Adam's 2016 Phantom Draft

I feel wce haven't nailed a draft comprehensively since 2010.

Gaff (#4) gun
Darling (#26) gun
Lycett (#29) developing into a great ruck combo with NN
Brennan(F/S) delisted too early
Wilson(PSD) excellent foots kills but was a tweener
Mcgovern(rookie) absolute gun
Hamp(rookie) goes good in the WAFL but can't win every pick

This years draft given the depth could be the draft that WCE needs to turn it around. Also the possible free hits at waterman, Sumich and matera
we haven't had an amazing draft like this in a while but since simpsons got here. 2013 and 2014 both have talent that look promising. Barrass and sheed in 2013 are looking like guns and karpany is finally showing bit of glimpses. Duggan and Nelson have showed heaps as well. Duggans having the second year blues but last year he showed heaps. Yes it would be awesome to have a great draft like 2010 draft but having 2 great picks in a draft is still a good result. in 2010 we picked 3 of the 4 great picks, within the first 30 picks. we will be lucky to have three top 30 picks in the coming years.

I'm relatively new to the world of youth so I'll try my best at keeping up with the youngsters. This is my first of what I hope will be many draft boards on BF. I enjoy reading all of your draft threads also and take great interest and learn off of them and they all will influence my board here. I tend to keep up well with the TAC CUP but my knowledge of players from interstate leagues is pretty limited. I'll try my best.

(I already made a phantom draft this year but I'll leave that behind, and start this as it's more developed and I'll try to come up with my own reasoning and such)

Phantom Draft

---------------------------------------------------
Round 1
---------------------------------------------------

Pick 1: Essendon
William Brodie | Inside Midfielder 189cm/82kg
Murray Bushrangers | VIC Country

Quite commonly referred to as the "safest" selection available this year, and I think the Bombers will go straight up and take the best available. Bombers to redevelop their ageing midfield with the inside beast that is Will Brodie who is ready to step into the side almost immediately. Very good contested player and is a shoe-in for a top 5 selection. The attempt the Bombers made to have Brodie play for their VFL team earlier in the year is the reason why I think they're keen and they will select him.

Pick 2: Gold Coast [Brisbane Lions bid matched]
Jack Bowes | Balanced Midfielder 187cm/76kg
Cairns/GC Academy | Queensland

The saviour for the Suns, and it's not only Suns fans who can't wait for him to get on the field. Didn't have the best Division 1 carnival but that shouldn't impact his selection too much, he has been marvelous at NEAFL level, and is a guaranteed star in my books.

Pick 3: Brisbane Lions
Hugh McCluggage | Outside Midfielder 185cm/75kg
North Ballarat Rebels | VIC Country

There are several players I considered for Brisbane including McGrath and SPS, but I think they'll go with the best available midfielder. Very capable of going forward and scoring, but overall he's just a sensational midfielder. Fantastic young prodigy who is ready to step into the team right away and deliver that x-factor that Brisbane oh so need. Plays prominently outside but is very capable inside and he reminds me of Michael Voss in the way he just dominates games at his current level and he looks like a future leader. Playing very well in nationals and if he's not the first open selection in the draft, he'll likely be the 2nd.

Pick 4: Fremantle
Sam Petrevski-Seton | Outside Midfielder/Utility 180cm/73kg
Claremont | Western Australia

Some have compared him to Daniel Kerr, some to Cyril Rioli. Who cares which one he's more like? Either one would be incredible. The Dockers I believe will go for him if available, being Western Australian and being a classy winger that they could certainly use. He'll bring supporters through the gates. Mostly plays as a midfielder, but certainly capable of a being a little goal-sneak and has even played periods on the back-flank in a Shaun Burgoyne type role.

Pick 5: Carlton
Ben Ainsworth | Small Forward/Midfielder 179cm/74kg
Gippsland Power | VIC Country

Whilst the Blues need to bolster their inside midfield numbers, I feel the numbers of those were far too many to pass down selecting one further on. Not too many small forwards look as good to go as Ainsworth does already and he gives the Blues that extra touch of class in the forward line should they draft him, I could definitely see him eventually be worked back into the midfield as his career progresses, in a Patrick Dangerfield type swing (No pressure, Ben). Is a good marker for his height and I think he'll go pretty early.

Pick 6: GWS Giants [Richmond bid]
Harry Perryman | Balanced Midfielder 184cm/75kg
Collingullie/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Ugh one pick before an open selection. I highly doubt the Giants would pass on him. I like him, he looks like the kind of fella who can swing off HBF and work the midfield. I haven't seen too much of him but from what I've read, he's a big deal.

Pick 7: Richmond
Andrew McGrath | Inside Midfielder/Half-Back Flanker 179cm/75kg
Sandringham Dragons | VIC Metro

Good ball winning midfielder with pinpoint accuracy, and Richmond would be smart to take him. Terrific line breaking back-flanker with pinpoint accuracy and able to split open opponents' midfields and drive the ball forward. Perfect player for the Tigers to draft as they will look to rebuild their side.

Pick 8: GWS Giants [St Kilda bid]
Will Setterfield | Inside Midfielder 190cm/79kg
Sandringham Dragons/GWS Academy | New South Wales

I do believe he was injured during the carnival, however from what I've read he is still very highly regarded. Great height and could be a big midfield force. Giants won't miss out on including him in their super team.

Pick 9: Port Adelaide
Todd Marshall | Key Forward 198cm/87kg
Murray Bushrangers | New South Wales

A key forward is a must at Port as I don't think they have the faith to insert Butcher in the long-term seat to replace Schulz. Several clubs will look at him, but I expect the Power to pick him up presuming he lands in front of them. Still learning the game but will more likely than not play games in his first season, and is visibly the most talented key forward of the pool. 198cm is much taller than a lot of key defenders, and he should slot in very well next to Charlie Dixon.

Pick 10: St Kilda
Daniel Venables | Balanced Midfielder/Forward 186cm/81kg
Western Jets | VIC Metro

Very hard working player that impacts the scoreboard. As some say, he's not yet a full-time midfielder but with a bit of work he'll be a very good player. Could be a suitable replacement for Montagna in the long run.

Pick 11: Gold Coast (pick pushed back due to Bowes - approximate downgrade, too lazy to certify)
Jack Scrimshaw | Medium Defender 193cm/80kg

It's hard to pinpoint where the Suns will go here but with the two academy guns on their way, I expect them to fix up their defensive issues. Scrimshaw has been a recent bolter and looks like a potential top 10 candidate and is playing very well with Vic Metro. Beautiful kick of the footy and I don't think the Suns could go very wrong with selecting him here.

Pick 12: North Melbourne
Jordan Gallucci | Inside Midfielder 83cm/75kg
Eastern Ranges/VIC Metro

I rate him pretty highly and think he will go relatively early. He's been playing very well for Eastern Ranges and that should push him up the ladder.

Pick 13: Western Bulldogs
Josh Rotham | Key Defender/Half-Back Flanker 192cm/75kg
West Perth | Western Australia

I think that the Dogs will aim at their ageing back line, as fellas like Bob Murphy and Dale Morris are visibly getting on. Rotham is one I rate very highly and he would slot in well with the young culture they have at the kennel. He's pretty light to be a KPD a the moment IMO and his best work for the moment is as a rebounding defender.

Pick 14: West Coast
Jonty Scharenberg | Inside Midfielder 185cm/77kg
Glenelg | South Australia

Brother of Matthew with hopefully more stable knees. Contested ball winning machine and personally, my favourite player in the draft. Looks like a very suitable replacement for Matt Priddis in the long run as the Eagles' look to end a several-year long run of average drafts and steady their ship.

Pick 15: Hawthorn
Alex Witherden | General Defender 186cm/80kg
Geelong Falcons | VIC Country

Very efficient user off half-back and despite his broken leg earlier this year, I reckon the Hawks will attempt another risk/reward type similar to Burton's selection last year.

Pick 16: Adelaide
Tim English | Ruckman 203cm/86kg
South Fremantle | Western Australia

Sam Jacobs is getting on and has been affected by injury recently, and they don't have sufficient replacements. I can certainly see them going tall with the West Australian talent and setting up their ruck division for the best of 10+ years. He has absolutely rocketed up draft nuts' rankings in the last couple of months and I believe the Crows will very closely watch this gun. Some believe he could be a top 5 selection but rucks usually don't go that early.

Pick 17: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]
Harrison Macreadie | Key Defender 196cm/89kg
Henty/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Whilst his year has been underwhelming, he's still the best key defender out there in my eyes. The Giants key defensive stocks are probably the weakest in their team, and I reckon he'll be the #1 priority to match, presuming Caleb Marchbank does indeed move back to Victoria. He is a good kick of the footy and has terrific marking ability, and his height is terrific.

Pick 18: Sydney Swans
Josh Battle | Key Forward 192cm/90kg
Dandenong Stingrays | VIC Country

Josh Battle is one of the best key forwards in this years draft lot and due to the lack of talls in the Swans' forward half, I can see Sydney going tall and Battle could play as a support forward to Lance Franklin in the future. Nice clean pair of hands and is a great shot at goal.

------------------------------------------------------------
Round 2
------------------------------------------------------------

Pick 19: Essendon
Tim Taranto | Balanced Midfielder/Medium Forward 186cm/82kg

Played across the forward flank in the carnivals and impressed. Very capable inside or outside and hits the scoreboard regularly. I think the Bombers should definitely hit him up if available or a player of his mould.

Pick 20: Brisbane Lions
Brandan Parfitt | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 179cm/78kg
Nightcliff | Northern Territory

Another classy outfit who could sit nicely on the Lions forward pocket or push up the ground and be a nice winger. I haven't seen too much of him but I've read quite a bit and believe he'll go pretty well on draft night.

Pick 21: Gold Coast [GWS don't match bid]
Kobe Mutch | Balanced Midfielder 187cm/84kg
Bendigo Pioneers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Another GWS academy boy whom I rrate really highly and could/should go earlier, but this time despite all of the picks built up, I believe they'll pass on this one should he go this early. The Suns need to keep building their midfield and I believe Mutch is a brilliant player. Knightmare has likened him to Steele Sidebottom; not too bad of a comparison. Capable of both inside but I think plays his best outside. Should be a very good player, another one of my personal favourites.

Pick 22: Gold Coast
Jy Simpkin | General Forward 182cm/72kg
Murray Bushrangers | VIC Country

He's a bit of a light frame but I think he'll still go early-ish despite the breaking of his leg earlier in the year. The Suns are a great attacking team on their day already but he could bolster it even more as the Suns move into the next era. Great talent when fit.

Pick 23: Gold Coast [Carlton bid]
Brad Scheer | Inside Midfielder 184cm/83kg
Palm Beach/GC Academy | Queensland

A bit strangely, I think he's a chance at being naturally drafted with no bid, as the Suns won't have too many points on their side from here on. The Suns' midfield will be on a whole new level next season, as Bowes and Scheer are basically ready to step straight into the side. He's featured numerous times in the bests in the NEAFL for the reserves, and is a fine prospect.

Pick 24: Carlton
Zac Fisher | Inside Midfielder 175cm/61kg
Perth | Western Australia

He has flown up the rankings recently and is regarded now as one of the best inside mids on offer this year. By November, he could easily be in the first round as he just looks like that natural type who can step into any side right away. The Blues need to continue to inject their side with talented youth, and Fisher will certainly help achieve that goal.

Pick 25: Collingwood
Griffin Logue | Key Defender 193cm/92kg
Swan Districts | Western Australia

The other standout key defender is Logue and I see the Magpies jumping on him if still available due to their inconsistent key defensive stocks and I'm not sure for how much longer the Pies can hold Nathan Brown down back. Fantastic height and weight and a bright talent. Good lock-down defender as stated on other phantom drafts and I don't think the Magpies would regret selecting him.

Pick 26: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]
Jacob Allison | Utility 194cm/79kg
Aspley/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland

Started the year as a top 5 talent but hasn't had a starring year but I don't think the Lions will mind that as he should still be a very good talent on the back-flank as a rebounding player for the club.

Pick 27: Melbourne
Shai Bolton | Outside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/67kg
South Fremantle | Western Australia

Highly rated small forward who is capable of pushing back to the wing and influencing in the midfield. Kicked 7 goals straight in the last game he played before this write-up.

Pick 28: North Melbourne
Jack Graham | Inside Midfielder/General Defender 183cm/83kg
North Adelaide | South Australia

Highly rated defensive midfielder who could go as early at the first round. The Roos will continue to rebuild their ageing squad I suspect.

Pick 29: Western Bulldogs
Jarrod Berry | Medium Defender 191cm/80kg
North Ballarat Rebels | VIC Country

Absolute gun but I've struggled to find him a home higher up. He's been pushing to spend a bit more time forward this year if the chance presented and he took his opportunity, showing his flexibility, marking strength and physicality.

Pick 30: Gold Coast (approximate downgrade due to Scheer match)
Jack Maibaum | Key Defender 193cm/90kg
Eastern Ranges | VIC Metro

Pick 31: West Coast
William Drew | Inside Midfielder 188cm/78kg
North Ballarat Rebels/VIC Country

Pick 32: Collingwood [Hawthorn bid]
Callum Brown | Inside Midfielder/Small Forward 177cm/69kg

Pick 33: Hawthorn
Joseph Atley | Inside Midfielder 186cm/84kg
Bendigo Pioneers | Vic Country

Pick 34: GWS Giants [Sydney Swans bid]
Zachary Sproule | Key Forward 197cm/87kg
Murray Bushrangers/GWS Giants | New South Wales

Prospect key forward from the academy who could slot it if injuries occur or one of their senior boys pack their bags and head home. Great pair of hands on him.

Pick 35: Geelong
Patrick Kerr | Key Forward 194cm/93kg
Oakleigh Chargers | VIC Metro

Terrific mobile young key forward and with Geelong's inconsstent key forwards, I expect they will look at talls in this draft.

Pick 36: Sydney Swans
Alex Villis | Outside Midfielder 182cm/70kg
Norwood | South Australia

-------------------------------------------------------
Round 3
-------------------------------------------------------

Pick 37: Essendon
Steven Slimming | Medium Defender/Outside Midfielder 182cm/73kg
Sturt | South Australia

Pick 38: Geelong
Oliver Florent | Outside Midfielder

Pick 39: GWS [Fremantle bid]
Connor Byrne | Inside Midfielder 182cm/76kg
Wagga Tigers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Pick 40: Fremantle
Sam Powell-Pepper | Inside Midfielder/Utility 186cm/83kg
East Perth | Western Australia

Pick 41: Gold Coast
Darcy Cameron | Ruckman 204cm/104kg
Claremont

Pick 42: Carlton
Dylan Clarke | Inside Midfielder 187cm/85kg

Pick 43: Richmond [GWS don't match bid]

Ryan Garthwaite | Key Defender 192cm/84kg
Murray Bushrangers/GWS Academy | New South Wales

Pick 44: Brisbane Lions [Melbourne bid]

Jack Rolls | Inside Midfielder 183cm/74kg
Redlands/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland

Pick 45: Port Adelaide
Sam Walker | Medium Defender 187cm/80kg
Glenelg | South Australia

Not sure exactly what Port's needs are but Walker could certainly be a prospect defender who after a year or two could definitely be ready for senior football. No go home factor to worry about.

Pick 46: Melbourne

Jamie Hamtpon | Inside Midfielder 186cm/78kg
Pioneer | Northern Territory

Pick 47: Collingwood [approximate downgrade due to Brown selection)

Myles Poholke | Medium Forward/Inside Midfielder 184cm/84kg

Pick 48: St Kilda

Luke Bunker | Inside Midfielder 185cm/78kg
Northern Knights | VIC Metro

Pick 49: Carlton
Luke Ryan | Medium Defender 185cm/82kg
Coburg

The mature aged defender has performed very well in the VFL this year, and drafting him may allow Docherty to swing into the midfield, which is something to tick off the job list IMO. He is excellent at reading the play and setting up attack from defence. Missed three games with an ankle injury but is still averaging 20.5 disposals in his first season at VFL senior level and has hit a real purple patch of late.

Pick 50: Brisbane Lions [Approximate downgrade due to Rolls selection)
Jeremy Goddard | Ruckman 202cm/101kg

If they don't trade in a ruckman, I expect they'll draft one; and Goddard is certainly a highly rated ruck. Would be a great get for the Lions.

Pick 51: West Coast

Jake Waterman | General Forward 191cm/82kg
Perth | Western Australia

Son of Chris Waterman should be in Eagles' colours next year. Would sit very well as that third tall in a Gunston-type role.

Pick 52: Collingwood [Hawthorn bid]
Josh Daicos | Small Forward 178cm/69kg
Oakleigh Chargers | VIC Metro

Son of the Macedonian Marvel won't be playing anywhere else in 2017. Been very good for the Chargers in the tAC Cup and I expect he'll go around the 40-50 mark.

Pick 53: Hawthorn
Jordan Sweet | Ruckman 202cm/98kg
North Adelaide | South Australia

A project ruckman who could someday take over McEvoy's reigns.

Pick 54: Brisbane Lions [Geelong bid]

Declan Watson | Key Defender 194cm/80kg
Aspley/Brisbane Lions Academy | Queensland

Highly rated academy boy who could definitely go earlier. One who wouldn't need too much time before hitting the seniors.

Pick 55: Geelong
Tom Stewart | Key Defender 190cm/90kg

Another feel-good pluck from the reserves team, and could be an immediate impact if needed. Has played exceptionally well down back in the VFL this year, and I expect he will be playing senior footy next year, most likely with Geelong. The defender is strong in one-on-one contests, he's quick off the mark and generally reads the flight of the ball better than his opponent.

Pick 56: Adelaide

Matt Guelfi | Inside Midfielder 184cm/78kg

Crows' midfield isn't in the greatest state of age, and Guelfi is a nice prospect who could slot in the team with a bit of work.

Pick 57: Sydney Swans
Reece Piper | Small Defender 177cm/75kg

Another tune-up of the Swans' rather ageing defence. Small unit so could take some time to adjust to AFL football.
Since your initial call Sam Powell Pepper had fallen from 22 to somewhere in 40s what is the rationale ?

I think in his 4 league (senior ) games he has been listed in BOG 3 times. Couple of my questions around him answered in these matches
1- would his size (91 kg) and power game translate into games against mature bodies
2-decision making in part relates to 1 above

Both huge pass marks , has still yeses strength and explosive speed but much more selective about when . Did not overdo it as Ge was prone to do at age group level where it worked more often than not . His delivery by foot and ball sharing into forward 50 a very pleasant surprise . Shows a maturity and ability to listen to coaching , apply in matches .

Rotham good player but I still think much of his attention comes from that stunning mark in 18s , a beauty but take that away and I suspect he may not figure quite as highly in some if the phantoms .

Really hope WA lads do well in drafts this year as if academy talent spotting a bit if a go by barren years ahead . 1 player at level 2 , 4 at level 1, so a miserable 5 from 52 selected which covers next couple of years . Certainly does not stop a kid but being from the academy helps greatly

Yeah getting waterman is also an issue. We need to build our kpp stocks as well for the next few years. Maybe we can get a third rounder for lamb(if he leaves) and use that and our third rounder for a second rounder.
Lamb having a few struggles at WAFL level , unless he had a very big season end I think he will be delisted .

Since your initial call Sam Powell Pepper had fallen from 22 to somewhere in 40s what is the rationale ?

I think in his 4 league (senior ) games he has been listed in BOG 3 times. Couple of my questions around him answered in these matches
1- would his size (91 kg) and power game translate into games against mature bodies
2-decision making in part relates to 1 above

Both huge pass marks , has still yeses strength and explosive speed but much more selective about when . Did not overdo it as Ge was prone to do at age group level where it worked more often than not . His delivery by foot and ball sharing into forward 50 a very pleasant surprise . Shows a maturity and ability to listen to coaching , apply in matches .

Rotham good player but I still think much of his attention comes from that stunning mark in 18s , a beauty but take that away and I suspect he may not figure quite as highly in some if the phantoms .

Really hope WA lads do well in drafts this year as if academy talent spotting a bit if a go by barren years ahead . 1 player at level 2 , 4 at level 1, so a miserable 5 from 52 selected which covers next couple of years . Certainly does not stop a kid but being from the academy helps greatly

Got to strongly disagree on Josh Rotham still playing colts but playing in the centre square now had 30 odd on the weekend at
90% efficiency. His hands where really good some beautiful hand balls out of the stoppage.
Just watched the video of his colts game, I think he can be a star at the next level.

As for SPP he has confirmed to me he is a high half forward at afl level, with the way he plays for east perth.
Still butchers the ball but doesn't hurt the side when playing forward, he is a game breaker.

Got to strongly disagree on Josh Rotham still playing colts but playing in the centre square now had 30 odd on the weekend at
90% efficiency. His hands where really good some beautiful hand balls out of the stoppage.
Just watched the video of his colts game, I think he can be a star at the next level.

As for SPP he has confirmed to me he is a high half forward at afl level, with the way he plays for east perth.
Still butchers the ball but doesn't hurt the side when playing forward, he is a game breaker.
In the case we got him, do you expect him to spend a year or 2 in WAFL developing his midfield game. Also how is his contested ball winning ability?

Would you pick Rotham over SPP? I think the size/skills combo with Rotham may be too good to pass up.

SPP is my favourite but believe Rotham is a better talent would like to see Rotham with another midfield game.

b
Never ever ever will be a midfielder
I speak with many talent scouts/recruiters and what is very much liked these days is "ready to go" . You make a list expect to play AFL, clearly slow developers such as ruckmen take longer ( string beans) but days of being listed and not playing gone, check out Hawthorn,Collingwood.
Guys that are clearly physically developed still advantaged but you are expected to step up very quickly

we haven't had an amazing draft like this in a while but since simpsons got here. 2013 and 2014 both have talent that look promising. Barrass and sheed in 2013 are looking like guns and karpany is finally showing bit of glimpses. Duggan and Nelson have showed heaps as well. Duggans having the second year blues but last year he showed heaps. Yes it would be awesome to have a great draft like 2010 draft but having 2 great picks in a draft is still a good result. in 2010 we picked 3 of the 4 great picks, within the first 30 picks. we will be lucky to have three top 30 picks in the coming years.
Hasn't Darling disappointed in finals campaigns , poor last night . Would he be trade bait?

In the case we got him, do you expect him to spend a year or 2 in WAFL developing his midfield game. Also how is his contested ball winning ability?
Days of being parked down grades to mature, learn game are gone or close to gone . Expected to want and be ready to go NAB cup.

Hasn't Darling disappointed in finals campaigns , poor last night . Would he be trade bait?
from my angle at the game i thought darling had a mixed game last night. he had a couple of brain farts but did a few good things as well. His grand final is inexcusable. I love jack and would have him on the trade table but we don't have an immediate replacement and lecras has turned into a liability.

Days of being parked down grades to mature, learn game are gone or close to gone . Expected to want and be ready to go NAB cup.
well we have had a few in barrass and gov. Partington might be another next season.

Will sam fowler and dan allsop from the dandenong stingrays get drafted or rookied this year?

What's your rational for having Scrimshaw so low? Nice size, moves well & has a nice peg. general consenous seems to be top 10.
Struggling to find a suitor where there isn't a bigger priority. St Kilda was my club originally but I figured that pacey outside mid in Florent was a bigger need. Then I considered Port but he's really not much of a need at the moment. He'll likely go earlier, I'm aware of that however

Post-trade phantom updated. Round 2 will come soon
Struggle to see the Lions select Daniel Venables when Jarrod Berry is still available.

I'd say the 15 picks make sense in terms of talent being drafted. I can't really comment on specific team needs and drafting for need over drafting best player available.

Struggle to see the Lions select Daniel Venables when Jarrod Berry is still available.

I'd say the 15 picks make sense in terms of talent being drafted. I can't really comment on specific team needs and drafting for need over drafting best player available.
I thought about that myself after updating it, changes will still come.

Simpkin appears to be a decent player but can't see the Crows taking him with their 1st pick. He is too much of outside midfielder/forward and we have enough of those. Berry or Venables would be better suited.

Nice, although any team that wants Barlow won't have to use a pick in the 40's.
Your phantom stops just short of our first pick at 47, who were the next handful on your list?

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nice, although any team that wants Barlow won't have to use a pick in the 40's.
Your phantom stops just short of our first pick at 47, who were the next handful on your list?

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app
I have your first pick at 52 after academy selections, but 45 was my last pick for the 2nd round hence why I stopped there.