Adelaide Vs Essendon

Originally posted by go team
how come they've only won two games?

Because they have played better opposition than us at Footy Park.

Every year we hold out with hope that they will be competitive and at least lose by under 4 goals, but every year they are fcuking disgraceful and they throughly deserve this bagging due to recent matches there.

I pray we do play well, but this negativity is deserved, and is not a cop out easty, but the truth. I too used to go to footy park every year and watch us get annihilated, I know exactly how that feels, but they deserve this schit, hopefully it will fire them up.

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Should be a ripper of a game both sides coming off good wins and Essendon in good form also, this game could go either way I think the Crows are going to have to shutdown Hird and keep Lloyd under 5 goals to win!!!!!!!!

Crows are expecting a few good players back this week Biglands,Goodwin and Hart.

Im looking forward to this game always enjoy playing Essendon;)
I'm not expecting this to be a 1-sided contest as many Essendon supporters suggest, though we should win if we play like we did last week (big if though given our inconsistency).

Biglands will probably come back in for Huddo, but Goody is out for another week & Hart likely to come back through the SANFL. S Stevens is likely to come back if he passes a fitness test.

Originally posted by BomberBen
Lets hope Welsh has a shocker for the Crows. Last time he tore us apart. But.. I'd love to say we have a chance, but.. I really honestly think we'll get toweled up there.
Welsh has been shocking most of the year & will be lucky to keep his place. I hope you get him back in form & that he can recapture his form from the same game last year...

Originally posted by Stegelator
i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.

If thats all that needs to happen, then what are we all worried about? ;)

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Welsh has been shocking most of the year & will be lucky to keep his place. I hope you get him back in form & that he can recapture his form from the same game last year...

We have a habit of playing guys like Welsh back into form....we seem to do it to Dew every year!

i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.

If Carey & McGregor combination can kick a bag, Roo can...well be the Roo. Burton & Edwards can keep the midfield engine ticking, Stenglein can keep Hird quiet, McLeod can show his brilliance, Johncock & Welsh can kick a bag between them, our half-back line works like it did last Saturday night, and Fletcher has a brain explosion like he did last time he played at AAMI against the Crows, Doughty will play a blinder, Jehrico could really do something, and Hentschel could maintain his form, I reckon the Crows could win.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

I agree that Welsh is in shocking form, but then again it would seem that Johncock has taken up the challenge to become a damaging small forward.

If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side.

Originally posted by Dan26
I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.

The two years prior to this Sheedy has openly said prior to games against the Crows at AAMI that the game was a "must win" and "like a final for the Bombers".

With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.

Meh. At this venue this year, Port have smashed the Bombers and lost badly to the Crows.

It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.

I expect it could well be a close game this Friday. However, the Crows have been exceedingly erratic this season. If the Crows bring their form from last Saturday Night to this game, then IMO the Crows stand a chance of a decent win, despite the respective ladder positions of the sides. If the Crows bring form like they had against Kangaroos in round 1, or the second half against the Cats in round 6 - then the Bombers will win. If the Crows form is like they had against Freo (@ Subi) or Saints or Lions - then I suspect that Essendon aren't quite up to that standard especially when playing away & the Crows would win a fairly close contest. All IMO.

Originally posted by ok.crows
If Carey & McGregor combination can kick a bag, Roo can...well be the Roo. Burton & Edwards can keep the midfield engine ticking, Stenglein can keep Hird quiet, McLeod can show his brilliance, Johncock & Welsh can kick a bag between them, our half-back line works like it did last Saturday night, and Fletcher has a brain explosion like he did last time he played at AAMI against the Crows, Doughty will play a blinder, Jehrico could really do something, and Hentschel could maintain his form, I reckon the Crows could win.
:D very good!

I'm just hoping for a competitive game by us. It's been too long now that I watch an interstate game on TV with high expectations, just to see us get flogged.

But, even with lower expectations, I'll still be very p|ssed off if we don't at least get within 4 goals.

smart ass :p

Your not asking for much are ya;) :p

I agree that Welsh is in shocking form, but then again it would seem that Johncock has taken up the challenge to become a damaging small forward.

If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side.

The thing with Welsh is he is a confidence player if he starts the game well he will have a good night but if he starts of poorly then he wont have an influence IMO he had an ok game he was coming back from injury thought he contributed well kicked a goal always gets in goes for the ball and tackles well, I think his spot would be safe this week, IMO they will drop either Bock,Bode,Gallagher or perrie before Welsh;)

The two years prior to this Sheedy has openly said prior to games against the Crows at AAMI that the game was a "must win" and "like a final for the Bombers".

Nice to see you back on bigfooty, ok.crows ...

I thought you wouldn't show up again after you conceded after Round 2 or 3? by memory that your season was over and that all those summer months of denying that Adelaide had an aging list had finally caught up with you...

Great to see you posting again! I just love loyal supporters like your good self!

Originally posted by bOmBeR_BoY1
Nice to see you back on bigfooty, ok.crows ...

I thought you wouldn't show up again after you conceded after Round 2 or 3? by memory that your season was over and that all those summer months of denying that Adelaide had an aging list had finally caught up with you...

Great to see you posting again! I just love loyal supporters like your good self!

After the Wizard Cup and the first few rounds of this season, I admit to being dirty on Ayres for coming up with a completely inane gameplan. I expected Ayres to be as stubborn as he has been with similar schemes before - remember when the Crows didn't use a zone for kick-ins and every team played a "huddle" against us with great effect ? It took over half a season before Ayres gave up on that stupidity.

Anyway, it would appear that Ayres has learnt a lesson about being inflexible. Rather than making a public announcement that the Crows needed to fix their approach - Ayres seems to have just quietly gone about changing it for the better without having to admit it was broken.

That, I can support.

Hence, I now have some hope that this season for the Crows can still be salvaged. I didn't think it could be as recently as just last week.

My but a week is a long time in footy, hey !

If S Stevens is available for selection, it could be Welsh that is squeezed out of the side. [/B]
Originally posted by maccas_no1
The thing with Welsh is he is a confidence player if he starts the game well he will have a good night but if he starts of poorly then he wont have an influence IMO he had an ok game he was coming back from injury thought he contributed well kicked a goal always gets in goes for the ball and tackles well, I think his spot would be safe this week, IMO they will drop either Bock,Bode,Gallagher or perrie before Welsh;)
since when did this beomce the adelaide board? :confused: :D

Likewise, there is a poster who goes by the handle "go team" who seems to have got a bit confused about what to post on the Crows board - and is regurgitating Sheedy's lame excuses about why Essendon lost to Port at AAMI (not a full strength side last two occasions) - somehow conflating that with games against the Crows at AAMI.

I guess most of you have legitimate reasons for being somewhat pessimistic on here, goodness knows I usually am, but I think your boys are serious chances this Friday night. Everything is really set up for you to perform well and come away with the victory...

-solid lead up form, 5 straight wins without really completely extending yourselves and playing your absolute best football

-relatively injury free playing list, most players fit and in form.

-everyone completely focused on performing well interstate, very keen to atone for past sins (really, you're due to get a win at AAMI again)

-despite an excellent build up to the game, there's a lot of scepticism about your abilities to win interstate, nothing fires up a side more than the doubts of the experts.

-Crows have just had a good win, we struggle to put two in a row together and we invariably follow a good performance with a shocker.

Really, everything is there for the Bombers to record a comfortable win, there aren't many excuses. Good luck for the game, and may the right team win.

Likewise, there is a poster who goes by the handle "go team" who seems to have got a bit confused about what to post on the Crows board - and is regurgitating Sheedy's lame excuses about why Essendon lost to Port at AAMI (not a full strength side last two occasions) - somehow conflating that with games against the Crows at AAMI.

i ventured onto the Crows board to ask why the crows would win, hoping to find a reason other that home ground advantage, and they got all upset and protective...

i haven't raised any port game

i haven't used injury as excuse

ok.crows used round 15 last year as an example of adelaide's midfield dominance over essendon, and i pointed out there will be about five or six different players running through the midfield this time - thus such a comparision is really no grounds to support the conclusion.

maybe i should stick to posting on the bomber board were people actually read the posts they are replying to..

Originally posted by go team i ventured onto the Crows board to ask why the crows would win, hoping to find a reason other that home ground advantage, and they got all upset and protective...

I didn't see anyone on the Crows board getting upset over your apparent disbelief that there would be anyone who could possibly have any reason for thinking the Crows might have a show on Friday & posting that query on the Crows board no less.

i haven't raised any port game

You didn't, Sheedy did. For some unfathomable reason, Sheedy is always talking about & making excuses for Bombers games against Port at AAMI when his side is about to come up against Crows at AAMI. This time he said there would be more players available - that Bombers wouldn't be missing Hird, Fletcher & Lloyd.

Hello! YooHoo, Sheeds! Hird, Fletecher & Lloyd all played for the Bombers in their last game at AAMI gainst the Crows - which the Bombers lost.

i haven't used injury as excuse

ok.crows used round 15 last year as an example of adelaide's midfield dominance over essendon, and i pointed out there will be about five or six different players running through the midfield this time - thus such a comparision is really no grounds to support the conclusion.

Come again sport ? You claim you didn't use injury as an excuse, you just said that you would have different lesser lights available this time ? Whatever, mate.

maybe i should stick to posting on the bomber board were people actually read the posts they are replying to..

Maybe you should try harder to think about what your own words actually mean, rather than accusing people of misreading them.

Come again sport ? You claim you didn't use injury as an excuse, you just said that you would have different lesser lights available this time ? Whatever, mate.

You claimed that Adelaide's midfield would wipe the floor with Essendons midfield "as demonstrated quite vividly when these two teams met at AAMI Stadium last year"..

I admit we got smashed. I'll quote myself from the Adelaide board:

Originally posted by go team
If they played round 15 last year, we probably would have been thumped by just as much, and maybe even more... nobody knows though, cause the two clubs haven't come against each other with these respective lineups..

How can you make a judgement based on the Essendon 2004 midfield from a game where the majority of the 2004 midfield weren't playing?

This argument is all rather pointless though - I'm sure when the game is all over, and Adelaide come away with victory, you'll selectivley quote my arguments and say that you were right all along..

You didn't, Sheedy did. For some unfathomable reason, Sheedy is always talking about & making excuses for Bombers games against Port at AAMI when his side is about to come up against Crows at AAMI. This time he said there would be more players available - that Bombers wouldn't be missing Hird, Fletcher & Lloyd.

Hello! YooHoo, Sheeds! Hird, Fletecher & Lloyd all played for the Bombers in their last game at AAMI gainst the Crows - which the Bombers lost.

He said games at AAMI and adeliade. He didn't mention either team. The last two times we have played at AAMI fletcher has been missing.

Comprende?

Adelaide Vs Essendon