Adrian Dodoro: Football’s Biggest Fraud IMO

Jul 14, 2005
Chelsea FC
It was from a predraft briefing. Only edited down to the players we’d taken. Obviously didn’t show the parts where they spoke of weaknesses though.

Pros and cons of releasing real time footage. Recruiters will always throw out some flowery tidbit, which is well-intentioned, but just heaps unnecessary pressure on a young player.

This basically Essendon's 'Stocker at 6' moment.

Hopefully Reid doesn't go on to become the next Luke Livingstone.

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
Pros and cons of releasing real time footage. Recruiters will always throw out some flowery tidbit, which is well-intentioned, but just heaps unnecessary pressure on a young player.

This basically Essendon's 'Stocker at 6' moment.

Hopefully Reid doesn't go on to become the next Luke Livingstone.

He does it to everyone, just positive spin. Always important when a side is struggling to the potential members hoping that at least you’ll see some growth.

The success of a player isn’t determined by a single comment, if it effects them they wouldn’t have made it regardless. That’s a brittle spirit.

Looks like all of dodo's good work is just a myth
Dodoro has built this list at Tulla and they haven't had any sort of success for ages. Yet he is not under any sort of pressure at all.

The Daniher non trade 12 months ago should have been the final nail in his coffin. Yet Lord Sheedy has come out and thrown his full support behind him.

Dodo turned two first round picks for Joe into one first round pick and four games for 7 goals.

That is Crazy Vossy territory

And Melbourne will roughly be in the same bracket - anywhere between 6th and 12th - the difference being Melbourne are carrying a more developed squad. I think they’re still a bit toothless up front, and I don’t rate Goodwin as a coach, but they’d still be a decent shot for the finals. They’ve also got a decent number of star players if they can get the balance right and find some more avenues to goal, and Ben Brown is a nice addition from this POV.

I’m not sure who’s making premature calls though? We are in a group of 12-14 teams who could realistically make the finals, but the expectation is that we make the 8 given our glacial list build. Failing that Teague probably goes and Cripps (and others) may want to consider playing elsewhere. It’s not a stretch to anticipate a jump though given the players we’ve brought in to compliment the list we’ve built.

Yes, Goodwin is Melbourne's Achilles heel.

Back to Carlton, Essendon and topics Dodoro - Carlton paid slight overs to get a player to their team (Saad) who they felt would improve their list significantly. They could have tried to nab him via the PSD, but that would have been a considerable risk to getting the player they wanted, so they swallowed their pride and paid what it took to get the player. That is good list management.

Meanwhile, Dodoro and Essendon supporters fist pump about "bending Carlton over", turn away from a player that could seriously improve them in Dunkley, because they couldn't "win the trade" and go into season 2021 with a significantly weaker list.

Bamboo Harvester

Sep 19, 2018
Shark Bay

Back to Carlton, Essendon and topics Dodoro - Carlton paid slight overs to get a player to their team (Saad) who they felt would improve their list significantly. They could have tried to nab him via the PSD, but that would have been a considerable risk to getting the player they wanted, so they swallowed their pride and paid what it took to get the player. That is good list management.

Meanwhile, Dodoro and Essendon supporters fist pump about "bending Carlton over", turn away from a player that could seriously improve them in Dunkley, because they couldn't "win the trade" and go into season 2021 with a significantly weaker list.
You should receive a knighthood for this post :thumbsu::)

And we shouldn't overlook that they almost missed out on Caldwell as well, when only a last grasp deal was struck in the dying stages of trade night. Ironically, he was the player that GWS selected with the 1st round pick they received from Essendon in the highly successful Shiel trade.

Jul 14, 2005
Chelsea FC

I still think we overpaid by a fair bit, but timing and circumstance was working against us. Saad had just come off his career best season, and from listening to Saad's manager after the trade period it sounded like Essendon would have taken him through the PSD if it got to that point. So we relented and got the trade done. Looking at the prospects Essendon brought in though, it definitely wasn't the kind of draft you go all in on.

We also ended up nabbing Carroll with the pick we got back with Saad, who IMO isn't far off the talent level someone like Perkins.

The Dunkley non-deal is still pretty astounding, but it's indicative of the way Essendon do business, and you could see from a mile away Dodoro wouldn't get a deal done unless he got Dunkley through for less than his value - which is pretty insane when you consider his current lengthy contract with the Bulldogs. Part of me suspects the whole situation was a shiny distraction so Dodoro could show Essendon board and members they could still attract decent players to the club despite their current freefall and losing 2 of their best 3 players in the one off-season.

windows1

Sep 8, 2018
They put up a drafting video where Dodoro describes Reid as a Harris Andrews type. Rutten asks where he is in relation to Andrews at the same age, Dodoro said he is ahead. Andrews was an academy player that was bid on in the late second round and Reid was a first round prospect, he said absolutely nothing that wasn’t factual, means absolutely nothing and didn’t imply that he’d be better.

Some flog takes a sound bite and everyone has a conniption.
Nah. That doesn’t work mate. Rutten asked it because he knew the answer. What you reckon they just threw the camera on and they just brought that up and neither knew the question and the other not the answer? Spare me.

Wasn’t an accident in the way you infer.

It was done for the ‘story’. It was done to create headlines. Make it look like Dodo has done a great job. It’s how Dodo rolls. It’s his one wood. Too many of you keep falling for it. You should be demanding your club dumps him. He has presided over a failing list forever and this is the exact reason why he gets away with it.

Dodo From Marketing.

Oct 1, 2006
Everton, Storm, Victory
Nah. That doesn’t work mate. Rutten asked it because he knew the answer. What you reckon they just threw the camera on and they just brought that up and neither knew the question and the other not the answer? Spare me.

Wasn’t an accident in the way you infer.

It was done for the ‘story’. It was done to create headlines. Make it look like Dodo has done a great job. It’s how Dodo rolls. It’s his one wood. Too many of you keep falling for it. You should be demanding your club dumps him. He has presided over a failing list forever and this is the exact reason why he gets away with it.

Dodo From Marketing.

It was simply a draft strategy briefing that was cut down. There wasn’t even any other additional quotes in the article that haven’t been on the Essendon website. What do you want the Essendon website to be putting out? Videos about how we failed at the draft. GTFO

No argument here. CFC need to prove themselves. But looking list for list sakes ... casting an eye over Essendon's v Carlton's I would suggest an unbiased eye would conclude the strength of one over the other.

Carlton have done what Essendon need to do. Rebuild around a solid midfield core.

Jul 14, 2005
Chelsea FC
But you had Cripps already as that big centre square mid.

Not every rebuilding team has that luxury, but it's a decent example of exactly why Essendon passing on Dunkley was the wrong thing to do. The whole process becomes so much easier when you're breaking even at the stoppages, and have that consistent midfield support for the players coming through.

Taking key position players does have merit, but if you're going to weigh up one project key defender (and another early pick) vs one established star mid I'd be leaning towards just banking on the star mid.

Not every rebuilding team has that luxury, but it's a decent example of exactly why Essendon passing on Dunkley was the wrong thing to do. The whole process becomes so much easier when you're breaking even at the stoppages, and have that consistent midfield support for the players coming through.

Taking key position players does have merit, but if you're going to weigh up one project key defender (and another early pick) vs one established star mid I'd be leaning towards just banking on the star mid.

Yep.

North's rebuild in the late 00s was built around Ziebell and Cunnington as successive top 10 picks.

You have to be able to win the ball first and foremost.

The only mid we had yeah..
Our rebuild didn't start with getting mids into the club ,they came after the 2nd and 3rd year of the rebuild.

Chicken and egg. If yoyu didn't have him you would have had to draft him as part of it.

Jul 14, 2005
Chelsea FC
The only mid we had yeah..
Our rebuild didn't start with getting mids into the club ,they came after the 2nd and 3rd year of the rebuild.

Our midfield group was actually pretty reasonable at the start of the rebuild. Cripps was precocious and a really strong contributor from his first full season in 2015, Gibbs played his best footy in the 2014-2017 period, and Murphy was still a very good player up until around 2018 too. Ed Curnow has played his best footy from about the commencement of the rebuild and is still as consistent as ever.

Not countering your point, but Essendon don't have the worst platform to work from with a half-formed midfield group already in place. They might lose Merrett at the end of this year, but they'd be hopeful of landing Dunkley if they don't completely peter out.

That'd give them some structure going forward, assuming they take another mid with one of their early picks (assuming Merrett leaves) and they develop one of Reid or Cox as a forward (assuming one or both aren't busts).

Apr 23, 2016
That'd give them some structure going forward, assuming they take another mid with one of their early picks (assuming Merrett leaves) and they develop one of Reid or Cox as a forward (assuming one or both aren't busts).

My guess is the 5 year view for the talls would be;

FB - Brand
CHB - Reid
RUC - Draper
CHF - Eyre
FF - Wright*

Cox to play as a Blicavs / Westhoff utility type that pretty much fills holes wherever necessary, either as a tall winger drifting around the ground, or covering KPP injuries.

There's also a couple of young guys in Jones (~195cm with a good tank) and Bryan (~202cm and moves well) who came in at the end of 2019 and didn't get the chance to play VFL / AFL last year.

Jones would be a mobile CHF type similar to Eyre, neither strike me as a true FF in the style of a Hawkins or Dixon type that can wrestle under a high ball though. Conceivably all of Jones, Eyre and Wright* could play in the same side given the mobility of the first two.

Bryan is more a ruckman, so I'm not entirely sure where they see him long-term if Draper is their first choice there.

*Obviously Wright is young enough to be around in 5 years time, but is mostly a placeholder name.

The approach this year seemed to be get all the talls in the door that could build the spine moving forward, in a draft where there was no standout midfielder available at the selections we had. Then take midfielders next year in a draft that's regarded as being full of them. We'll likely have a selection around 5ish again, and if Merrett was to go, I'd expect he gets a Band 1 compo deal which means 2 x Top 10's in a strong midfield draft. Or Merrett stays.

dave10

Apr 26, 2004
Dodoro has built this list at Tulla and they haven't had any sort of success for ages. Yet he is not under any sort of pressure at all.

The Daniher non trade 12 months ago should have been the final nail in his coffin. Yet Lord Sheedy has come out and thrown his full support behind him.
Have you thought about why he might still be there? That’s not trying to be condescending, it’s a serious question?

Those fortunate (or not!) with knowledge of the goings on at Essendon are not as surprised as many that he’s still there. That’s not being smart, that’s just recognition that what’s been driving Essendon’s woes is deeper and more complex than one bloke in list management.

Essendon has been complicated for years, marred by systemic issues impacting results top down..

Feb 6, 2016
Have you thought about why he might still be there? That’s not trying to be condescending, it’s a serious question?

Those fortunate (or not!) with knowledge of the goings on at Essendon are not as surprised as many that he’s still there. That’s not being smart, that’s just recognition that what’s been driving Essendon’s woes is deeper and more complex than one bloke in list management.

Essendon has been complicated for years, marred by systemic issues impacting results top down..

source.gif