Adelaide v Sydney

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Ball out for a season is a big loss for the swans. Massie looks like missing another week with a hip injury so Kane McGoodwin, it looks like Begley will keep his spot after all.

Neil Kerley is weird. Fair Dinkum. Last week he blasted Clarke, Begley, Biglands, Torney, McGregor and a few others for not having a footy brain but this week he praises them. Last week Begley was "brainless" now he is the best thing since sliced bread.:rolleyes:

Go figure:confused:
Don't worry Stiffy, Kerls probably has dementia & can't remember anything from 1 week to the next! :o

With Massie still out injured, more than happy for Begley to get another game. Will be interested to see whether he can put some consistent games of footy together.

Also, James if your reading this - a tip - if the ball is being bounced on the opposition's half-forward line, dont stand 20+ m away from your opponent on a regular basis! The likes of Torney got sick of calling you back to cover your man. I genuinely hope you go well! :)

Originally posted by Jerome
I also heard a bit of that on 5AA. Kerls also said that he went through the Port and Crows lists and could'nt think of a Port player that would fold under pressure, yet the Crows had a few.

:confused:
Don't worry Jerome, we all know that Port have the best list, will finish top & cruise through the finals to a premiership flag as usual. ;)

Originally posted by Jerome
I also heard a bit of that on 5AA. Kerls also said that he went through the Port and Crows lists and could'nt think of a Port player that would fold under pressure, yet the Crows had a few.

:confused:

Gotta realize that Kerley is a red hot Crow & would do/say anything to get the best out of anyone that plays in the tri-colours,

He has done his personal run downs of Crow players before & in my mind he only tries to pump them up to a higher level,

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Is there any chance that Reilly could be given a run this week? He's had pretty good form in the SANFL and it would probably be good to give him some experience.

No chance

If there was a running player vacancy then Bode would be first selected

Hard to say whether Reilly Skipworth Doughty or Gallagher would be next in line -all of whom have being playing well in the SANFL.

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
Is there any chance that Reilly could be given a run this week? He's had pretty good form in the SANFL and it would probably be good to give him some experience.

No.

I guess it depends on how we want to restructure the forward line for the umpteenth time.

Presuming Carey at CHF and Perrie at FF that gives us two genuine talls.

The choices from there are to surround them with smaller running players, or try a setup with 3 talls by including Rutten.

As it's a day game they may well go with the 3 talls, but I'm happy either way.

Originally posted by macca23
I guess it depends on how we want to restructure the forward line for the umpteenth time.

Presuming Carey at CHF and Perrie at FF that gives us two genuine talls.

The choices from there are to surround them with smaller running players, or try a setup with 3 talls by including Rutten.

As it's a day game they may well go with the 3 talls, but I'm happy either way.
With Carey coming back from injury & Welshy now out, I reckon Rutten should get a spot on the bench as a backup. That would leave Bassett to come in for the Hound as the other change.

Yes, read that.

He loves to push the theory that we are slow and everyone else is quicker than us, doesn't he?

Funny how virtually no one else subscribes to this theory.

Amazing how the young Saints rang little rings around us last week. And those lightning fast Bombers, wow!! ;)

In that case I would also drop Mattner and bring in Bode.

Why???

Mattner was good in what he showed when he was on

Bode had a good game but was presumably sent back to get some consistent form

Mattner deserves another crack in my view, once the decision was made to pick him.

Wouldn't mind either way, but fair is fair.

A crunch game for the Crows
4:28:29 PM Wed 30 July, 2003
Rodney Eade

The Swans have been playing well, but will miss Jason Ball. The Crows have a huge advantage in the ruck with the imposing presence of Biglands and Clarke. Ball could have also gone forward providing a tall target, releasing pressure from Barry Hall and Michael O’Loughlin. Adam Goodes will bundle a massive load. His form has been terrific and he’s capable of shouldering the responsibilities. The big question is whether he will get worn out. Will he be able to keep jumping and competing for four quarters every game? Roos will probably use youngsters James Mieklejohn or Lewis Roberts-Thompson sparingly in order to give Goodes a break. Both of them have no chance to compete physically with the big ruckmen of the competition.
This is where we should really dominate the game in the clearances. Also, robs Goodes from the forward line.

The Swans play an attacking, running game beginning in defence. They will attempt to run and bounce the ball, trying to ‘draw’ their opponents. Tadgh Kennelly and Leo Barry are their main springboards in this area. The Crows did well the first time round against the Swans because they pressured the ball-carrier. They closed their opponents’ space, forcing them to dispose of the ball and make a decision quickly.
Our forwards need to apply plenty of pressure for this reason. Pity Welshy is out.

Both teams have good midfields, so the interesting match-ups will occur here. Brett Kirk is having a great season as a tagger, and is obviously underrated by the opposition. He is very fit, disciplined and football-smart. It would be surprising if he played on Andrew McLeod as he has not got the pace to go with the champion Crow. This job will more likely go to Jared Crouch. Kirk defeated Simon Goodwin easily last time. He could take him again, although Goodwin is only playing his second game back, or maybe Matthew Bode, Tyson Edwards or Mark Bickley. Whoever is tagged by Kirk could run with either Daryn Cresswell or Jude Bolton.

Cresswell has been in great form and maybe needs to be marked. The Crows have quite a few quality options in midfield with Tyson Stenglein the only real tagger. His job again will be Paul Williams. The Swans will rotate their midfield heavily with many players going through the centre. The Swans exposed Mark Ricciuto in the midfield last time by having pace (ie: Stuart Maxfield) play on him. Ricciuto’s form has been very good this year and he will be dangerous up forward.
Surely, Kirk should play on Roo as our most dangerous midfielder. I thought Stinger played on Williams last time & did a good job (could be wrong though). He can be more damaging IMO. This would leave Shirley/Bickley to cover Cresswell. Ladhams would have the pace to go with Maxfield (but Goody could be the go too). I reckon Roos may play Kennelly on Burton.

Originally posted by Jars458
Why???

Mattner was good in what he showed when he was on

Bode had a good game but was presumably sent back to get some consistent form

Mattner deserves another crack in my view, once the decision was made to pick him.

Wouldn't mind either way, but fair is fair.
I agree that Bode needs another week for the Bays. Our midfielders are in good form, so he needs to put a few good games together for the Bays before coming back in. I would play either Rutten or Mattner for another game depending on team balance Ayres wants. I'm not really fussed, as long as we send a message to Bode for the previous week's pathetic performance.

Re: Possible line up

Tyson Edwards Vs Nick Davis
You never know what you are gonna get with Davis. His best is freakish, his worst is shocking. Has great skills and is a goal kicker. I would rather be safe than sorry and would start with Edwards on him. However, Torney might also be an option.
I was thinking about recent Sydney-Adelaide matches today. I reckon the last two times we've played them, Edwards has been BOG in a midfield role. So I figure, why not play him there again? Edwards hasn't really played as a specialist midfielder in weeks and must be raring to go in that sort of role.

Torney can handle Davis.