Adelaide V Bulldogs

• Thread starter Thread starter -PC28-

PC28, this is what I wrote on the Bullies Board...

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
How do you see the key match-ups?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dry Rot - I probably need some help with your side as I haven't seen much of them in recent weeks (thanks to the new TV rights).

Bandy is the player which worries me most in your attack. You may of beaten us in round 1 if he had kicked straight. I expect McGregor will match up in 1st, but I'm worried that he will be too athletic for him. Biglands may be used as a 2nd option, but we probably need him to back-up Clarke in ruck against the in-form Darcy. If Grant plays forward, I expect Smart to get the job again as he done well in the past. Bassett will probably play on Saunders / Croft if you play a 3rd tall.

In the midfield, IMO Stinger will get a run-with role on West as along with Darcy he is the major supplier to your running players. With the rest of our midfield rotation (ie. Goodwin, McLeod, Riccuito, Bode, Gallagher, Bickley, Edwards, etc), Ayres is likely to go on the attack. I would like someone to also play close attention to Johnson, but I'm not sure who the best option is. Perhaps Edwards on the dangerous Brown. Who will play on McLeod (I hope Libba)? Gags v Guido would be a good to watch.

In our forward line, Kretiuk will probably pick up the Birdman. Grant if he plays back will play on Stevens, otherwise I guess it will be Hunter (if he plays). Croft probably doesn't have a suitable matchup, unless Beinke plays, so he may play forward (particularly if Grant goes in to the backline). Both Croft & Grant played unbelievable games in the FP game last year, so hopefully we can return the favour this year.

Perrie for Bandy.
Basset to get a crack at Grant and do well.

McLeod back spells danger. This boy will be pumped up to prove that he is hungrier than a Bulldog in Banff.

Gallagher has risen after an interupted start to the year and goals still pose a problem.

Stevens should play CHF with Riccuito in the Centre

Stiffy will rise to the occasion to even greater lengths... I mean heights

Crows by 7 points:confused:

With Smith and Kretiuk nursing crook shoulders Id love to see Roo run thru both of them in good fair bonecrunchin' bumps.

I hope Nigel was reminding the boys after last weeks game that these dogs have licked us at Footy Park IMAA Stadium.....yuk since 96 so STAY FOCUSED.

Grant has game time under his belt since Round 1 and will be lickin his chops.

Who thinks we'll get belted ?.....apart from Ant

Teams

Well no real suprises in the team selction. Mattner looks like he will keep his place, consistent with what I had heard on the grapevine. Also, I believe the unlucky Nelson will return to return to Sturt along with Reilly. I reckon Doughty who hasn't has much of a run lately to return to South, unless Gags doesn't pull up OK. That would leave Perrie, Beinke & Crowell fighting out for 2 spots. Personally I would pick Perrie to give us the extra key position option (either on Bandy if McGregor fails to contain him, or up forward) & Beinke as Burton & Stevens need support since Welsh's demise. However, I can't see the selectors dropping Crowell after last week's effort, even though it is probably the right decision for team balance.

ADELAIDE v WESTERN BULLDOGS
Sunday, 2:40pm AEST, AAMI Stadium

B: Hart, Bassett, Stenglein
HB: Smart, McGregor, Bickley
C: Gallagher, Ricciuto, Mattner
HF: Ladhams, Stevens, Edwards
F: Bode, Burton, Biglands
Foll: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
Inter (from): Perrie, Stiffy*, Beinke, Shir, Doughty, Nelson, Crowell
In: McLeod, Stenglein, Perrie, Beinke
Out: Reilly

B: Kretiuk, Croft, Hargrave
HB: Murphy, Hunter, B.Harrison
C: Dimattina, West, Smith
HF: Giansiracusa, Bandy, Alvey
F: Brown, Grant, Birss
Foll: Darcy, Johnson, Garlick
Inter (from): Penny, Robbins, Power, Liberatore, Saunders, McMahon, Hahn
In: Penny, Saunders, Hahn, Power, Birss
Out: McGuinness, Cross
New: Power (Oakleigh U18)

PS *Apparantly BF don't like us using Stiffy's real name!

Re: Teams

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Also, I believe the unlucky Nelson will return to return to Sturt along with Reilly.

Sturt's reserves to AFL and back to Sturt's Ressies again no doubt.

Re: Re: Teams

Originally posted by sapaul

Sturt's reserves to AFL and back to Sturt's Ressies again no doubt.

Yeah isn't it great when Sturt have a better side than the Crows do :eek:

Re: Re: Re: Teams

Originally posted by Zombie

Yeah isn't it great when Sturt have a better side than the Crows do :eek:

Isn't that the side that got thrashed by the local Bulldogs by 50 points?? Centrals must then be an AFL quality side ;>))

Line-up Changes

Tyson Stenglein and James Gallagher have withdrawn from Adelaide’s team to play the Western Bulldogs at AAMI Stadium on Sunday.

They have been replaced by Michael Doughty and Ben Nelson.

The versatile Stenglein, the Crows’ No. 1 tagger, will miss his second successive match with an adductor strain after being unable to train on Saturday morning.

Midfielder Gallagher completed only half of the one-hour session before retiring with hamstring soreness, which had also troubled him at training on Thursday.

Adelaide’s possible line-up is:
B: Hart, Bassett, Crowell
HB: Smart, McGregor, Bickley
C: John****, Ricciuto, Mattner
HF: Ladhams, Stevens, Edwards
F: Bode, Burton, Beinke
R: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
Inter: Biglands, Shir, Doughty, Nelson.
Emerg: Perrie

Would like to have seeen Perrie play as a back-up key position player. After his round 1 effort, Biglands should start in ruck against Darcy (ie. horses for courses). Doughty should start on the wing now that Gallagher is out.

Originally posted by Zombie

And nob head Massie couldn't even get a game for Norwood I hear.

Pot kettle black.Zombie by name, Zombie by nature.I am sure he is upset you think that highly of him.

Well, the importance of tommorrows game can not be understated. A huge game for the season given todays results. Win tommorrow and 4th gets closer to within our grasp (given Esssendon, Coasters and Dees lost again). Yes, the Cats are still there but we play them next week and can therefore get the jump if we win both tommorrow and next week.

Plus we have to get this bogey off our back with the Doggies and no better time than now!!!

Go the Crows.....

a big game

A huge game today. Another chance for us to push ahead on the ladder. With Essendon, West Coast & Melbourne all going down yesterday a win can put us a game ahead of them all. We will have Geelong breathing down our neck, but we can end there streak next weekend! A fine day is on the cards so I am expecting a hard contest but one which I think we can win. Stinga out is a bother but we need to have everyone 100% fit and I would rather him sit out today than risk further injury and have him missing for another couple of games. With Macca back he will be pumped and I think we will be able to get the points.

My prediction - Crows by 23 points.

Good Luck Stevo for his 100th AFL game!

Go You Mighty Crows!

k
xx