Game Day AFC DRAFT DAY THREAD

• Thread starter Thread starter dogs105

How many additional 2021 picks will we end up with from draft day trades?

It's proof that they didn't rate any of the remaining players as being worthy of a position on an AFL list.

Mackay is clearly worthy of a position on an AFL list, given that he finished top-10 in our 2020 Club Champion, and was top-5 on a votes per game basis.

The hatred of Mackay, and overrating of youngsters who the professional talent scouts clearly don't rate, is beyond ridiculous.
“Mackay is clearly worthy of a position on an AFL list, given that he finished top-10 in our 2020 Club Champion, and was top-5 on a votes per game basis.”

Did you even watch any games this year?..

You do realise you are talking about a 32 year old average 17 touch a game player that played in the side that lost 13 games in a row and was bottom all year..

Keeping mookay on the rebuilding list is just ridiculous no matter how well he went in our B&F... the B&F of the worst performing club this year, the club that got flogged by the second worst team this year..

so Maher didnt get picked?.. and we couldve had him as a rookie tomorrow..

but cant because its obviously more important to have mookay take that rookie spot and stay on our list one more year?..

how are there actually people in here that are fine with this?..

I might be carrying on a bit and I slightly apologise for that, but fu** me, that is utterly dumbfounding that we cant take advantage of having pick 1 in the rookie draft and grab a maher or baldwin because 32year old mookay!.. i’m fu**in ropable about it.

great night... bloody fantastic actually.. stoked with what weve picked up and stoked we add newie, borlase and hately tomoz.. but fu** me, a maher or baldwin type as a rookie wouldve been a bloody steal.
To be fair not many clubs will have rookie selections and they'll be more players that fall past the rookie draft too and as soon as it over Gibbs is removed from the list and we can select one more player and sign him any time up till march

Other than Cook and Berry, I'm not overly stoked with who we took at the selections we had but I'll be happy to be proven wrong of course.

Matt Balmer gives us an A in his Fox Footy draft report card
I’m sorry that’s actually pretty funny. Rowe fills a huge need? We have Stengle, Murphy, McHenry and are adding Newchurch tomorrow, but small forward is a huge need. Well the recruiting of those 4 can’t have been seen as very successful if that position is a huge need.

Maybe Draft Central is incorrect and ESPN is correct.
I’m sorry, did you just post a headline of ESPN saying we will take Logan McDonald next to you saying that maybe they are correct?😂

I’m sorry that’s actually pretty funny. Rowe fills a huge need? We have Stengle, Murphy, McHenry and are adding Newchurch tomorrow, but small forward is a huge need. Well the recruiting of those 4 can’t have been seen as very successful if that position is a huge need.
McHenry isn't a small forward, really, while Murphy is in the defensive forward mould rather than a goal kicker

Newchurch and Stengle are similar player types to Rowe, sure, but one is still speculative and the other (as much as I like him and really want him to succeed, think he still will) has been through his off-field issues recently. Due to this, it's good thinking to get the best small forward in the SANFL as another immediate option, low risk and maybe even high reward, if he kicks on

so Maher didnt get picked?.. and we couldve had him as a rookie tomorrow..

but cant because its obviously more important to have mookay take that rookie spot and stay on our list one more year?..

how are there actually people in here that are fine with this?..

I might be carrying on a bit and I slightly apologise for that, but fu** me, that is utterly dumbfounding that we cant take advantage of having pick 1 in the rookie draft and grab a maher or baldwin because 32year old mookay!.. i’m fu**in ropable about it.
Spot On, Comrade.

We need more KIDS on our list. There are too many experienced journeymen weighing us down.

On our list of 43 players we will only have 10 players yet to debut and a paltry 25 players with 0-15 games.
And they call this a rebuild? If we delisted Mackay we had a chance for the youngest, least experienced squad in the history of the AFL. Is it too late to rectify this obscene situation?

People pretending the rookie draft is useless are completely off base. Two of our starting midfield this year will probably be from the rookie list. We got a first round pick a few years ago for Cameron, a rookie pick. Sure, the strike rate isn't incredible but plenty of ND picks fail too. The chance we pick up someone valuable is worth more to our premierships chances than an extra year of Mackay. I will add too, that I have never been one of his big haters, its just obvious that an injured 32 y.o. fringe player will not get us closer to a premiership. And the craziest thing is we didn't need to re-sign him when we did. Noone else was taking him. We could have selected him at #1 tomorrow if we really thought he was the best person available there.

Other than Cook and Berry, I'm not overly stoked with who we took at the selections we had but I'll be happy to be proven wrong of course.
What exactly is wrong with Luke Pedlar?
The only thing you could really knock him on is durability over the last couple of years...he's always been considered a real talent when he's been able to get on the field. Probably it's been his kamikaze attack on the contest both on the ground and in the air that's fed into his injuries. Obviously his medicals have come up all clear so why not.

“Mackay is clearly worthy of a position on an AFL list, given that he finished top-10 in our 2020 Club Champion, and was top-5 on a votes per game basis.”

Did you even watch any games this year?..

You do realise you are talking about a 32 year old average 17 touch a game player that played in the side that lost 13 games in a row and was bottom all year..

Keeping mookay on the rebuilding list is just ridiculous no matter how well he went in our B&F... the B&F of the worst performing club this year, the club that got flogged by the second worst team this year..
It is honestly pretty hard to argue with anything in this post.

The only thing you could really knock him on is durability over the last couple of years...he's always been considered a real talent when he's been able to get on the field. Probably it's been his kamikaze attack on the contest both on the ground and in the air that's fed into his injuries. Obviously his medicals have come up all clear so why not.
It's not a knock on him, I just think there was better available at that pick, that's all.

Nothing wrong with Pedlar, I’m actually pretty excited by him. Taking him at pick 9 is the problem. when Fox footy dont even have highlights on him available, and they do for the guy North took at pick 58, you do have to wonder if we have reached a bit.

Or they haven't reached, GWS was very interested in him with their next pick apparently as was Fremantle......
1607521783220.png

Do a search of Berry.
Mate I’m stirring you. I have been watching him for 18 months, I am well aware of his talents. Like Tillthorpe I rate his ability, I just don’t think he fits our needs, especially after taking Pedlar. And he honestly isn’t fast or someone who is going to breakaway from stoppages for us, he isn’t exactly slow but even his mum and dad wouldn’t be describing him as quick with great skills.

you have to admit though that it was funny you stating that maybe ESPN are right, and including a headline from then stating that we are going to take MCDonald.

Pick 11.

A bunch of dumb dumbs also thought we 'reached' for Doedee on draft day. Let's wait and find out.

It's not a knock on him, I just think there was better available at that pick, that's all.
I suggest you revisit this post if he can stay injury free the next couple of years.

completely agree - adding both Newchurch and Rowe is overkill, especially considering neither have a defensive bone in their body, and Stengle is not the best in that regard either. Rowe was a weird pick. Trading up for him? You can’t seriously tell me he wouldn’t have been available 4 picks later.

I think we might have been trading up with something else in mind that didn’t pan out, because that just makes zero sense.

All in all, the Cook pick saved our draft for mine.

Thilthorpe was meh - I personally liked Hollands and McDonald more. I get passing on Hollands due to the knee, I really do, but I don’t get taking Thilthorpe over McDonald, I really don’t.

Pedlar I quite like as a player but I would have preferred to trade down for him or take McInnes because Pedlar as the 9th non-academy player off the board is a pretty crazy reach for mine (he just looked more like a 20th best non-academy prospect to me). He’s certainly not done enough as a junior to warrant that draft range. Sure, maybe GWS were keen at one of their picks in the teens which is why we pulled the trigger rather than trading down with them or the Pies (there’s no way GWS were taking him ahead of Bruhn, I won’t buy that), but let them have Pedlar, and we can instead bid on McInnes at 11 and if Coll match, you take a Powell or Bruhn ahead of Pedlar for mine. There will be a lot of comparisons made between the careers of Bruhn, Powell and Pedlar for the next 5 years or so - I’d say we’re outsiders to come out smelling like roses there from what I’ve seen but let’s wait and see.

Cook at 25 I love - I was genuinely excited by this and reckon it was one of the steals of the whole draft. Carroll at 41 to Carlton has to take the cake though.

Berry I would have liked a lot more if we didn’t take Pedlar. Another TWO sub-185cm mids just doesn’t do it for me (1 would be fine) when we are getting consistently murdered by the Cripps / Fyfe / Bont types due to having no inside talls - yes I know we have Hately now but most clubs have about 3, and O’Connor is a long shot to ever reach 50 games at this point. In a vacuum though, Berry is a solid pick and will likely have a decent, yet not spectacular AFL career.

Rowe = a big no from me. You take Carroll 8 days a week here. Or Ford. I’d even be more on board with Kolar or Maher here than Rowe. Bizarre pick. Newchurch, Rowe and Stengle are 3 pegs that only fit into 2 list holes and 1 spot in the 22 for mine.

Pick 11.

A bunch of dumb dumbs also thought we 'reached' for Doedee on draft day. Let's wait and find out.
We did reach for Doedee. It’s not about whether they are worth going at that pick, it’s about whether you could have got the same player for less.
we could have got Doedee at pick 40, no doubt whatsoever, so picking him at 17 is a reach. In that case we didn’t take a pick after that if I remember correctly, so if no one would would trade up with us then fair enough. Tonight we could have traded back and still got Pedlar so that is definitely reaching.

We did reach for Doedee. It’s not about whether they are worth going at that pick, it’s about whether you could have got the same player for less.
we could have got Doedee at pick 40, no doubt whatsoever, so picking him at 17 is a reach. In that case we didn’t take a pick after that if I remember correctly, so if no one would would trade up with us then fair enough. Tonight we could have traded back and still got Pedlar so that is definitely reaching.
The news was GWS (most certain), Fremantle and even Collingwood were going to pick him with their 1st rounder.