There was real talk that Port were going to bid on Borlase with one of their late picks. There were people at Port who wanted to try and get him "home".Ours as cat b rookies
They were also looking into Kaine Baldwin, but may well rookie him.

PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
There was real talk that Port were going to bid on Borlase with one of their late picks. There were people at Port who wanted to try and get him "home".Ours as cat b rookies
+1Yeah because there has never been a rookie that has made it, stupid comment
I hread McInnes being interviewed and he said that we were really interested in him at pick 9. Sounds like that was a bluff to try and trade with the piesJust a few interesting talking points, does anyone think that Dodoro was trying to play funny buggers with us and trying to put pressure on us with their first 3 first rounders? The ''leak'' of Cox, Perkins and then Cook on the whiteboard... They instead take Reid with the last of their 1st rounds instead of Cook. I bet Dodoro was banking on us being keen on Cook (or another clubs in that 10-20 range) and trying to get us to trade up our pick 9 and an extra 2021 pick for him. Seems like we were more keen on Pedlar instead but he wasn't far off the mark; I wonder, if Pedlar was off the table at 9, would we have taken Cook? I reckon the mooted Collingwood or GWS trades for the pair of first rounders for our 9 + 22/23 were to try and get Pedlar + Cook anyway, so seems like we have gotten who we targeted. We must've gotten wind that Pedlar would've been gone by the GWS or Collingwood picks - if we did those trades.
I also think we were potentially trying to play Collingwood into trading up for pick 9 with leaking that we were interested in McInnes.
Sam BERRYTotally different to the following and his vids.
17. Sam Berry
Best position: Inside midfield
Height, weight: 181cm, 82kg
Recruited from: Gippsland Power
Projected draft range: 20-40
Plays like: Dylan ShielPLAYERCARDSTART9Dylan Shiel
- Ht
- 182cm
- Wt
- 84kg
- Pos.
- D/M
CareerSeasonLast 5
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 5star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 5star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 2star
- T
- 4star
- MG
- 5star
- D
- 5star
- K
- 4star
- HB
- 5star
- M
- 3star
- T
- 4star
PLAYERCARDEND
September ranking: 19
Rationale: Exciting midfielder with an enviable combination of ball winning, clean skills and speed. Winning over 50% of the ball in contested situations, his probability of an AFL career is high. Berry's position on this draft board rises on review of 2019 performance and how consistently influential he was.
Strengths:
Contested ball winning, first possession winner at stoppages, tackling, aggression, kick placement out in front of targets to lead onto, dual sided kick, composure with ball in hand, distribution by hand, acceleration with ball in hand out of stoppages, line-breaking run, speed, endurance, leap, works hard both ways, strong mark, consistency, versatility to play midfield, defence or forward.
Weaknesses:
Outside accumulation, running patterns outside the contest.
Looks like it to me , an akward kicking style on the highlights posted on Afc siteinteresting that Draft Central say the only areas Berry needs to improve are speed and skill.![]()
They don't need to slip through the rookie draft. They're now Crows players.If he slips through to the rookie draft we can put him on the category B rookie list for free and will be on our list, same with Newchurch we're hoping they both slip through
I would have taken a chance in Baldwin. Kid was going to be a freak.fu** off idiot..
were they rejected?.. or the clubs just didnt have any main list spot left for them?... think about it.
did Baldwin get picked?.. would rather take a chance on him with a rookie spot than waste it on a 32 year old mookay.
my hatred of the whole mookay phenomenon is justified... its the biggest joke in the afl that he is still on a list.
Quite happy with our draft
We needed a tall forward and midfielders, plus forward-leaning utilities of all sizes. That's what we ended up with.
Hately, Pedlar and Berry fill gaping holes in our inside midfield which needed all sorts of talent. We needed to avoid pure ball magnets and seemed to have chosen more dynamic, versatile players with burst acceleration and some ability to impact up forward
Cook looks a really neat player and we don't have many forwards of his type that are real quality. Rowe fills a need as well.
Last drafts have been used on tall defenders, half backs and outside players so overall we've taken a nice mix the last three years
Now it's up to us to develop those players into guns
These midfielder can spread because they have the ability to accelerate, hence the point of difference between inside midfielder who doesn't have the ability to accelerate, you need to win the ball before you can run, spread and move the ball and like I said, carrying the ball will never travel quicker than kicking it.We should really just get 22 players to run into the same contest.
That's right- 22. Bench as well. It's uber critical that every player wins the hard ball all the time.
Run, spread, ball movement are for losers.
Are you referring to outisde of the starting 22?Wonder if this means we develop Jones/McHenry more as outside players now.
I said "slips through to the rookie draft" we get them, which is exactly what happenedThey don't need to slip through the rookie draft. They're now Crows players.
And they'll still end up with a top 10 pick with getting Daicos as a F/S. They worked the system to hit the draft hard this year.Collingwood essentially traded their 2021 first rounder for picks 30 (Poulter), 31 (McMahon), 44 (McCreery) and 2x 2021 third rounders
If they don’t show considerable improvement will possibly be cut next year.Are you referring to outisde of the starting 22?
So you’re not expecting any rookies to get picked up tomorrow?Given that 2/3 of the clubs passed - they were clearly rejected.
I know you hate Mackay, and would rather have an inanimate carbon rod than having him on the list. Guess what? None of the AFL clubs wanted Baldwin, or any of the other players you've named. They clearly don't agree with your extremely biased opinion.
*** and lay off with the abuse. It's not necessary.
Hinge was also a free hitThrow in Hately tomorrow for free too [emoji7]
Someone has to ask the club the wisdom of keeping Mackay before the draft
This.
There is gonna be a talented youngster miss out tonight available to rookie and we havent got a spot cause we gave it to a waste of space in mookay..
Its a complete and utter disgrace... it beggars belief that he is still tormenting the fu** out of us supporters.. whos dick is he sucking ffs..
Wow.This.
There is gonna be a talented youngster miss out tonight available to rookie and we havent got a spot cause we gave it to a waste of space in mookay..
Its a complete and utter disgrace... it beggars belief that he is still tormenting the fu** out of us supporters.. whos dick is he sucking ffs..
Draft. Night. List. Full. No. Options. To. Pick. Up. Young. Talent. That. Has. Slipped. Through. So. I. Can. Discuss. The. Wisdom. Of. Keeping. Mackay. ThanksLet. It. Go
These midfielder can spread because they have the ability to accelerate, hence the point of difference between inside midfielder who doesn't have the ability to accelerate, you need to win the ball before you can run, spread and move the ball and like I said, carrying the ball will never travel quicker than kicking it.
ooooh look, the mookay cheersquad has arrived... anyone that still defends having mookay on our list is embarrassing themselves.Build a bridge mate, Jesus.
Act like an adult ffs, you’re embarrassing yourself
And kick in generalI see Jones as the outside mid bursting away from the stoppage. Just needs to learn how to find more of the footy.