Adelaide v Sydney

Also sounded like Jason Ball injured his shoulder today as well, and if he were to miss it would be an added bonus for us as he's a very important player for them and somewhat of a barometer for their success.

Originally posted by ant
Also sounded like Jason Ball injured his shoulder today as well, and if he were to miss it would be an added bonus for us as he's a very important player for them and somewhat of a barometer for their success.
I heard about that. How long is Ball expected to be out for?

A barometer for their success? Big call but not a bad one, he was out all last season after all and look at the difference this season. He'd be a big loss in any event.

With Ball and Doyle injured I'd say it will be Goodes and Meiklejohn in the ruck, in which case we should flog them in that department.

Originally posted by DaveW
I heard about that. How long is Ball expected to be out for?

A barometer for their success? Big call but not a bad one, he was out all last season after all and look at the difference this season. He'd be a big loss in any event.

With Ball and Doyle injured I'd say it will be Goodes and Meiklejohn in the ruck, in which case we should flog them in that department.

Exactly what I was alluding to on all counts.

Ball is expected to be out for some period of time, but for how long won't be know til scans on Monday. Also sounds like Roos is considering rushing back either one of Doyle, Meiklejohn or LRT for this week's game to give Goodes a 10 minute rest here or there.

We should murder them in the ruck I tell ya. If Ball is out then we should dominate as we did today.

Biglands Vs Goodes and Clarke Vs Meiklejohn

Originally posted by ant

Ball is expected to be out for some period of time, but for how long won't be know til scans on Monday. Also sounds like Roos is considering rushing back either one of Doyle, Meiklejohn or LRT for this week's game to give Goodes a 10 minute rest here or there.
We should trash them in hiouts but our ruckman will get murdered in field play. Whats the point in rushing back Doyle (Missed 12 weeks), Meiklejohn or LRT if they are not fit enough. Throw BBBB into the ruck to give Goodes a rest.

Originally posted by ant

If Goodes has to play 90% of the game in ruck trying to keep Clarke & Biglands from dominating, then he won't be a huge scoring threat at the same time.

If Bassett can keep Hall quiet, that leaves only O'Loughlin as a dangerous forward.

I don't believe the Crows can stop O'Loughlin from getting four or five.

But then again, 10 goals all up isn't going to be enough for the Swans to win the game if Ball is out & Bassett can repeat his good form on Hall.

The diagnosis on Ball's injury will not be clear until sometime later this week but he won't be playing against the Crows. Best case 1-2 weeks, worst case the rest of the season. Meiklejohn won't be playing as he injured himself in the reserves a few weeks ago. Doyle is coming back from a long term injury and might be a slight chance to play a little time to relieve Goodes, and the other real ruck option Lewis Roberts-Thomson pulled out of today's game with a hammy, not sure of his situation. Goodes actually rucked the majority of the game today, with Stevens and Hall taking some of the boundary throw-ins and ball-ups at various times.

In Carey Bassett
out Rutten and Mattner

Now K Massie. It all depends on matchups IMO. Begley is not quite the same sort of player as Massie in my book but I guess quite similar.

Massie deserves his spot no doubt. He was fantastic in the month before he got injured.

However, the Club may give him one week at Norwood to test his fitness

If this week was a grand final I would pick Massie before Begley no problem, but neither would let us down.

I think at the end of the day Masse Begley and Torney are fighting ove two sports.

N Smart is on thin ice but its his testimonial so there is no way he will be dropped as he will proablably get the challenge on O'Loughlin and take him to the cleaners.

What about when Stevens is fit?? What nightmare.

Also whoever said they would take Begley over Goodwin needs their head read;) - in any week:)

Here's my two cents.

In: Carey, Bassett, Massie

Out: Rutten, Mattner, The amazingly unlucky Shirley.

Massie is a first choice player IMO. Shirley has been exceptional and ranks number 22 at the moment but Smart will play. Lest we forget though that Smart towelled up Lloyd three games ago. Agree he is on thin ice though. That kick off the ground that resulted in a Saints goal made me think the old man did not want to bend down anymore! Anyway, we have Stinga to tag and let the Swans worry about us after that. Shirley is reluctantly dispensable.

Begley has earnt another week at this stage and was good (and more importantly had good disposal) against the Saints. IMO he is still a week to week proposition. We have many good players who would love his spot and he should not relax. It was predictable he would find a bit extra against the Saints he must maintain this level to hold his spot.

Goodwin would walk into any Crows team when fit. The fact that Begley had a better game than he did yesterday is meaningless. Goodwin when in form is five classes above Begley and the only way he'll get AFL form is in the AFL.

Any news on Bode? Can't see a place for him at all at the moment. If he comes in it would be at the cost of Bickley which seems unlikely.

My thoughts on this bloody dilemma are,

Nigel Smart all through his career has had the odd couple of games where he has played crap footy & followed that up with some terrific performances against quality opponents,

Mark Bickley has been our most courageous player ever & in my opinion one of our most consistent this year, granted he had a quiet one on sunday but as for dropping either one of these guys forget it !!!

All things being equal i would have Massie in my side over Begley & Shirley but how could we drop either one of them to make room for Kriss would be very hard indeed as both were in our top 10 against the Saints & Shirley has not put a foot wrong in any game he has played in this year,

Ins, Carey, Bassett
Outs, Rutten, Mattner,

Very stiff on Massie but he will get his chance in the coming weeks

AS Jars has said "who stays in the 22 when Stevo is fit & ready"

I think Sydney should just conceed this game. We wont be able to field a ruck division, and we have to travel, to a team I still regard as the premiership favourite.

Lets agree to a 40 point win to Adelaide, and both have a weeks rest. Any takers?

Originally posted by grayham
I think Sydney should just conceed this game. We wont be able to field a ruck division, and we have to travel, to a team I still regard as the premiership favourite.

Lets agree to a 40 point win to Adelaide, and both have a weeks rest. Any takers?

grayham, you vastly underestimate your prospects (whether deliberately or not I'm not sure). Swans are not without a chance. As they have shown all season they can take on all comers and win often against considerable odds.

However, if you insist I will gladly take your Crows by 40 points result, thanks. :D

Originally posted by napsyd
grayham, you vastly underestimate your prospects (whether deliberately or not I'm not sure). Swans are not without a chance. As they have shown all season they can take on all comers and win often against considerable odds.

However, if you insist I will gladly take your Crows by 40 points result, thanks. :D

We couldnt beat you in Sydney earlier this year, and although I wasnt really serious, Sydney will go in as rank underdogs. The Ball injury is very badly timed, as we literally have no backups.
Poor old Scott Stevens had to ruck yesterday and he has only rucked once since he was 16.
Last thing I'd want to see is Goodes rucking all day, and runing himself into the ground.

Out: ... The amazingly unlucky Shirley.
I can't agree with that. Shirley was sensational yesterday. There was no harder worker yesterday than Shirley doing so much of the in-and-under stuff, particularly in the first half. On that form I'd sooner drop Bickley.

I've been unconvinced on Shirley before, but he won me over against St Kilda.

I can't agree with that. Shirley was sensational yesterday. There was no harder worker yesterday than Shirley doing so much of the in-and-under stuff, particularly in the first half. On that form I'd sooner drop Bickley.

I've been unconvinced on Shirley before, but he won me over against St Kilda.

Yes, personally I have been extremely impressed by the bloke since his return to the team, but as I said I think Massie is in our best 22.

If Shirley doesn't go out (and personally I could completely understand him holding his spot) then Massie will play in the SANFL as I can't see Bicks being dropped.

So you could change it to:

Not in: The amazingly unlucky Massie.

We couldnt beat you in Sydney earlier this year, and although I wasnt really serious, Sydney will go in as rank underdogs. The Ball injury is very badly timed, as we literally have no backups.
Poor old Scott Stevens had to ruck yesterday and he has only rucked once since he was 16.
Last thing I'd want to see is Goodes rucking all day, and runing himself into the ground.

Your right in that the loss of Jason Ball weill hurt you badly not just for this week but for the rest of the year (is he out for the year??) especially interstate away from Sydney,

I still can remember Jason Ball destroying us at Footy park a couple of years ago after the Crows opened up with a 5 goal lead at 1/4 time, :mad:

But i doubt very much that we will underestimate the Swans as they have a heap of quality & experienced players in their line-up,

Well I wasn't really calling for Bickley to be dropped either. I just meant in as far as our midfield goes, Shirley is in better form.

No mate, I know you're not.

Shirley has been a true surprise. Ayres certainly seems to be able to see things in players and give them time when necessary. Look at Shirley, Perrie, McGregor as just a couple of examples.

I, like a couple of others here, was at the game at the SCG and frankly the team we will play on Sunday only played a half of football against us in Round 3. In that your lot beat us by 5 goals though.

The Ball injury will hurt you badly. I remember that game noddy referred to all too well.

Will Cresswell play?

Any news on Bode? Can't see a place for him at all at the moment. If he comes in it would be at the cost of Bickley which seems unlikely.

Bodey played an excellent game with Glenelg on Saturday - 28 possessions I think and named 2nd best.

Won't help him this week though as he played a crap game against Freo, and Shirley has to keep his spot on form. As Dave said, Shirley's in and under work was terrific against the Saints, and reminded me very much of Bickley with all the hard things that he did.

Thanks macca23.

Don't you just love these selection nightmares!!

I, like a couple of others here, was at the game at the SCG and frankly the team we will play on Sunday only played a half of football against us in Round 3. In that your lot beat us by 5 goals though.

The Ball injury will hurt you badly. I remember that game noddy referred to all too well.

Will Cresswell play?

Don't see why Cressa won't play. He got an knee to his nose from Goodes, which made a nice big dent, but after having that fixed he was back on for the rest of the game. Knowing how tough he is, he'll definitely play. He's been among our best 3 in the past 4-5 weeks.

Ball out for a season is a big loss for the swans. Massie looks like missing another week with a hip injury so Kane McGoodwin, it looks like Begley will keep his spot after all.

Neil Kerley is weird. Fair Dinkum. Last week he blasted Clarke, Begley, Biglands, Torney, McGregor and a few others for not having a footy brain but this week he praises them. Last week Begley was "brainless" now he is the best thing since sliced bread.:rolleyes:

Go figure:confused:

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Neil Kerley is weird. Fair Dinkum. Last week he blasted Clarke, Begley, Biglands, Torney, McGregor and a few others for not having a footy brain but this week he praises them

I also heard a bit of that on 5AA. Kerls also said that he went through the Port and Crows lists and could'nt think of a Port player that would fold under pressure, yet the Crows had a few.

:confused: