across the forward flank in the carnivals and impressed. Very capable inside or outside and hits the scoreboard regularly. I think the Bombers should definitely hit him up if available or a player of his mould.

Pick 20: Brisbane Lions
Brandan Parfitt | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 179cm/78kg
Nightcliff | Northern Territory

Another classy outfit who could sit nicely on the Lions forward pocket or push up the ground and be a nice winger. I haven't seen too much of him but I've read quite a bit and believe he'll go pretty well on draft night.

Pick 21: Gold Coast [GWS don't match bid]

Another GWS academy boy whom I rrate really highly and could/should go earlier, but this time despite all of the picks built up, I believe they'll pass on this one should he go this early. The Suns need to keep building their midfield and I believe Mutch is a brilliant player. Knightmare has likened him to Steele Sidebottom; not too bad of a comparison. Capable of both inside but I think plays his best outside. Should be a very good player, another one of my personal favourites.

Pick 22: Gold Coast
Jy Simpkin | General Forward 182cm/72kg

He's a bit of a light frame but I think he'll still go early-ish despite the breaking of his leg earlier in the year. The Suns are a great attacking team already but he could bolster it even more as the Suns move into the next era. Great talent when fit.

Pick 23: Gold Coast [Carlton bid]
Palm Beach/GC Academy | Queensland

A bit strangely, I think he's a chance at being naturally drafted with no bid, as the Suns won't have too many points on their side from here on. The Suns' midfield will be on a whole new level next season, as Bowes and Scheer are basically ready to step straight into the side. He's featured numerous times in the bests in the NEAFL for the reserves, and is a fine prospect.

Pick 24: Carlton

He has flown up the rankins recently and is regarded now as one of the best inside mids on offer this year. By November, he could easily be in the first round as he just looks like that natural type who can step into any side right away. The Blues need to continue to inject their side with talented youth, and Fisher will certainly help achieve that goal.

Pick 25: Collingwood
Josh Battle | Key Forward 192cm/90kg

Josh Battle is one of the best key forwards in this years draft lot and due to the inconsistency of Travis Cloke, I can see Collingwood going tall and Battle could play as a support forward to Darcy Moore in the future. Nice clean pair of hands and looks like a good shot at goal.

Pick 26: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]

Started the year as a top 5 talent but hasn't had a starring year but I don't think the Lions will mind that as he should still be a very good talent on the back-flank as a rebounding player for the club.

Pick 27: Melbourne
Jack Maibaum | Key Defender 193cm/90kg

The Dees' key defensive stocks look a bit shallow and I think they'll go tall here. I don't know too much about him but he went pretty well for the Metro in nationals and could end up being a first round prospect. Dunn is getting on and I don't believe Frost is particularly up to the challenge as a defender.

Pick 28: North Melbourne
Shai Bolton | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/67kg

Bendigo Pioneers | Vic Country

Pick 30: Gold Coast (approximate downgrade due to Scheer match)
Jack Graham | Inside Midfielder/General Defender 183cm/83kg

Highly rated defensive midfielder who could go as early at the first round. The Suns will continue to build their young midfield I suspect.

Pick 31: GWS [West Coast bid]
Connor Byrne | Inside Midfielder 182cm/76kg
Wagga Tigers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Pick 32: West Coast
Sam Powell-Pepper | Inside Midfielder/Utility 186cm/83kg

Pick 33: Geelong

Very efficient user off half-back and despite his broken leg earlier this year, I expect Geelong to dip into their backyard yet again and select the talented back flankler.

Pick 34: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]
Zachary Sproule | Key Forward 197cm/87kg

Pick 35: Sydney Swans

Pick 36: Collingwood [Hawthorn bid]
Callum Brown | Inside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/69kg

Pick 37: Hawthorn
William Drew | Inside Midfielder 188cm/78kg
North Ballarat Rebels/VIC Country

Round 3

Pick 38: Essendon
Steven Slimming | Medium Defender/Outside Midfielder 182cm/73kg
Sturt | South Australia

Pick 39: Geelong
Oliver Florent | Outside Midfielder

Pick 40: Fremantle
Jarrod Berry | Medium Defender 191cm/80kg

Absolute gun but I've struggled to find him a home higher up. He's been pushing to spend a bit more time forward this year if the chance presented and he took his opportunity, showing his flexibility, marking strength and physicality.

Pick 41: Gold Coast
Darcy Cameron | Ruckman 204cm/104kg
Claremont

Pick 42: Carlton

Pick 43: Richmond [GWS don't match bid]

Ryan Garthwaite | Key Defender 192cm/84kg
Murray Bushrangers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Pick 44: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]

Jack Rolls | Inside Midfielder 183cm/74kg
Redlands/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland

Pick 45: Melbourne
Jamie Hamtpon | Inside Midfielder 186cm/78kg
Pioneer | Northern Territory

Pick 46: Collingwood [approximate downgrade due to Brown selection)

Myles Poholke | Medium Forward/Inside Midfielder 184cm/84kg

Pick 47: St Kilda

Luke Bunker | Inside Midfielder 185cm/78kg
Northern Knights | VIC Metro

Pick 48: Port Adelaide

Sam Walker | Medium Defender 187cm/80kg

Pick 49: Carlton
Luke Ryan | Medium Defender 185cm/82kg
Coburg

Pick 50: Brisbane Lions [Approximate downgrade due to Rolls selection)
Jeremy Goddard | Ruckman 202cm/101kg

Pick 51: West Coast

Pick 52: Collingwood [Adelaide bid]
Josh Daicos | Small Forward 178cm/69kg

Pick 53: Adelaide
Matt Guelfi | Inside Midfielder 184cm/78kg

Pick 54: Brisbane Lions [Geelong bid]
Declan Watson | Key Defender 194cm/80kg

Pick 55: Geelong
Tom Stewart | Key Defender 190cm/90kg

Pick 56: Sydney Swans
Reece Piper | Small Defender 177cm/75kg

Pick 57: Hawthorn
Jordan Sweet | Ruckman 202cm/98kg

Who your team ends up with:
Adelaide: Tim English (RUCK), Matt Guelfi (IM)
Brisbane Lions: Hugh McCluggage (OM), Brandan Parfitt (OM/SF), Jacob Allison (U), Jack Rolls (IM), Jeremy Goddard (RUCK), Declan Watson (KPD)
Carlton: Ben Ainsworth (SF/M), Zac Fisher (IM), Dylan Clarke (IM), Luke Ryan (MD)
Collingwood: Josh Battle (KPF), Callum Brown (IM/SF), Myles Poholke (MF/IM), Josh Daicos (SF)
Essendon: Will Brodie (IM), Tim Taranto (BM/MF), Steven Slimming (MD/OM)
Fremantle: Sam Petrevski-Seton (OM/Utility), Jarrod Barry (MD)
Geelong: Alex Witherden (GD), Oliver Florent (OM), Tom Stewart (KPD)
Gold Coast: Jack Bowes (BM), Jack Scrimshaw (MD), Kobe Mutch (BM), Jy Simpkin (GF), Brad Scheer (IM), Jack Graham (IM/GD), Darcy Cameron (RUCK)
GWS Giants: Harry Perryman (BM), Will Setterfield (IM), Harrison Macreadie (KPD), Zachary Sproule (KPF)
Hawthorn: Alex Villis (OM), William Drew (IM), Jordan Sweet (RUCK)
Melbourne: Jack Maibaum (KPD), Jamie Hampton (OM)
North Melbourne: Jordan Gallucci (IM), Shai Bolton (OM/SF)
Port Adelaide: Todd Marshall (KPF), Sam Walker (MD)
Richmond: Andrew McGrath (IM/HBF), Ryan Garthwaite (KPD)
St Kilda: Daniel Venables (BM/GF), Luke Bunker (IM)
Sydney Swans: Griffin Logue (KPD), Patrick Kerr (KPF), Reece Piper (SD)
West Coast: Jonty Scharenberg (IM), Sam Powell-Pepper (IM/U), Jake Waterman (GF)
Western Bulldogs: Josh Rotham (KPD/HBF), Joseph Atley (IM),

RUCK = Ruckman | IM = Inside Midfielder | OM = Outside Midfielder | BM = Balanced Midfielder | M = Midfielder | U = Utility | KPF = Key Forward | KPD = Key Defender | SM = Small Forward | SD = Small Defender | MF = Medium Forward | MD = Medium Defender | GF = General Forward | GD = General Defender | HBF = Half-Back Flanker
That's a great job , well done

Nice draft but the 'run of average drafts' for WC line is surely a bit of a troll? Haha.

I don't mean to derail the thread but you haven't exactly been the most successful. Sheed is great = good selection. Duggan is struggling but too early to tell. Barrass = gun. What other youngsters get a game?

If the Pies could get Battle at 25 and then pick up the F/S boys I'd be over the moon. Still not convinced Battle will drop outside the first round though.
I won't deny the bias factor, but I'm still pretty firm on other clubs having other focuses before key forwards. Essendon's 2nd and Carlton's 2nd picks are the ones to be scared of I reckon. It'd be great to upgrade to around 15.

I don't mean to derail the thread but you haven't exactly been the most successful. Sheed is great = good selection. Duggan is struggling but too early to tell. Barrass = gun. What other youngsters get a game?
Nelson is getting games but hard to break into a defensive ste up thats solid. His now being developed as a mid but will take time. He wont be a star but a good player nonethe less. Cole is doing extremely well at east perth playing defence. Was emergency about 6 or 7 times before his debut but once again all our small/mid size defenders have been good.

2013: Sheed and Barrass
2014: Duggan, Nelson and hopefully Waterman
2015: traded out of it to an extent and had Cole already debut. Too early to call but surely can't be considered a bad draft?

If you can nab two best 22 from each draft I'd say you're doing pretty well. But yes, won't derail the thread just disagreed.

EDIT: Duggan has been given games he isn't ready for and is thus a bit out of his depth. But he does have the attributes and internally the club is stoked with him.

I agree with this as it will be hard to go past the best available so early in the draft which is why I'd like us to trade for another pick into the first round to grab a Venables or Scrimshaw. It might even be feasible to trade pick 5 for two bites of the cherry in the first round! Could Scrimshaw develop into a Bontempelli type?

I see you have us taking Fisher over Battle. If we were to go for Clarke or Powell-Pepper (or both somehow) later in the draft I would be more than happy with us to go for Battle in the 2nd round. Yes we have addressed key position stocks last year but there's no certainty they will be all hits. It seems a good idea to trade for a pick around the 30-40 mark because it looks like there's some serious midfield talent there! A lot of options to go about our recruiting this year but it's nice to read a phantom draft like this to layout some possibilities, thank you for that!

I feel wce haven't nailed a draft comprehensively since 2010.

Gaff (#4) gun
Darling (#26) gun
Lycett (#29) developing into a great ruck combo with NN
Brennan(F/S) delisted too early
Wilson(PSD) excellent foots kills but was a tweener
Mcgovern(rookie) absolute gun
Hamp(rookie) goes good in the WAFL but can't win every pick

This years draft given the depth could be the draft that WCE needs to turn it around. Also the possible free hits at waterman, Sumich and matera