Adelaide Vs West Coast

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by Jars458
Roo was on MMM this morning and was very confident

he said that WC have had two shockers in the last three and that's not good form

He is confident we can win well over there.

Lets hope so.
He should be confident.

Eagles will probably be missing Gardiner, Embley, Fletcher, Wirrapunda & now MacDougal (sp?). Also, hear Caroll was in doubt. ie. We have less quality players to cover, which means cut down the influence of Cousins, Judd & Matera & we should come away with the 4 points.

With MacDougal out (who started at CHF), it will be interstesting how the Weagles structure their forward line that struggled last week. I reckon the may bring in McIntosh to play on Carey (with Glass on Perrie), to enable Jakovich to play CHF (Kenny should be able cover him OK). Wouldn't surprise if Lynch comes in - remember he killed us at FF in the corresponding game last year.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Wouldn't surprise if Lynch comes in - remember he killed us at FF in the corresponding game last year.

Yes, have been wondering about him as he seems to be kicking a few goals for West Perth.

Was thinking he could be a trade target of ours as he was a big strong boy.

A real test for Bassett if he plays (esp considering his name).

I'm glad AFC explained that Macca & Burns were struggling with the flu last week. Would explain why Macca spent the whole game in the forward line - didn't get his usual possessions, but was damaging with what he did get. Also, would explain why Burns was having an off day (was obvious from his 1st possession). However, why would Bodey not get more game time then?

However, why would Bodey not get more game time then?

He has caught a disease called the Lucas Chalmers syndrome or the Brett Herbert syndrome whichever you prefer:D

If its a mystery to good judges like you and I Kane then there cant be a reasonable explanation.

Originally posted by Jars458
He has caught a disease called the Lucas Chalmers syndrome or the Brett Herbert syndrome whichever you prefer:D

If its a mystery to good judges like you and I Kane then there cant be a reasonable explanation.

Bode is not getting a lot of game time because Bode is not playing very well. I was surprised he even got recalled. I saw the match at the parade 2 weeks ago and while he got a bit of the footy I didn't think he did much with it. Certainly not up to the standard he has set in the past on the rare occasions he has played with Glenelg.

Originally posted by naughty monkey
Bode is not getting a lot of game time because Bode is not playing very well. I was surprised he even got recalled. I saw the match at the parade 2 weeks ago and while he got a bit of the footy I didn't think he did much with it. Certainly not up to the standard he has set in the past on the rare occasions he has played with Glenelg.

Yes, but if you pick him you play him

He was selected ahead of at least four players with solid form in

Skipworth Reilly Gallagher and Doughty

Originally posted by RaDaR ReiLLy
I can't beleive we are gonna go in unchanged this week :rolleyes:
Why??????:confused:

THe only player I would have brought in was Welsh but he is injured so it was the right decision by the club to go in unchanged. I really couldn't see anyone else coming in for this important game.;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Why??????:confused:

THe only player I would have brought in was Welsh but he is injured so it was the right decision by the club to go in unchanged. I really couldn't see anyone else coming in for this important game.;)

Massie for Begley if fit

And stop winking

Hopefully we will have our 1st choice side on the park in the coming weeks (touch wood) & if so that would in my opinion include Stevens, Welsh & Massie so who would be the unlucky 3 to make way ???

Originally posted by noddy
Hopefully we will have our 1st choice side on the park in the coming weeks (touch wood) & if so that would in my opinion include Stevens, Welsh & Massie so who would be the unlucky 3 to make way ???

Interesting as those three may all not be able to fit into the current structure

I think Begley would definitley go, and possibly Shirley and Burns/Bode

But its not swapping like for like

It may well be interesting times ahead

likely enough though someone else will be injured

As Jars said, injuries are likely to play a role. However, assuming they don't, based on current form:

Massie for Begley

Stevens for Smart (Stevo to play a key backman's role, as IMO forward line is OK for marking with Perrie, Carey & Welsh).

Welsh for Bode (but if he improves his game, Shirley would be the unlucky player).

You want Smart out of the side for the finals:rolleyes: you are kidding me right:confused:

Massie for Begley

Stevens for Bode

Welsh for Shirley

Drop Smart where do you get off suggesting that:mad:

Originally posted by maccas_no1
You want Smart out of the side for the finals:rolleyes: you are kidding me right:confused:

Drop Smart where do you get off suggesting that:mad:
Smart's form has been very inconsistent this year & he has struggled of late. If you read my comments - I based my selections on CURRENT FORM not reputuations. It is my opinion & I made it before baving a few drinks at lunch! I was expecting to get an angry response, but are you suggesting the likes of Shirley are in worse form than Smart?

Originally posted by maccas_no1
Kane McGoodwin burn your keyboard please:mad: Are you drunk man:rolleyes:

Smart out of the side for Stevo:(
Open you eyes Marty, Smart is one of the 3 worse performing player in our current side IMO. If he lifts his game, he will be safe.

Yike !!! WASH YOUR KEYBOARD IN SOAP & WATER Kane McGoodwin,
Refer to my previous responses - My comment is based on form. Smart's has been inconsistent. I would play Kenny & Stevo as key backmen, with Bassett & Hart on the flanks. Hard decsions ahead.

And for what its worth, I think Burns could be dropped to make way for Welsh.

But I reserve the right to change that opinion from one week to the next. :)

Originally posted by DaveW
Now you've got to be kidding.
Bassett has played his best football as a back flanker this year, taking the 3rd tall or a smaller player. This has also freed up Hart to play a more attacking role.

Well a lot of players play better when they've got less responsibility. I just don't believe Stevens or McGregor would make a better full back,

I actually like Stevens as a key position backman when Carey, Perrie and Welsh are all on-board.

Would give us a lot more options and versatility when coming up against teams stacked with tall forwards - like Collingwood and Port.