Adrian Dodoro

you could set a calendar to this theme....

As for not trading stars in, you can't ignore we weren't a destination club from 2013-16.

Nor were you a destination club from 2004 to 2012...

"A look at the AFL Record Season Guide shows the Bombers traded in just three players from 2004-12 – Richard Cole, Brent Prismall and Mark Williams..."

You may wonder why such low numbers are the case....well...

...It's also believed player agents have, on occasions, steered prospective players to other clubs because they weren’t confident Essendon would get a deal done if their clients nominated the Bombers as their preferred home...."

Yes this sounds likely...

In an alternate fantastical reality where we all shit lollipops and Essendon trades guns in....

It's quite amusing how you miss the point every time when the facts are stated, sure substitute Essendon in your reality with another club but the fact remains. You won't have any bargaining power apart from "We'll hold on to Stringer and piss him off and he can play in the 2's after our coach stated how we were going to part ways with him but didn't in the end"

You will be forced to deal with the club he nominates.

It's quite amusing how you miss the point every time when the facts are stated, sure substitute Essendon in your reality with another club but the fact remains. You won't have any bargaining power apart from "We'll hold on to Stringer and piss him off and he can play in the 2's after our coach stated how we were going to part ways with him but didn't in the end"

its possible they can keep stringer and keep him playing football - essentially telling him "you are a professional / go screw your self"

like Gibbs-Carlton-2017

The only club to engage in AFL-mediation over trades twice. It speaks volumes.

The Caddy one was entirely Gold Coast's fault and time continues to demonstrate that with how Ashcroft has engaged with other club's (O'Meara).

We offered Hooker plus our first-round pick for Caddy and we still had to go to mediation over it with Essendon being portrayed as hard to deal with.

Not sure what the second instance of mediation was

Thanks Adrian (mini me.)

Just like Carlisle...oh hang on, only EFC players leave the door open for a second club to get involved because Adrian is such a brilliant master trader...lol

The Caddy one was entirely Gold Coast's fault and time continues to demonstrate that with how Ashcroft has engaged with other club's (O'Meara).

We offered Hooker plus our first-round pick for Caddy and we still had to go to mediation over it with Essendon being portrayed as hard to deal with.

Thanks for clarifying something we all suspect...

Its never Adrian's fault..

But it's not based on "better offer" It's based on where Stringer wants to go. Even as a contracted player which he is, he has to sign off on the trade.
You might go to Paul Connors and say "Look we can offer 600 a year for 4 years" then Essendon could say "We will offer 700 a year over 4 years" he nominates Essendon then it doesn't matter what Richmond offer Dogs for the trade.
It does work both ways. Hypothetically, if Essendon offers Stringer 700 over four and Carlton offers 600 over 4, but Dodo only offers the Dogs a bag of rusty nails and a third rounder, suddenly Carlton's offer to Stringer doesn't look so bad if his manager knows Carlton have the currency and willingness to trade for him.

The fact that he's contracted doesn't mean much, but it does put some onus on him to nominate a club or clubs willing to trade for him and cough up enough to satisfy us. There will be a large enough market for him within the Melbourne clubs that if negotiations break down between the Dogs and his nominated club, another club could swoop in.

its possible they can keep stringer and keep him playing football - essentially telling him "you are a professional / go screw your self"

like Gibbs-Carlton-2017

Or McCarthy from GWS? Then got dealt for peanuts when they were offered fair value the year before?

It sure doesn't sound like they can after Bevo's weird interview with the HUN, but sure they can keep him and annoy him and his manager in Paul Connors..... probably wouldn't be the best thing to do with Paul Connors' other clients and future clients though.

It's lazy journalism without looking at the facts. They re-hash it every year because they know nuffies will lap it up. Of recent years (post Sheedy) what deals have been held up by Essendon?

1. Crameri, at the time the Dogs offered what was considered value of a late first in terms of money
2. Ryder, because we refused to bend over and cop 17 by itself, and ended up getting a deal that was worth less than Ben McEvoy got, let that sink in.
3. Carlisle, because we refused to take a spud and pick 24, and in the end all parties got what they wanted.

Every other deal we've done in that time has been quick or held up by the result of other trades. And in the end, how often are the "star" trades be in the first 3 or 4 trades done nowadays? McCarthy last year at a stretch, Dangerfield year before, and not much else.

Thanks Adrian (mini me.)

Just like Carlisle...oh hang on, only EFC players leave the door open for a second club to get involved because Adrian is such a brilliant master trader...lol

Thanks for clarifying something we all suspect...

Its never Adrian's fault..

Yeah, you just have no idea.

Or McCarthy from GWS? Then got dealt for peanuts when they were offered fair value the year before?

It sure doesn't sound like they can after Bevo's weird interview with the HUN, but sure they can keep him and annoy him and his manager in Paul Connors..... probably wouldn't be the best thing to do with Paul Connors' other clients and future clients though.

depression card thou

last new bite i heard of bevo he was happy to keep him for another 12 months no worries

he might have been just being PC thou

Ryder

Nor were you a destination club from 2004 to 2012...

"A look at the AFL Record Season Guide shows the Bombers traded in just three players from 2004-12 – Richard Cole, Brent Prismall and Mark Williams..."

You may wonder why such low numbers are the case....well...

...It's also believed player agents have, on occasions, steered prospective players to other clubs because they weren’t confident Essendon would get a deal done if their clients nominated the Bombers as their preferred home...."
we targeted a lot of players who ended up staying over that time
Gaff, Boak, Mundy and Hartlett are the notable ones.

Caddy we had to walk away from. GCS' demands were over the top.

Since Dodoro took over and we abandoned the Sheeds' retirement home top up scheme, we've been a club focused on drafting.

I just hope that Adrian's pull with his EFC Coterie mates is still holding strong enough to keep him in place at Tulla.

Let the "14 years with the same List boss and 0 Finals wins Experiment" continue into a 15th,16th,17th and surely at least an 18th year.

If we cant achieve success with the players he brings in the next few years surely he's gone.

It's lazy journalism without looking at the facts. They re-hash it every year because they know nuffies will lap it up. Of recent years (post Sheedy) what deals have been held up by Essendon?

1. Crameri, at the time the Dogs offered what was considered value of a late first in terms of money
2. Ryder, because we refused to bend over and cop 17 by itself, and ended up getting a deal that was worth less than Ben McEvoy got, let that sink in.
3. Carlisle, because we refused to take a spud and pick 24, and in the end all parties got what they wanted.

Every other deal we've done in that time has been quick or held up by the result of other trades. And in the end, how often are the "star" trades be in the first 3 or 4 trades done nowadays? McCarthy last year at a stretch, Dangerfield year before, and not much else.

It's now coming from Twomey, EFC's personal journo of choice.

Are the troops moving on Dodoro?....Adrian better get something good in this year me thinks.

like Gibbs-Carlton-2017
slightly different. Gibbs wasn't performing badly or impacting the carlton playing group with his attitude.
nor were Carlton publicly seeking to trade him.

Stringer is not a required player at the Dogs. Out of contract next year and the Dogs aren't going to risk losing him for nothing and have him continuing on this path.

Keen to see how eager they will be this year to get the deal done and move on early without being difficult.

. There will be a large enough market for him within the Melbourne clubs that if negotiations break down between the Dogs and his nominated club, another club could swoop in.
I reckon that's true. Dogs will end up getting a fair trade for Package.

It just probably wont come from Essendon.

It's now coming from Twomey, EFC's personal journo of choice.

Are the troops moving on Dodoro?....Adrian better get something good in this year me thinks.
doubtful

He's delivered some goods over the years
Crameri into Merrett.
Gumbleton into Fantasia
Carlisle into Francis & Redman (both looking good @ VFL)

we targeted a lot of players who ended up staying over that time
Gaff, Boak, Mundy and Hartlett are the notable ones.

Caddy we had to walk away from. GCS' demands were over the top.

Since Dodoro took over and we abandoned the Sheeds' retirement home top up scheme, we've been a club focused on drafting.

And why do you think you aren't successful in targeting players like Gaff, Boak, Mundy and Hartlett???

Successful clubs like Hawthorn and Geelong have done multiple trades. Hawks got Gunston, Lake, Hale, Burgoyne, McEvoy among others, while Cats got Danger, Ottens, Tuohy, Henderson, Smith, Stanley, etc.

Hell even Carlton have managed some trading getting in Judd

Meanwhile EFC struggle along, doing what they've always done...getting what they've always got since 2004....ie no finals wins

doubtful

He's delivered some goods over the years
Crameri into Merrett.
Gumbleton into Fantasia
Carlisle into Francis & Redman (both looking good @ VFL)

Mate that is trading picks and drafting...what gun players have EFC traded in???